DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, Sub-Species C, readable on claims 21-34 in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the atmospheric valve is configured to control flow through an atmospheric channel of the valve well” in Lines 5-6, wherein it’s not clear what can reasonably be interpreted as the atmospheric channel of the valve well since the atmospheric channel is not formed in the valve well, but rather is formed as a component of the valve set, such as atmospheric (1516) of the hat (1558) best seen in Fig. 15C. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0148608, hereinafter Fukushima).
In regard to claim 21, Fukushima discloses a medical device (10, Fig. 1), comprising:
a suction valve set (51-53) including a working channel valve (the valve set (51-53) as a whole functions as a working channel valve with Figs. 9 and 11 showing flow to the working channel being closed and Fig. 10 showing flow to the working channel being open), a balloon valve (the valve set (51-53) as a whole functions as a balloon valve with Figs. 9 and 10 showing flow to the balloon channel being open and Fig. 11 showing flow to the balloon channel being closed), and an atmospheric valve (the valve set (51-53) as a whole functions as an atmospheric valve with Figs 10 and 11 showing flow to the atmospheric channel being closed and Fig. 9 showing flow to the atmospheric channel being open), the working channel valve is configured to control flow through a working channel (28) of a valve well (Fig. 10 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the working channel through the valve set), the balloon valve is configured to control flow through a balloon channel (35) of the valve well (Fig. 11 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the balloon channel through the valve set), and the atmospheric valve is configured to control flow through an atmospheric channel of the valve well (Fig. 9 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the atmosphere through the valve set (51)), the suction valve set configurable between a first state (Fig. 9), a second state (Fig. 10), and a third state (Fig. 11), the first state is configured to place a suction channel (46) in fluid communication with the atmospheric channel (Fig. 9 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the atmosphere through the valve set (51)), the second state is configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the working channel (Fig. 10 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the working channel through the valve set), and the third state is configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 11 illustrates suction fluid from the suction channel (46) communicating with the balloon channel through the valve set); and
a valve interface mechanism (50) including a linkage comprising a top, a bottom, and a tubular structure with an interior (Fig. 3), wherein at least a portion of the tubular structure of the linkage is configured for insertion into the balloon channel of the valve well (Fig. 3 illustrates the linkage connected to the balloon channel), wherein the balloon valve (58) comprises a first radial hole and is configured to extend through at least a portion of the interior of the linkage (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 22, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve toward the bottom of the linkage to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 23, Fukushima teaches wherein the linkage comprises a second radial hole (via bottom hole of the linkage communicating with opening (56)).
In regard to claim 24, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to align the first radial hole and the second radial hole to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 11 illustrates the bottom hole of the valve interface mechanism fluids aligned with the first radial hole of the balloon valve).
In regard to claim 25, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to misalign the first radial hole and the second radial hole to block flow through the balloon channel (Figs. 9-10).
In regard to claim 26, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a set of one or more biasing members configured to bias the first radial hole out of alignment with the second radial hole (via springs (78, 79), Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 27, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a bowl (84) with a top, a bottom, and a cylindrical portion with an interior and the balloon valve is configured to extend through at least a portion of the interior of the bowl (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 28, Fukushima teaches wherein the linkage extends from the bottom of the bowl and the tubular structure of the linkage is nonconcentric with the cylindrical portion of the bowl (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 29, Fukushima teaches wherein the balloon valve is concentric with the linkage and nonconcentric with the bowl when extended through at least a portion of the interior of the bowl and at least a portion of the interior of the linkage (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 30, Fukushima teaches wherein the bottom of the bowl defines an entirety of each opening of a plurality of openings (via openings (88, 89), Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 31, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve toward the top of the bowl to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Figs. 9-11).
In regard to claim 32, Fukushima teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a set of one or more biasing members configured to bias the balloon valve to block flow through the balloon channel (via springs (78, 79), Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 33, Fukushima teaches wherein the linkage comprises at least a portion of the balloon channel (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 34, Fukushima teaches the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve out of the bottom of the linkage to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Fig. 11 illustrates the bottom of the balloon valve extending beyond the end of the linkage).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,292 (hereinafter ‘292). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below.
In regard to claim 21, ‘292 discloses a medical device (Claim 1, Line 1), comprising:
a suction valve set including a working channel valve, a balloon valve, and an atmospheric valve, the working channel valve is configured to control flow through a working channel of a valve well, the balloon valve is configured to control flow through a balloon channel of the valve well, and the atmospheric valve is configured to control flow through an atmospheric channel of the valve well, the suction valve set configurable between a first state, a second state, and a third state, the first state is configured to place a suction channel in fluid communication with the atmospheric channel, the second state is configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the working channel, and the third state is configured to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Claim 1, Line 2-15); and
a valve interface mechanism including a linkage comprising a top, a bottom, and a tubular structure with an interior, wherein at least a portion of the tubular structure of the linkage is configured for insertion into the balloon channel of the valve well, wherein the balloon valve comprises a first radial hole and is configured to extend through at least a portion of the interior of the linkage (Claim 1, Lines 17-27, Claim 3, Lines 1-2).
In regard to claim 22, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve toward the bottom of the linkage to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Claim 2).
In regard to claim 23, ‘292 teaches wherein the linkage comprises a second radial hole (Claim 3).
In regard to claim 24, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to align the first radial hole and the second radial hole to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Claim 4).
In regard to claim 25, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to misalign the first radial hole and the second radial hole to block flow through the balloon channel (Claim 5).
In regard to claim 26, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a set of one or more biasing members configured to bias the first radial hole out of alignment with the second radial hole (Claim 6).
In regard to claim 27, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a bowl with a top, a bottom, and a cylindrical portion with an interior and the balloon valve is configured to extend through at least a portion of the interior of the bowl (Claim 1, Lines 17-27).
In regard to claim 28, ‘292 teaches wherein the linkage extends from the bottom of the bowl and the tubular structure of the linkage is nonconcentric with the cylindrical portion of the bowl (Claim 1, Lines 17-27).
In regard to claim 29, ‘292 teaches wherein the balloon valve is concentric with the linkage and nonconcentric with the bowl when extended through at least a portion of the interior of the bowl and at least a portion of the interior of the linkage (Claim 8).
In regard to claim 30, ‘292 teaches wherein the bottom of the bowl defines an entirety of each opening of a plurality of openings (Claim 13).
In regard to claim 31, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve toward the top of the bowl to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Claim 12).
In regard to claim 32, ‘292 teaches wherein the valve interface mechanism comprises a set of one or more biasing members configured to bias the balloon valve to block flow through the balloon channel (Claim 9).
In regard to claim 33, ‘292 teaches wherein the linkage comprises at least a portion of the balloon channel (Claim 1, Lines 17-27).
In regard to claim 34, ‘292 teaches the valve interface mechanism is configured to displace at least a portion of the balloon valve out of the bottom of the linkage to place the suction channel in fluid communication with the balloon channel (Claim 11).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 June 20, 2026