DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2-6-2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 objected to because of the following informalities: The last paragraph of claim 1 appear to be an incomplete sentence and claim 2 contains the phrase “is provided is used”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1-7 and 10-17 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,052. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both provide for identical methods using identical hardware. The patent uses the phrase “sweep steps” which the application uses “sweeping”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the number of sweep steps limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 in this application is given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0320335, published October 30, 2014 in view of Liu, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0269744, filed August 6, 20200
As per claims 1 and 9, Lee discloses a method for synchronous dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location, the method comprising:
providing a steerable phased array antenna including: a first antenna element array operable in a first radio frequency band; and a second antenna element array operable in a second radio frequency band (Lee, ¶42);
wherein, the steerable phased array antenna produces a steerable antenna beam (Lee, ¶43 using virtual steering);
defining a target area (Lee, ¶40 perimeter to monitor);
sweeping the target area with the antenna beam while frequency time division multiplexing radio frequency signal transmissions from the first antenna element and the second antenna element (Lee, ¶47).
Lee fails to explicitly disclose using frequency time division multiplexing.
Liu teaches frequency time division multiplexing (¶86).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use frequency time division multiplexing in order to gain the benefit of efficient bandwidth sharing during transmission.
As per claim 2, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein signal data obtained from the steerable phased array antenna is provided is used for signal location (Lee, ¶45).
As per claim 3, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein signals from one or more pseudo emitters are filtered via a multipath ambiguity module (Lee, ¶50).
As per claim 4, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 3, wherein a location of a signal along the antenna beam is calculated by a phase ranging module (Lee, ¶42).
As per claim 5, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein signal data obtained from the steerable phased array antenna is transmitted out of the system (Lee, ¶56).
As per claims 6 and 11, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein radio frequency signaling in the first radio frequency band is Bluetooth and/or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol and radio frequency signaling in the second radio frequency band is back scatter modulation protocol for passive RFID (Liu, ¶161).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the frequency range limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 7, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the Bluetooth and/or Bluetooth Low Energy signaling is associated with a portable electronic device of a human user (Lee, ¶3 using a personal radar which is portable as it can be placed in different spots).
As per claim 8, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the frequency time division multiplexing of radio frequency signaling in the first and the second frequency bands is operative only upon the transmission of radio frequency signals, the frequency time division multiplexing configured to alternate radio frequency signal transmissions within each of the first and second frequency bands so that radio frequency signal transmission only occurs in one of the first and the second frequency bands at a time (Lee, ¶31 and Liu, ¶86).
As per claim 10, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 9 wherein said interleaving comprises frequency time division multiplexing (Liu, ¶86).
As per claim 12, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 9, wherein the first radio frequency band is 2.4 Ghz and the second radio frequency band is 900 Mhz (Lee, ¶31).
As per claim 13, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 9, wherein the frequency time division multiplexing is configured to operate upon an antenna beam with a common directional angle for both of the first and the second frequency bands (Liu, ¶86 and Lee, Fig. 1 where the direction for both frequencies is the same).
As per claim 14, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 9, wherein the steerable phased array antenna includes a first array of antenna elements dimensioned for operation in the first radio frequency band and a second array of antenna elements dimensioned for operation in the second radio frequency band (Lee, Fig. 4B).
As per claim 15, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 14, further including: a first antenna control unit controller electrically connected to the digital signal processor; and a first element driver circuit and a first polarity switching circuit electrically connected inline between the first antenna control unit controller and the first array of antenna elements (Lee, Fig. 4B).
As per claim 16, Lee as modified by Liu further discloses the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system of claim 9, further including an antenna interface controller electrically connected to the digital signal processor; the antenna interface controller configured to transmit data to and receive instructions from outside of the dual band radio frequency signal acquisition and source location system (Lee, ¶56 providing for outside communication).
The examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine how to utilize the external communications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646