DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 11/01/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 7 and 8 recite “wherein the second control parameter is different from the second control parameter”. The second occurrence of “second control parameter” appears to be a typographical error and should be changed to “first control parameter” consistent with paragraphs [0064] and [0069] of the Specification, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 recites “pre-pushed to the local by the server.” The phrase “the local” lacks a clear referent and appears to be a typographical error. In view of the immediately preceding recitation of “a local cache”, “the local” is understood for purposes of examination to refer to “the local cache.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the air conditioner” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. JP-2022118964 A (hereinafter Liu), in view of Ock et al. USPGPUB 2018/0283723 A1 (hereinafter Ock).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method for controlling an air conditioner (Par. [0008], “The operation control unit controls the air conditioner based on the set temperature set by the set temperature determination unit.”), comprising:
determining that an operation mode of the air conditioner is a first mode (Par. [0017], “The operation modes of the air conditioner 1 include an automatic operation mode, a cooling operation mode, a dehumidification operation mode, and a heating operation mode”; Par. [0056] - [0057], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1). The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)” – the automatic operation mode and automatic driving mode both correspond to the same disclosed automatic mode. The automatic operation/driving mode corresponds to the first mode, and mode switching unit 101 determines whether that mode has been selected.), wherein the first mode is a mode for controlling an operation of the air conditioner based on a preference (Par. [0008], “The set temperature determining unit sets the set temperature based on the history of the room temperature or the voluntary set temperature voluntarily set by the user when the automatic operation mode is selected as the operation mode. The operation control unit controls the air conditioner based on the set temperature set by the set temperature determination unit.”; Par. [0009], “the present invention can automatically set the preset temperature according to the user's preference while limiting the adjustable range by the user in the automatic operation mode”; Par. [0019], “the user can change the set temperature according to his/her preference within a predetermined range of ±2° C” – the automatic operation mode controls the air conditioner using temperature settings reflecting the user’s preference.), and the first mode is provided with an associated first control (Par. [0017], “The remote controller 15 includes an operation section and a display section (not shown). The remote controller 15 outputs information generated by operating the operation unit to the control unit 10”; Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference” – the operation section of remote controller 15 that is operated to turn the preference-based automatic-driving function on or off corresponds to the first control associated with the automatic operation/driving mode.), the first control being configured to enable a target sub mode of the first mode (Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference”; Par. [0033], “The mode switching unit 101 also receives an instruction to turn on or off the function of preference based automatic driving from the remote controller 15”; Par. [0033], “when the preference adaptive automatic driving function is on, the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – preference-based automatic operation/driving corresponds to the target sub mode because it is a selectable form of the automatic operation/driving mode, and operation of the first control to turn the preference-based function on causes that sub mode to be executed.); and
determining that the target sub mode is not enabled (Par. [0058] “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0061], “if the preference-adaptive automatic driving function is not on (step S3: negative) … the operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation” – the negative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is not enabled.), and controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to a customized parameter value corresponding to a first control parameter (Par. [0042], “the set temperature determination unit 151 acquires the information of the previous remote control setting from the storage unit 20. Here, the information on the previous remote controller setting is the information on the temperature setting that the user made within the range of ±2° C. in the previous normal automatic operation”; Par. [0042], “the set temperature determining unit 151 acquires the set temperature corresponding to the remote control setting and the indoor temperature from the operation mode table 200”; Par. [0050], “The operation control unit 153 receives, from the set temperature determination unit 151 , information on the type of automatic operation indicating whether the automatic operation is normal operation or preference based automatic operation, and the operation mode and set temperature. When the notified operation mode is the automatic cooling operation, the operation control unit 153 controls the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room at the specified set temperature” – In the normal automatic operation resulting from the target sub mode not being enabled, the set temperature is determined using a temperature setting previously made by the user, and the air conditioner is controlled according to that customized set temperature.); and
determining that the target sub mode is enabled (Par. [0058], “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0059], “If the function of preference-adaptive automatic driving is on (step S3: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – the affirmative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is enabled.).
Liu does not explicitly teach controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server.
However, Ock teaches controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server (Par. [0155], “the data learning server DS may input the status information of the air conditioner A to the learning model stored in the data learning server DS to acquire the recommended temperature of the air conditioner A”; Par. [0157], “ the data learning server DS may transmit the acquired recommended temperature to the microcomputer 301 via the near field communication module 302”; Par. [0158], “the microcomputer 301 receiving the recommended temperature may change the recommended temperature to the set temperature. Then, the microcomputer 301 may control the air conditioner A depending on the changed set temperature.” – the recommended temperature corresponds to a recommended value of the first control parameter, set temperature, and is transmitted by the data learning server DS to microcomputer 301, and is used as the set temperature to control the air conditioner.).
Liu and Ock are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to air conditioning systems that determine a set temperature and control an air conditioner based on the determined set temperature.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above preference-based automatic air conditioning control system, as taught by Liu, and incorporate determining a recommended temperature at a server and transmitting the recommended temperature from the server to the air conditioner, as taught by Ock.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the convenience of controlling the temperature of the air conditioner and provide a recommended temperature suited to the user, as suggested by Ock (Par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches wherein controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter comprises:
determining that a preset condition is met (Par. [0084], “the operation control unit 153 determines whether or not the set temperature has been changed (step S208). If the set temperature has not been changed (step S208: No), the process of preference-based automatic driving proceeds to step S210.” – determining that the set temperature has not been changed corresponds to determining that a preset condition is met.); and
controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Par. [0077], “The set temperature determination unit 151 acquires the information of the previous remote control setting from the storage unit 20 (step S201).”; Par. [0078], “acquires the set temperature corresponding to the remote control setting and the room temperature from the operation mode table 200 (step S202).”; Par. [0079], “The operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 according to the set temperature”, Par. [0086], “If no instruction to stop operation has been received (step S210: No), the normal automatic operation process returns to step S203” – when the set temperature has not been changed, Liu continues normal automatic operation at step S203 using the set temperature corresponding to the previously stored user remote-control setting, which corresponds to controlling according to the customized parameter value.);
wherein the preset condition comprises one of:
the first control parameter has not been adjusted (Par. [0084], “the operation control unit 153 determines whether or not the set temperature has been changed (step S208). If the set temperature has not been changed (step S208: No)” – the set temperature corresponds to the first control parameter and determining that it has not been changed corresponds to determining that the first control parameter has not been adjusted.); or
the first control parameter has been adjusted, wherein an adjustment time is earlier than a customization time of the customized parameter value (Because the claim recites the preset conditions in the alternative, the second alternative need not be separately mapped where the first alternative is taught by the prior art.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that the target sub mode is not enabled and that the preset condition is not met (Par. [0058] “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0061], “if the preference-adaptive automatic driving function is not on (step S3: negative) … the operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation”; Par. [0084], “the operation control unit 153 determines whether or not the set temperature has been changed (step S208)”; Par. [0085], “if there is a change in the set temperature (step S208: affirmative)” – the determination at step S3 resulting in a negative determination corresponds to determining that the target sub mode is not enabled, and during the resulting normal automatic operation, the determination at step S208 resulting in an affirmative determination that the set temperature has been changed corresponds to determining that the preset condition is not met.), and determining a target parameter value obtained by adjusting the first control parameter (Par. [0081], “the temperature adjustment unit 152 changes the set temperature corresponding to the newly specified remote controller setting and operation mode information … Then, the temperature adjustment unit 152 notifies the operation control unit 153 of the acquired new set temperature to change the set temperature (step S205).” – the new set temperature is the target parameter value obtained by adjusting the set temperature.); and
controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to the target parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Par. [0082], “The operation control unit 153 changes the set temperature to control the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12, and stores the new remote control settings in the storage unit 20 (step S206)”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches wherein controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter comprises:
determining an initial parameter value corresponding to a second control parameter (Par. [0042], “the set temperature determination unit 151 uses the remote control setting and the information of the room temperature to store which operation mode to control among the automatic cooling operation, the automatic weak cooling operation, and the monitoring and automatic heating operation. It is determined based on the operation mode table 200 held by the unit 20” – the determined operation mode corresponds to the initial parameter value corresponding to the second control parameter.), wherein the second control parameter is different from the second control parameter (For the purposes of examination, the limitation in claim 7 reciting “wherein the second control parameter is different from the second control parameter” is interpreted as “wherein the second control parameter is different from the first control parameter”. Par. [0002], “In the automatic operation mode, the air conditioner detects the current room temperature at the start of operation, and automatically sets the operation mode and set temperature according to the detected temperature using an operation mode table prepared in advance” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter and is different from the set temperature, which corresponds to the first control parameter.); and
controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to the initial parameter value corresponding to the second control parameter and the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Par. [0079], “The temperature setting determination unit 151 notifies the temperature adjustment unit 152 and the operation control unit 153 of the temperature setting and the operation mode. The operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 according to the set temperature and operation mode notified from the set temperature determination unit 151 (step S203).”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that an initial parameter value corresponding to a second control parameter has been adjusted (Par. [0056], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1).”; Par. [0057], “The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7)” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter, and the determination that a mode other than the automatic operation mode has been selected corresponds to determining that the operation-mode parameter has been adjusted from its initial automatic-operation value.), wherein the second control parameter is different from the second control parameter (For the purposes of examination, the limitation in claim 8 reciting “wherein the second control parameter is different from the second control parameter” is interpreted as “wherein the second control parameter is different from the first control parameter”. Par. [0002], “In the automatic operation mode, the air conditioner detects the current room temperature at the start of operation, and automatically sets the operation mode and set temperature according to the detected temperature using an operation mode table prepared in advance” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter and is different from the set temperature, which corresponds to the first control parameter.); and
controlling the air conditioner to exit the first mode (Par. [0054], “When the automatic operation control unit 105 receives an operation stop instruction from the mode switching unit 101, the operation control unit 153 stops control of automatic operation.”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7). When the cooling operation mode is selected by the user (step S7: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 to execute the cooling operation. The cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 performs the cooling operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room (step S8).” – upon selection of an operation mode other than the automatic operation mode, Liu controls the air conditioner in the newly selected cooling mode rather than the automatic operation mode, corresponding to exiting the first mode.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that the operation mode of the air conditioner has been adjusted (Par. [0056] - [0057], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1). The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7)” – since the air conditioner is initially in the automatic operation mode, determining that a mode other than the automatic operation mode has been selected corresponds to determining that the operation mode of the air conditioner has been adjusted.); and
controlling the air conditioner to exit the first mode (Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7). When the cooling operation mode is selected by the user (step S7: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 to execute the cooling operation. The cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 performs the cooling operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room (step S8).” – after the operation mode is adjusted from the automatic operation mode to the cooling operation mode, Liu controls the air conditioner in the cooling operation mode, thereby exiting the first mode.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ock further teaches acquiring the recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by the server by one of (Par. [0155], “In operation 326, the data learning server DS may acquire the recommended temperature of the air conditioner A as the result of applying the learning model of the status information of the air conditioner A.”; Par. [0157], “Once the recommended temperature is acquired, in operation 327, the data learning server DS may transmit the acquired recommended temperature to the microcomputer 301” – the recommended temperature corresponds to the recommended parameter value for the set-temperature parameter and is sent by the data learning server DS.):
receiving the recommended parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter sent by the server (Par. [0157], “the data learning server DS may transmit the acquired recommended temperature to the microcomputer 301”; Par. [0158], “the microcomputer 301 receiving the recommended temperature may change the recommended temperature to the set temperature” – microcomputer 301 receives from the server the recommended temperature corresponding to the set-temperature parameter.); or
acquiring the recommended parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter from a local cache, wherein the recommended parameter value is pre-pushed to the local by the server (Because the claim recites alternatives, the second alternative need not be separately mapped where the first alternative is taught by the prior art.).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches a method for controlling an air conditioner (Par. [0008], “The operation control unit controls the air conditioner based on the set temperature set by the set temperature determination unit”), comprising:
determining that an operation mode is in a first mode (Par. [0017], “The operation modes of the air conditioner 1 include an automatic operation mode, a cooling operation mode, a dehumidification operation mode, and a heating operation mode”; Par. [0056] - [0057], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1). The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)” – the automatic operation mode and automatic driving mode both correspond to the same disclosed automatic mode. The automatic operation/driving mode corresponds to the first mode, and mode switching unit 101 determines whether that mode has been selected.), wherein the first mode is a mode for controlling an operation of the air conditioner based on a preference (Par. [0008], “The set temperature determining unit sets the set temperature based on the history of the room temperature or the voluntary set temperature voluntarily set by the user when the automatic operation mode is selected as the operation mode. The operation control unit controls the air conditioner based on the set temperature set by the set temperature determination unit.”; Par. [0009], “the present invention can automatically set the preset temperature according to the user's preference while limiting the adjustable range by the user in the automatic operation mode”; Par. [0019], “the user can change the set temperature according to his/her preference within a predetermined range of ±2° C” – the automatic operation mode controls the air conditioner using temperature settings reflecting the user’s preference), and the first mode is provided with an associated first control (Par. [0017], “The remote controller 15 includes an operation section and a display section (not shown). The remote controller 15 outputs information generated by operating the operation unit to the control unit 10”; Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference” – the operation section of remote controller 15 that is operated to turn the preference-based automatic-driving function on or off corresponds to the first control associated with the automatic operation/driving mode), the first control being configured to enable a target sub mode of the first mode (Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference”; Par. [0033], “The mode switching unit 101 also receives an instruction to turn on or off the function of preference based automatic driving from the remote controller 15”; Par. [0033], “when the preference adaptive automatic driving function is on, the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – preference-based automatic operation/driving corresponds to the target sub mode because it is a selectable form of the automatic operation/driving mode, and operation of the first control to turn the preference-based function on causes that sub mode to be executed);
determining that the target sub mode is not enabled (Par. [0058] “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0061], “if the preference-adaptive automatic driving function is not on (step S3: negative) … the operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation” – the negative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is not enabled.), and operating according to a customized parameter value corresponding to a first control parameter (Par. [0042], “the set temperature determination unit 151 acquires the information of the previous remote control setting from the storage unit 20. Here, the information on the previous remote controller setting is the information on the temperature setting that the user made within the range of ±2° C. in the previous normal automatic operation”; Par. [0042], “the set temperature determining unit 151 acquires the set temperature corresponding to the remote control setting and the indoor temperature from the operation mode table 200”; Par. [0050], “The operation control unit 153 receives, from the set temperature determination unit 151 , information on the type of automatic operation indicating whether the automatic operation is normal operation or preference based automatic operation, and the operation mode and set temperature. When the notified operation mode is the automatic cooling operation, the operation control unit 153 controls the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room at the specified set temperature” – In the normal automatic operation resulting from the target sub mode not being enabled, the set temperature is determined using a temperature setting previously made by the user, and the air conditioner is controlled according to that customized set temperature.);
determining that the target sub mode is enabled (Par. [0058], “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0059], “If the function of preference-adaptive automatic driving is on (step S3: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – the affirmative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is enabled.).
Liu does not explicitly teach operating according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server.
However, Ock teaches operating according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server (Par. [0155], “the data learning server DS may input the status information of the air conditioner A to the learning model stored in the data learning server DS to acquire the recommended temperature of the air conditioner A”; Par. [0157], “ the data learning server DS may transmit the acquired recommended temperature to the microcomputer 301 via the near field communication module 302”; Par. [0158], “the microcomputer 301 receiving the recommended temperature may change the recommended temperature to the set temperature. Then, the microcomputer 301 may control the air conditioner A depending on the changed set temperature.” – the recommended temperature corresponds to a recommended value of the first control parameter, set temperature, and is transmitted by the data learning server DS to microcomputer 301, and is used as the set temperature to control the air conditioner.).
Liu and Ock are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to air conditioning systems that determine a set temperature and control an air conditioner based on the determined set temperature.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above preference-based automatic air conditioning control system, as taught by Liu, and incorporate determining a recommended temperature at a server and transmitting the recommended temperature from the server to the air conditioner, as taught by Ock.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the convenience of controlling the temperature of the air conditioner and provide a recommended temperature suited to the user, as suggested by Ock (Par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches wherein operating according to the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter comprises:
determining an initial parameter value corresponding to a second control parameter (Par. [0042], “the set temperature determination unit 151 uses the remote control setting and the information of the room temperature to store which operation mode to control among the automatic cooling operation, the automatic weak cooling operation, and the monitoring and automatic heating operation. It is determined based on the operation mode table 200 held by the unit 20” – the determined operation mode corresponds to the initial parameter value corresponding to the second control parameter.), wherein the second control parameter is different from the first control parameter (Par. [0002], “In the automatic operation mode, the air conditioner detects the current room temperature at the start of operation, and automatically sets the operation mode and set temperature according to the detected temperature using an operation mode table prepared in advance” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter and is different from the set temperature, which corresponds to the first control parameter.); and
operating according to the initial parameter value corresponding to the second control parameter and the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Par. [0077], “The set temperature determination unit 151 acquires the information of the previous remote control setting from the storage unit 20 (step S201)”; Par. [0078], “acquires the set temperature corresponding to the remote control setting and the room temperature from the operation mode table 200”; Par. [0079], “The temperature setting determination unit 151 notifies the temperature adjustment unit 152 and the operation control unit 153 of the temperature setting and the operation mode. The operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 according to the set temperature and operation mode notified from the set temperature determination unit 151” – Liu operates the air conditioner according to both the determined operation mode, corresponding to the initial parameter value of the second control parameter, and the set temperature based on the user’s previous remote-control setting, corresponding to the customized parameter value of the first control parameter.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that an initial parameter value corresponding to a second control parameter has been adjusted (Par. [0056], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1).”; Par. [0057], “The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7)” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter, and the determination that a mode other than the automatic operation mode has been selected corresponds to determining that the operation-mode parameter has been adjusted from its initial automatic-operation value.), wherein the second control parameter is different from the first control parameter (Par. [0002], “In the automatic operation mode, the air conditioner detects the current room temperature at the start of operation, and automatically sets the operation mode and set temperature according to the detected temperature using an operation mode table prepared in advance” – the operation mode corresponds to the second control parameter and is different from the set temperature, which corresponds to the first control parameter.); and
exiting the first mode (Par. [0054], “When the automatic operation control unit 105 receives an operation stop instruction from the mode switching unit 101, the operation control unit 153 stops control of automatic operation.”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7). When the cooling operation mode is selected by the user (step S7: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 to execute the cooling operation. The cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 performs the cooling operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room (step S8).” – upon selection of an operation mode other than the automatic operation mode, Liu controls the air conditioner in the newly selected cooling mode rather than the automatic operation mode, corresponding to exiting the first mode.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that the operation mode has been adjusted (Par. [0056] - [0057], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1). The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)”; Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7)” – since the air conditioner is initially in the automatic operation mode, determining that a mode other than the automatic operation mode has been selected corresponds to determining that the operation mode of the air conditioner has been adjusted); and
exiting the first mode (Par. [0062], “If the user selects a mode other than the automatic operation mode (step S2: No), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the cooling operation mode is selected (step S7). When the cooling operation mode is selected by the user (step S7: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 to execute the cooling operation. The cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102 performs the cooling operation by controlling the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room (step S8).” – after the operation mode is adjusted from the automatic operation mode to the cooling operation mode, Liu controls the air conditioner in the cooling operation mode, thereby exiting the first mode).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches an air conditioner (Par. [0012], “air conditioner 1 includes a control unit 10, an indoor unit 11, an outdoor unit 12, a temperature sensor 13, a humidity sensor 14, a remote controller 15, and a storage unit 20”) comprising:
at least one processor (Par. [0021], “The control unit 10 is a computer having a processor and memory, stores a plurality of setting values, and controls each unit of the air conditioner 1”), and
a memory connected in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor that, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 15 (Par. [0021], “The control unit 10 is a computer having a processor and memory, stores a plurality of setting values, and controls each unit of the air conditioner 1”; Par. [0030], “The mode switching unit 101, the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102, the heating operation control unit 103, and the automatic operation control unit 105 are realized by the CPU developing programs for realizing the respective functions on the memory and executing them.” – Liu and Ock teaches the method of claim 15 as discussed above.).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches an electronic device (Par. [0012], “air conditioner 1 includes a control unit 10, an indoor unit 11, an outdoor unit 12, a temperature sensor 13, a humidity sensor 14, a remote controller 15, and a storage unit 20”), comprising:
at least one processor (Par. [0021], “The control unit 10 is a computer having a processor and memory, stores a plurality of setting values, and controls each unit of the air conditioner 1”), and
a memory connected in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor that, when executed by the at least one processor, enables the at least one processor to (Par. [0021], “The control unit 10 is a computer having a processor and memory, stores a plurality of setting values, and controls each unit of the air conditioner 1”; Par. [0030], “The mode switching unit 101, the cooling/dehumidifying operation control unit 102, the heating operation control unit 103, and the automatic operation control unit 105 are realized by the CPU developing programs for realizing the respective functions on the memory and executing them.”):
determine that an operation mode of the air conditioner is a first mode (Par. [0017], “The operation modes of the air conditioner 1 include an automatic operation mode, a cooling operation mode, a dehumidification operation mode, and a heating operation mode”; Par. [0056] - [0057], “The user uses the remote control 15 to input an operation mode to the air conditioner 1 (step S1). The mode switching unit 101 acquires the input information and determines whether or not the automatic driving mode has been selected (step S2)” – the automatic operation mode and automatic driving mode both correspond to the same disclosed automatic mode. The automatic operation/driving mode corresponds to the first mode, and mode switching unit 101 determines whether that mode has been selected.), wherein the first mode is a mode for controlling an operation of the air conditioner based on a preference (Par. [0008], “The set temperature determining unit sets the set temperature based on the history of the room temperature or the voluntary set temperature voluntarily set by the user when the automatic operation mode is selected as the operation mode. The operation control unit controls the air conditioner based on the set temperature set by the set temperature determination unit.”; Par. [0009], “the present invention can automatically set the preset temperature according to the user's preference while limiting the adjustable range by the user in the automatic operation mode”; Par. [0019], “the user can change the set temperature according to his/her preference within a predetermined range of ±2° C” – the automatic operation mode controls the air conditioner using temperature settings reflecting the user’s preference.), and the first mode is provided with an associated first control (Par. [0017], “The remote controller 15 includes an operation section and a display section (not shown). The remote controller 15 outputs information generated by operating the operation unit to the control unit 10”; Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference” – the operation section of remote controller 15 that is operated to turn the preference-based automatic-driving function on or off corresponds to the first control associated with the automatic operation/driving mode.), the first control being configured to enable a target sub mode of the first mode (Par. [0018], “by operating the remote control 15, the user can select either normal automatic driving or preference-based automatic driving as the automatic driving mode. Specifically, the user can use the remote control 15 to select whether to turn on or turn off the function of automatic driving according to preference”; Par. [0033], “The mode switching unit 101 also receives an instruction to turn on or off the function of preference based automatic driving from the remote controller 15”; Par. [0033], “when the preference adaptive automatic driving function is on, the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – preference-based automatic operation/driving corresponds to the target sub mode because it is a selectable form of the automatic operation/driving mode, and operation of the first control to turn the preference-based function on causes that sub mode to be executed.); and
determine that the target sub mode is not enabled (Par. [0058] “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0061], “if the preference-adaptive automatic driving function is not on (step S3: negative) … the operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation” – the negative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is not enabled.), and control the operation of the air conditioner according to a customized parameter value corresponding to a first control parameter (Par. [0042], “the set temperature determination unit 151 acquires the information of the previous remote control setting from the storage unit 20. Here, the information on the previous remote controller setting is the information on the temperature setting that the user made within the range of ±2° C. in the previous normal automatic operation”; Par. [0042], “the set temperature determining unit 151 acquires the set temperature corresponding to the remote control setting and the indoor temperature from the operation mode table 200”; Par. [0050], “The operation control unit 153 receives, from the set temperature determination unit 151 , information on the type of automatic operation indicating whether the automatic operation is normal operation or preference based automatic operation, and the operation mode and set temperature. When the notified operation mode is the automatic cooling operation, the operation control unit 153 controls the indoor unit 11 and the outdoor unit 12 so as to cool the room at the specified set temperature” – In the normal automatic operation resulting from the target sub mode not being enabled, the set temperature is determined using a temperature setting previously made by the user, and the air conditioner is controlled according to that customized set temperature.);
determine that the target sub mode is enabled (Par. [0058], “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0059], “If the function of preference-adaptive automatic driving is on (step S3: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 instructs the automatic driving control unit 105 to execute preference-adaptive automatic driving” – the affirmative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is enabled.).
Liu does not explicitly teach control the operation of the air conditioner according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server.
However, Ock teaches control the operation of the air conditioner according to a recommended parameter value that corresponds to the first control parameter and is sent by a server (Par. [0155], “the data learning server DS may input the status information of the air conditioner A to the learning model stored in the data learning server DS to acquire the recommended temperature of the air conditioner A”; Par. [0157], “ the data learning server DS may transmit the acquired recommended temperature to the microcomputer 301 via the near field communication module 302”; Par. [0158], “the microcomputer 301 receiving the recommended temperature may change the recommended temperature to the set temperature. Then, the microcomputer 301 may control the air conditioner A depending on the changed set temperature.” – the recommended temperature corresponds to a recommended value of the first control parameter, set temperature, and is transmitted by the data learning server DS to microcomputer 301, and is used as the set temperature to control the air conditioner.).
Liu and Ock are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to air conditioning systems that determine a set temperature and control an air conditioner based on the determined set temperature.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above preference-based automatic air conditioning control system, as taught by Liu, and incorporate determining a recommended temperature at a server and transmitting the recommended temperature from the server to the air conditioner, as taught by Ock.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the convenience of controlling the temperature of the air conditioner and provide a recommended temperature suited to the user, as suggested by Ock (Par. [0026]).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. JP-2022118964 A (hereinafter Liu), in view of Ock et al. USPGPUB 2018/0283723 A1 (hereinafter Ock), and further in view of Bodkin et al. US 10,177,930 B1 (hereinafter Bodkin).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu further teaches determining that the target sub mode is not enabled (Par. [0058] “If the user selects automatic driving (step S2: affirmative), the mode switching unit 101 determines whether or not the function of preference-based automatic driving is on (step S3).”; Par. [0061], “if the preference-adaptive automatic driving function is not on (step S3: negative) … the operation control unit 153 performs normal automatic operation” – the negative determination at step S3 corresponds to determining that the preference-based automatic sub mode is not enabled).
Liu and Ock do not explicitly teach providing the first control parameter and a second control corresponding to the first control parameter, wherein the second control is configured to customize a parameter value of the first control parameter; and
setting the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter via the second control.
However, Bodkin teaches providing the first control parameter and a second control corresponding to the first control parameter (Col. 6, lines 18-24, “User interface 400 includes rows for months 402, home temperature 404 and away temperature 406. In order to program smart thermostat 106 temperature for a month 402, a user can select a pull-down list box 408 to select a month. Similarly, home temperature 404 can be selected via pull down list box 410 and away temperature 406 can be selected via pull-down list box 412” – away temperature 406 corresponds to the first control parameter, and pull-down list box 412 associated with away temperature 406 corresponds to the second control.), wherein the second control is configured to customize a parameter value of the first control parameter (Col. 6, lines 32-38, “When using a pull-down list box on user interface 400 to set a temperature, the user can select a desired temperature by clicking on a box to the left of the temperature. For example, when setting an away temperature 416 of 72, the user can click box 414 to the left of 72. Clicking box 414 causes an "X" to be displayed in box 414 indicating that the temperature of 72 is selected.” – the pull-down list box permits the user to customize the away-temperature parameter by selecting a desired temperature value.); and
setting the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter via the second control (Col. 6, lines 40-46, “When the user has completed a selection of temperatures, the user can click select and save 416 to save the selected temperatures. When the user clicks select and save 416, the temperatures entered into user interface 400 of the user device 102 are sent to smart thermostat 106 and programmed into smart thermostat 106”; Col. 6, lines 24-27, “As shown in FIG. 4, smart thermostat 106 is programmed to set a home temperature 404 of 65 and an away temperature 406 of 72 for the month 402 of July” – the desired temperature selected using the pull-down list box is saved and programmed into smart thermostat 106 as the customized value of the temperature parameter.).
Liu, Ock, and Bodkin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to systems for controlling indoor temperature using air conditioning or thermostat control.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above preference-based automatic air conditioning control system, as taught by Liu and Ock, and incorporate a user interface providing a temperature parameter and a corresponding pull-down list control for customizing and setting a temperature value, as taught by Bodkin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve user control over temperature settings by permitting a user to program desired temperatures into the temperature-control system, as suggested by Bodkin (Col. 6, lines 13-45).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Ock, and Bodkin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bodkin further teaches wherein setting the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter via the second control comprises:
in response to the second control being triggered (Col. 6, lines 22-24, “home temperature 404 can be selected via pull down list box 410 and away temperature 406 can be selected via pull-down list box 412”; Col. 6, lines 32-34, “When using a pull-down list box on user interface 400 to set a temperature, the user can select a desired temperature by clicking on a box to the left of the temperature” – user interaction with the pull-down list box corresponds to triggering the second control.), displaying a plurality of candidate parameter values corresponding to the first control parameter (Fig. 4, Col. 6, lines 32-38, “When using a pull-down list box on user interface 400 to set a temperature, the user can select a desired temperature by clicking on a box to the left of the temperature. For example, when setting an away temperature 416 of 72, the user can click box 414 to the left of 72.” – Figure 4 shows the triggered temperature pull-down list displaying selectable temperature values 68, 69, 70, 71, and 72, which correspond to a plurality of candidate parameter values for the temperature parameter); and
determining a selected candidate parameter value from the plurality of candidate parameter values (Col. 6, lines 35-38, ‘the user can click box 414 to the left of 72. Clicking box 414 causes an "X" to be displayed in box 414 indicating that the temperature of 72 is selected.” – in response to the user’s selection, user interface 400 identifies temperature 72 as the selected temperature, which corresponds to determining a selected candidate parameter value from the plurality of candidate parameter values.), and determining the selected candidate parameter value as the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Col. 6, lines 41-45, “the user can click select and save 416 to save the selected temperatures. When the user clicks select and save 416, the temperatures entered into user interface 400 of the user device 102 are sent to smart thermostat 106 and programmed into smart thermostat 106” – the selected temperature is saved and programmed into the smart thermostat as the user-selected temperature setting, thereby determining the selected candidate temperature value as the customized parameter value corresponding to the temperature parameter.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Ock, and Bodkin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bodkin further teaches wherein setting the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter via the second control comprises:
receiving a customized parameter value and determining the received customized parameter value as the customized parameter value corresponding to the first control parameter (Col. 4, lines 22-24, “The example smart thermostat 106 is a programmable thermostat that can receive user inputs across network 104 and control a temperature in a home based on the user inputs”; Col. 6, lines 32-38, “When using a pull-down list box on user interface 400 to set a temperature, the user can select a desired temperature by clicking on a box to the left of the temperature. For example, when setting an away temperature 416 of 72, the user can click box 414 to the left of 72. Clicking box 414 causes an “X” to be displayed in box 414 indicating that the temperature of 72 is selected.”; Col. 6, lines 40-45, “When the user has completed a selection of temperatures, the user can click select and save 416 to save the selected temperatures. When the user clicks select and save 416, the temperatures entered into user interface 400 of the user device 102 are sent to smart thermostat 106 and programmed into smart thermostat 106” – the selected desired temperature corresponds to the customized parameter value, and the selected temperature is sent to smart thermostat 106 as the temperature setting, thereby determining the received customized parameter value as the customized parameter value corresponding to the temperature parameter.).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. JP-2022118964 A (hereinafter Liu), in view of Ock et al. USPGPUB 2018/0283723 A1 (hereinafter Ock), and further in view of Zhu et al. CN 213713445 U (hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu and Ock do not explicitly teach upon detecting a trigger to set the air conditioner to an off state, recording a current operation mode of the air conditioner; and
upon detecting a trigger to set the air conditioner from the off state to an on state, setting the operation mode of the air conditioner according to the recorded operation mode.
However, Zhu teaches upon detecting a trigger to set the air conditioner to an off state (Page 4, Par. 11, “when the user presses the power-off button 1212, a power-off instruction is sent to the air conditioner to turn off the air conditioner” – pressing power-off button 1212 corresponds to the trigger to set the air conditioner to the off state), recording a current operation mode of the air conditioner (Page 5, Par. 5, “the storage unit is also used to store the mode adopted each time the air conditioner is turned off … For example, if the current operating mode of the air conditioner is heating mode, when the air conditioner is shut down, the mode used when the storage air conditioner is shut down is the heating mode; the current operating mode of the air conditioner is cooling mode, and the storage air conditioner is shut down when shutting down When the air conditioner is running, the mode used is the cooling mode” – the mode stored when the air conditioner is turned off corresponds to recording the current operation mode of the air conditioner.); and
upon detecting a trigger to set the air conditioner from the off state to an on state (Page 7, Par. 4, “when the user presses the shutdown button 1212, the air conditioner shuts down and stops operating. Further, when the user presses the start button 1211 again, the operating parameters are set according to the operating parameters of the previous operation. In other words, when it is turned on again, the air conditioner operates according to the mode used when it was turned off last time and the corresponding related operating parameters.” – after the air conditioner has been shut down, pressing start button 1211 again corresponds to detecting the trigger to set the air conditioner from the off state to the on state.), setting the operation mode of the air conditioner according to the recorded operation mode (Page 5, Par. 5, “the storage unit is also used to store the mode adopted each time the air conditioner is turned off”; Page 7, Par. 4, “when the user presses the start button 1211 again, the operating parameters are set according to the operating parameters of the previous operation. In other words, when it is turned on again, the air conditioner operates according to the mode used when it was turned off last time and the corresponding related operating parameters.” – the mode used when the air conditioner was turned off is stored by the storage unit, and upon the subsequent startup trigger, the air conditioner operates according to that previously stored mode, corresponding to setting the operation mode according to the recorded operation mode.).
Liu, Ock, and Zhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to controlling air conditioners.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above preference-based automatic air conditioning control system, as taught by Liu and Ock, and incorporate storing the current operation mode when the air conditioner is turned off and operating according to the stored operation mode when the air conditioner is turned on again, as taught by Zhu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve convenience and user experience, as suggested by Zhu (Page 5).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. JP-2022118964 A (hereinafter Liu), in view of Ock et al. USPGPUB 2018/0283723 A1 (hereinafter Ock), and further in view of Manson et al. US 5,579,209 A (hereinafter Manson).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu and Ock do not explicitly teach determining that the air conditioner is in an off state and a trigger is detected to set the operation mode of the air conditioner to the first mode;
controlling the air conditioner to switch from the off state to an on state; and
setting the operation mode of the air conditioner to the first mode.
However, Manson teaches determining that the air conditioner is in an off state and a trigger is detected to set the operation mode of the air conditioner to the first mode (Col. 5, lines 45-48, “An ‘AUTO COOL/ON’ button 32 by means of which a user can either turn the air conditioner 10 on, or if the air conditioner is already on, to select an ‘AUTO COOL’ cycle of operation”; Col. 11, lines 39-47, “if the air conditioner 10 is off and the sensed temperature is less than the temperature set point when the AUTO COOL cycle is selected, the processor U1 is programmed to energize the fan at a high speed and to turn the compressor on to provide maximum cooling. If the air conditioner 10 is off and the sensed temperature is above the temperature set point when the AUTO COOL cycle is selected, the air conditioner is driven in a normal automatic cooling cycle of operation” - using the AUTO COOL/ON button corresponds to the trigger to select the AUTO COOL mode, and the processor performs the disclosed control based on the air conditioner being off and the AUTO COOL cycle being selected.);
controlling the air conditioner to switch from the off state to an on state (Col. 11, lines 39-44, “if the air conditioner 10 is off … when the AUTO COOL cycle is selected, the processor U1 is programmed to energize the fan at a high speed and to turn the compressor on to provide maximum cooling” - selection of the AUTO COOL mode while the air conditioner is off causes the air conditioner to begin operation); and
setting the operation mode of the air conditioner to the first mode (Col. 11, lines 39-47, “if the air conditioner 10 is off and the sensed temperature is less than the temperature set point when the AUTO COOL cycle is selected, the processor U1 is programmed to energize the fan at a high speed and to turn the compressor on to provide maximum cooling. If the air conditioner 10 is off and the sensed temperature is above the temperature set point when the AUTO COOL cycle is selected, the air conditioner is driven in a normal automatic cooling cycle of operation” – upon selection of the AUTO COOL mode while the air conditioner is off, the air conditioner is operated according to the selected AUTO COOL mode, corresponding to setting the operation mode to the first mode).
Liu, Ock, and Manson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to controlling the operation of air conditioners.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioner control method, as taught by Liu and Ock, and incorporate, when the air conditioner is in an off state and the first mode is selected, turning on the air conditioner and operating the air conditioner according to the selected first mode, as taught by Manson.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve control over comfort levels, as suggested by Manson (Col. 1, lines 35-40).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. JP-2022118964 A (hereinafter Liu), in view of Ock et al. USPGPUB 2018/0283723 A1 (hereinafter Ock), and Sasaki et al. US 2015/0105917 A1 (hereinafter Sasaki), and further in view of Wang et al. CN 101261030 A (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu and Ock teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Liu and Ock do not explicitly teach wherein the customized parameter value or the recommended parameter value comprises: a temperature parameter value corresponding to each preset time; and
wherein controlling the operation of the air conditioner based on the customized parameter value or the recommended parameter value comprises:
controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to a plurality of temperature parameter values; and
controlling a buzzer state of the air conditioner to an off state, and/or, controlling a display screen state of the air conditioner to a screen-off state.
However, Sasaki teaches wherein the customized parameter value or the recommended parameter value comprises: a temperature parameter value corresponding to each preset time (Par. [0087], “Operation points PT for the user to determine the set temperatures of the air-conditioning equipment 602 are further arranged on the item lines for the respective hourly time points. A position on the Y-axis which corresponds to the operation point PT arranged for the item of an hourly time point indicates the set temperature of the air-conditioning equipment 602 for that hourly time point”; Par. [0088], “The screen UI control unit 611 determines that a temperature corresponding to the position on the Y-axis at which the operation point PT is displayed is the set temperature of the air-conditioning equipment 602 for the time point for which the operation point PT is arranged and generates air-conditioning setting information for causing the air-conditioning equipment 602 to operate at the set temperature at the corresponding time point” – the user-selected set temperatures correspond to the customized temperature parameter values, and each temperature is associated with a respective hourly time point corresponding to the preset time.); and
wherein controlling the operation of the air conditioner based on the customized parameter value or the recommended parameter value (Par. [0088], “The screen UI control unit 611 determines that a temperature corresponding to the position on the Y-axis at which the operation point PT is displayed is the set temperature of the air-conditioning equipment 602 for the time point for which the operation point PT is arranged and generates air-conditioning setting information for causing the air-conditioning equipment 602 to operate at the set temperature at the corresponding time point”) comprises:
controlling the operation of the air conditioner according to a plurality of temperature parameter values (Fig. 8, Par. [0235], “nine pieces of air-conditioning setting information indicating the set temperatures for nine hourly time points from 23 :00 to 7:00 are accumulated in the air-conditioning setting information DB 616”; Par. [0237], “if a control timing has arrived (YES in S3103), the air-conditioning executing unit 612 transmits an operation signal for the corresponding air-conditioning setting information”; Par. [0240], “the air-conditioning equipment 602 is controlled so as to operate at the set temperatures input by the user via the air-conditioning setting screen” – Sasaki stores a plurality of user-set temperature values associated with respective hourly control times and controls the air conditioner according to the corresponding temperature value when the respective control time is reached.).
Liu, Ock, and Sasaki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to controlling the operation of air conditioners.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioner control method, as taught by Liu and Ock, and incorporate setting a plurality of temperature parameter values corresponding to respective preset times and controlling the air conditioner according to the corresponding temperature parameter values, as taught by Sasaki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve temperature control during sleep by allowing a user to set desired temperatures for respective time periods, as suggested by Sasaki (Par. [0047]).
Liu, Ock, and Sasaki do not explicitly teach controlling a buzzer state of the air conditioner to an off state, and/or, controlling a display screen state of the air conditioner to a screen-off state.
However, Wang teaches controlling a buzzer state of the air conditioner to an off state (Because the claim recites alternatives, the first alternative need not be separately mapped where the second alternative is taught by the prior art), and/or, controlling a display screen state of the air conditioner to a screen-off state (Page 5, Par. 4, “if the controller 1 receives a signal to turn off the display of the air conditioner and other indicator lights, the controller will operate the air conditioner. The display or other light that is used to indicate the light is automatically extinguished. The air conditioner does not emit any light to create a dark environment” – the controller controls the display screen of the air conditioner to the screen-off state.).
Liu, Ock, Sasaki, and Wang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to controlling the operation of air conditioners.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioner control method, as taught by Liu, Ock, and Sasaki, and incorporate controlling the display screen state of the air conditioner to a screen-off state, as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce disturbance to a user during sleep by preventing the air conditioner from emitting light, as suggested by Wang (Page 6, Par. 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu, Ock, Sasaki, and Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches at least one of:
determining that the buzzer state has been set to a first target state, and controlling the buzzer state of the air conditioner to the first target state (Because the claim recites alternatives, the first alternative need not be separately mapped where the second alternative is taught by the prior art); or
determining that the display screen state has been set to a second target state (Page 4, Par. 3, “the user input unit can set … whether to turn off the display of the air conditioner”; Page 6, Par. 3, “the user can operate the user input unit to send a signal to turn off the display screen of the air conditioner and other indicator lights … if the user needs an air conditioner display or other illumination for indicating that the light is on, the user input unit can be operated to achieve the purpose”; Page 5, Par. 4, “the user input unit 4 issues an operation parameter setting signal, and if the controller 1 receives a signal to turn off the display of the air conditioner and other indicator lights” – the display has selectable on and off states, and the controller determines that the user-selected state is the off state by identifying the received operation parameter setting signal as the signal to turn off the display, wherein the off state corresponds to the second target state.), and controlling the display screen state of the air conditioner to the second target state (Page 5, Par. 4, “if the controller 1 receives a signal to turn off the display of the air conditioner and other indicator lights, the controller will operate the air conditioner. The display or other light that is used to indicate the light is automatically extinguished. The air conditioner does not emit any light to create a dark environment” – after determining that the user-selected display screen state is the off state, the controller controls the display screen to the off state, corresponding to the second target state.).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. [US 2016/0334125 A1] teaches customized control of an air conditioner operation mode, including allowing a user to customize operation parameters, associating the customized operation parameters with a virtual control, and controlling the air conditioner according to the associated customized operation parameters when the virtual control is triggered.
Jablokov et al. [US 2015/0161835 A1] teaches controlling an air conditioner according to stored user preferences, including temperature preferences, and controlling an appliance from an off state to an on state while applying pre-established user preferences including temperature and an operation mode.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119