CTNF 18/934,853 CTNF 89281 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-05 AIA Claim s 25-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 18, 2026. Without acquiescing with the arguments provided, once the elected claims are considered to be in condition for allowance, rejoinder will be considered . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 7-15, 17-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Platzer et al (US 2009/0050264) . With regards to claims 1-4 , Platzer teaches a composition which cures by exposure to ultraviolet radiation (abstract) that includes a polymerizable component and a polymerization initiator (abstract) and further includes a polymer/resin (0028). Platzer teaches the composition to include a photoinitiator (0029) and for the composition to include another initiator that includes 2,5-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazol)thiophene (0044) (reading on a blue fluorescent compound). Platzer teaches the composition to initiate polymerization at a wavelength from 390-410 nm (0036), the radiation to be at an intensity of 10 to 600 W/cm 2 (0037) for a time of 2 to 30 seconds (0037). With regards to claim 7 , Platzer teaches the composition to include the monomer isobornyl acrylate (IBOA) and N,N-dimethylacrylamide (DMA) (0042 examples 9-12). With regards to claim 8 , Platzer teaches the amount of the (meth)acrylate monomer to be 66.5% (example 9). With regards to claim 9 , Platzer teaches the oligomer to include UR5 (example 9) that is a difunctional urethane acrylate oligomer (0041). With regards to claims 11 and 12 , Platzer teaches the (meth)acrylate functionalized resin to contain 1 to 99% of the (meth)acrylate (0027) wherein the amount of oligomer is 28% (0042). With regards to claims 13 and 14 , Platzer teaches the isobornyl acrylate to be at a concentration of 38.0% (example 9). With regards to claim 15 , Platzer teaches the amount of DMA to be 28.5% (example 9). With regards to claim 17 , Platzer teaches the amount of initiator (PPO) to be 0.5% (examples 9-12). With regards to claims 18 and 19 , Platzer teaches the amount of the compound reading on the fluorescent compound to be 0.03 and 0.6% (0044 examples 19 and 20). With regards to claim 20 , Platzer teaches the amount of the fluorescent compound to be 0.6% (example 20) and the amount of initiator to be 0.5% (example 9) reading on a ratio of 1.2:1. With regards to claim 21 , Platzer teaches the composition to include colorants (0034). With regards to claim 23 , Platzer teaches the resin to include poly(propylene glycol) (0031). With regards to claim 24 , Platzer teaches the composition to not include a phosphine oxide (examples 1-3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 6, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platzer et al (US 2009/0050264) in view of Ciampini et al (US 2011/0266362) . The disclosure of Platzer is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference. With regards to claims 5, 6, 16, and 22 , Platzer does not teach the initiator to include peroxides that include benzoyl peroxide. Ciampini teaches an acrylic adhesive composition to include (meth)acrylate compounds (abstract), a resin (0022), at least one radical initiator (0017) that includes photoinitiators and thermal initiators (0031) that includes a compound that is capable of converting blue radiation energy to free radicals (0031) wherein the thermal initiator includes dibenzoyl peroxide (0035). Ciampini teaches the motivation for adding a thermal initiator to be because it converts thermal energy into free radicals (0031) and it is well known in the art that adding a thermal initiator to a composition having a photoinitiator allows for the composition to cure even at thicknesses or locations where the light does not reach. Platzer and Ciampini are analogous in the art of curable compositions. In light of the benefit above it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the thermal initiator of Ciampini to the composition of Platzer, thereby obtaining the present invention. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA WHITELEY whose telephone number is (571)272-5203. The examiner can normally be reached 8 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached at 5712721130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/934,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/934,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/934,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/934,853 Page 5 Art Unit: 1763