DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/24/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 12, 16, and 18-20 were amended.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-12 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Foster, Singh, and Zou.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et al., US-20160334798-A1, in view of Singh et al., US-20210333802-A1, and Zou et al., CN-105638058-A, hereinafter referred to as Foster, Singh, and Zou (Translation by PE2E Search).
As per claim 1
Foster discloses [a] method for controlling a speed of an agricultural machine operating within an environment, the method comprising (second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity for the agricultural vehicle, modifying the velocity of the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶5 & ¶65):
obtaining at least one machine-specific parameter associated with the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining at least one environmental condition of the environment (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining a target speed for the agricultural machine based on the at least one machine-specific parameter, the at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine, and the at least one environmental condition (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
adjusting the speed of the agricultural machine to the target speed (second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity for the agricultural vehicle, modifying the velocity of the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶5 & ¶65).
Foster does not specifically disclose receiving a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle];
the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle] and, a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location.
However, Singh teaches receiving a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle]; the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle] and, a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location (determine a target speed between a first target position of a haul vehicle relative to a harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…output a control signal indicative of instructions to direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at the target speed, determine a target position and a target velocity of the haul vehicle based at least in part on a determined position and a determined velocity of the harvester 10, determine an expected duration of traversing a distance between a first target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…controller is configured to determine a target time for reaching the second target position…direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at an initiation time, in which the initiation time corresponds to the target time minus the expected duration…the haul vehicle may arrive at the second target position substantially at the target time, determine a distance between the haul vehicle and the harvester based on the current position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester (e.g., which may be determined based on the first determined position of the harvester and the second determined position of the haul vehicle) - Singh ¶4 & ¶15 & ¶22 & ¶30).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Singh teaches a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles, as taught by Singh, with a reasonable expectation of success to transfer agricultural product to the mobile storage compartment as the harvester extracts and processes the agricultural products, and for increasing the efficiency of the harvesting process, see Singh ¶14 & ¶16 for details.
Foster does not specifically disclose a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine.
However, Zou teaches a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine (tractor speed condition…accumulated distance St calculated for fertilizing target position calculation…distance measuring sensor 21 detects - Zou Page 8 Lines 45-48).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Zou teaches a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position, as taught by Zou, with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure good fertilizing effect and reducing the fertilizer waste, see Zou Abstract for details.
As per claim 3
Foster further discloses wherein the at least one operating condition includes at least one of a current speed of the agricultural machine, a maximum possible speed of the agricultural machine, a position of the agricultural machine, an orientation of the agricultural machine, a ride quality of the agricultural machine, a load of the agricultural machine, or a mechanical issue of the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5).
As per claim 6
Foster further discloses wherein the at least one environmental condition includes at least one of a terrain feature or a weather condition; wherein the terrain feature includes at least one of bumpiness of a terrain of the environment, a slope of the terrain, or a curvature of the terrain; and wherein the weather condition includes at least one of precipitation, wind, visibility, temperature, or sunlight (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5).
As per claim 8
Foster further discloses wherein determining the target speed is further based on a terrain map corresponding to the environment (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5).
As per claim 11
Foster discloses [a] system for controlling a speed of an agricultural machine operating within an environment, the system comprising (second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity for the agricultural vehicle, modifying the velocity of the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶5 & ¶65):
one or more memories (a processor, such as the illustrated microprocessor 68 , and a memory device 70, memory device 70 may include a volatile memory, such as random access memory (RAM) - Foster ¶53);
one or more processors (a processor, such as the illustrated microprocessor 68 , and a memory device 70, memory device 70 may include a volatile memory, such as random access memory (RAM) - Foster ¶53),
the one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to (a processor, such as the illustrated microprocessor 68 , and a memory device 70, memory device 70 may include a volatile memory, such as random access memory (RAM) - Foster ¶53):
obtain at least one machine-specific parameter associated with the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determine at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determine at least one environmental condition of the environment (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determine a target speed for the agricultural machine based on the at least one machine-specific parameter, the at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine, and the at least one environmental condition (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
adjust the speed of the agricultural machine to the target speed (second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity for the agricultural vehicle, modifying the velocity of the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶5 & ¶65).
Foster does not specifically disclose receive a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle];
the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle], and a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location.
However, Singh teaches receive a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle]; the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle] and, a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location (determine a target speed between a first target position of a haul vehicle relative to a harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…output a control signal indicative of instructions to direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at the target speed, determine a target position and a target velocity of the haul vehicle based at least in part on a determined position and a determined velocity of the harvester 10, determine an expected duration of traversing a distance between a first target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…controller is configured to determine a target time for reaching the second target position…direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at an initiation time, in which the initiation time corresponds to the target time minus the expected duration…the haul vehicle may arrive at the second target position substantially at the target time, determine a distance between the haul vehicle and the harvester based on the current position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester (e.g., which may be determined based on the first determined position of the harvester and the second determined position of the haul vehicle) - Singh ¶4 & ¶15 & ¶22 & ¶30).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Singh teaches a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles, as taught by Singh, with a reasonable expectation of success to transfer agricultural product to the mobile storage compartment as the harvester extracts and processes the agricultural products, and for increasing the efficiency of the harvesting process, see Singh ¶14 & ¶16 for details.
Foster does not specifically disclose a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine.
However, Zou teaches a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine (tractor speed condition…accumulated distance St calculated for fertilizing target position calculation…distance measuring sensor 21 detects - Zou Page 8 Lines 45-48).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Zou teaches a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position, as taught by Zou, with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure good fertilizing effect and reducing the fertilizer waste, see Zou Abstract for details.
As per claim 13
Foster further discloses wherein the at least one operating condition includes at least one of a current speed of the agricultural machine, a maximum possible speed of the agricultural machine, a position of the agricultural machine, an orientation of the agricultural machine, a ride quality of the agricultural machine, a load of the agricultural machine, or a mechanical issue of the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5).
As per claim 15
Foster further discloses wherein the at least one environmental condition includes at least one of a terrain feature or a weather condition; wherein the terrain feature includes at least one of bumpiness of a terrain of the environment, a slope of the terrain, or a curvature of the terrain; and wherein the weather condition includes at least one of precipitation, wind, visibility, temperature, or sunlight (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5).
As per claim 18
Foster discloses [o]ne or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations for controlling a speed of an agricultural machine operating within an environment, the operations comprising (processor 68 may be used to execute software, such as software for controlling the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶52):
obtaining at least one machine-specific parameter associated with the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining at least one environmental condition of the environment (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
determining a target speed for the agricultural machine based on the at least one machine-specific parameter, the at least one operating condition of the agricultural machine, and the at least one environmental condition (agricultural vehicle…an acceleration of the vehicle, a current velocity of the vehicle, and a location relative to a terrain where the vehicle experienced the acceleration, and the second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity…determine a bump severity value based…on the acceleration and the current velocity of the agricultural vehicle, mark an area indicative of the bump on a map of the terrain…target velocity is based…on a proximity of the agricultural vehicle to the bump, the bump severity value, or some combination thereof - Foster ¶5);
adjusting the speed of the agricultural machine to the target speed (second signal is indicative of at least a target velocity for the agricultural vehicle, modifying the velocity of the vehicle 16 - Foster ¶5 & ¶65).
Foster does not specifically disclose receiving a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle];
the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle] and, a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location.
However, Singh teaches receiving a speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle]; the speed [of the additional agricultural vehicle] and, a distance to the target location associated with the agricultural machine, wherein the target speed is determined to coordinate arrival timing of the agricultural machine relative to the additional agricultural machine at the target location (determine a target speed between a first target position of a haul vehicle relative to a harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…output a control signal indicative of instructions to direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at the target speed, determine a target position and a target velocity of the haul vehicle based at least in part on a determined position and a determined velocity of the harvester 10, determine an expected duration of traversing a distance between a first target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester…controller is configured to determine a target time for reaching the second target position…direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at an initiation time, in which the initiation time corresponds to the target time minus the expected duration…the haul vehicle may arrive at the second target position substantially at the target time, determine a distance between the haul vehicle and the harvester based on the current position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester (e.g., which may be determined based on the first determined position of the harvester and the second determined position of the haul vehicle) - Singh ¶4 & ¶15 & ¶22 & ¶30).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Singh teaches a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a system for coordinating control of multiple work vehicles, as taught by Singh, with a reasonable expectation of success to transfer agricultural product to the mobile storage compartment as the harvester extracts and processes the agricultural products, and for increasing the efficiency of the harvesting process, see Singh ¶14 & ¶16 for details.
Foster does not specifically disclose a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine.
However, Zou teaches a distance to a target location associated with an additional agricultural machine operating in the environment, the distance to the target location associated with the additional agricultural machine (tractor speed condition…accumulated distance St calculated for fertilizing target position calculation…distance measuring sensor 21 detects - Zou Page 8 Lines 45-48).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Zou teaches a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a fertilizer throwing device that can detect a target position, as taught by Zou, with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure good fertilizing effect and reducing the fertilizer waste, see Zou Abstract for details.
As per claim 19
Foster further discloses wherein the at least one operating condition and the at least one environmental condition are based on data obtained by one or more sensors of the agricultural machine (generated based on bumps detected by the autonomous agricultural vehicle, vehicle 16 may be detected via the sensors, which may include…an accelerometer (e.g., multi-axis accelerometer that measures multiple acceleration values),…a global positioning system (GPS),…determine the direction of acceleration of the vehicle 16 when it encounters the rut 20 and/or obstacles - Foster ¶11 & ¶28).
As per claim 20
Foster further discloses wherein the one or more sensors include at least one of a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor, an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) sensor, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor, and a camera (generated based on bumps detected by the autonomous agricultural vehicle, vehicle 16 may be detected via the sensors, which may include…an accelerometer (e.g., multi-axis accelerometer that measures multiple acceleration values),…a global positioning system (GPS),… determine the direction of acceleration of the vehicle 16 when it encounters the rut 20 and/or obstacles - Foster ¶11 & ¶28).
Claims 2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Wright, US-11607952-B1, hereinafter referred to as Wright.
As per claim 2
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a wheelbase of the agricultural machine, and wherein of the wheelbase changes during operation of the agricultural machine.
However, Wright teaches wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a wheelbase of the agricultural machine, and wherein of the wheelbase changes during operation of the agricultural machine (target wheel speed for each of the multiple wheel assemblies is further determined based on the track width and the wheelbase of the four-wheel-drive electric tractor, wheelbase (WB) and/or the track width (TW) can change during the vehicle operation - Wright Column 2 Lines 45-48 & Column 9 Lines 51-52).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Wright teaches methods and systems for controlling differential wheel speeds of multi-independent-wheel vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with methods and systems for controlling differential wheel speeds of multi-independent-wheel vehicles, as taught by Wright, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tractor maneuverability, see Wright Column 5 Lines 56-64 for details.
As per claim 12
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a wheelbase of the agricultural machine, and wherein the wheelbase changes during operation of the agricultural machine.
However, Wright teaches wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a wheelbase of the agricultural machine, and wherein the wheelbase changes during operation of the agricultural machine (target wheel speed for each of the multiple wheel assemblies is further determined based on the track width and the wheelbase of the four-wheel-drive electric tractor, wheelbase (WB) and/or the track width (TW) can change during the vehicle operation - Wright Column 2 Lines 45-48 & Column 9 Lines 51-52).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Wright teaches methods and systems for controlling differential wheel speeds of multi-independent-wheel vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with methods and systems for controlling differential wheel speeds of multi-independent-wheel vehicles, as taught by Wright, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve tractor maneuverability, see Wright Column 5 Lines 56-64 for details.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Adam et al., US-20200108818-A1, hereinafter referred to as Adam.
As per claim 4
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one operating condition includes a power capacity of the agricultural machine, the power capacity being associated with an ability of the agricultural machine to increase speed or decrease speed to reach the target speed.
However, Adam teaches wherein the at least one operating condition includes a power capacity of the agricultural machine, the power capacity being associated with an ability of the agricultural machine to increase speed or decrease speed to reach the target speed (determining…an updated-optimal acceleration range as a function of a current torque capacity of the vehicle…a vehicle-operator target speed; updating the target speed profile as a function of the updated-optimal acceleration range, geography of the planned trip may include an upcoming terrain data, and the target speed profile is determined based on the upcoming terrain data. The target speed profile is determined as a function of a vehicle-operator set speed - Adam ¶5 & ¶6).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Adam teaches a method for enhancing powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic mission planning optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a method for enhancing powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic mission planning optimization, as taught by Adam, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic planning optimization, see Adam ¶19 for details.
As per claim 14
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one operating condition includes a power capacity of the agricultural machine, the power capacity being associated with an ability of the agricultural machine to increase speed or decrease speed to reach the target speed.
However, Adam teaches wherein the at least one operating condition includes a power capacity of the agricultural machine, the power capacity being associated with an ability of the agricultural machine to increase speed or decrease speed to reach the target speed (determining…an updated-optimal acceleration range as a function of a current torque capacity of the vehicle…a vehicle-operator target speed; updating the target speed profile as a function of the updated-optimal acceleration range, geography of the planned trip may include an upcoming terrain data, and the target speed profile is determined based on the upcoming terrain data. The target speed profile is determined as a function of a vehicle-operator set speed - Adam ¶5 & ¶6).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Adam teaches a method for enhancing powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic mission planning optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a method for enhancing powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic mission planning optimization, as taught by Adam, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving powertrain efficiency and driveline quality through dynamic planning optimization, see Adam ¶19 for details.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claim 1, and further in view of Naito, US-20240182029-A1, hereinafter referred to as Naito.
As per claim 5
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one operating condition includes an off-track error that is determined based on a distance between a current position of the agricultural machine and a desired position of the agricultural machine along a pre-defined path of the agricultural machine.
However, Naito teaches wherein the at least one operating condition includes an off-track error that is determined based on a distance between a current position of the agricultural machine and a desired position of the agricultural machine along a pre-defined path of the agricultural machine (decreasing a target vehicle speed when a vehicle deviates from a target trajectory in order to prompt the vehicle to return to the target trajectory, and quickly resuming the target vehicle speed to an original speed when the possibility of re-deviation is low, deviation amount…use a separation distance between a vehicle center and the target trajectory such as a distance when the vehicle is apart from the target trajectory in the road width direction, vehicle deviates from the target trajectory…suppression amount S increases to S1, and the target vehicle speed is suppressed from V1 to V1′. At t3, the deviation amount eY of the vehicle falls within the deviation determination threshold M, and the vehicle returns to the target trajectory. - Naito ¶10 & ¶40 & ¶87).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Naito teaches a vehicle control device that performs control for causing a vehicle to travel along a target trajectory at a target vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a vehicle control device that performs control for causing a vehicle to travel along a target trajectory at a target vehicle speed, as taught by Naito, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve traveling stability at the time of turning and limiting a vehicle speed V based on a road surface frictional force u and a curvature factor r, see Naito ¶2 for details.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claim 1, and further in view of Wang, US-20230045727-A1, hereinafter referred to as Wang.
As per claim 7
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein determining the target speed is further based on historical operating data associated with the agricultural machine or another agricultural machine in the environment.
However, Wang teaches wherein determining the target speed is further based on historical operating data associated with the agricultural machine or another agricultural machine in the environment (obtaining a historical vehicle trajectory data set of the target vehicle, and determining…a corrected vehicle speed of the target vehicle…current vehicle trajectory data and the historical vehicle trajectory data set, target vehicle may be various types of vehicles such as a tractor, S306: Perform vehicle speed correction on a current vehicle speed…current vehicle trajectory data based on a historical vehicle speed corresponding to the target vehicle trajectory data, to obtain the corrected vehicle speed - Wang ¶8 & ¶50 & ¶82).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Wang teaches a vehicle data processing method performed by a computer device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a vehicle data processing method performed by a computer device, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the efficiency of data transmission and reduce costs for data transmission, and for improving accuracy and effectiveness of information recommendation, see Wang ¶51 & ¶61 for details.
Claims 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Murphy, US-20110022267-A1, hereinafter referred to as Murphy.
As per claim 9
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a center of gravity of the agricultural machine, and wherein there is a change in the center of gravity during operation of the agricultural machine.
However, Murphy teaches wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a center of gravity of the agricultural machine, and wherein there is a change in the center of gravity during operation of the agricultural machine (system calculates or measures the location of the tractor's center of gravity (or changes in the center of gravity location from a known starting point). - Murphy ¶39).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Murphy teaches rollover warning systems and methods for autopilot-guided agricultural vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with rollover warning systems and methods for autopilot-guided agricultural vehicles, as taught by Murphy, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve both safety and efficiency of a tractor operation, see Murphy ¶38 for details.
As per claim 16
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a center of gravity of the agricultural machine, and wherein there is a change in the center of gravity during operation of the agricultural machine.
However, Murphy teaches wherein the at least one machine-specific parameter includes a center of gravity of the agricultural machine, and wherein there is a change in the center of gravity during operation of the agricultural machine (system calculates or measures the location of the tractor's center of gravity (or changes in the center of gravity location from a known starting point). - Murphy ¶39).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Murphy teaches rollover warning systems and methods for autopilot-guided agricultural vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with rollover warning systems and methods for autopilot-guided agricultural vehicles, as taught by Murphy, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve both safety and efficiency of a tractor operation, see Murphy ¶38 for details.
Claims 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, Singh, and Zou, as per claims 1, and 11, respectively, and further in view of Schmidt, US-20230050661-A1, hereinafter referred to as Schmidt.
As per claim 10
Foster does not specifically disclose further comprising: obtaining at least one of a maximum allowable speed or a minimum allowable speed, wherein the target speed is at or below the maximum allowable speed and at or above the minimum allowable speed.
However, Schmidt teaches further comprising: obtaining at least one of a maximum allowable speed or a minimum allowable speed, wherein the target speed is at or below the maximum allowable speed and at or above the minimum allowable speed (user further predefines boundary conditions in terms of…a minimum travelling speed v_min and/or a maximum travelling speed v_max of the tractor 10. A target travelling speed…is additionally predefined - Schmidt ¶57).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Schmidt teaches a method for automating an agricultural work task.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a method for automating an agricultural work task, as taught by Schmidt, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve processing efficiency and processing quality, see Schmidt ¶5 for details.
As per claim 17
Foster does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to: obtain at least one of a maximum allowable speed or a minimum allowable speed, wherein the target speed is at or below the maximum allowable speed and at or above the minimum allowable speed.
However, Schmidt teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to: obtain at least one of a maximum allowable speed or a minimum allowable speed, wherein the target speed is at or below the maximum allowable speed and at or above the minimum allowable speed (control unit 28 also receives information from a data processing unit 80, stored as corresponding software in the control unit 28, user further predefines boundary conditions in terms of…a minimum travelling speed v_min and/or a maximum travelling speed v_max of the tractor 10. A target travelling speed…is additionally predefined - Schmidt ¶49 & ¶52 & ¶57).
Foster discloses systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles. Schmidt teaches a method for automating an agricultural work task.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Foster, systems and methods for detecting bumps and reducing their effects on autonomous agricultural vehicles, with a method for automating an agricultural work task, as taught by Schmidt, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve processing efficiency and processing quality, see Schmidt ¶5 for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668