Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the biasing member defining one of a spring and a garter spring positioned behind a sealing lip acting in one of side compression and vertical compression, the biasing member providing one of an axial force and a radial force to maintain contact between the sealing lip and a shaft surface of the rotor shaft (claim 5), flexible spring-loaded tips used to maintain contact with the hollow cylinder and to compensate for cylinder surface irregularities (claim 6), and sealing the hollow cylinder hermetically using rotating seals positioned at opposed ends of the portion of the longitudinal cavity of the hollow cylinder and sealing tapes to retain the conductive media within the hollow cylinder (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 8 – 9, and 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US20220216772A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei et al. discloses an electric motor grounding mechanism (Wei et al. Fig. 2), comprising:
a hollow cylinder (outer ring 121 of conductive bearing 120) packed with a conductive media (conductive grease) (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16);
rotating seals (two sealing rings) connected on the hollow cylinder on opposed ends of the hollow cylinder to retain the conductive media within the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16);
a rotor shaft (motor shaft 190) positioned within an electric motor (motor rotor 100) (Wei et al. Fig. 1),
the rotor shaft having a hollow center (bearing housing 140) internally receiving the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Fig. 3);
and a metal tube (conductive pillar 130) connected to an electric ground (motor housing 200) (Wei et al. Para [0092] last sentence),
the metal tube slidably inserted through the hollow center of the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Fig. 3),
the rotor shaft being conductively connected to the electric ground through the metal tube and the conductive media (Wei et al. Para [0069] last sentence).
Regarding Claim 2, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1, wherein the electric motor includes a housing (also motor housing 200) defining the electric ground (Wei et al. Para [0092] last sentence),
the metal tube being fixedly connected to the housing (Wei et al. Fig. 3 discloses the conductive pillar 130 is fixedly connected to motor housing 200 via grounding bracket 150).
Regarding Claim 3, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 2, wherein the rotor shaft rotates with respect to a longitudinal axial centerline (axis l) of the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Para [0066] whole paragraph),
the rotor shaft extending through the housing (Wei et al. Fig. 1) and induced to rotate by passing an electric current through a winding (Wei et al. Para [0063] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1, wherein the metal tube is stationary during operation of the electric motor (Wei et al. Para [0119] lines 15 – 20) with the hollow cylinder being fixed to and corotating with the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Wei et al. discloses an electric motor grounding system (Wei et al. Fig. 2), comprising:
a vehicle (Wei et al. Para [0073] first sentence) having an electric motor (motor rotor 100) positioned in a housing (motor housing 200) (Wei et al. Fig. 1);
a rotor shaft (motor shaft 190) of the electric motor axially rotating within the housing (Wei et al. Fig. 1),
the rotor shaft having a hollow center (bearing housing 140) (Wei et al. Fig. 3);
a hollow cylinder (conductive bearing 120) having a cylinder cavity in communication with the hollow center of the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Fig. 3);
multiple rotary seals (two sealing rings) connected to the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16);
and an electric ground (also motor housing 200) created between the rotor shaft, the hollow cylinder and the housing to dissipate a parasitic voltage generated by rotation of the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Para [0013] last sentence and Para [0069] last sentence discloses that the shaft current on the conductive pillar 130 is discharged to the motor housing 200 as a result of dissipation of parasitic voltage generated by motor shaft 190).
Regarding Claim 12, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding system of claim 11, including a cartridge assembly (also conductive bearing 120) (Wei et al. Fig. 2) having:
a conductive grease packed within the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16);
and the multiple rotary seals are connected in the hollow cylinder on opposed ends of the hollow cylinder to retain the conductive grease within the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Wakuta (JP2009115283A).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1.
Wei et al. does not disclose:
including flexible spring-loaded tips used to maintain contact with the hollow cylinder and to compensate for cylinder surface irregularities.
Wakuta discloses:
including flexible spring-loaded tips (fixing portions 26c and contact lip portion 26e of sealing member 26a) used to maintain contact with the hollow cylinder (outer ring 23) and to compensate for cylinder surface irregularities (Wakuta Fig. 1).
Wei et al. and Wakuta disclose hollow cylinders therefore, Wakuta constitutes as prior art. Wakuta discloses a bearing having hermetic seals between an inner ring and outer ring. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include flexible spring-loaded tips used to maintain contact with the hollow cylinder and to compensate for cylinder surface irregularities of Wakuta for the purpose of preventing an uncontrolled passage of containments to the hollow cylinder.
Regarding Claim 7, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the hollow cylinder is formed as first (also outer ring 121) and second cylinder pieces (inner ring 123) (Wei et al. Fig. 3).
Wei does not disclose:
includes hermetic seals between the first and second cylinder pieces mitigating against ingress of contaminants and moisture into the grounding mechanism.
Wakuta discloses:
includes hermetic seals (sealing seal 26) between the first (outer ring 23) and second cylinder pieces (inner ring 22) mitigating against ingress of contaminants and moisture into the grounding mechanism (Wakuta Para [0014] lines 1 – 3 discloses the sealing member 26 is formed from hydrogenated nitrile rubber, which is known in the art to be a highly effective hermetic barrier against liquids and gases).
Wei et al. and Wakuta disclose sealing rings therefore, Wakuta constitutes as prior art. Wakuta discloses a bearing having hermetic seals between an inner ring and outer ring. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include hermetic seals between the first and second cylinder pieces mitigating against ingress of contaminants and moisture into the grounding mechanism of Wakuta for the purpose of preventing an uncontrolled passage of containments to the hollow cylinder.
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Makino et al. (US20230006498A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1.
Wei et al. does not disclose:
including slots on at least one of a cylinder surface of the hollow cylinder and an inner diameter surface of the hollow cylinder,
the slots directing passage of air into the rotor shaft to enhance ventilation and cooling for the electric motor during operation.
Makino et al. discloses:
including slots (second shaft through-holes 202) on at least one of a cylinder surface of the hollow cylinder (shaft lid 214) and an inner diameter surface of the hollow cylinder (also shaft lid 214) (Makino et al. Fig. 4),
the slots directing passage of air into the rotor shaft (first shaft 21 of shaft 2) to enhance ventilation and cooling for the electric motor (1) (Makino et al. Fig. 1) during operation (Makino et al. Para [0053] whole paragraph).
Wei et al. and Makino et al. disclose hollow cylinders therefore, Makino et al. constitutes as prior art. Makino et al. discloses a shaft lid comprising through holes that can have air be sucked through into a first shaft of a shaft of a rotor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include slots on at least one of a cylinder surface of the hollow cylinder and an inner diameter surface of the hollow cylinder, the slots directing passage of air into the rotor shaft to enhance ventilation and cooling for the electric motor during operation of Makino et al. for the purpose of removing heat generation, and prolonging the service life of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 9, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1.
Wei et al. does not disclose:
including passages created in the hollow cylinder directing passage of an oil to enable cooling of the rotor and the conductive media.
Makino et al. discloses:
including passages (second shaft through-holes 202) created in the hollow cylinder (shaft lid 214) directing passage of an oil (fluid F) (Makino et al. Para [0050] lines 9 – 12) to enable cooling of the rotor (11) (Makino et al. Fig. 1).
Wei et al. and Makino et al. structurally discloses:
including passages created in the hollow cylinder directing passage of an oil to enable cooling of the rotor (of Makino et al. Para [0050] lines 9 – 12) and the conductive media (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al. and Makino et al. disclose hollow cylinders therefore, Makino et al. constitutes as prior art. Makino et al. discloses a shaft lid comprising through holes that can have oil be sucked through into a first shaft of a shaft of a rotor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include passages created in the hollow cylinder directing passage of an oil to enable cooling of the rotor and the conductive media of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Makino et al. for the purpose of prolonging the service life of the electric motor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Zhang (CN1887490A).
Regarding Claim 10, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding mechanism of claim 1,
the conductive media defining a conductive grease (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei does not disclose:
including surface features extending from the metal tube defining fins,
the fins enhancing contact with the conductive media.
Zhang discloses:
including surface features extending from the metal tube defining fins (Zhang Para [0007] line 2 discloses a number of spirally arranged, raised fins on the inner wall of the metal tube).
Wei et al. and Zhang structurally disclose:
the fins enhancing contact (of Zhang Para [0007] line 2 discloses a number of spirally arranged, raised fins on the inner wall of the metal tube) with the conductive media (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al. and Zhang discloses metal tubes therefore, Zhang constitutes prior art. Zhang discloses a metal tube that has an number of inner spiral fins, raised on an inner surface of the metal tube. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include surface features extending from the metal tube defining fins of Garzmann, and the fins enhancing contact with the conductive media of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Zhang for the purpose of improving heat transfer efficiency between the conductive media and the metal tube via the fins.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Samie et al. (US20240235336A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding system of claim 12, including a metal tube (conductive pillar 130) connected to the housing defining the electric ground (Wei et al. Para [0092] last sentence),
the metal tube slidably inserted through the rotary seals and the hollow center of the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Fig. 3).
the rotor shaft being conductively connected to the electric ground through the metal tube and the conductive grease internally receiving the hollow cylinder (Wei et al. Para [0013] last sentence and Para [0069] last sentence discloses that the shaft current on the conductive pillar 130 is discharged to the motor housing 200 as a result of dissipation of parasitic voltage generated by motor shaft 190),
and wherein during operation of the electric motor the metal tube remains stationary (Wei et al. Para [0119] lines 15 – 20) and the hollow cylinder co-rotating with the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Fig. 3).
Wei et al. does not disclose:
the metal tube extending into and making contact with the conductive grease.
Samie et al. discloses:
the metal tube (feed tube 353) extending into and making contact with a conductive fluid (385) (Samie et al. Fig. 4).
Wei et al. and Samie et al. structurally discloses:
the metal tube extending into and making contact (of Samie et al. Fig. 4) with the conductive grease (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al. and Samie et al. discloses metal tubes therefore, Samie et al. constitutes as prior art. Samie et al. discloses an electric motor grounding system comprising a conductive feed tube extending into and making contact with a conductive fluid. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the metal tube extending into and making contact with the conductive grease of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Samie et al. for the purpose of establishing an ohmic conduction path between the feed tube and the conductive grease.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Samie et al., Wakuta and further in view of Makino et al.
Regarding Claim 14, Wei et al. and Samie et al. discloses the electric motor grounding system of claim 13,
wherein the hollow cylinder is created in two pieces including an inner piece (inner ring 123) and an outer piece (outer ring 121) (Wei et al. Fig. 3).
Wei et al. and Samie et al. does not disclose:
wherein the hollow cylinder is with a hermetic seal and multiple air channels present between the inner piece and outer piece.
Wakuta discloses:
wherein the hollow cylinder (front bearing 21) is with a hermetic seal (sealing seal 26) present between the inner piece (inner ring 22) and outer piece (outer ring 23) (Wakuta Fig. 1).
Makino et al. discloses:
wherein the hollow cylinder (shaft lid 214) is with multiple air channels (second shaft through-holes 202) through present between the inner piece (inner circumferential portion of shaft lid 214) and outer piece (outer circumferential portion of shaft lid 214) (Makino et al. Para [0053] whole paragraph and Fig. 6A).
Wakuta and Makino et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the hollow cylinder is with a hermetic seal (of Wakuta Fig. 1) and multiple air channels (of Makino et al. Para [0053] whole paragraph) present between the inner piece and outer piece (of Wakuta Fig. 1 and of Makino Fig. 6A).
Wei et al., Samie et al., Wakuta, and Makino et al. disclose bearings therefore, Wakuta and Makino et al. constitute as prior art. Wakuta discloses a bearing having hermetic seals between an inner ring and outer ring and Makino et al. discloses a shaft lid comprising through holes that can have air be sucked through into a first shaft of a shaft of a rotor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the hollow cylinder is with a hermetic seal and multiple air channels present between the inner piece and outer piece of structurally disclosed Wakuta and Makino et al. for the purpose of 1) preventing an uncontrolled passage of containments to the hollow cylinder and 2) prolonging the service life of the electric motor.
Claims 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Samie et al. and further in view of Makino et al.
Regarding Claim 15, Wei et al. and Samie et al. discloses the electric motor grounding system of claim 13.
Wei et al. and Samie et al. does not disclose:
wherein the rotor shaft includes slots on a rotor surface to direct air into the rotor shaft, the slots formed on an inner diameter surface of the rotor shaft.
Makino et al. discloses:
wherein the rotor shaft (2) includes slots (second shaft through-holes 202) on a rotor surface (shaft lid 214) to direct air into the rotor shaft (Makino et al. Para [0053] whole paragraph),
the slots formed on an inner diameter surface of the rotor shaft (Makino et al. Fig. 6B).
Wei et al., Samie et al., and Makino et al. disclose rotor shafts, Makino et al. constitutes as prior art. Makino et al. discloses a shaft lid comprising through holes that can have air be sucked through into a first shaft of a shaft of a rotor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotor shaft includes slots on a rotor surface to direct air into the rotor shaft, the slots formed on an inner diameter surface of the rotor shaft of Makino et al. for the purpose of prolonging the service life of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 16, Wei et al. discloses the electric motor grounding system of claim 11, including:
a first one of the rotary seals fixed at a first end of the hollow cylinder and a second one of the rotary seals fixed at a second end of the hollow cylinder opposite to the first one of the rotary seals (Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al. does not disclose:
a first tube supplying a coolant to the cylinder cavity having a third one of the rotary seals connecting the first tube to the first one of the rotary seals;
and a second tube directing the coolant out of the cylinder cavity and having a fourth one of the rotary seals connecting the second tube to the second one of the rotary seals;
and wherein to remove the parasitic voltage from the hollow cylinder, the first one of the rotary seals, the second one of the rotary seals, the third one of the rotary seals and the fourth one of the rotary seals define a conductive sealing material.
Samie et al. discloses:
a first tube (feed tube 353) supplying a coolant (pressurized fluid) having a third one of the rotary seals (inner sealing ring 381) (Samie et al. Fig. 3).
Makino et al. discloses:
a second tube (seal holder 442) directing the coolant out (Makino et al. Para [0083] lines 6 – 9) and having a fourth one of the rotary seals (seal member 443) (Makino et al. Fig. 8).
Wei et al. and Samie et al. structurally disclose:
a first tube supplying a coolant (of Samie et al. Fig. 3) to the cylinder cavity (of Wei et al. Fig. 3) having a third one of the rotary seals connecting the first tube (of Samie et al. Fig. 3) to the first one of the rotary seals (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al. and Makino et al. structurally disclose:
a second tube directing the coolant out (of Makino et al. Para [0083] lines 6 – 9) of the cylinder cavity (of Wei et al. Fig. 3) and having a fourth one of the rotary seals connecting the second tube (of Makino et al. Fig. 8) to the second one of the rotary seals (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Wei et al., Samie et al., and Makino et al. structurally disclose:
wherein to remove the parasitic voltage from the hollow cylinder (of Wei et al. Para [0069] last sentence), the first one of the rotary seals (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16), the second one of the rotary seals (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16), the third one of the rotary seals (of Samie et al. Fig. 3) and the fourth one of the rotary seals (of Makino et al. Fig. 8) define a conductive sealing material (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16, of Samie et al. Fig. 3, and of Makino et al. Fig. 8).
Wei et al., Samie et al., and Makino et al. disclose rotor shafts, Makino et al. constitutes as prior art. Samie et al. discloses an electric motor grounding system comprising a conductive feed tube supplying pressurized fluid into a rotor shaft and Makino et al. discloses a sealing holder directing a fluid to a seal member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first tube supplying a coolant to the cylinder cavity having a third one of the rotary seals connecting the first tube to the first one of the rotary seals of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Samie et al., a second tube directing the coolant out of the cylinder cavity and having a fourth one of the rotary seals connecting the second tube to the second one of the rotary seals of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Makino et al., and wherein to remove the parasitic voltage from the hollow cylinder, the first one of the rotary seals, the second one of the rotary seals, the third one of the rotary seals and the fourth one of the rotary seals define a conductive sealing material of structurally disclosed Wei et al., Samie et al., and Makino et al. for the purpose of 1) hermetically sealing the first tube to the cylinder cavity of the hollow cylinder, 2) hermetically sealing the second tube to the cylinder cavity of the hollow cylinder, and 3) forming a conductive sealing material to block environmental hazards while providing electrical grounding to the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 17, Wei et al., Samie et al., and Makino et al. disclose the electric motor grounding system of claim 16.
Wei et al. do not disclose:
the third one of the rotary seals is biased in a first sealing direction into sealing contact with the first one of the rotary seals;
and the fourth one of the rotary seals is biased in a second sealing direction opposite to the first sealing direction into sealing contact with the third one of the rotary seals.
Wei et al. and Samie et al. structurally disclose:
the third one of the rotary seals (of Samie et al. Fig. 3) is biased in a first sealing direction into sealing contact with the first one of the rotary seals (of Wei et al. Para [0069] lines 12 – 16).
Samie et al. and Makino et al. structurally disclose:
the fourth one of the rotary seals (of Makino et al. Fig. 8) is biased in a second sealing direction opposite to the first sealing direction into sealing contact with the third one of the rotary seals (of Samie et al. Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third one of the rotary seals is biased in a first sealing direction into sealing contact with the first one of the rotary seals of structurally disclosed Wei et al. and Samie et al., and the fourth one of the rotary seals is biased in a second sealing direction opposite to the first sealing direction into sealing contact with the third one of the rotary seals of structurally disclosed Samie et al. and Makino et al. for the purpose of creating a dual sealing system between the third rotary seal and the first rotary seal, and the fourth rotary seal and the third rotary seal to maximize sealing reliability and prevent fluid leaks.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Wakuta, Samie et al., and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 18, Wei et al. discloses a method for forming an electric motor grounding mechanism (Wei et al. Fig. 2), comprising:
filling a portion of a longitudinal cavity of a hollow cylinder (outer ring 121) with a conductive media (conductive grease) (Wei et al. Fig. 3);
inserting the hollow cylinder into a hollow bore (bearing housing 140) (Wei et al. Fig. 3) of a rotor shaft (motor shaft 190) of an electric motor (motor rotor 100) (Wei et al. Fig. 1);
inserting a metal tube (conductive pillar 130) into the hollow bore of the rotor shaft (Wei et al. Fig. 3);
and connecting the metal tube to an electric ground to electrically ground the rotor shaft through the metal tube and the conductive media (Wei et al. Para [0013] last sentence and Para [0069] last sentence).
Wei et al. does not disclose:
sealing the hollow cylinder hermetically using rotating seals positioned at opposed ends of the portion of the longitudinal cavity of the hollow cylinder and sealing tapes to retain the conductive media within the hollow cylinder;
inserting a metal tube through the conductive media;
providing surface features on the metal tube including tilted fins to enhance contact of the metal tube with the conductive media.
Wakuta discloses:
sealing the hollow cylinder (outer ring 23) hermetically using rotating seals (sealing seal 26) positioned at opposed ends of the portion of the longitudinal cavity of the hollow cylinder (Wakuta Fig. 1) and sealing tapes (also sealing seal 26) (Wakuta Para [0014] lines 1 – 5 discloses the sealing member can be made from ester-resistant acrylic rubber, which is known in the art to be commonly used as an pressure sensitive adhesive) to retain the conductive media within the hollow cylinder (Wakuta Fig. 1).
Samie et al. discloses:
inserting a metal tube (feed tube 353) through the conductive media (conductive fluid 385) (Sami et al. Fig. 3).
Zhang discloses:
providing surface features on the metal tube including tilted fins (Zhang Para [0007] line 2 discloses a number of spirally arranged, raised fins on the inner wall of the metal tube).
Samie et al. and Zhang structurally disclose:
providing surface features on the metal tube including tilted fins (of Zhang Para [0007] line 2) to enhance contact of the metal tube with the conductive media (of Sami et al. Fig. 3).
Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., and Zhang discloses conductive metals therefore, Wakuta, Samie et al., and Zhang constitute as prior art. Wakuta discloses a bearing having hermetic seals between an inner ring and outer ring, Samie et al. discloses an electric motor grounding system comprising a conductive feed tube supplying pressurized fluid into a rotor shaft, and Zhang discloses a metal tube having a number of spirally arranged, raised fins on an inner surface on a metal tube. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seal the hollow cylinder hermetically using rotating seals positioned at opposed ends of the portion of the longitudinal cavity of the hollow cylinder and sealing tapes to retain the conductive media within the hollow cylinder of Wakuta, inserting a metal tube through the conductive media of Samie et al., and providing surface features on the metal tube including tilted fins to enhance contact of the metal tube with the conductive media of structurally disclosed Samie et al. and Zhang for the purpose of 1) preventing an uncontrolled passage of containments to the hollow cylinder, 2) establishing an ohmic conduction path between the feed tube and the conductive grease, and 3) further improve heat transfer between the metal tube and the conductive media via the tilted fins.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Wakuta, Samie et al., Zhang and further in view of Nakata et al. (US20230137134A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., and Zhang discloses the method of claim 18.
Wei et al. does not disclose:
further including configuring the metal tube as a hollow tube directing passage of lubrication oil through the metal tube into the hollow bore of the rotor shaft.
Nakata et al. discloses:
further including configuring the metal tube (nozzle member 70) (Nakata et al. Para [0063] second sentence) as a hollow tube directing passage of lubrication oil (oil O) through the metal tube into the hollow bore (a hollow first shaft member 31 a and a hollow second shaft member 110) of the rotor shaft (31) (Nakata et al. Fig. 2).
Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., Zhang, and Nakata et al. disclose conductive metals therefore, Nakata et al. constitute as prior art. Nakata et al. discloses a metallic nozzle supplying oil to a rotor shaft. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include configuring the metal tube as a hollow tube directing passage of lubrication oil through the metal tube into the hollow bore of the rotor shaft of Nakata et al. for the purpose of cooling the rotor shaft.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. in view of Wakuta, Samie et al., Zhang and further in view of Makino et al.
Regarding Claim 20, Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., and Zhang discloses the method of claim 18.
Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., and Zhang do not disclose:
further including forming air passage features on one of an outer surface of the metal tube and an inner surface of the rotor shaft.
Makino et al. discloses:
further including forming air passage features (second shaft through-holes 202) on one of an outer surface of the metal tube and an inner surface (shaft lid 214) of the rotor shaft (2) (Makino et al. Fig. 6B).
Wei et al., Wakuta, Samie et al., Zhang, and Makino et al. disclose conductive metals therefore, Makino et al. constitutes as prior art. Makino et al. discloses a shaft lid comprising through holes that can have air be sucked through into a first shaft of a shaft of a rotor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include forming air passage features on one of an outer surface of the metal tube and an inner surface of the rotor shaft of Makino et al. for the purpose of prolonging the service life of the electric motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art discloses various electric motor grounding mechanisms with biasing members. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, having the biasing member providing one of an axial force and a radial force to maintain contact between the sealing lip and a shaft surface of the rotor shaft is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834