DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “evaluation unit” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dam US 6631639.
As to claim 1, Dam teaches “A sensor assembly for monitoring the structure of a housing structure for holding fluid or solid media (Abstract; Figure 2 shows liquid inside a tank), with an outer casing (Figure 2, 12), wherein the sensor assembly has a central control unit (Figure 2, 30), wherein the central control unit is designed to generate and to receive structure-borne sound signal patterns (Figure 2, 30 is connected to a pulse which is connected to a transducer 30, therefore the control unit can generate sound signal patterns via a transducer. The high speed A/D converter transmits received signals into 30 via transducer 22. Therefore control unit can receive sound signal patterns as well), wherein the sensor assembly has at least one transmitter unit, wherein the transmitter unit is separated spatially from the central control unit, wherein the at least one transmitter unit is designed to generate and receive structure-borne sound signal patterns (Figure 2, 30 and 22 are transmits units), and wherein the central control unit has at least one evaluation unit for evaluating the structure-borne sound signal patterns emitted by the transmitter units (Figure 2 is an expanded view of processing module 24; Abstract teaches how these components determine presence or absence of liquid at a certain point/height within the housing structure).”
As to claim 2, Dam teaches “wherein the central control unit is designed to control the at least one transmitter unit by means of structure-borne sound signal patterns (Figure 2).”
As to claim 3, Dam teaches “wherein the sensor assembly includes multiple transmitter units (Figure 2).”
As to claim 5, Dam teaches “wherein the central control unit is designed to be arranged on the outside of the housing structure (Figures 1 and 2).”
As to claim 6, Dam teaches “wherein the transmitter units have at least one structure-borne sound sensor (Figure 2, the transducers can receive sound waves from the container wall and then transmit an electrical signal to an A/D converter so it can be processed) and/or at least one power supply and/or at least one processing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dam US 6631639 in view of Hess US 6157894.
As to claim 4, the prior arts do not explicitly teach “wherein at least one transmitter unit is designed to be arranged inside the housing structure.”
Hess teaches “wherein at least one transmitter unit is designed to be arranged inside the housing structure (Column 4, lines 26-28).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Dam with Hess. Placing a known sensor at a different location would be obvious since the concept and motive behind the placement is the same regardless of location. The intention is to measure the liquid level within the container, and placing the sensor in a location to optimizer sensor performance would be obvious.
As to claim 12, Dam teaches “A housing structure for holding fluid or solid media (Figure 2, 12), having an outer casing (Figure 2 shows an outer casing), wherein the housing structure includes a sensor assembly according to the invention, wherein a central control unit is arranged on the outside of the housing structure (Figure 2),
Hess teaches “and wherein at least one transmitter unit is arranged inside the housing structure (Column 4, lines 26-28).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Dam with Hess. Placing a known sensor at a different location would be obvious since the concept and motive behind the placement is the same regardless of location. The intention is to measure the liquid level within the container, and placing the sensor in a location to optimizer sensor performance would be obvious.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dam US 6631639 in view of Han US 6701787
As to claim 8, Dam teaches “wherein the sensor assembly has at least one central control unit and at least one transmitter unit (Figure 2), wherein the central control unit and the at least one transmitter unit are designed to generate and to receive structure-borne sound signal patterns (Figure 2, 30 is connected to a pulse which is connected to a transducer 30, therefore the control unit can generate sound signal patterns via a transducer. The high speed A/D converter transmits received signals into 30 via transducer 22. Therefore control unit can receive sound signal patterns as well), wherein at least one structure-borne sound signal pattern is emitted by means of the transmitter unit (Figure 2 show transducer units which can generate signals that travel within the wall of the container), wherein the structure-borne sound signal pattern emitted by the transmitter unit is received and evaluated by means of the central control unit (Figure 2).” The prior art does not explicitly teach that the signals are used to determine the state of the structure.
Han teaches “A method for monitoring the structure of a housing structure intended to hold fluid or solid media, and wherein a conclusion is drawn regarding the state of the housing structure from the structure-borne sound signal patterns received (Abstract; Column 1, lines 38-60).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Han with Dam. It can be seen that waves passing within the wall of a structure can be used to determine the state of the structure. The deposits in Han represent concerns that can block flow, therefore the structure needs to be monitored. Using waves within structure walls allows for the user to determine thinning walls and/or blockages, which could result in damage.
As to claim 9, Dam teaches “wherein control commands in the form of structure-borne sound signal patterns are generated by the central control unit and sent to the transmitter units (Figure 2, 30 is connected to a pulse which is connected to a transducer 30, therefore the control unit can generate sound signal patterns via a transducer. The high speed A/D converter transmits received signals into 30 via transducer 22. Therefore control unit can receive sound signal patterns as well).”
As to claim 10, Dam teaches “wherein a conclusion is drawn regarding the state of the housing structure from a difference between a structure-borne sound signal pattern emitted by the transmitter unit and the structure-borne sound signal pattern received by the central control unit (Abstract).”
As to claim 11, Dam teaches “wherein the sensor assembly has multiple transmitter units, and that the housing structure is monitored on the basis of structure-borne sound signal patterns sent back and forth between the transmitter units and the central control unit (Figure 2).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5015995 teaches the use of external transducers to monitor liquid levels.
US 6227040 teaches transducers to monitor liquid levels.
US 20040173021 teaches using a single transducer to measure liquid height
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855