Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recite the limitation “when the power source is providing a minimum voltage.” It is unclear what operation is required when the condition when the power source is providing a minimum voltage is met. Applicant should cancel of amend the claim.
Claim 10 recites “a converter” line 4 and “a converter” in line 19 it is unclear if this is the same or second converter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ciaccio et al. (US 20170253127)
With respect to claims 1 and 4-6 Ciaccio teaches a method, comprising: initiating an electric field charging cycle (charging of capacitor, see Fig. 1:110) to charge an electric field storage cell (capacitor 110); determining (for example paragraph 0031) that the electric field storage cell has been charged to at least a threshold state of charge (SoC); electrically coupling the electric field storage cell with an electrochemical storage cell (battery) through a rapid charger (164 provides a controlled voltage level to recharge the battery) to charge (paragraph 0131) the electrochemical storage cell;
determining when the electrochemical storage cell has reached a threshold level SoC (see battery SOC threshold for example paragraph 0125, 134); connecting a converter (see DC converter 162) to a load (see load(s) 170); and discharging (for example paragraph 0088) the electrochemical storage cell (battery) to the load (load(s) 170) and monitoring the SoC (paragraph 0090) of the electrochemical storage cell during use.
With respect to claims 2 and 11 Ciaccio teaches recharging (via generator 174/175, paragraph 00121-123) the electrochemical storage cell through the rapid charger (164) coupled with the electric field storage cell when the electrochemical storage cell falls below the threshold SoC (paragraph 0068, 0094).
With respect to claims 3 and 12 Ciaccio teaches determining temperature (temperature sensors) and voltage balancing (paragraph 0083) of the electrochemical storage cell during use thereof.
With respect to claim 7 Ciaccio teaches comprising sourcing voltage and current from either or both of the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell using a converter until the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell cooperatively reach a maximum discharge threshold (during vehicle start event, see protection of battery to critical threshold paragraph 0125).
With respect to claim 8 Ciaccio teaches providing an adjustable output voltage (by controlling output voltage via DC converter) and a selectable current limiting capability (paragraph 0065) to source voltage and current from both the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell.
With respect to claim 9 Ciaccio teaches initiating a charging cycle for the electric field storage cell (see paragraph 0071-72).
With respect to claim 10 Ciaccio teaches a device, comprising: an electric field storage unit comprising an electric field microcontroller (paragraph 0139-141); an electrochemical storage unit comprising an electrochemical storage cell (battery); a rapid charger (164 provides a controlled voltage level to recharge the battery); a converter (see DC converter 162); and a digital energy management controller (see 112/114) that is coupled to the electric field storage unit, the electrochemical storage unit, the rapid charger, and the converter, the digital energy management controller comprising a processor (paragraph 0141) and a memory (paragraph 0142) for storing instructions. As detailed above Ciaccio teaches the instructions or steps as recited above in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claims 13-14 the claims further limit the optional limitation of a power source. As claim 10 recites the power source merely as an alternate or optional feature.
With respect to claim 15 Ciaccio teaches the processor is configured to directly, electrically couple the electric field storage cell with the electrochemical storage cell through a digital energy management controller (see direct connection with the 112: Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 16 Ciaccio teaches the processor is configured to source voltage and current from either or both of the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell using a converter until the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell cooperatively reach a maximum discharge threshold (during vehicle start event, see protection of battery to critical threshold paragraph 0125).
With respect to claim 17 Ciaccio teaches the processor is configured to provide an adjustable (by controlling output voltage via DC converter) output voltage and a selectable current limiting (paragraph 0065) capability to source voltage and current from both the electric field storage cell and the electrochemical storage cell.
With respect to claim 18 Ciaccio teaches the processor (see 114 and connection with 112) is configured to determine that the power source (optional limitation) is providing the minimum voltage; and initiate a charging cycle for the electric field storage cell (see paragraph 0071-72).
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836