CTNF 18/934,940 CTNF 81991 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the flyback structure, as in Claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Furthermore, the one control input from a controller through one switching circuit, as in claim 8 , must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 3, “a secondary coil” should be ‘secondary coils’; in claim 1, line 4, “the secondary coil” should be ‘the secondary coils’; in claim 11, line 8, “batteries)” should be ‘batteries’; in claim 11, line 9, “a secondary coil” should be ‘secondary coils’; in claim 11, line 10, “the secondary coil” should be ‘the secondary coils’; Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Yan (US 2016/0141967) . With respect to claim 1, Yan discloses a circuit-integrated dual output low direct current to direct current (dc-dc) converter (LDC), the LDC comprising: a transformer (Fig. 11 T1) comprising a primary coil (Fig. 11 N11) of an input circuit and a secondary coil (Fig. 11 N21,N22) of an output circuit, the secondary coil comprising a first coil (Fig. 11 N21) and a second coil (Fig. 11 N22); a switching circuit (Fig. 11 Q21-Q24,D21-D22; Fig. 5 52) connected to the primary coil and a high-voltage battery (Fig. 5 51); a first rectifier circuit (Fig. 5 Q25,Q26,L22,C22) connected to the first coil and configured to provide a first voltage (Fig. 11 LVdc1); and a second rectifier circuit (Fig. 11 Q27,Q28,L23,C23) connected to the second coil and configured to provide a second voltage (Fig. 11 LVdc2). With respect to claim 2, Yan discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the first rectifier circuit and the second rectifier circuit comprise synchronous rectifier circuits (Fig. 11 Q25-Q28). With respect to claim 3, Yan discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the first coil and the second coil each have a center-tap structure (Fig. 11 center taps to inductors L22,L23). With respect to claim 4, Yan discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the switching circuit has a full-bridge structure (Fig. 11 Q21-Q24) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4, 9, 11-12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) . With respect to claim 1, Karauchi discloses a circuit-integrated dual output low direct current to direct current (dc-dc) converter (LDC), the LDC comprising: a transformer (Fig. 11 3) comprising a primary coil (Fig. 11 coil connected to 23) of an input circuit and a secondary coil of an output circuit, the secondary coil comprising a first coil (Fig. 11 coil connected to 21) and a second (Fig. 11 coil connected to 22) coil; a switching circuit (Fig. 11 23) connected to the primary coil and a high-voltage battery (Fig. 11 BH); a first rectifier circuit (Fig. 11 21) connected to the first coil and configured to provide a first voltage (Fig. 11 BL1); and a second rectifier circuit (Fig. 11 22) connected to the second coil and configured to provide a second voltage (Fig. 11 BL2). With respect to claim 2, Karauchi discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the first rectifier circuit and the second rectifier circuit comprise synchronous rectifier circuits (Fig. 2 transistors in 21 and 22). With respect to claim 4, Karauchi discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the switching circuit has a full-bridge structure (Fig. 2 23). With respect to claim 9, Karauchi discloses the LDC of claim 1, wherein the transformer is configured to output dual voltages (Fig. 2 voltages 20 21 and 22) of the first voltage and the second voltage to the first rectifier circuit and the second rectifier circuit by reducing (paragraph 119 high voltage reduced to 12V and voltage such as 7V or 48V) an input voltage of the high-voltage battery (paragraph 89, high voltage of 200V or higher) through the switching circuit. With respect to claim 11, Kurauchi discloses a system for supplying power to low-voltage electrical equipment in a vehicle, the system comprising: a high-voltage battery (Fig. 11 BH) configured to charge the vehicle; first (Fig. 11 BL1) and second (Fig. 11 BL2) auxiliary batteries; first and second electric loads (Fig. 11 loads not shown) coupled to the first and second auxiliary batteries, respectively; and a circuit-integrated dual output low direct current to direct current (dc-dc) converter (LDC) configured to charge the first and second auxiliary batteries, the LDC comprising: a transformer (Fig. 11 3) comprising a primary coil (Fig. 11 coil connected to 23) of an input circuit and a secondary coil of an output circuit, the secondary coil comprising a first coil (Fig. 11 coil connected to 21) and a second coil; a switching circuit (Fig. 11 23) connected to the primary coil and the high-voltage battery (Fig. 11 BH); a first rectifier circuit (Fig. 11 21) connected to the first coil and configured to provide a first voltage (Fig. 11 voltage BL1); and a second rectifier circuit (Fig. 11 22) connected to the second coil (Fig. 11 coil connected to 22) and configured to provide a second voltage (Fig. 11 voltage BL2). With respect to claims 12, 14 and 19, Karauchi discloses the system as set forth above. See claims 2, 4 and 9, respectively, for addition details . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) in view of Yan (US 2016/0141967) . With respect to claim 13, Karauchi discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the switching circuit has a bridge structure and does not disclose wherein the coils are center tapped. Yan discloses a system wherein the first coil and the second coil each have a center-tap structure (Fig. 11 center taps to inductors L22,L23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first coil and the second coil each have a center-tap structure in order to generate the desired high output power with reduced ripple . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) in view of Song (US 2023/0170811) . With respect to claim 5, Karauchi discloses a LDC of claim 1, wherein the first voltage is 12 V to 14 V (paragraph 119 “BL1 may be set to 12V”) and the second voltage may be set to a different voltage (paragraph 119, “BL2 … may be set to be different voltage such as 7V or 48V”). Karauchi does not require the second voltage is 24V to 28V. However, 24V was a well known and standard battery voltage between 7V and 48V. Song teaches wherein the second voltage (Fig. 1 22) may be 24V (Fig.1 24V Battery) 24 V. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first voltage is 12V to 14V and the second voltage is between 24V to 28V in order to provide sufficient voltage to efficiently charge a 12V battery load and a 24V battery load used to power 24V loads with sufficient headroom. With respect to claim 15, Karauchi in view of Song make obvious the system as set forth above. See claim 5 for additional details . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) in view of Kominami (US 2014/0103860) . With respect to claim 6, Karauchi discloses the LDC of claim 1 as set forth above, and remains silent as to the selection of the number of turns, which was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Kominami discloses an LDC wherein the first coil (Fig. 1 302) and the second coil (Fig. 1 303) have different numbers of turns (paragraphs 104-105, 5:1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first coil and the second coil have different numbers of turns, in order to provide the desired different output voltages. With respect to claim 16, Karauchi in view of Kominami make obvious the system as set forth above. See claim 6 for additional details . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) in view of Jacobs (US 6,078,509) . With respect to claim 7, Karauchi discloses the LDC of claim 1 as set forth above, and does not disclose wherein the transformer has a flyback structure. Jacobs teaches an LDC wherein the transformer has a flyback structure (Fig. 2 T). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the transformer has a flyback structure in order to provide the isolation and step down with a reduced output rectification stage. With respect to claim 8, Karauchi discloses the LDC of claim 1 as set forth above, and remains silent as to the control, which was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Jacobs teaches an LDC wherein the first voltage (Fig. 2 voltage C1) and the second voltage (Fig. 2 voltage C2) are integrated and configured to be controlled through one control input (Fig. 2 feedback to 220) that is input from a controller (Fig. 2 220) through one switching circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first voltage and the second voltage are integrated and configured to be controlled through one control input that is input from a controller through one switching circuit, in order to regulate the output voltage with reduced feedback and control requirements. With respect to claim 17-18, Karauchi in view of Jacobs make obvious the system as set forth above. See claims 7-8 for additional details . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karauchi (US 2020/0112258) in view of Muto (US 2018/0287491) . With respect to claim 10, Karauchi discloses the LDC of claim 1 as set forth above, and does not disclose wherein each of a maximum capacity of a first power applied to a first load using the first voltage and a maximum capacity of a second power applied to a second load using the second voltage is variably determined. Muto discloses wherein each of a maximum capacity of a first power applied to a first load using the first voltage and a maximum capacity of a second power applied to a second load using the second voltage is variably determined (Fig. 8 power variably determined in order to maintain the output power within an available limit of the power supply). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein each of a maximum capacity of a first power applied to a first load using the first voltage and a maximum capacity of a second power applied to a second load using the second voltage is variably determined, in order to maintain the output power within an available limit of the power supply. With respect to claim 20, Karauchi in view of Muto make obvious the system as set forth above. See claim 10 for additional details . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ou (US 2023/0361671) discloses power conversion in a vehicle. Biagini (US 2015/0375628) discloses power conversion . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARRY RAYMOND BEHM whose telephone number is (571)272-8929. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thienvu Tran can be reached at 571-270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/934,940 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/934,940 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/934,940 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838