DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 11/01/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an electric motor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…the a fundamental frequency…” in line 3 should be rewritten as “…a fundamental frequency…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kakimoto (US 2014/0001839 A1).
As to Claim 1 and 10, Kakimoto in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-22B disclose an inverter controller (ECU) for an electric motor (M) and a method of controlling a switching inverter for an electric motor for vehicular applications (see [0035]) comprising:
a system controller (20) for determining a rotational torque and a rotational speed for an electric motor (see [0037], [0039] and [0093]);
the electric motor (M) for generating the rotational torque at the rotational speed in response to an AC voltage (see [0037] and [0091]);
a battery (E) for supplying a DC voltage (see [0036]);
an inverter (10) including a first transistor (DH) and a second transistor (DL) for transforming the DC voltage into the AC voltage (see [0036]);
and an inverter controller (ECU) for determining a dead time (22) in response to the rotational torque and the rotational speed and for removing a first switching control signal from the first transistor, waiting a time duration equal to the dead time, and applying a second switching control signal to the second transistor and wherein the dead time is continuously updated in response to a change in the rotational torque and a change in the rotational speed (see [0040] and [0093]).
As to Claim 2, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, further including a temperature sensor (30) for detecting a first temperature of the first transistor and a second temperature of the second transistor and wherein the dead time is determined in response to the first temperature and the second temperature (see [0040]).
As to Claim 3, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to adjust the dead time by adjusting a slew rate of the first switching control signal and the second switching control signal (see [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 4, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 3, wherein slew rate is increased in response to a decrease in a battery voltage (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also [0038] and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 5, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to adjust the dead time in response to at least one of a vehicle speed, a throttle position, a steering angle, and a battery voltage (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also [0038] and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 6, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to adjust the dead time in response to at least one of an inverter output current magnitude, a junction temperature and a power module temperature (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also [0038] and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 7, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to adjust the dead time as a function of a set of gate driver parameters of at least one of the first transistor and the second transistor (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also ([0038]- [0040]) and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 8, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to reduce the dead time in response to at least one of a reduced inverter current and a reduced bus voltage and to increase the dead time in response to at least one of an increase in an inverter current and an increased bus voltage (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also ([0038]- [0040]) and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 9, Kakimoto disclose the inverter controller for the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the inverter controller is configured to adjust the dead time in response to a switching frequency of inverter or the a fundamental frequency of the electric motor (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also ([0038]- [0040]) and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 12, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the first transistor and the second transistor have a variable gate driver voltage level and wherein the dead time is determined in response to the variable gate driver voltage level (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also [0038] and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 13, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the inverter controller is configured to continuously adjust the dead time (22) in response to a change in at least one of the rotational torque, the rotational speed, a vehicle speed, a throttle position, a braking application level, a steering angle, a temperature of the first transistor, a temperature of the second transistor, a change in a magnitude of a battery voltage, and a change in a magnitude of a phase current (temperature sensor 30 and see also [0040]).
As to Claim 14, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the inverter controller is further configured to update a dead time register within a PWM output section of a controller hardware prior to issuing a new current command in response to the new current command is higher than a threshold (see [0039]).
As to Claim 15, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the inverter controller is further configured to update a dead time register within a PWM output section of a controller hardware prior to issuing a new current command in response to the new current command is lower than a threshold (see [0039] - [0040]).
As to Claim 16, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, where the inverter controller is further configured to update the dead time to be effective after a predetermined number of PWM cycles (see [0039] - [0040] and [0050]).
As to Claim 17, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the inverter controller is communicatively coupled to at least one of a look-up table and a closed form equation for the dead time to be varied to minimize at least one of an inverter conduction loss, a current harmonic, a torque harmonic and a noise, vibration and harshness level (see [0117] - [0119]).
As to Claim 18, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, wherein the dead time is applied within a fundamental cycle of a waveform of the AC voltage in order reduce a conduction loss (the dead-time can be changed by the gate control circuit 20 and is variable and see also [0038] and [0049] – [0050]).
As to Claim 19, Kakimoto in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-22B disclose a vehicle propulsion system (see [0121]) comprising:
a system controller (20) for receiving a user input via a user interface (starting a vehicle) and for determining a rotational speed and a rotational torque in response to the user input and a vehicle operating mode (see [0037], [0039], [0093] and [0121]);
a battery (E) for supplying a DC current (see [0036]);
a three phase electric motor (M) configured to generate the rotational torque at the rotational speed in response to an AC voltage (see [0037] and [0091]);
an inverter (10) including a first transistor (DH) and a second transistor (DL) for transforming the DC voltage into the AC voltage (see [0036]);
and an inverter controller (ECU) for determining a dead time (22) in response to the rotational torque and the rotational speed and for removing a first switching control signal from the first transistor, waiting a time duration equal to the dead time, and applying a second switching control signal to the second transistor and wherein the dead time is continuously updated in response to a change in the rotational torque and a change in the rotational speed (see [0040] and [0093]).
As to Claim 20, Kakimoto disclose the vehicle propulsion system of claim 19, wherein the inverter controller is configured to continuously adjust the dead time in response to a change in at least one of the rotational torque, the rotational speed, a vehicle speed, a throttle position, a braking application level, a steering angle, a temperature of the first transistor, a temperature of the second transistor, a change in a magnitude of a battery voltage (see [0039] – [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto in view of Ogale (Us 2015/0054337 A1).
As to Claim 11, Kakimoto disclose the method of controlling the switching inverter for the electric motor for vehicular applications of claim 10, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are wide bandgap semiconductors
Nonethless, Ogale in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-11 disclose DC-DC converters 605, 805 and 905 and the switches are preferably wide-band gap semiconductor devices, such as SiC and GaN transistors (see [0053])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant applicant for the first transistor and the second transistor to be wide bandgap semiconductors as thought by Ogale within the teachings of Kakimoto in order to have an efficiency with lower on state resistance and faster switchings times.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2020/0091854 A1: An inverter control method for preventing an increase or decrease fluctuation of a duty ratio of a pulse width modulation signal due to the dead time and suppressing generation of a torque ripple. A duty converter performs duty conversion on an input voltage waveform to a motor terminal voltage input circuitry to which a motor terminal voltage corresponding to each phase of an electric motor is input, and sets it as a detected duty. A command duty correction circuitry adds, to the command duty generated by a command duty generator, a differential duty that is a difference between the command duty and the detected duty, or subtracts the differential duty from the command duty, according to the direction of the phase current. Thereby, duty correction is performed to match the switching characteristics of the phase current before correction with the ideal characteristics – see [Abstract]).
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837