DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 18/934,783 filed 11/01/2024 which claims benefit of 63/547,212 11/3/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 19, ln 1: “A child restraint comprising--:-- …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2010/0181828 A1)(hereinafter Cheng) in view of Jafri (US 10,875,494 B2)(hereinafter Jafri).
RE Claim 1: Cheng discloses a child restraint (child safety seat and tether) comprising:
a seat shell (100) formed to include a child-receiving space configured to hold a child for transportation in a vehicle (para 0024), and
a child-restraint harness (106) fixed to the seat shell (100) and configured to secure the child to the seat shell within the child-receiving space (para 0025), the child-restraint harness including a plurality of harness straps coupled to the seat shell (112, 114, 116, 118), a pair of harness latches (119)coupled to respective harness straps included in the plurality of harness straps (para 0025), and a latch anchor coupled to a crotch strap included in the plurality of harness straps (para 0025-0026), wherein at least one of the harness straps includes a strip of webbing fixed to the seat shell (Fig 1), and an energy management section (para 0037)(tensioned strap 144 deforms and stretches to provide cushioning action).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the following details of the energy management section: stitching extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event.
However, Jafari teaches an adaptive belt for impact (analogous art).
Jafri further teaches wherein at least one of the harness straps (100) includes stitching (102, 202, 302) extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event (Figs 1C-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cheng in view of Jafri such that the energy management section includes stitching extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event as taught by Jafri for the advantages of reducing impact experienced for the occupant.
RE Claim 2: Cheng as modified discloses the child restraint of claim 1,
Jafri further teaches wherein the stitching is sewn in a predetermined pattern on the strip of webbing (Figs 1A-D) and includes a first stitching region and a second stitching region spaced laterally from the first stitching region relative to a longitudinal axis of the strip of webbing (Figs 1A-D).
RE Claim 9: Cheng as modified discloses the child restraint of claim 1,
Jafri discloses wherein the energy-management section has a first energy-management length prior to the impact event and a second energy-management length less than the first energy-management length after the impact event (Figs 1A-D).
RE Claim 10: Cheng as modified discloses the child restraint of claim 9,
Jafri further discloses wherein the at least one strap coupled to the energy-management section has a first strap length prior to the impact event and a second strap length greater than the first strap length after the impact event (Figs 1A-D).
RE Claim 11: Cheng as modified discloses the child restraint of claim 9,
Jafri further discloses wherein the stitching is sewn in a predetermined pattern on the strip of webbing and includes a first energy management zone configured to break in response to a first predetermined tensile force acting on the at least one strap and a second energy-management zone configured to break in response to a second predetermined tensile force greater than the first predetermined tensile force acting on the at least one strap (col 5, ln 15-40).
RE Claim 19: Cheng discloses a child restraint comprising:
a seat shell (100) formed to include a child-receiving space configured to hold a child for transportation in a vehicle (para 0024), and
a child-restraint harness (106) fixed to the seat shell (100) and configured to secure the child to the seat shell within the child-receiving space (para 0025), the child-restraint harness including a plurality of harness straps coupled to the seat shell (112, 114, 116, 118), a pair of harness latches (119) coupled to respective harness straps included in the plurality of harness straps (para 0025), and a latch anchor coupled to the seat shell and configured to engage selectively with the pair of harness latches (para 0025-0026),
wherein at least one of the harness straps includes a strip of webbing fixed to the seat shell (Fig 1), and an energy management section (para 0037)(tensioned strap 144 deforms and stretches to provide cushioning action).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the following details of the energy management section: stitching extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event.
However, Jafari teaches an adaptive belt for impact (analogous art).
Jafri further teaches wherein at least one of the harness straps (100) includes stitching (102, 202, 302) extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event (Figs 1C-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cheng in view of Jafri such that the energy management section includes stitching extending through the strip of webbing to provide an energy-management section in the strip of webbing, and the energy-management section is configured to come apart under load to reduce potential forces acting on the child during an impact event as taught by Jafri for the advantages of reducing impact experienced for the occupant.
RE Claim 20: Cheng as modified discloses the child restraint of claim 19,
Jafri further discloses wherein the energy-management section includes a predetermined pattern on the strip and has a first energy management zone configured to break in response to a first predetermined tensile force acting on the strip and a second energy-management zone configured to break in response to a second predetermined tensile force greater than the first predetermined tensile force acting on the strip (Figs 1A-D)(col 5, ln 15-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 12-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details of
wherein each stitching region includes an outer rectangle stitch and an inner X-shaped stitch located within the outer rectangle stitch (claim 3);
wherein the stitching further includes a third stitching region interconnecting the first and second stitching regions and located on the longitudinal axis of the strip of webbing (claims 4-8);
wherein the energy-management section is formed on a hip strap included in the plurality of straps, the hip strap having a first end fixed to the seat shell and an opposite second end coupled to a harness latch included in the pair of harness latches, and wherein the energy-management section is located between the first end and the second end (claims 12-13);
wherein the plurality of straps include a first strap section, a second strap section, the crotch strap, and an adjuster strap, and wherein the energy-management section is a first energy management section formed in the first strap section and the child-restraint harness further includes a second energy-management section formed in the second strap section (claims 14-16);
wherein the energy-management section is formed on a shoulder strap included in the plurality of straps, the shoulder strap having a first end coupled to a splitter and a second end coupled to a harness latch included in the pair of harness latches, and wherein the energy management section is located between the first and the second end and outside of the child-receiving space (claim 17);
wherein the energy-management section is formed on the crotch strap, the crotch strap having a first end coupled to the seat shell and a second end coupled to the latch anchor, and wherein the energy-management section is located between the first and second ends (claim 18); along with the remaining limitations of the claim.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various child restraints and vehicle restraint with harnesses and straps comprising energy management for reduction of force on an occupant of the seat during impact.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644