DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wagner (US 2024/0025265 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wagner discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to control charging of a high-voltage energy storage system of a vehicle (In paragraph [0077], Wagner discloses that the apparatus 10 includes a control apparatus 12 configured to perform the method 100; starting in paragraph [0082], Wagner discloses the method 100 for providing a storage capacity reserve in a traction battery 20 for an electrically driven motor vehicle 50 for an upcoming downhill drive), the processing circuitry being configured to:
obtain data of at least one geographic zone positioned within a predetermined radius from a current charging position of the vehicle, the at least one geographic zone comprising a road with a downhill slope (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60),
determine a regenerative charge power of an electric traction motor of the vehicle during operation of at least a portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers),
determine a charge power ability of the high-voltage energy storage system when the vehicle arrives to the portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers),
in response to the regenerative charge power exceeding the charge power ability at the portion of the downhill slope, set a reduced maximum charge level of the high-voltage energy storage system (In paragraph [0097], Wagner discloses that in step S4 of the method 100, a maximum battery state of charge of the traction battery 20 for the charging process using the external charging source 60 is determined depending on the predicted amounts of recuperated energy), and
control charging of the high-voltage energy storage system at the current charging position to an energy level to, or below, the reduced maximum charge level (In paragraph [0105], Wagner discloses that after the maximum battery state of charge of the traction battery 20 has been established, the traction battery 20 may be electrically charged to the established maximum battery state of charge).
Regarding claim 2, Wagner further discloses wherein the charge power ability is based on a predicted electric energy level of the high-voltage energy storage system when the vehicle arrives at the at least one portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers).
Regarding claim 3, Wagner further discloses the processing circuitry being further configured to:
determine a charge level of the high-voltage energy storage system at the portion of the downhill slope resulting in an updated charge power ability exceeding the regenerative charge power (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers; see also paragraphs [0101-0104], Wagner discloses that the automatically determined maximum battery state of charge can further be manually corrected in various ways, for example, the user may select one of the specific downhill routes and/or one of the predicted amounts of recuperated energy via the charging dialog, so that the maximum battery state of charge is determined as a function of the selected downhill route and/or the selected amount of recuperated energy, and the specified maximum battery state of charge may also be manually changeable and/or altered by the user via the charging dialog), and
set the reduced maximum charge level at the charging position in response to the charge level (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers).
Regarding claim 4, Wagner further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine a level of electric energy consumable by the high-voltage energy storage system from the current charging position to the portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers, and whereby an electrical energy consumption on partial sections of the “downhill slope”, e.g. going uphill, is taken into account accordingly in the predicted amount of recuperated energy),
set the reduced maximum charge level at the charging position in response to the charge level and the level of consumable electric energy (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers, and whereby an electrical energy consumption on partial sections of the “downhill slope”, e.g. going uphill, is taken into account accordingly in the predicted amount of recuperated energy).
Regarding claim 6, Wagner further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
obtain a first and second geographic zone positioned within the predetermined radius from the current charging position, the first geographic zone comprising a first road with a first downhill slope and the second geographic zone comprising a second road with a second downhill slope (In paragraph [0089], Wagner discloses that the downhill routes G1, G2, i.e. all possible routes back to the valley or to lower levels, may be determined using topography data from the navigation system 14),
compare a first regenerative charge power of the electric traction motor for obtaining a first desired vehicle speed during operation at the first downhill slope with a second regenerative charge power of the electric traction motor for obtaining a second desired vehicle speed during operation at the second downhill slope (In paragraph [0098], Wagner discloses that for example, based on the amounts of recuperated energy predicted in step S3, it may be determined that a higher amount of recuperated energy may be recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along the downhill path G1 than along the downhill route G2, and therefore the maximum battery state of charge may be determined as a function of the predicted amount along the downhill route G1), and
set the reduced maximum charge level of the high-voltage energy storage system in response to the largest one of the first and second regenerative charge powers (In paragraph [0098], Wagner discloses that for example, based on the amounts of recuperated energy predicted in step S3, it may be determined that a higher amount of recuperated energy may be recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along the downhill path G1 than along the downhill route G2, and therefore the maximum battery state of charge may be determined as a function of the predicted amount along the downhill route G1).
Regarding claim 7, Wagner further discloses wherein the at least one portion of the downhill slope is the portion of the downhill slope requiring the largest regenerative charge power to obtain the desired vehicle speed (In paragraph [0098], Wagner discloses that for example, based on the amounts of recuperated energy predicted in step S3, it may be determined that a higher amount of recuperated energy may be recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along the downhill path G1 than along the downhill route G2, and therefore the maximum battery state of charge may be determined as a function of the predicted amount along the downhill route G1).
Regarding claim 8, Wagner further discloses wherein the data of the geographic zone is received from a memory of the computer system, the memory comprising data of a plurality of geographic zones, each geographic zone being associated with a map coordinate position (In paragraphs [0046-0047], Wagner discloses that topographic data in the vicinity of the current vehicle position, including the terrain elevation of the vehicle position, may be used to determine possible downhill distances that may be covered by the motor vehicle downhill until the motor vehicle reaches a lower level in which more electrical energy is consumed again during driving than is recuperated and the current gradient inclination may be considered to have been overcome, wherein the topographic data may include road network maps and/or road network topographic information, where the road network maps may include three-dimensional road network maps, the topographic information may describe road networks based on geographic longitudes, latitudes, and elevations, the topographic information may further include route characteristics for each route of the road networks, and the route characteristics for each route may include a route type (e.g., urban road, rural road, highway, unpaved roadway), route infrastructure (e.g., road signs, traffic signals), speed limits, and information on whether the route is impassable to vehicle categories (e.g., heavy trucks, truck trains, buses)).
Regarding claim 9, Wagner further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive map data coordinates of the current charging position (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60), and
obtain the data of the at least one geographic zone from the memory in response to the map data coordinates of the current charging position (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60).
Regarding claim 10, Wagner further discloses wherein the regenerative charge power is determined in response to a slope angle of the downhill slope and a length of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers; see also paragraph [0091] where Wagner discloses that it may be required that the length of the downhill route G1, G2 is above a predetermined minimum length).
Regarding claim 11, Wagner further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine a distance from the charging position to the portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60), and
control charging of the high-voltage energy storage system at the current charging position to the energy level to, or below, the reduced maximum state of charge level only when the distance to the portion of the downhill slope is below a predetermined distance value (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60).
Regarding claim 12, Wagner further discloses a vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1 (In paragraph [0076], Wagner discloses the apparatus 10 for providing a storage capacity reserve in a traction battery 20 for an electrically driven motor vehicle for an upcoming downhill drive; see where Wagner discloses the content of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Wagner discloses a computer-implemented method of controlling charging of a high-voltage energy storage system of a vehicle (In paragraph [0077], Wagner discloses that the apparatus 10 includes a control apparatus 12 configured to perform the method 100; starting in paragraph [0082], Wagner discloses the method 100 for providing a storage capacity reserve in a traction battery 20 for an electrically driven motor vehicle 50 for an upcoming downhill drive), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a processing circuitry of a computer system, data of at least one geographic zone positioned within a predetermined radius from a current charging position of the vehicle, the at least one geographic zone comprising a road with a downhill slope (In paragraphs [0088-0092], Wagner discloses that in step S2 of the method 100, one or more possible downward routes are determined for an upcoming downward route (travel route) after the electric charging operation, where conditions may be defined for a route start and a route end of the downhill route G1 and G2, respectively, for example the start of the route may be within a distance of a charging position at which the electric charging operation is performed, e.g. at a position near the external charging source 60),
determining, by the processing circuitry, a regenerative charge power of an electric traction motor of the vehicle during operation of at least a portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers),
determining, by the processing circuitry, a charge power ability of the high-voltage energy storage system when the vehicle arrives to the portion of the downhill slope (In paragraphs [0094-0096], Wagner discloses that in step S3 of the method 100, one or more amounts of recuperated energy recuperated by the motor vehicle 50 along each of the determined downhill routes G1, G2 are predicted where the amounts of recuperated energy may be predicted using a stored motor vehicle model that takes into account at least one of the following parameters for the upcoming downhill drive: a gradient, a speed of the motor vehicle 50, a load of the motor vehicle 50, weather and temperature data, and an energy consumption of motor vehicle consumers),
in response to the regenerative charge power exceeding the charge power ability at the portion of the downhill slope, setting, by the processing circuitry, a reduced maximum charge level of the high-voltage energy storage system (In paragraph [0097], Wagner discloses that in step S4 of the method 100, a maximum battery state of charge of the traction battery 20 for the charging process using the external charging source 60 is determined depending on the predicted amounts of recuperated energy), and
controlling, by the processing circuitry, charging of the high-voltage energy storage system at the current charging position to an energy level to, or below, the reduced maximum charge level (In paragraph [0105], Wagner discloses that after the maximum battery state of charge of the traction battery 20 has been established, the traction battery 20 may be electrically charged to the established maximum battery state of charge).
Regarding claim 14, Wagner further discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 13 (In paragraph [0077], Wagner discloses that the apparatus 10 includes a control apparatus 12 configured to perform the method 100; starting in paragraph [0082], Wagner discloses the method 100 for providing a storage capacity reserve in a traction battery 20 for an electrically driven motor vehicle 50 for an upcoming downhill drive; see where Wagner discloses the content of claim 13 above).
Regarding claim 15, Wagner further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 13 (In paragraph [0077], Wagner discloses that the apparatus 10 includes a control apparatus 12 configured to perform the method 100; starting in paragraph [0082], Wagner discloses the method 100 for providing a storage capacity reserve in a traction battery 20 for an electrically driven motor vehicle 50 for an upcoming downhill drive; see where Wagner discloses the content of claim 13 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (US 2024/0025265 A1), in view of Heseding (US 2025/0018829 A1).
Regarding claim 5, although in paragraph [0033] Wagner discloses that the stored motor vehicle model may be determined or refined from driving cycles and/or real vehicle measurements, on the basis of which the amount of recuperated energy is determined experimentally for different values of the parameters taken into account in the motor vehicle model for different downhill gradients and which, for example, take into account a duration and intensity of the continuous braking depending on the gradient, and in paragraph [0035] that the extent to which the amount of recuperated energy is influenced by various factors may be taken into account, for example, the load and thus the weight of the motor vehicle can influence the amount of recuperated energy, especially in the case of commercial vehicles, and thus, with higher weight, a higher intensity of continuous braking is also necessary, i.e., with higher weight, the amount of recuperated energy also increases, Wagner does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine a total brake power required to obtain a desired vehicle speed during operation of the portion of the downhill slope,
determine a brake power capability of at least one service brake of the vehicle, and
determine a regenerative charge power of the electric traction motor as a difference between the total brake power and the brake power capability of the at least one service brake.
However, Heseding teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine a total brake power required to obtain a desired vehicle speed during operation of the portion of the downhill slope (In paragraph [0089], Heseding teaches that the kinematic model 303 can retrieve the vehicle data 314 from the vehicle database 306 such as the average energy consumption per km of the vehicle in the past and/or performance data of electrical consumers or other continuous braking devices (brake resistance, retarder, et cetera) and/or the power consumption capacity of a friction brake; in paragraph [0092], Heseding teaches that the determination S52 of the target state of charge 114 is carried out on the basis of the kinematic model 303 of the vehicle 100a, 100b, taking into account a specific scenario, wherein the scenario includes driving along a route with a downhill gradient and at a speed),
determine a brake power capability of at least one service brake of the vehicle (In paragraph [0089], Heseding teaches that the kinematic model 303 can retrieve the vehicle data 314 from the vehicle database 306 such as the average energy consumption per km of the vehicle in the past and/or performance data of electrical consumers or other continuous braking devices (brake resistance, retarder, et cetera) and/or the power consumption capacity of a friction brake; in paragraph [0092], Heseding teaches that the determination S52 of the target state of charge 114 is carried out on the basis of the kinematic model 303 of the vehicle 100a, 100b, taking into account a specific scenario, wherein the scenario includes driving along a route with a downhill gradient and at a speed), and
determine a regenerative charge power of the electric traction motor as a difference between the total brake power and the brake power capability of the at least one service brake (In paragraph [0089], Heseding teaches that the kinematic model 303 can retrieve the vehicle data 314 from the vehicle database 306 such as the average energy consumption per km of the vehicle in the past and/or performance data of electrical consumers or other continuous braking devices (brake resistance, retarder, et cetera) and/or the power consumption capacity of a friction brake; in paragraph [0092], Heseding teaches that the determination S52 of the target state of charge 114 is carried out on the basis of the kinematic model 303 of the vehicle 100a, 100b, taking into account a specific scenario, wherein the scenario includes driving along a route with a downhill gradient and at a speed).
Heseding is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to calculating power characteristics based on vehicle data including energy consumption by friction brakes. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Heseding with the system as disclosed by Wagner, where doing so may advantageously increase the accuracy of the power-related determinations, for example, by considering a greater variety of information and increasing contextual accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khuntia (US 2025/0153593 A1) teaches determination of target state of charge based on estimated gradient.
Minaz (US 2024/0013591 A1) teaches an intelligent charge limit for high voltage batteries.
Payne (US 2016/0325637 A1) teaches systems and methods for improbing energy efficiency of a vehicle based on route prediction.
Chen (US 2015/0251558 A1) teaches a plug-in vehicle eco charging mode.
/HARRISON HEFLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665