DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 14 and 20 being independent.
Notice of AIA Status
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 1, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 (depends on claim 1) is objected to because of the following informalities: Independent claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends, recites “a first user” (line 3 of claim 1) and “a second user” (line 6 of claim 1). Claim 6 recites “a first user operation” (line 4 of claim 6). However, it is unclear whether the first user operation is a first operation by the first user, or a first operation by the second user. Thus, claim 6 is vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 (depends on claim 6) is objected to because of the following informalities: Independent claim 1, upon which claim 8 indirectly depends (i.e., it depends on claim 6, which depends on claim 1), recites “a first user” (line 3 of claim 1) and “a second user” (line 6 of claim 1). Claim 8 recites “a second user operation” (line 2 of claim 8). However, it is unclear whether the second user operation is a second operation by the first user, or a second operation by the second user. Thus, claim 8 is vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 17 recites “receiving” (line 6 of claim 17) and “playing” (line 8 of claim 17); however, the verb tense is grammatically improper (i.e., “receive” and “play” would be proper). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 (depends on claim 14) is objected to because of the following informalities: Independent claim 14, upon which claim 19 depends, recites “a first user” (line 4 of claim 14) and “a second user” (line 7 of claim 14). Claim 19 recites “a first user operation” (line 5 of claim 19). However, it is unclear whether the first user operation is a first operation by the first user, or a first operation by the second user. Thus, claim 19 is vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 12-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NORIEDA et al. (US 2024/0362871, hereinafter “NORIEDA”) in view of SACHSON et al. (US 2023/0037657, hereinafter “SACHSON”).
Regarding claim 14, NORIEDA discloses an information processing apparatus (¶ [0032]: “user terminal 200 is a device operated by a user. The user terminal 200 is, for example, a personal computer,” See FIG. 1 and FIG. 2. ¶ [0080]: “computer device 90”), comprising:
processing circuitry (¶ [0080]: “computer device 90 includes a processor 91”. See FIG. 14) configured to:
display a first virtual object (¶ [0033]: “an avatar.” ¶ [0033]: “The avatar is an object to be operated by the user.” FIG. 6A and FIG. 7: “SPEAKING AVATAR” ) in a to-be-synchronized state (¶ [0044]: “indicating a range where the voice of the speaking user is transmitted.” NOTE: As shown in FIG. 6A, displaying the avatar encircled by the listening region corresponds to displaying the avatar in “a to-be-synchronized state”, i.e., displayed in a state ready for communication when another avatar enters the displayed listening region.) and a state synchronization area (FIG. 6A and FIG. 7: “LISTENING REGION”; ¶ [0044]: “a listening region. The listening region is a region including the speaking avatar,” ¶ [0049]: “The display control unit 130 may display the listening region. For example, the display control unit 130 displays the listening region set according to the voice of the speaking user on the user terminal 200 of the speaking user. As a result, the speaking user can recognize in which range the voice is transmitted. The display control unit 130 may also display the listening region set according to the voice of the speaking user on the user terminal 200 of another user. As a result, another user can recognize who is speaking.” ¶ [0067]: “The display control unit 131 displays the listening region (S203).”) in a virtual scene (¶ [0033]: “a virtual space”; ¶ [0033]: “The virtual space is a space shared by a plurality of users, and is a space reflecting the user's operation. The virtual space is also called a virtual reality (VR) space.”), the first virtual object being controlled by a first user (¶ [0033]: “The avatar is an object to be operated by the user.”) (¶ [0033]: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the virtual space includes an avatar. The avatar is an object to be operated by the user. The user uses the virtual space by operating the avatar. For example, the user terminal 200 may display an image of the virtual space of the avatar viewpoint operated by the user.” ¶ [0044]: “The listening region setting unit 121 sets a listening region. The listening region is a region including the speaking avatar, and is a region indicating a range where the voice of the speaking user is transmitted. The listening region may be, for example, a range indicating a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar. FIG. 6A is a diagram illustrating an example of a listening region. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the listening region setting unit 121 may set the listening region in a circular shape centered on the speaking avatar. In this case, other avatars present within the listening region are listening avatars. That is, the voice of the speaking user is output in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates another avatar present in the listening region.”);
display a second virtual object (¶ [0033]: “an avatar operated by another user.” FIG. 7: “LISTENING AVATAR”) outside of the state synchronization area in the virtual scene (¶ [0033]: “The virtual space is a space shared by a plurality of users, and is a space reflecting the user's operation. The virtual space is also called a virtual reality (VR) space. For example, a virtual space is provided by the information processing device 100. The user terminal 200 displays an image indicating the virtual space.” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region.” NOTE: In order for the other avatar to enter the listening region, it must first be outside of the listening region. ¶ [0007]: “a virtual space where there are a plurality of avatars.”), the second virtual object being controlled by a second user (¶ [0033]: “an avatar operated by another user.”)
when the second virtual object enters the state synchronization area (¶ [0036]: “The avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions may be, for example, an avatar present within a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar, or may be an avatar present in a predetermined region including the speaking avatar.” ¶ [0037]: “when there is a listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions,” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar.” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region.”), output state representation information (¶ [0037]: “when there is a listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions, the display control unit 130 controls the display mode of the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 gives a predetermined symbol or a predetermined color to the listening avatar. The display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions.” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar.) indicating that the second virtual object is in the to-be-synchronized state (¶ [0037]: “when there is a listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions, the display control unit 130 controls the display mode of the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 gives a predetermined symbol or a predetermined color to the listening avatar. The display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions.” ¶ [0048]: “the display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of a display mode of the listening avatar. In the example of FIG. 7, an exclamation mark is added to the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 performs control so that the listening avatar to which an exclamation mark is added is displayed on the user terminal 200 of the speaking user. As a result, the speaking user can visually recognize which avatar is the listening avatar, that is, which user the voice is being transmitted to. The display mode is not limited to this example. For example, the display control unit 130 may add other symbols or characters to the listening avatar, or may change the color of a part or entirety of the listening avatar.”) (¶ [0036]: “Here, the user who has uttered the voice is also referred to as a speaking user. The avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice is also referred to as a speaking avatar. For example, the voice control unit 120 specifies an avatar satisfying predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar. The avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions may be, for example, an avatar present within a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar, or may be an avatar present in a predetermined region including the speaking avatar. The predetermined conditions are not limited to this example. The avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions is also referred to as a listening avatar. For example, the voice control unit 120 outputs a voice from the speaking user to the user of the specified avatar. In this manner, the voice control unit 120 outputs a voice to the user of the avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar that is an avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice.”).
NORIEDA fails to explicitly disclose that the first user is “associated with a first account” and that the second user is “associated with a second account”.
However, at the time of the invention it was well-known for a user controlling an avatar in a virtual space to be associated a user account. For instance, SACHSON teaches a user controlling an avatar in a virtual space (¶ [0006]: “The user experiences the room in the virtual environment by accessing the room through a virtual environment avatar. In one implementation, a user avatar moves throughout and interacts with the environment based on user input and system data and the environment presents content to the user over time and position. In music rooms, a user can experience the content of music rooms by moving the user's avatar through the rooms and interacting with and observing the objects and presentation of the music rooms.”), the user being associated with a user account (¶ [0039]: “an account of the user in a user account database” ¶ [0044]: “the system further includes a user account database 240 including an account of the user”).
Thus, in order to obtain a system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by NORIEDA and SACHSON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system taught by NORIEDA such that the first user is associated with a first account and the second user is associated with a second account, as taught by SACHSON.
Regarding claim 15 (depends on claim 14), NORIEDA discloses:
wherein the to-be-synchronized state of each of the first virtual object and the second virtual object includes at least one of an audio listening state or a video viewing state (¶ [0039] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating an example of the operation of the information processing device 100. The detection unit 110 detects a voice uttered by the user who operates the avatar in the virtual space (S1). The voice control unit 120 outputs a voice to the user of the avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar that is an avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice (S2). The display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions (S3).” ¶ [0040]: “As described above, the information processing device 100 according to the first example embodiment detects the voice uttered by the user who operates the avatar in the virtual space, and outputs the voice to the user of the avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar that is an avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice. Then, the information processing device 100 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions. Therefore, since the information processing device 100 controls the display mode of the avatar of the user to whom the voice is to be output, it is possible to inform the speaking user of which user the voice will be transmitted to. That is, the information processing device 100 of the present disclosure can make the user recognize the voice transmission range in a situation where the users communicate with each other using a virtual space.”).
Regarding claim 16 (depends on claim 14), NORIEDA discloses:
wherein the state synchronization area (e.g., ¶ [0044]: “listening region”) moves synchronously with the first virtual object (¶ [0044]: “The voice control unit 120 includes a listening region setting unit 121 and a voice output unit 122. The listening region setting unit 121 sets a listening region. The listening region is a region including the speaking avatar, and is a region indicating a range where the voice of the speaking user is transmitted. The listening region may be, for example, a range indicating a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar. FIG. 6A is a diagram illustrating an example of a listening region. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the listening region setting unit 121 may set the listening region in a circular shape centered on the speaking avatar. In this case, other avatars present within the listening region are listening avatars. That is, the voice of the speaking user is output in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates another avatar present in the listening region.” ¶ [0033]: “First, a virtual space in the present disclosure will be described. The virtual space is a space shared by a plurality of users, and is a space reflecting the user's operation. The virtual space is also called a virtual reality (VR) space. For example, a virtual space is provided by the information processing device 100. The user terminal 200 displays an image indicating the virtual space. FIG. 2 is a diagram schematically illustrating an example of a virtual space displayed on the user terminal 200. In the example of FIG. 2, a virtual space is displayed on the display of the user terminal 200. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the virtual space includes an avatar. The avatar is an object to be operated by the user. The user uses the virtual space by operating the avatar. For example, the user terminal 200 may display an image of the virtual space of the avatar viewpoint operated by the user. In this case, the image displayed on the user terminal 200 may be updated according to the motion of the avatar. For example, the user may be able to communicate with another user by performing an action on an avatar operated by another user.” NOTE: In other words the speaking avatar moves around the virtual space, and the listening region of the speaking avatar is centered on the speaking avatar. Thus, the listening region, being centered on the speaking avatar, moves with the speaking avatar.).
Regarding claim 17 (depends on claim 14), NORIEDA discloses that the processing circuitry is configured to:
transmit a state synchronization request (¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region. The voice output unit 122 may acquire the position information of another avatar around the speaking avatar and specify the avatar of the position information indicating the position in the listening region, among the pieces of acquired position information, as the listening avatar.” NOTE: In other words, when another user using a terminal 200 operates their avatar to move into the displayed listening region of the avatar of the user (i.e., the speaking avatar), a signal is sent to the information processing device 100 to move into their avatar into the speaking avatar’s listening region, thereby requesting the listening avatar to be synchronized with the audio (i.e., voice) of the speaking avatar.) to a server device (¶ [0032]: “an information processing device 100.” See FIG. 1, FIG. 3 and/or FIG. 5. ¶ [0033]: “The virtual space is a space shared by a plurality of users,” ¶ [0033]: “a virtual space is provided by the information processing device 100.” ¶ [0034]: “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the information processing device 100 includes a detection unit 110, a voice control unit 120, and a display control unit 130.”), the state synchronization request including a request to change a state of the second virtual object to the to-be-synchronized state (¶ [0037]: “The display control unit 130 controls display of the virtual space. For example, when there is a listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions, the display control unit 130 controls the display mode of the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 gives a predetermined symbol or a predetermined color to the listening avatar. The display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions.” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar. Here, in the present disclosure, “outputting a voice in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the avatar” may be expressed as “outputting a voice to the user of the avatar”. The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region. The voice output unit 122 may acquire the position information of another avatar around the speaking avatar and specify the avatar of the position information indicating the position in the listening region, among the pieces of acquired position information, as the listening avatar.”) ( );
receiving (e.g., ¶ [0047]: “voice output unit 122 outputs a voice”) current playing content (¶ [0040]: “the voice uttered by the user who operates the avatar in the virtual space,”) and a current playing progress of the first virtual object (e.g., the currently detected voice data of the speaking avatar at the time another avatar enters the listening region and is designated a listening avatar.) (¶ [0040]: “As described above, the information processing device 100 according to the first example embodiment detects the voice uttered by the user who operates the avatar in the virtual space, and outputs the voice to the user of the avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar that is an avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice.” ¶ [0043]: “when the user utters a voice, the voice is collected by a microphone or the like included in the user terminal 200. Voice data that is data related to the collected voice is transmitted to the information processing device 100.”) transmitted by the server device (e.g., ¶ [0047]: “voice output unit 122 outputs a voice”) in response to the state synchronization request (e.g., ¶ [0047]: “when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region,” ) (¶ [0043]: “The detection unit 110 detects a voice uttered by the user. For example, when the user utters a voice, the voice is collected by a microphone or the like included in the user terminal 200. Voice data that is data related to the collected voice is transmitted to the information processing device 100. For example, the detection unit 110 detects the voice uttered by the user by receiving the voice data.” ¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar. Here, in the present disclosure, “outputting a voice in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the avatar” may be expressed as “outputting a voice to the user of the avatar”. The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region. The voice output unit 122 may acquire the position information of another avatar around the speaking avatar and specify the avatar of the position information indicating the position in the listening region, among the pieces of acquired position information, as the listening avatar.” ); and
playing the current playing content of the state representation information according to the current playing progress (e.g., ¶ [0040]: “As described above, the information processing device 100 according to the first example embodiment detects the voice uttered by the user who operates the avatar in the virtual space, and outputs the voice to the user of the avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions in the relationship with the speaking avatar that is an avatar operated by the user who has uttered the voice.” ¶ [0047]: “when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar.” ) (¶ [0047]: “The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar. Here, in the present disclosure, “outputting a voice in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the avatar” may be expressed as “outputting a voice to the user of the avatar”. The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region. The voice output unit 122 may acquire the position information of another avatar around the speaking avatar and specify the avatar of the position information indicating the position in the listening region, among the pieces of acquired position information, as the listening avatar.” ).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 is directed to the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 14 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 is directed to the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 15 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 is directed to the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 16 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is directed to the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 17 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 9 (depends on claim 1), NORIEDA discloses:
based on the second virtual object (e.g., FIG. 7: LISTENING AVATAR) moving away from the state synchronization area (e.g., FIG. 7: LISTENING REGION) (NOTE: The motion of the listening avatar (FIG. 7) is controlled by the other user. Thus, the other user can cause the listening avatar to move away from the listening area. See FIG. 7. ), displaying a separation animation of the second virtual object and the state synchronization area (NOTE: If the listening avatar (FIG. 7) is operated by the another user to move away from the listening region, the listening avatar would be animated to move away from the speaking avatar and its listening region.), and ending the output of the state representation information (NOTE: Similarly, once the listening avatar (FIG. 7) has been moved outside of the listening region, the another avatar would no longer be designated as a listening avatar, and the exclamation mark indicating a listening avatar (see FIG. 7) would no longer be displayed.) (¶ [0033]: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the virtual space includes an avatar. The avatar is an object to be operated by the user. The user uses the virtual space by operating the avatar. For example, the user terminal 200 may display an image of the virtual space of the avatar viewpoint operated by the user. In this case, the image displayed on the user terminal 200 may be updated according to the motion of the avatar.” NOTE: In other words, when another user, using their respective user terminal 200 (see Fig. 1), moves their listening avatar from the listening region of the speaking avatar (see Fig. 7), the information processing apparatus 100 (See FIG. 1) will no longer designate their avatar as a listening avatar, and the display control unit will end displaying the predetermined symbol (e.g., exclamation mark) on a listening avatar that is moved outside of the listening region.).
Regarding claim 10 (depends on claim 1), NORIEDA discloses:
ending the output of the state representation information (e.g., ¶ [0037]: “predetermined symbol” ; ¶ [0048]: “an exclamation mark”) in response to receiving a state exit message (e.g., ¶ [0047]: “acquire the position information of another avatar” NOTE: Receiving a state exit message corresponds to acquiring position information from a user terminal of another user indicating that their avatar previously designated as a listening avatar is to be moved outside of the listening region.) transmitted by a first electronic device (FIG. 1: user terminal 200 operated by another user) (¶ [0037]: “The display control unit 130 controls display of the virtual space. For example, when there is a listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions, the display control unit 130 controls the display mode of the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 gives a predetermined symbol or a predetermined color to the listening avatar. The display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar that is an avatar satisfying the predetermined conditions.” NOTE: In other words, when another user, using a respective user terminal 200 (See Fig. 1), moves their avatar from the listening region of the speaking avatar, their avatar will no longer be designated a listening avatar, and the display control unit will end displaying the predetermined symbol or a predetermined color on the listening avatar. ¶ [0044]: “The voice control unit 120 includes a listening region setting unit 121 and a voice output unit 122. The listening region setting unit 121 sets a listening region. The listening region is a region including the speaking avatar, and is a region indicating a range where the voice of the speaking user is transmitted. The listening region may be, for example, a range indicating a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar. FIG. 6A is a diagram illustrating an example of a listening region. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the listening region setting unit 121 may set the listening region in a circular shape centered on the speaking avatar. In this case, other avatars present within the listening region are listening avatars. That is, the voice of the speaking user is output in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates another avatar present in the listening region.” ¶ [0047] The voice output unit 122 outputs a voice. Specifically, when another avatar different from the speaking avatar is present in the listening region, the avatar is specified as a listening avatar. Then, the voice output unit 122 outputs a voice to the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the listening avatar. Here, in the present disclosure, “outputting a voice in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates the avatar” may be expressed as “outputting a voice to the user of the avatar”. The voice output unit 122 may specify another avatar as a listening avatar by detecting that another avatar has entered the listening region. The voice output unit 122 may acquire the position information of another avatar around the speaking avatar and specify the avatar of the position information indicating the position in the listening region, among the pieces of acquired position information, as the listening avatar.” ¶ [0048]: “The display control unit 130 controls display of the virtual space. Specifically, the display control unit 130 changes the display mode of the listening avatar. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of a display mode of the listening avatar. In the example of FIG. 7, an exclamation mark is added to the listening avatar. For example, the display control unit 130 performs control so that the listening avatar to which an exclamation mark is added is displayed on the user terminal 200 of the speaking user. As a result, the speaking user can visually recognize which avatar is the listening avatar, that is, which user the voice is being transmitted to. The display mode is not limited to this example. For example, the display control unit 130 may add other symbols or characters to the listening avatar, or may change the color of a part or entirety of the listening avatar.”),
wherein the state exit message is generated by a first electronic device when the first virtual object exits the to-be-synchronized state (¶ [0033]: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the virtual space includes an avatar. The avatar is an object to be operated by the user. The user uses the virtual space by operating the avatar. For example, the user terminal 200 may display an image of the virtual space of the avatar viewpoint operated by the user. In this case, the image displayed on the user terminal 200 may be updated according to the motion of the avatar.” NOTE: In other words, when another user, using their respective user terminal 200 (See Fig. 1), moves their listening avatar from the listening region of the speaking avatar (See Fig. 7), the information processing apparatus 100 (See FIG. 1) will no longer designate their avatar as a listening avatar, and the display control unit will end displaying the predetermined symbol (e.g., exclamation mark) on the listening avatar that is moved outside of the listening region.).
Regarding claim 12 (depends on claim 1), NORIEDA discloses:
wherein the state synchronization area is an area in the virtual scene that is identified by the first user of the first virtual object ( ) (¶ [0071]: “In the above example embodiments, examples have been described in which the range where the voice is transmitted, the output volume, and the like are set by the voice uttered by the speaking user. The range where the voice is transmitted or the output volume may be changed by the user's operation.” ¶ [0073]: “The mode change unit 140 changes the mode of a voice output method. Examples of the mode include an automatic control mode and a user designation mode. The automatic control mode is a mode in which the range where the voice is transmitted, the output volume, and the like are automatically set by the voice uttered by the speaking user as described in the above example embodiment. The user designation mode is a mode in which the range where the voice is transmitted, the output volume, and the like are set by the user designation. The user selects a mode, for example, by operating the user terminal 200. The mode change unit 140 acquires information indicating the selected mode from the user terminal 200, and changes the mode to the selected mode.” ¶ [0074]: “It is assumed that the user selects the user designation mode. At this time, the mode change unit 140 receives designation of the transmission range or the output volume. At this time, the mode change unit 140 may receive, as the transmission range, designation of a predetermined region in the virtual space as a listening region, or may receive designation of a specific user as the transmission range.” ¶ [0076]: “The display control unit 131 may display the designated region as the listening region.”).
Regarding claim 13 (depends on claim 1), NORIEDA discloses:
wherein the state synchronization area (e.g., ¶ [0044]: “listening region”) is an area in the virtual scene that changes with a location of the first virtual object (¶ [0044]: “The voice control unit 120 includes a listening region setting unit 121 and a voice output unit 122. The listening region setting unit 121 sets a listening region. The listening region is a region including the speaking avatar, and is a region indicating a range where the voice of the speaking user is transmitted. The listening region may be, for example, a range indicating a predetermined distance from the speaking avatar. FIG. 6A is a diagram illustrating an example of a listening region. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the listening region setting unit 121 may set the listening region in a circular shape centered on the speaking avatar. In this case, other avatars present within the listening region are listening avatars. That is, the voice of the speaking user is output in the user terminal 200 used by the user who operates another avatar present in the listening region.” ¶ [0033]: “First, a virtual space in the present disclosure will be described. The virtual space is a space shared by a plurality of users, and is a space reflecting the user's operation. The virtual space is also called a virtual reality (VR) space. For example, a virtual space is provided by the information processing device 100. The user terminal 200 displays an image indicating the virtual space. FIG. 2 is a diagram schematically illustrating an example of a virtual space displayed on the user terminal 200. In the example of FIG. 2, a virtual space is displayed on the display of the user terminal 200. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the virtual space includes an avatar. The avatar is an object to be operated by the user. The user uses the virtual space by operating the avatar. For example, the user terminal 200 may display an image of the virtual space of the avatar viewpoint operated by the user. In this case, the image displayed on the user terminal 200 may be updated according to the motion of the avatar. For example, the user may be able to communicate with another user by performing an action on an avatar operated by another user.” NOTE: In other words, the speaking avatar moves around in the virtual space, and the listening region of the speaking avatar is centered on the speaking avatar. Thus, the area of the virtual space located inside of listening region changes as the speaking avatar changes location.).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 implemented by the apparatus of claim 15 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claims 1 and/or 15.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NORIEDA et al. (US 2024/0362871) in view of SACHSON et al. (US 2023/0037657), further in view of CLARKE et al. (US 2009/0303984, hereinafter “CLARKE”).
Regarding claim 19 (depends on claim 14), NORIEDA discloses that the processing circuitry is configured to:
display a permission control element (See FIG. 6B. ¶ [0049]: “FIG. 6B depicts one embodiment of a private conversation request interface for use with the metaverse client viewer of FIG. 2. In particular, the private conversation request interface 210 show the details generated by the privacy configuration interface 190 within a graphical user interface (GUI) for display on a display device 112, in order to request to join an existing private conversation. It should be noted that other embodiments of the private conversation request interface 210 may be integrated with existing or new interfaces that are used to display related information.”) when the second virtual object (¶ [0044]: “other users 188 also within the private space 184,”) enters the state synchronization area (¶ [0052]: “a private conversation between the users A and B auto-initiates 302 when the avatar of user A stands face to face opposite of user B.” ¶ [0052]: “the private conversation between user A and user B includes a private space in which user A and user B speak with each other as they would normally speak and communicate in the metaverse virtual world with the exception that other users outside of the private space cannot hear the conversation between user A and user B.” See FIG. 4. ¶ [0043]: “private space 184 of a private conversation” ¶ [0044]: “a private space border 180”) (¶ [0049]: “FIG. 6B depicts one embodiment of a private conversation request interface for use with the metaverse client viewer of FIG. 2. In particular, the private conversation request interface 210 show the details generated by the privacy configuration interface 190 within a graphical user interface (GUI) for display on a display device 112, in order to request to join an existing private conversation. It should be noted that other embodiments of the private conversation request interface 210 may be integrated with existing or new interfaces that are used to display related information.” ¶ [0043]: “FIG. 4 depicts a schematic diagram of one embodiment of a metaverse client viewer 170 for use with the privacy engine 160 of FIG. 3. In particular, the metaverse client viewer 170 shows the private space 184 of a private conversation within a graphical user interface (GUI) for display on a display device 112. It should be noted that other embodiments of the private space 184 may be integrated with existing or new interfaces that are used to display related information.” ¶ [0044]: “The illustrated metaverse client viewer 170 includes a title bar 172 to show a title of the metaverse client viewer 170, a menu bar 174 to show possible menu selections within the metaverse client viewer 170, a surrounding viewing space 176 to show a metaverse within the metaverse client viewer 170, a group of metaverse client viewer control buttons 178, including a Privacy button. Additionally, the illustrated metaverse client viewer 170 also depicts a private space border 180, outside users 182 that are users outside of the private space border 180, and a private space 184. Additionally, the illustrated metaverse client viewer 170 also includes a first user 186 within the private space 184, other users 188 also within the private space 184, and PCIs 189. In one embodiment, the first user 186 participates in a private conversation with the other users 188 within the private space 184. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the surrounding viewing space 176 and the outside users 182 are faded by the visual modifier 162 from the perspective of the first user 186. Simultaneously, the visual modifier 162 maintains the default visual and graphic settings of the metaverse virtual world inside the private space border 180 from the perspective of the first user 186. The perspective of the first user 186 is merely the point of view of a user at the first user's 186 client computer 102 and would be substantially similar to the point of view of the other users 188 at their respective client computers 102. Additionally, from the point of view of the outside users 182, the default visual and graphic settings of the metaverse virtual world remains unchanged. In some embodiments, the visual modifier 162 adds a PCI 189 relative to the first user 186 and the other users 188 that are presently in a private conversation. The PCI 189 indicates to the users 182 outside of the private conversation that the first user 186 and the other users 188 are presently engaged in a private conversation. The PCI 189 may be associated with a name title bar that floats above the head of a user's avatar in the metaverse virtual world and indicates the name of the avatar. For example, when the first user 186 is in a private conversation, the name title bar may change to a different color, or may flash a different color to indicate to the other users 182 that the first user 186 is presently in a private conversation.” ); and
when a first user operation is performed on the permission control element (¶ [0050]: “click an Accept button to accept the request to join the private conversation,”), outputting the state representation information indicating that the second virtual object is in the to-be-synchronized state (¶ [0050]: “From the request control buttons 218, a user that receives the private conversation request can click an Accept button to accept the request to join the private conversation,”) (¶ [0050]: “The illustrated private conversation request interface 210 includes a title bar 212 to show a title of the private conversation request interface 210, a private conversation request message body 214 to show the details of the private conversation invitation, such as name and location details 216 of the user that sent the private conversation request, as well as private conversation request control buttons 218. From the request control buttons 218, a user that receives the private conversation request can click an Accept button to accept the request to join the private conversation, or can click on a Reject button to reject the request to join the private conversation. The name and location details 216 may also include control buttons in order to review more information about the user that sent the private conversation request, as well as a button to view a map of where the user that sent the private conversation request currently is, or even a live view of the user that sent the private conversation request.” ).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by NORIEDA, SACHSON and CLARKE, it would have been obvious to modify the system taught by the combination of NORIEDA and SACHSON so as to incorporate displaying a permission control element when the second virtual object enters the state synchronization area, and outputting the state representation information indicating that the second virtual object is in the to-be-synchronized state when a first user operation is performed on the permission control element, as taught by CLARKE.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 is directed to the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 19 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 19.
Claims 5, 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NORIEDA et al. (US 2024/0362871, hereinafter “NORIEDA”) in view of SACHSON et al. (US 2023/0037657, hereinafter “SACHSON”) and further in view of Holland US 2023/0013539.
Regarding claims 5 and 18: Norieda does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display playback control interface, and adjust a playback volume of the current content according to a volume adjustment operation being performed on a volume control element in the playback control interface.
Holland teaches to display playback control interface (playback control interface, paragraph 0087), and adjust a playback volume (volume, paragraph 0087) of the current content according to a volume adjustment operation being performed on a volume control element (volume slider, paragraph 0087) in the playback control interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Nerieda to include: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display playback control interface, and adjust a playback volume of the current content according to a volume adjustment operation being performed on a volume control element in the playback control interface.
The reason of doing so would have allow each user to control the volume as desired by the user while viewing the content.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11 are is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the informality objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
At present, it is not apparent to the examiner which part of the application could serve as a basis for new and allowable claims. However, should the applicant nevertheless regard some particular matter as patentable, the examiner encourages applicant to appropriately amend the claims to include such matter and to indicate in the REMARKS the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention as well as the significance thereof.
Furthermore, should applicant decide to amend the claims, examiner respectfully requests that the applicant please indicate in the REMARKS from which page(s), line(s) or claim(s) of the originally filed application that any amendments are derived. See MPEP § 2163(II)(A) (There is a strong presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262, 191 USPQ at 96; however, with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims.).
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art, although not relied upon, is made of record since it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sylvain et al. (US 7840668 B1) discloses a method and apparatus for managing communication between participants in a virtual environment enables the participants to elect to automatically connect with each other via a preferred communication mechanism, manually connect with each other, or choose not to connect with each other. The connection may be point-to-point between two participants or may include multiple participants. Establishment of a connection, or the ability to establish a connection, may be based on the proximity of the participants, or the Avatars representing the participants, in the virtual environment. Once the connection is established, the connection may be managed so that the connection is maintained while the Avatars remain proximate each other and is automatically severed once the Avatars move away from each other.
Labey (US 20140331149 A1) discloses a communications interface for communications including a virtual space and graphical avatars that firstly represent respective ones of said participants and secondly are designed to move in said virtual space. The communications interface also enables each of the participants to control the movements of their respective graphical avatars and is designed to set up a discussion channel automatically between two of said participants when either the distance between the two graphical avatars representing respective ones of said two participants is less than or equal to a predetermined first value, or the distances between a graphical object positioned in said virtual space and secondly each of the two graphical avatars representing respective ones of said two participants are less than or equal to a second predetermined value.
Punwani et al. (US 12047708 B2) discloses systems and methods for triggering livestream communications between users based on motions of avatars within first virtual environment that correspond to the users.
Contact Information
/VINCENT PEREN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617