Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, convex and concave edges of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings show edges 3 and 4 merely as flat edges, not as concave or convex. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for new matter in regards to the limitation “wherein the panel comprises at least two concave edges,” and “at least two convex edges respectively resting on the at least two concave edges of the panel of another hydroponic planting unit.” As discussed in the drawing objection above, the drawings do not depict any concave or convex edges. Further, the specification makes no mention of concave edges, and therefore these limitation do not have sufficient support and are considered new matter. Claims 2-4 are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for lack of clarity regarding the limitation “wherein the panel comprises at least two concave edges, respectively, along with extension axes intersecting each other and at least two convex edges respectively resting on the at least two concave edges of the panel of another hydroponic planting unit.” It is unclear if the extension axes are specifically extensions along an axis of the of the concave edges. “Extension axes” is not discussed in the specification or pointed to in the drawings and therefore it is unclear on which edges Applicant means to claim the extension axes. Claims 2-4 are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR-101866555-B1)
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a hydroponic planting unit, comprising
a panel with a predetermined shape (panels with predetermined shape, see figs 1-3),
a planting compartment for growing plants is provided in the panel (ports 120, see figs 1-5), and
wherein the panel comprises at least two concave edges (multiple 164, see fig 5), respectively, along with extension axes intersecting each other (see extension axes intersecting in annotated figure below) and at least two convex edges (multiple 162, see fig 5) respectively resting on the at least two concave edges of the panel of another hydroponic planting unit so that the panels of the hydroponic planting unit and the another hydroponic planting unit are the panels in conjunction with each other (concave and convex edges fit together to connect the panels, see figs 4-7, see also 112(a) and 112(b) rejections above).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR-101866555-B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McGrath (US-10750674-B2).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the hydroponic planting unit of claim 1.
Park fails to disclose wherein the panel is a parallelogram or a regular hexagon.
McGrath teaches wherein the panel is a parallelogram or a regular hexagon (10, parallelogram shape, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the panel of Park with the parallelogram shape of McGrath with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow for easier stacking and transport of the planting units, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic planting unit of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the bottom of the panel is equipped with support legs, the length of the support legs is greater than the depth of the planting compartment.
McGrath teaches wherein the bottom of the panel is equipped with support legs (legs 31, see fig 1A), the length of the support legs is greater than the depth of the planting compartment (legs 31 longer than cups 20, see fig 1F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the panel of Park with the support legs of McGrath with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow more space for root growth and therefore improved nutrient uptake and optimized plant health.
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the hydroponic planting unit of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the wall of the planting compartment is provided with multiple hollow holes for facilitating the growth of plant roots.
McGrath teaches wherein the wall of the planting compartment is provided with multiple hollow holes for facilitating the growth of plant roots (cups 20, oblong side ports 24, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the panel of Park with the root holes of McGrath with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow more space for root growth and therefore improved nutrient uptake and optimized plant health.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Park does not teach the claims as currently amended. The Office respectfully disagrees. Firstly, Applicant merely summarizes the invention of Park and does not provide specific reasoning as to how or why they believe Park does not teach the current claims. Applicant then appears to argue that Park does not teach the intersecting extension axes. The Office respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the 112(b) rejection above, “extension axes” is not discussed in the specification or pointed to in the drawings and therefore it is unclear on which edges Applicant means to claim the extension axes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642