DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 6/16/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 21-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same essential assaulter belt assembly having a first thermoplastic layer with windows and upper and lower bindings and a second layer on the back side of the first layer, opening defined at the upper edge between the layers, and an inner belt assembly.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 the phrase “the plurality of windows” should be deleted or amended to complete the phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins (US 11,470,950) in view of Yewer, Jr. (US 5,581,810).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10 , Hawkins discloses an assaulter belt assembly substantially as claimed, including: a first layer 8/10 comprising a thermoplastic composite material and a plurality of windows 16 (PALS pattern) spaced apart along a length of the first layer; a second layer 17 extending along a back side of the first layer and coupled to the first layer, coupling mechanisms 48/49. Hawkins does not disclose a binding on the upper and lower edges of the first layer. However, Yewer discloses that it is know not provide a binding strip 24 that folded over the edges of the belt and coupled thereto by single needle stitching pattern 42 – see col. 2 lines 17-22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a first and second binding on the upper and lower edges of the first layer 8/10 “for comfort to prevent direct contact between edges of the [belt] and the user and for aesthetics” – see Yewer col. 2 lines 17-22.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkin in view of Yewer, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beck (US 2017/0000249).
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Hawkins discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose a third layer and inner belt as claimed. Beck teaches that it is known to provide a back side of tactical belt with a third layer 132 of loop fasteners that engage corresponding hook fasteners 134 on the outer surface of an inner belt 108. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide Hawkins with an inner belt and hook and loop fasteners on the back side of the second layer and front side of the inner belt in order to provide comfort to the user – see p. [0023].
Regarding claims 21-14, Hawkins in view of Yewer and Back, as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, and 12-13 discloses the invention as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 11, 14, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and pending approval of the appropriate terminal disclaimer to obviate the double patenting rejection).
Conclusion
/COREY N SKURDAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734