DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 18 are independent. File date on 11-1-2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 - 8, 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Patent No. KR 20290033930 A) in view of Chung et al. (US PGPUB No. 20240017728).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a home appliance comprising:
a) a display; (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
b) a transceiver configured to receive data from an external server or a mobile terminal; (Kim page 7: The antenna module 197 may include one or more antennas for externally transmitting or receiving signals or power. According to one example, the communication module 190 (e.g., the wireless communication module 192) may transmit signals to or receive signals from an external electronic device via an antenna suitable for the communication method.)
c) a load driver configured to perform load control or safety control; (Kim page 4: Processor 120 may be configured to operate at least one other component (e.g., hardware or software component) of electronic device 101 connected to processor 120 by driving software, e.g., And can perform various data processing and arithmetic operations. Processor 120 loads and processes commands or data received from other components (e.g., sensor module 176 or communication module 190) into volatile memory 132 and processes the resulting data into nonvolatile memory 134.)
wherein the processor is configured to :
e) execute an operating system kernel, execute a hardware abstraction layer on the operating system kernel, execute a framework on the hardware abstraction layer, execute an application on the framework, (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Furthermore Kim discloses for d) a processor configured to display a screen including information based on sensor data from a sensor device on the display. (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
And, Kim discloses for f) display an image received from the server or the mobile terminal on the display, based on the framework, and for g) display the information based on the sensor data on the display, based on the hardware abstraction layer and the framework. (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose for d) a home screen.
However, Chung discloses for d) a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for d) a home screen as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 2, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose image received comprises a weather information image, a clock information image, or a background image.
However, Chung discloses wherein the image received from the server or the mobile terminal comprises a weather information image, a clock information image, or a background image. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for image received comprises a weather information image, a clock information image, or a background image as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including sensor data ion display. (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose for a) display a background image received from the server or the mobile terminal, and for b) in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on the display.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
a) in a background screen display mode, display a background image received from the server or the mobile terminal, and b) in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on the display. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for a) display a background image received from the server or the mobile terminal, and for b) in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on the display as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 4, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose configured to, in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on a first area within the home screen, and display a weather information image or clock information image received from the server or the mobile terminal on a second area within the home screen.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on a first area within the home screen, and display a weather information image or clock information image received from the server or the mobile terminal on a second area within the home screen. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for configured to, in a home screen display mode, display the information based on the sensor data on a first area within the home screen, and display a weather information image or clock information image received from the server or the mobile terminal on a second area within the home screen as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 5, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, in the framework, execute an Android open source part, an Android extension part, a home appliance common extension part, and a product extension part, separately. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 5, wherein display using including the Android extension part. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose in a background screen display mode, execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a background screen display mode, execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for in a background screen display mode, execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 7, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 5, wherein display using the Android extension part. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a home screen display mode, execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 8, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 5, wherein display using the Android extension part. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the information based on the sensor data on the display, through the hardware abstraction layer, and the home screen service.
However Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a home screen display mode, execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the information based on the sensor data on the display, through the hardware abstraction layer, the home screen service. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the information based on the sensor data on the display, through the hardware abstraction layer, and the home screen service as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses a home appliance comprising:
a) a display; (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
b) a transceiver configured to receive data from an external server or a mobile terminal; (Kim page 7: The antenna module 197 may include one or more antennas for externally transmitting or receiving signals or power. According to one example, the communication module 190 (e.g., the wireless communication module 192) may transmit signals to or receive signals from an external electronic device via an antenna suitable for the communication method.)
c) a load driver configured to perform load control or safety control; (Kim page 4: Processor 120 may be configured to operate at least one other component (e.g., hardware or software component) of electronic device 101 connected to processor 120 by driving software, e.g., And can perform various data processing and arithmetic operations. Processor 120 loads and processes commands or data received from other components (e.g., sensor module 176 or communication module 190) into volatile memory 132 and processes the resulting data into nonvolatile memory 134.)
e) wherein the processor is configured to execute an operating system kernel, execute a framework on the operating system kernel, execute an application on the framework, f) execute an Android open source part, an Android extension part, a home appliance common extension part, and a product extension part within the framework separately. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Furthermore, Kim discloses wherein for d) a processor configured to display information based on sensor data from a sensor device on the display, (Kim page 5: Display device 160 may be an apparatus for visually providing information to a user of electronic device 101 and may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry for controlling the projector. According to one embodiment, the display device 160 may include a touch sensor or a pressure sensor capable of measuring the intensity of the pressure on the touch.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose for d) configured to display a home screen.
However, Chung discloses wherein for d) configured to display a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for d) configured to display a home screen as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 19, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 18, including the Android extension part. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a background screen display mode, execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a server communication service within the framework, receive a background image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the background image on the display as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
Regarding Claim 20, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 18, including the Android extension part. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service.
However, Chung discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in a home screen display mode, execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service. (Chung ¶ 141: a state in which the weather application is running as a function in the electronic device 201 may include a state in which the weather application is displayed on a lock screen and/or home screen in the form of a widget, a state in which the weather information is configured as an always on display (AOD) function, and/or a state in which it is configured to display the weather information along with schedule information as an additional function in a predetermined application (e.g., a calendar application).; (selected: weather information image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a server communication service and a home screen service within the framework, receive a weather information image or a clock information image from the server or the mobile terminal through the server communication service, and display the weather information image or the clock information image on the display through the home screen service as taught by Chung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Chung for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple techniques for the processing of display information such as designating a particular display screen as a home screen. (Chung ¶ 141)
4. Claims 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chung and further in view of Kim et al. (Patent No. WO 2017150841 A1, referred to as “Kim2”) and further in view of Selim (US PGPUB No. 20140053195).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including a hardware abstraction layer. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving a remote control signal from a remote control device, turn on the display, based on the hardware abstraction layer. (command: turn on display)
However, Kim2 discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in response to receiving a remote control signal from a remote control device, turn on the display, based on the hardware abstraction layer. (Kim2 page 10: The program memory may store a control program for controlling the user terminal device 120 such as firmware or an operating system, a remote control application for controlling the controlled device 140 providing a service corresponding to an event, and various applications. When the remote control application executes, the service selection screen 400 is displayed as described below with reference to FIG. 4, and any one of a plurality of event selection items 410; 411, 413 is selected on the displayed service selection screen 400. And a service request signal (hereinafter, referred to as a 'first service request signal') corresponding to the selected event selection item 411 and / or 413.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for in response to receiving a remote control signal from a remote control device, turn on the display, based on the hardware abstraction layer (command: turn on display) as taught by Kim2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kim2 for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for processing command information such as a remote control for command input. (Kim2 page 10)
Kim does not explicitly disclose remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal.
However, Selim discloses wherein remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal. (Selim ¶ 017: an infrared and/or radio frequency module configured to receive wirelessly input signals from a remote control of a user;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal as taught by Selim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Selim for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of remote control signals by utilizing a radio frequency signal. (Selim ¶ 017)
Regarding Claim 10, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including a hardware abstraction layer. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, from the home screen service.
However, Kim2 discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in response to receiving a remote control signal from a remote control device, execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, from the home screen service. (Kim2 page 10: The program memory may store a control program for controlling the user terminal device 120 such as firmware or an operating system, a remote control application for controlling the controlled device 140 providing a service corresponding to an event, and various applications. When the remote control application executes, the service selection screen 400 is displayed as described below with reference to FIG. 4, and any one of a plurality of event selection items 410; 411, 413 is selected on the displayed service selection screen 400. And a service request signal (hereinafter, referred to as a 'first service request signal') corresponding to the selected event selection item 411 and / or 413.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, from the home screen service as taught by Kim2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kim2 for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for processing command information such as a remote control for command input. (Kim2 page 10)
Kim does not explicitly disclose remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal from a remote control device.
However, Selim discloses wherein remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal from a remote control device. (Selim ¶ 017: an infrared and/or radio frequency module configured to receive wirelessly input signals from a remote control of a user;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for remote control signal based on Infra Red (IR) signal from a remote control device as taught by Selim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Selim for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of remote control signals by utilizing a radio frequency signal. (Selim ¶ 017)
Regarding Claim 11, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including a hardware abstraction layer. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose execute a remote control device service and a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, the remote control device service, and the home screen service.
However, Kim2 discloses wherein the processor is configured to, in response to receiving a remote control signal from a remote control device, execute a remote control device service and a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, the remote control device service, and the home screen service. (Kim2 page 10: The program memory may store a control program for controlling the user terminal device 120 such as firmware or an operating system, a remote control application for controlling the controlled device 140 providing a service corresponding to an event, and various applications. When the remote control application executes, the service selection screen 400 is displayed as described below with reference to FIG. 4, and any one of a plurality of event selection items 410; 411, 413 is selected on the displayed service selection screen 400. And a service request signal (hereinafter, referred to as a 'first service request signal') corresponding to the selected event selection item 411 and / or 413.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for execute a remote control device service and a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, the remote control device service, and the home screen service as taught by Kim2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kim2 for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for processing command information such as a remote control for command input. (Kim2 page 10)
Kim does not explicitly disclose receiving a remote control signal Radio Frequency (RF) signal from a remote control device.
However, Selim discloses wherein receiving a remote control signal Radio Frequency (RF) signal from a remote control device. (Selim ¶ 017: an infrared and/or radio frequency module configured to receive wirelessly input signals from a remote control of a user;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for receiving a remote control signal Radio Frequency (RF) signal from a remote control device as taught by Selim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Selim for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of remote control signals by utilizing a radio frequency signal. (Selim ¶ 017)
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chung and further in view of Kim et al. (Patent No. WO 2017150841 A1, referred to as “Kim2”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including a hardware abstraction layer. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving a remote control signal from the server or the mobile terminal, the processor is configured to execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen.
However, Kim2 discloses wherein, in response to receiving a remote control signal from the server or the mobile terminal, based on a server communication service executed within the framework, the processor is configured to execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen, based on the home screen service. (Kim2 page 10: The program memory may store a control program for controlling the user terminal device 120 such as firmware or an operating system, a remote control application for controlling the controlled device 140 providing a service corresponding to an event, and various applications. When the remote control application executes, the service selection screen 400 is displayed as described below with reference to FIG. 4, and any one of a plurality of event selection items 410; 411, 413 is selected on the displayed service selection screen 400. And a service request signal (hereinafter, referred to as a 'first service request signal') corresponding to the selected event selection item 411 and / or 413.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for in response to receiving a remote control signal from the server or the mobile terminal, the processor is configured to execute a home screen service within the framework, and display the home screen as taught by Kim2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kim2 for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for processing command information such as a remote control for command input. (Kim2 page 10)
6. Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chung and further in view of McLane et al. (US PGPUB No. 20130031392).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 1, including a hardware abstraction layer. (Kim page 12: In the hardware layer 330, various hardware (e.g., storage 331) of the electronic device 101 may operate. The storage 331 (e.g., at least a portion of the memory 130 of FIG. 1) may store data output from applications operating in the application layer 311 or may be stored in a trusted The data output from the application can be stored. An application operating in the application layer 311 or a trusted application operating in the trusted application layer 321 may read information from the repository 331. [ The kernel layer 313 or the secure OS kernel layer 323 may operate as a hardware abstraction layer between hardware and a software stack such as an Android operating system software stack.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose configured to execute a board support package including the operating system kernel, and a device driver, execute the framework on the board support package, and execute an application on the framework.
However, McLane discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute a board support package including the operating system kernel, the hardware abstraction layer, and a device driver, execute the framework on the board support package, and execute an application on the framework. (McLane ¶ 022: the Flash memory provides permanent storage for storing the board support package, a boot loader, an operating system kernel, firmware drivers and application software for the communication module. The processor 27 can, for example, boot up from the flash memory 26.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for configured to execute a board support package including the operating system kernel, and a device driver, execute the framework on the board support package, and execute an application on the framework as taught by McLane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of McLane for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for instruction execution such as a board support package and a boot loader. (McLane ¶ 022)
Regarding Claim 14, Kim-Chung discloses the home appliance of claim 13.
Kim does not explicitly disclose configured to execute a boot loader within the board support package.
However, McLane discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute a boot loader within the board support package. (McLane ¶ 022: the Flash memory provides permanent storage for storing the board support package, a boot loader, an operating system kernel, firmware drivers and application software for the communication module. The processor 27 can, for example, boot up from the flash memory 26.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for configured to execute a boot loader within the board support package as taught by McLane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of McLane for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple techniques for instruction execution such as a board support package and a boot loader. (McLane ¶ 022)
7. Claims 15 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chung and further in view of McLane and Hayner et al. (US PGPUB No. 20120016623).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim-Chung-McLane discloses the home appliance of claim 13.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, and the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a second circuit.
However, Hayner discloses wherein the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, and the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a second circuit. (Hayner ¶ 017: the MCU section 230 includes control and driver circuitry 231, a prediction module 232, and a comparison or validation module 233. As used herein, a module can be software or hardware that is implemented with separate circuitry and/or as a process operation of a processor core or other processor circuitry.; (separate circuits for separate components or modules))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, and the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a second circuit as taught by Hayner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Hayner for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of executable components by the placement of each component within separate circuits. (Hayner ¶ 017)
Regarding Claim 16, Kim-Chung-McLane discloses the home appliance of claim 13.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, the transceiver is arranged in a second circuit, the processor is arranged in a third circuit, and the second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit.
However, Hayner disclose wherein the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, the transceiver is arranged in a second circuit, the processor is arranged in a third circuit, and the second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit. (Hayner ¶ 017: the MCU section 230 includes control and driver circuitry 231, a prediction module 232, and a comparison or validation module 233. As used herein, a module can be software or hardware that is implemented with separate circuitry and/or as a process operation of a processor core or other processor circuitry.; (separate circuits for separate components or modules))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, the transceiver is arranged in a second circuit, the processor is arranged in a third circuit, and the second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit as taught by Hayner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Hayner for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of executable components by the placement of each component within separate circuits. (Hayner ¶ 017)
Regarding Claim 17, Kim-Chung-McLane discloses the home appliance of claim 13.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, a second processor configured to control an operation mode is arranged in a second circuit, the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a third circuit, and a second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit.
However, Hayner discloses wherein the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, a second processor configured to control an operation mode is arranged in a second circuit, the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a third circuit, and a second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit. (Hayner ¶ 017: the MCU section 230 includes control and driver circuitry 231, a prediction module 232, and a comparison or validation module 233. As used herein, a module can be software or hardware that is implemented with separate circuitry and/or as a process operation of a processor core or other processor circuitry.; (separate circuits for separate components or modules))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim for the load driver is arranged in a first circuit, a second processor configured to control an operation mode is arranged in a second circuit, the transceiver and the processor are arranged in a third circuit, and a second circuit is arranged between the first circuit and the third circuit as taught by Hayner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Hayner for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the efficient management of executable components by the placement of each component within separate circuits. (Hayner ¶ 017)
Conclusion
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 10-5-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447