DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (i.e., claim(s) 1-5) with traverse in the reply filed on 05/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the multiple groups can be searched and examined together without undue burden.
This is not found persuasive because:
The groups are directed to distinct inventions having different classifications which is sufficient prove of a search burden (See CTRS dated 03/18/2026);
The examination on the merits of apparatus claims differs from that of method claims which is sufficient prove of examination burden (See CTRS dated 03/18/2026);
Although there may be some overlap of the search for the Groups there is nothing to indicate that the search would be coextensive. In fact, the prior art applied to the elected group I below does not disclose all the limitations required by non-elected group II. Thus, the additional search and examination of non-elected Group would impose a serious burden.
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In response to Applicant response about the note, Examiner maintains that the materials worked upon by the apparatus and the manner of using/operating do not distinguish the claimed apparatus from prior art. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115. For instance, a squeegee is capable of applying other materials not only mold material in powder, liquid, or slurry form.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“hardening acceleration unit configured to …” in claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in at least [0020] and claims 2-3 of Applicant’s published application.
“the first temperature adjuster heats” in claim 2 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in at least [0021-0022] and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s published application.
“the second temperature adjuster heats” in claim 4 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in at least [0021-0022] and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s published application.
Other claim interpretation:
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claim(s) 1-5 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For instance, the recitations “a thermoplastic shaping material to laminate the thermoplastic shaping material on the table” and “a mold material in a slurry form to laminate the mold material on the table” in claim 1 amount to intended use recitations. MPEP §§ 2114-2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony (US 20200246865) in view of Murao (US 20180111313).
Regarding claim 1, Anthony discloses a three dimensional shaping apparatus (P0052, Fig. 1) that performs additive manufacturing: Figs. 2-4), the three dimensional shaping apparatus comprising:
a table (12: P0054, Fig. 1);
a head (24: Fig. 1) configured to … and eject a thermoplastic shaping material (24 is configured for ejecting acrylic acrylates as material 22: P0061, 0104) to laminate the thermoplastic shaping material on the table (24 is capable of dispensing 22 layer-by-layer on the table: P0063, 0134, Figs. 2-4; furthermore, since the taught head and the claimed head are structurally equivalent, the taught head is expected to be capable of applying any material including a thermoplastic shaping material to laminate the thermoplastic shaping material on the table: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115);
a squeegee (doctor blade 18: Fig. 1) configured to apply a mold material in a slurry form (16) to laminate the mold material on the table (P0059, 0134, Figs. 2-4; wherein the slurry material 16 can be mold material: P0001, 0019; furthermore, since the taught squeegee and the claimed squeegee are structurally and functionally equivalent, the taught squeegee is expected to be capable of applying any material including a mold material in a slurry form to laminate the mold material on the table: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115); and
a hardening acceleration unit configured to accelerate hardening of the mold material laminated on the table (heaters 26 and 26’ configured for heating material and accelerating drying/curing of the laminated materials including 16 on the table: P0065, Figs. 3C-4).
Anthony discloses/meets all the limitations except for the head being configured to heat the thermoplastic shaping material.
In the same field of endeavor, three dimensional shaping apparatuses, Murao discloses the technique of configuring a head (206) ejecting thermoplastic shaping material such that it heats the thermoplastic shaping material for the benefit(s) of controlling the viscosity of the thermoplastic shaping material with high precision (P0157, 0192, Fig. 14).
One of ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to configure the head to head the thermoplastic shaping material for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of preventing clogging of the head.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Anthony in view of Murao by configuring the head such that it heats the thermoplastic shaping material for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of controlling the viscosity of the thermoplastic shaping material with high precision and/or preventing clogging of the head as suggested by Murao. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Regarding claim 2, Anthony further discloses wherein the hardening acceleration unit is a first temperature adjuster provided on the table (heater 26 can be provided on 12: P0065), and the first temperature adjuster heats the thermoplastic shaping material laminated on the table and the mold material laminated on the table (the heater 26 provided on 12 is configured for heating the entire build material cake: P0065, Figs. 3C-4).
Regarding claim 4, Anthony further discloses a storage tank (unlabeled tank/cylinder defining the build volume) configured to store the thermoplastic shaping material laminated on the table and the mold material laminated on the table (P0065, Fig. 1), wherein the hardening acceleration unit is a second temperature adjuster provided on a side surface of the storage tank (heater 26’ can be provided on the sides of the unlabeled tank/cylinder defining the build volume: P0065), and the second temperature adjuster heats the thermoplastic shaping material laminated on the table and the mold material laminated on the table (the heater 26’ provided on provided on the sides of the unlabeled tank/cylinder defining the build volume is configured for heating the entire build material cake which includes laminated materials 22 and 16 on 12: P0065, Figs. 3C-4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination further implicitly discloses/suggests wherein the thermoplastic shaping material is an oil and fat including a wax material, or a thermoplastic resin including polylactic acid (since the taught head and the claimed head of the combination are structurally and functionally equivalent, the taught head is expected to be capable of using any material including wax or polylactic acid as the thermoplastic shaping material: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony (US 20200246865) in view of Murao (US 20180111313) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kritchman (US 20200398477).
Regarding claim 3, the combination, as applied to claim 1 above, fails to disclose, wherein the hardening acceleration unit is a blower configured to send air, and the blower blows the air to the thermoplastic shaping material laminated on the table and the mold material laminated on the table.
In the same field of endeavor, three dimensional shaping apparatuses, Kritchman discloses the technique of incorporating a blower configured to send air to all the materials laminated on a table for the benefit(s) of accelerating heating, drying, and/or solidifying/hardening of the materials laminated on the table (P0084, 0106, 0107, Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of the combination in view of Kritchman by incorporating as the hardening acceleration unit a blower configured to send air to all the materials laminated on the table for yielding(s) the predictable benefit(s) of accelerating heating, drying, and/or solidifying/hardening of the materials laminated on the table as suggested by Kritchman.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure.
Penn (US 6169605) discloses a relevant 3D shaping apparatus (Figs. 1 and 7a-8c). Penn further discloses wax material as a known/suitable printable thermoplastic shaping material compatible with mold material (C12, L16-44).
Shonnan (JP 4374575B2 with English machine translation – FOR of record) discloses wax material as a known/suitable compatible with mold material (Claim 3, P0003)
Amaya (US 20150283646) discloses a relevant 3D shaping apparatus comprising temperature adjustment units (10, 20: P0019-0029, Fig. 1).
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743