DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10914514 (“Hunter et al.”) in view of US 20230221062 (Park et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hunter et al. discloses a vacuum insulated appliance, comprising
a vacuum insulated cabinet (14) including a at least partially defining a compartment (22), wherein the vacuum insulated cabinet (14) includes a trim breaker (24) having an outer wall and a trim breaker cover (42) abutting the outer wall and extending parallel to and away from the compartment (22).
Hunter et al. does not teach the external wall panel removably couple to the walls.
Park et al. disclose (see Figs. 1 -20) an insulated cabinet refrigerator a wall panel assembly removably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls (111, 112), wherein the wall panel assembly includes:
a main body (210, 220) having a hemmed edge (along the top, bottom and side), wherein the hemmed edge of the main body is positioned proximate the trim breaker cover (114); and
a magnetic coupler (330) operably coupled to the main body(210, 220), wherein the magnetic coupler (33) is configured to operably couple the wall panel assembly to at least one of the plurality of walls (111, 112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of walls taught by Hunter et al modified with a wall panel assembly removably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls with magnetic couplers, as taught by Park et al., to provide a refrigerator with outer panels that could be easily be removed to change the exterior of refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.) wherein the plurality of walls includes a top wall , a bottom wall, a rear wall, and opposing sidewalls (as seen in Figs. 1-6), and wherein the wall panel assembly(as modified by Park et al) is co-extensive with at least one of the plurality of walls.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.) wherein the bottom wall is coupled to a base and a curved wall (best seen in Figs. 1-2), and wherein the curved wall and the base at least partially define a mechanical compartment (under the curved wall, as known in the art) configured to be partially covered when the wall panel assembly is operably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls (as modified by Park et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match the shape of the wall panel assembly to the curved walls of the cabinet, such that the wall panel assembly includes a curved portion that is configured to align with the curved wall of the cabinet when the wall panel assembly is installed.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.) wherein the trim breaker cover (42) includes an arcuate end defining a channel. Hunter does not teach the second end of the trim breaker cover closest to the wall panel with an arcuate end defining the channel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the other end of the trim breaker cover with an arcuate end defining a channel, so that it is east to grab and remove the trim cover.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination discloses (Park et al.) wherein the main body of the wall panel assembly (210, 220) includes a first side facing an external environment of said vacuum insulated appliance and a second side facing the vacuum insulated cabinet (14).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.), wherein the first side of the main body includes a textured surface extending along a length of the first side of the wall panel assembly, and wherein the magnetic couplers are disposed along a length of the second side of the wall panel assembly (as modified by Park et al.).
Regarding Claims 8, the combination discloses (Park et al.) wherein the magnetic couplers include magnetic coupler strips, and wherein the magnetic coupler strips (330) are configured to extend along a periphery of the second side of the wall panel assembly.
Regarding Claims 9,the combination discloses (Park et al.) does not expressly disclose the magnetic couplers have a disc shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic strips for magnetic disc, for the same benefit of coupling the wall assembly to the wall of the cabinet would be withing the skill and knowledge of someone in the art.
Regarding Claim 16, Hunter et al. discloses an appliance, comprising:
a cabinet (14) including a plurality of walls (16, 18);
a door (not shown) operably coupled with the cabinet, wherein the vacuum insulated door is operable between an open position and a closed position
Hunter et al. does not teach the external wall panel removably couple to the walls.
Park et al. disclose (see Figs. 1 -20) an insulated cabinet refrigerator with a door, a wall panel including a first side and second side (111, 112), wherein the second side of the wall panel includes a magnetic coupler (330) configured to operably couple the wall panel(111, 112) to at least one of the plurality of walls of the cabinet. wherein the wall panel assembly includes:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of walls taught by Hunter et al modified with a wall panel assembly removably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls with magnetic couplers, as taught by Park et al., to provide a refrigerator with outer panels that could be easily be removed to change the exterior of refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 17, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface of the main body as a matter of design choice along a length of the first side of the wall panel, which is within the skill of one of ordinary art.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.) wherein the wall panel (111, 112) defines a cavity between the first side and the second side, and wherein the magnetic coupler (330) is disposed in the cavity.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.), wherein the wall panel and the plurality of walls (16, 18) each include a pair of upper corners and a pair of lower corners, and wherein the pair of upper corners and the pair of lower corners of the wall panel align with the pair of upper corners and lower corners of the plurality of walls (16, 18), respectively, such that the wall panel is co-extensive with the plurality of walls (16, 18); as modified by Park et al.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. and Park et al., as applied to claims 1 and 16, and further in view of CN 101526296 (“Hofman et al.”).
Regarding Claim 10 and 19, the combination disclose the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose the panel connected to the wall via a notch and protrusion.
Hofman et al. discloses a modular appliance having Claim 10 and 19- hemmed edge of the wall panel assembly includes a protrusion (42) and at least one of the plurality of walls includes a notch (50), and wherein the notch (50)is configured to receive the protrusion (42) to secure the wall panel assembly to at least one of the plurality of walls
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a notch along the cabinet walls and a protrusion along the wall panel, for securely fastening the wall panel to the cabinet.
Claims 11-15are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10914514 (“Hunter et al.”) in view of US 20230221062 (Park et al.”) and CN 101526296 (“Hofman et al.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Hunter et al. discloses a vacuum insulated appliance, comprising
a vacuum insulated cabinet (14) including a at least partially defining a compartment (22), wherein the vacuum insulated cabinet (14) includes a trim breaker having an outer wall and a trim breaker cover (42) abutting the outer wall and extending parallel to and away from the compartment (22).
Hunter et al. does not teach the external wall panel removably couple to the walls.
Park et al. disclose (see Figs. 1 -20) an insulated cabinet refrigerator a wall panel assembly removably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls (111, 112), wherein the wall panel assembly includes:
a main body (210, 220) having a hemmed edge (along the top, bottom and side), wherein the hemmed edge of the main body is positioned proximate the trim breaker cover (114); and
a magnetic coupler (330) operably coupled to the main body(210, 220), wherein the magnetic coupler (33) is configured to operably couple the wall panel assembly to at least one of the plurality of walls (111, 112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of walls taught by Hunter et al modified with a wall panel assembly removably coupled to at least one of the plurality of walls with magnetic couplers, as taught by Park et al., to provide a refrigerator with outer panels that could be easily be removed to change the exterior of refrigerator.
The combination does not teach a notch on the cabinet wall.
Hofman et al. discloses a modular appliance having - wall panel assembly includes a protrusion (42) and at least one of the plurality of walls includes a notch (50), and wherein the notch (50) is configured to receive the protrusion (42) to secure the wall panel assembly to at least one of the plurality of walls
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a notch along the cabinet walls and a protrusion along the wall panel, for securely fastening the wall panel to the cabinet.
Regarding Claim 12-15, the combination discloses (Hunter et al.) Claim 12-a trim breaker (24) extending along a periphery of the cabinet; and a trim breaker cover (42) coupled to the trim breaker including an arcuate end, wherein the trim breaker is positioned between the cabinet and the trim breaker cover (42); Claim 13- wherein the edge of the wall panel assembly abuts the arcuate end of the trim breaker cover (42); Claim 14-, wherein the edge of the main body is hemmed to reduce damage to the trim breaker cover (42) when the wall panel assembly is installed; Claim 15-15. The refrigerated appliance of claim 11 wherein the magnetic coupler assembly (330) is disposed on at least one the opposing sidewalls of the cabinet, and wherein the wall panel assembly is removably coupled to the cabinet via the magnetic coupler assembly.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637