DETAILED ACTION
This office action is response to the RCE filed on 09/14/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17 – 22 remain pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The previous 112b and 112d rejections have withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
In the Remarks, Applicant argues as follows:
The terms “physical factor processing system,” “job-related factor processing system,” “current speed generation system,” “current speed control output generator,” “feedback processing system,” and “predictive speed control system” have sufficiently definite structural meaning because they identify structures that perform their respective functions. Applicant further cites Figures 3 and 4A–4B in support of this position. (Remarks, pages 1–3).
The combination of Desai and Ray does not teach the physical speed control factor as amended in claim 1. (Remarks, page 13 – 14)
Desai does not disclose the “a load data collection status indicator indicative of occurrence of a load data collection operation along the route of the agricultural material transfer vehicle to the haulage vehicle, wherein the load data collection operation collects load data associated with the agricultural material transfer vehicle” as amended in claim 13. (Remarks, page 15)
The combination of Desai and Ray does not teach “detecting a feedback control factor representing one or more detected operational characteristics of the agricultural grain cart as the agricultural grain cart travels along the route during the transfer operation.” (Remark, page 16-17)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to point (a), the terms “physical factor processing system,” “job-related factor processing system,” “current speed generation system,” “current speed control output generator,” “feedback processing system,” and “predictive speed control system” do not, by themselves, connote sufficiently definite structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art. As illustrated in Figures 3 and 4A, these components perform their respective functions only through execution by processor 160. In other words, the recited "systems" are functional modules implemented by processor 160 rather than standalone structural components capable of performing the recited functions independently. However, the claims do not recite processor 160, or any equivalent structure, as performing the functions associated with the “physical factor processing system,” “job-related factor processing system,” “current speed generation system,” “current speed control output generator,” “feedback processing system,” or “predictive speed control system.” Accordingly, the claims fail to recite sufficient structure corresponding to these terms. Therefore, interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is appropriate.
Regarding point (b), Ray discloses in pars. [0032]-[0033] controlling the speed of the haul vehicle based on the detected pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle of the haul vehicle. The detected pitch and roll angles effectively correspond to the claimed physical speed control factor comprising at least a “pitch and roll orientation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle.” Therefore, the combination of Desai and Ray sufficiently teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding point (c), Desai discloses in par. [0034] that the grain cart 72 receives crop from a harvester and is ready to move to the storage tank when a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the grain cart is met or exceeded. The disclosed weight threshold and/or fill-depth threshold effectively corresponds to the claimed “load data collection status indicator” of the agricultural material transfer vehicle because it indicates the loading status of the grain cart. Therefore, Desai continues to read on the amended limitation of claim 13.
Regarding point (d), as explained in the previous Office Action, Ray discloses in par. [0032] that the haul vehicle continuously receives information regarding the pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll orientation during operation of the haul vehicle along the travel route. These parameters are used to update the target speed of the haul vehicle during operation and therefore correspond to the claimed “feedback speed control factor.” Accordingly, the combination of Desai and Ray continues to teach the limitations of claim 19.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
As per claim 13,
Line 5 – 8, “a job-related factor processing system configured to obtain a job-related speed control factor …”
Line 23 – 24, “a current speed generation system automatically generating a target speed signal …”
Line 25 – 26, “a current speed control output generator configured to control a propulsion system …”
Claim 14, “a feedback processing system configured to detect a feedback speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, during operation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, and wherein the current speed generation system is configured to automatically generate the target speed signal based on the feedback speed control factor.”
Claim 15, “a predictive speed control system configured to detect a predictive speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle and wherein the current speed generation system is configured to automatically generate the target speed signal based on the predictive speed control factor.”
Claim 17, line 9 – 10, “a job-related output generator configured to generate the job-related factor output based on the status processor output.”
Claim 18, line 5 – 6, “a predictive speed output generator configured to generate the predictive speed control factor based on the route and the characteristic of the route.”
The “job-related factor processing system”, “current speed generation system”, “current speed control output generator”, “feedback processing system”, “predictive speed control system” are part of the propulsion vehicle speed control system as illustrated in fig. 3 – 4A and are implemented by the processor 160.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 13-15, 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desai et al. (Publication No. US 20200319655 A1; hereafter Desai).
Regarding to claim 13, Desai teaches An agricultural system, comprising:
an agricultural material transfer vehicle configured to perform a transfer operation in which the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along a route from a harvester to a haulage vehicle to transfer harvested material from a harvester to a haulage vehicle; (see fig. 1, “harvester 10”, “grain cart 82”, and the “haulage vehicle 77 having a trailer 79 and a storage tank 78”; [Par. 0019], “Accordingly, the disclosed embodiments include using autonomous grain carts to substantially continuously convey agricultural product received from an agricultural vehicle to the agricultural product storage tank. In particular, one embodiment of the present disclosure includes a method for continuously conveying agricultural product from an agricultural vehicle to an agricultural product storage tank includes maintaining, via a processor, a speed of an autonomous grain cart of a plurality of autonomous grain carts with a speed of the agricultural vehicle. The method also includes determining, via the processor, when a threshold weight or threshold fill depth of the autonomous grain cart is met. The method further includes determining, via the processor, a route to the agricultural product storage tank based at least in part on a location of the autonomous grain cart and a location of the agricultural product storage tank.” Wherein the “grain cart” corresponds to the “agricultural material transfer vehicle”)
a job-related factor processing system configured to obtain a job-related speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle during the transfer operation in which the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels from the harvester to the haulage vehicle, ([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”; [Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”) wherein the job-related speed control factor comprises at least one of:
a haulage vehicle status indicator indicative of whether the haulage vehicle is in position and available to receive the harvested material from the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a harvester status indicator indicative of whether the harvester is ready to begin transfer of the harvested material to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, or
a load data collection status indicator indicative of occurrence of a load data collection operation along the route of the agricultural material transfer vehicle to the haulage vehicle, wherein the load data collection operation collects load data associated with the agricultural material transfer vehicle;
([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”;
wherein the “weight threshold” or the “fill level” of the grain cart corresponds to the “load data collection status indicator”.)
and generate a job-related factor output based on the job-related speed control factor; ([Par. 0019], “The method also includes determining, via the processor, when a threshold weight or threshold fill depth of the autonomous grain cart is met. The method further includes determining, via the processor, a route to the agricultural product storage tank based at least in part on a location of the autonomous grain cart and a location of the agricultural product storage tank. The method also includes controlling, via the processor, the autonomous grain cart based at least in part on the route to the agricultural product storage tank, after the threshold weight or the threshold fill depth of the autonomous grain cart is met, such that the autonomous grain cart moves to the agricultural product storage tank”; [Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”)
a current speed generation system automatically generating a target speed signal based on the job-related factor output; (([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”; [Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;” [Par. 0040], “In some embodiments, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated or modified based on the aforementioned factors. For example, the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76, or a combination thereof.”
This is interpreted as the target speed of the grain cart can be generated and modified based on physical and job-related factors as mentioned in par. [0034], [0037]) and
a current speed control output generator configured to control a propulsion system on the agricultural material transfer vehicle based on the target speed signal. ([Par. 0031], “The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57configured to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50.”)
Regarding to claim 14, Desai teaches the system of claim 13.
Desai further teaches a feedback processing system configured to detect a feedback speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, during operation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, and wherein the current speed generation system is configured to automatically generate the target speed signal based on the feedback speed control factor. ([Par. 0040], “the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart76, or a combination thereof. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so.” Wherein the determination of other factors (such as delay or engine failure of other carts) that occur on the traveling route of the grain carts corresponds to the “feedback speed control factor”)
Regarding to claim 15, Desai teaches the system of claim 13.
Desai further teaches a predictive speed control system configured to detect a predictive speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle ([Par. 0038], “The terrain along the route may be determined by the terrain sensor of the loading grain cart 72 and/or the previous loading grain cart. The rate of unloading of the combine 10 may be determined by the controller of the combine 10 and communicated by the combine 10 to each grain cart.” Wherein the “terrain information” along the route corresponds to the “predictive speed control factor”) and wherein the current speed generation system is configured to automatically generate the target speed signal based on the predictive speed control factor. ([Par. 0038], “The current locations of the other grain carts may be determined by the location devices of the other grain carts, respectively, and communicated by other grain carts to, for example, determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78. The location of the agricultural product storage tank 78 may be stored in the memory of the loading grain cart 72. The terrain along the route may be determined by the terrain sensor of the loading grain cart 72 and/or the previous loading grain cart… The speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded) may be determined by the controller of each grain cart, and sent and received by each grain cart to, for example, determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78.”)
Regarding to claim 17, Desai teaches the system of claim 13.
Desai further teaches wherein the job-related factor processing system comprises:
a status processor configured to obtain at least one status indicator, the at least one status indicator being at least one of a haulage vehicle status indicator indicative of whether the haulage vehicle is in position to receive the harvested material from the agricultural material transfer vehicle ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”; [Par. 0038], “The location of the agricultural product storage tank 78 may be stored in the memory of the loading grain cart 72.”) or a harvester status indicator indicative of whether the harvester is ready to transfer the harvested material to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, the status processor being configured to generate a status processor output based on the at least one status indicator; ([Par. 0033], “As illustrated, the combine 10 unloads grain from the storage tank 14 to a loading grain cart 72 via the side pipe 16. The control system of the grain cart enables the loading grain cart 72 to match and maintain a speed approximately equal to the speed of the combine 10, such that the combine may continue to harvest grain from the crop area 32 and follow the harvesting pattern 36 without interruption.”; [0035] The combine 10 may send a signal indicating when the combine 10 has ceased unloading grain. In some embodiments, a queued and unloaded grain cart 86 may move into position immediately behind the loading grain cart 72 (e.g., which the loading grain cart 72 is being loaded) and send a signal indicating that the unloaded grain cart 86 is in position. As such, in some embodiments, the combine 10 may continue loading (from the loading grain cart 72 to the unloaded grain cart 86) without interruption. Wherein the combine 10 corresponds to the “harvester”.) and
a job-related output generator configured to generate the job-related factor output based on the status processor output. ([Par. 0035], “The combine 10 may send a signal indicating when the combine 10 has ceased unloading grain. In some embodiments, a queued and unloaded grain cart 86 may move into position immediately behind the loading grain cart 72 (e.g., which the loading grain cart 72 is being loaded) and send a signal indicating that the unloaded grain cart 86 is in position. As such, in some embodiments, the combine 10 may continue loading (from the loading grain cart 72 to the unloaded grain cart 86) without interruption. Wherein the combine 10 corresponds to the “harvester”.)
Regarding to claim 18, Desai teaches the system of claim 15.
Desai further teaches wherein the predictive speed control system comprises:
a route processor configured to detect a route for the agricultural material transfer vehicle and a characteristic of the route; ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”) and
a predictive speed output generator configured to generate the predictive speed control factor based on the route and the characteristic of the route. ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al. (Publication No. US 20200319655 A1; hereafter Desai) in view of Ray et al. (Publication No. US 20170192419 A1; hereinafter Ray).
Regarding to claim 1, Desai teaches A computer implemented method, comprising:
detecting a physical speed control factor corresponding to an agricultural material transfer vehicle during a transfer operation in which the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels from a harvester to a haulage vehicle,(see fig. 1, “harvester 10”, “grain cart 82”, and the “haulage vehicle 77 having a trailer 79 and a storage tank 78”; ([Par. 0019], “Accordingly, the disclosed embodiments include using autonomous grain carts to substantially continuously convey agricultural product received from an agricultural vehicle to the agricultural product storage tank. “; [Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”) wherein the “weight or fill depth”, the “maximum grain cart turn rate”, and the “maximum grain cart turn angle” correspond to the “physical speed control factor”. )
obtaining a job-related speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”)
automatically generating a target speed signal based on the physical speed control factor and the job-related speed control factor; (Par. [0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;” [Par. 0040], “In some embodiments, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated or modified based on the aforementioned factors. For example, the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76, or a combination thereof.”
This is interpreted as the target speed of the grain cart can be generated and modified based on physical and job-related factors as mentioned in par. [0034], [0037]) and
controlling a propulsion system on the agricultural material transfer vehicle based on the target speed signal. ([Par. 0031], “The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57configured to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50.”)
Desai teaches to modify the speed of the agricultural material transfer vehicle (e.g. grain cart 50) based on the physical speed control factor as described above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the physical speed control factor comprises at least one of: a weight of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, a center of gravity of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, a physical configuration of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, pitch and roll orientation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, a detected turn rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle as the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along the route to the haulage vehicle, a detected yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle as the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along the route to the haulage vehicle, a predicted turn or yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle along the route to the haulage vehicle, or drawbar load or acceleration;
However, Ray teaches wherein the physical speed control factor comprises at least one of:
a weight of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a center of gravity of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a physical configuration of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
pitch and roll orientation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a detected turn rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle as the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along the route to the haulage vehicle,
a detected yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle as the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along the route to the haulage vehicle,
a predicted turn or yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle along the route to the haulage vehicle, or
drawbar load or acceleration;
[Par. 0032], “the haul vehicle control system 43 includes an orientation sensor 49 configured to determine a pitch angle, a yaw angle, and/or a roll angle of the haul vehicle 30. For example, the orientation senor 49 may include a gyroscope, an accelerometer, or other sensor configured to monitor the orientation of the haul vehicle 30. In certain embodiments, the orientation sensor 49 is also configured to determine a pitch rate, a yaw rate, and/or a roll rate. Furthermore, in certain embodiments, the haul vehicle control system 43 is configured to compare the orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the haul vehicle 30 to a measured orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the harvester 10 to establish a relative orientation that may be utilized to enhance the accuracy of the speed determination process.”; [Par. 0033], “the control system 43 includes an automated speed control system 52 configured to control a speed of the haul vehicle 30. In addition, the control system 43 includes a controller 56 communicatively coupled to the first transceiver 44, to the spatial locating device 48, and to the automated speed control system 52. The controller 56 is configured to automatically control the speed of the haul vehicle 30 during docking and while docked with the harvester, thereby facilitating alignment of the output port of the conveyor with the mobile storage compartment. Upon substantially reaching the target position, the controller is configured to instruct the automated speed control system 52 to control the speed of the haul vehicle such that the target position is maintained (e.g. in combination with steering control from an operator or automated steering control system).”
The mapping is interpreted as the haul vehicle determines its target speed based on its own pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle as well as pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll rate. This at least mapped to “pitch and roll orientation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, a detected yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle as the agricultural material transfer vehicle travels along the route to the haulage vehicle, or a predicted turn or yaw rate of the agricultural material transfer vehicle along the route to the haulage vehicle.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Desai to incorporate the teaching of Ray. The modification would have been obvious because, by monitoring the pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll rate of the haul vehicle, the system can more accurately determine an appropriate target speed for the haul vehicle to reach the target location.
Examiner Note: Desai discloses controlling the speed of the grain cart (haul vehicle) on the determined route based on the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof (para. 0034). However, Desai does not explicitly disclose controlling the speed of the haul vehicle based on its own detected pitch and roll orientation, pitch rate, and/or yaw rate. Ray effectively cures this deficiency by disclosing generating a target speed for the haul vehicle based on its own detected orientation, pitch rate, and/or yaw rate (para. 0032). The modification would have been obvious because monitoring the haul vehicle's detected orientation, pitch rate, and/or yaw rate enables the system to more accurately determine the target speed of the haul vehicle under its current operating conditions, thereby improving the speed determination process as described in paragraph 0032 of Ray.
Regarding to claim 2, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Ray further teaches detecting a feedback speed control factor representing one or more detected operational characteristics of the agricultural material transfer vehicle during operation of the agricultural material transfer vehicle; ([Par. 0032], “the haul vehicle control system 43 includes an orientation sensor 49 configured to determine a pitch angle, a yaw angle, and/or a roll angle of the haul vehicle 30. For example, the orientation senor 49 may include a gyroscope, an accelerometer, or other sensor configured to monitor the orientation of the haul vehicle 30. In certain embodiments, the orientation sensor 49 is also configured to determine a pitch rate, a yaw rate, and/or a roll rate. Furthermore, in certain embodiments, the haul vehicle control system 43 is configured to compare the orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the haul vehicle 30 to a measured orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the harvester 10 to establish a relative orientation that may be utilized to enhance the accuracy of the speed determination process.”
This implies that the haul vehicle continuously receives updated operational characteristics, including its pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll rate, from its onboard sensors during operation. The detected operational characteristics are then used by the controller to modify the speed of the haul vehicle during operation, thereby providing feedback for updating the target speed.) and
wherein automatically generating the target speed signal comprises automatically generating the target speed signal based on the feedback speed control factor. ([Par. 0033], “the control system 43 includes an automated speed control system 52 configured to control a speed of the haul vehicle 30. In addition, the control system 43 includes a controller 56 communicatively coupled to the first transceiver 44, to the spatial locating device 48, and to the automated speed control system 52.”)
Regarding to claim 4, Desai teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches wherein the agricultural material transfer vehicle comprises a cart and a propulsion vehicle ([Par. 0026], “FIG. 3 is a diagram of an autonomous grain cart 50, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. It should be appreciated that while the illustrated embodiment includes the autonomous grain cart 50, the present disclosure contemplates any vehicle suitable for transporting material, such as a hauling vehicle, transport vehicle, delivery vehicle, loading and/or unloading vehicle, and the like. As illustrated, the autonomous grain cart 50 is a grain cart.”; [0031] The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57 configured to to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50.” This should be understood as the grain cart can be any transport vehicle that transports grain or crop from harvester to a storage. In case of the autonomous grain cart, the propulsion system (propulsion vehicle) is integrated with the cart allowing the autonomous grain cart to self-propel.) and wherein detecting the physical speed control factor comprises:
detecting a plurality of cart factors corresponding to the cart; ([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”) wherein the “weight or fill depth”, the “maximum grain cart turn rate”, and the “maximum grain cart turn angle” correspond to the “physical speed control factor”.) and
generating a physical speed control output based on the plurality of cart factors. (Par. [0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;”)
Regarding to claim 5, Desai teaches the method of claim 4.
Desai further teaches wherein detecting a plurality of cart factors comprises: detecting two or more of cart weight, cart center of gravity, cart pitch and roll orientation, a current turning angle of the cart, a current yaw rate of the cart, acceleration, and drawbar load. ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”)
Regarding to claim 7, Desai teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches wherein obtaining job-related factors comprises:
obtaining a haulage vehicle location information indicative of a location of the haulage vehicle; ([Par. 0038], “The current location of the loading grain cart 72 may be determined by the location device of the loading grain cart 72. The current locations of the other grain carts may be determined by the location devices of the other grain carts, respectively, and communicated by other grain carts to, for example, determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78. The location of the agricultural product storage tank 78 may be stored in the memory of the loading grain cart 72.”) and
obtaining a haulage vehicle status indicator indicative of whether the haulage vehicle is in position and available to receive harvested material from the agricultural material transfer vehicle, ([Par. 0036 – 0037], “The grain cart 72 may position itself at a location 74 that enables the grain cart 72 to unload grain to the agricultural product storage tank 78. In some embodiments, there may be more than one delivery site 74 for the grain cart 72 (and other loaded grain carts 76) to deliver the grain to multiple agricultural storage tanks 78. As illustrated, a trailer 79 includes the agricultural storage tank 78. A truck 77 may tow the trailer 79 away when full, and provide a new trailer 79. [0037] The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”; [Par. 0038], “The location of the agricultural product storage tank 78 may be stored in the memory of the loading grain cart 72.”; [Par. 0044], “When a loaded grain cart arrives at the agricultural product storage tank 78, the loaded grain cart may stop and send a signal that the loaded grain cart has arrived. In some instances, the loaded grain cart may arrive and there may be one or more other loaded grain carts waiting to deliver grain. As such, the loaded grain cart may queue behind the other loaded grain carts. Once the loaded grain cart is in position to deliver the grain (e.g., the loaded grain cart is at the front of the queue), the loaded grain cart 81 may send a signal indicating that the loaded grain cart 81 is in position. Delivery processes and/or machinery may unload the grain cart 81 and deliver grain to, for example, the agricultural product storage tank 78 of the trailer 79.”
The mapping is understood as the controller of each grain cart being in communication with the harvester and the storage tank of trailer 79 to coordinate delivery of grain to the storage tank. The grain cart is autonomously navigated to the storage tank location and waits for a signal before unloading. Because grain transfer cannot begin unless the storage tank is present and ready to receive the grain, it would have been obvious for the grain cart to receive a signal or indication that the storage tank is in position and available for loading before initiating the transfer.)
wherein automatically generating the target speed signal comprises automatically generating the target speed signal based on the haulage vehicle status indicator. , ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”;
Regarding to claim 8, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches and wherein obtaining job-related factors comprises:
obtaining a harvester status indicator indicative of whether the harvester is ready to transfer harvested material to the agricultural material transfer vehicle. ([Par. 0033], “As illustrated, the combine 10 unloads grain from the storage tank 14 to a loading grain cart 72 via the side pipe 16. The control system of the grain cart enables the loading grain cart 72 to match and maintain a speed approximately equal to the speed of the combine 10, such that the combine may continue to harvest grain from the crop area 32 and follow the harvesting pattern 36 without interruption.”; [0035] The combine 10 may send a signal indicating when the combine 10 has ceased unloading grain. In some embodiments, a queued and unloaded grain cart 86 may move into position immediately behind the loading grain cart 72 (e.g., which the loading grain cart 72 is being loaded) and send a signal indicating that the unloaded grain cart 86 is in position. As such, in some embodiments, the combine 10 may continue loading (from the loading grain cart 72 to the unloaded grain cart 86) without interruption. Wherein the combine 10 corresponds to the “harvester”.)
wherein automatically generating the target speed signal comprises automatically generating the target speed signal based on the harvester status indicator. ([Par. 0033], “As illustrated, the combine 10 unloads grain from the storage tank 14 to a loading grain cart 72 via the side pipe 16. The control system of the grain cart enables the loading grain cart 72 to match and maintain a speed approximately equal to the speed of the combine 10, such that the combine may continue to harvest grain from the crop area 32 and follow the harvesting pattern 36 without interruption.”; [0035] The combine 10 may send a signal indicating when the combine 10 has ceased unloading grain. In some embodiments, a queued and unloaded grain cart 86 may move into position immediately behind the loading grain cart 72 (e.g., which the loading grain cart 72 is being loaded) and send a signal indicating that the unloaded grain cart 86 is in position. As such, in some embodiments, the combine 10 may continue loading (from the loading grain cart 72 to the unloaded grain cart 86) without interruption. Wherein the combine 10 corresponds to the “harvester”.)
Regarding to claim 9, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches comprises:
detecting a route for the agricultural material transfer vehicle; ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the current locations of the other grain carts to avoid colliding with the other grain carts and/or to establish a more collectively efficient route among the grain carts. In some embodiments, the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the total number of grain carts because the number of grain carts may affect the route 80 and/or speed to travel.”)
detecting characteristics of the route; ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”) and
generating a predictive speed control output based on the route and the characteristics of the route. ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”) and
automatically generating the target speed signal based on the predictive speed control output. ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”)
Regarding to claim 19, Desai teaches An agricultural vehicle control system, comprising:
at least one processor; ([Par. 0027], “The grain cart 50 includes a control system 51 having a controller 52. The controller 52includes a processor 54 (e.g., a microprocessor) that may execute software, such as software for controlling the grain cart 50.”) and
memory storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method ([Par. 0027], “the memory device 56 may store processor-executable instructions (e.g., firmware or software) for the processor 54 execute, such as instructions for controlling the grain cart 50.”), comprising:
detecting a physical cart factor corresponding to an agricultural grain cart ([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”) wherein the “weight or fill depth”, the “maximum grain cart turn rate”, and the “maximum grain cart turn angle” correspond to the “physical speed control factor”.) that is propelled by a propulsion vehicle along a route from a harvester to a container during a transfer operation, the agricultural grain cart configured to transfer harvested material to the container; ([Par. 0026], “FIG. 3 is a diagram of an autonomous grain cart 50, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. It should be appreciated that while the illustrated embodiment includes the autonomous grain cart 50, the present disclosure contemplates any vehicle suitable for transporting material, such as a hauling vehicle, transport vehicle, delivery vehicle, loading and/or unloading vehicle, and the like. As illustrated, the autonomous grain cart 50 is a grain cart.”; [0031] The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57 configured to to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50.”; [Par. 0036], “Upon receiving the signal indicating that the combine 10 has ceased unloading grain and/or the unloaded grain cart 86 is in position, the now-loaded grain cart 72 may move to the agricultural product storage tank 74. The grain cart 72 may position itself at a location 74 that enables the grain cart 72 to unload grain to the agricultural product storage tank 78” This should be understood as the grain cart can be any transport vehicle that transports grain or crop from harvester to a storage. In case of the autonomous grain cart, the propulsion system (propulsion vehicle) is integrated with the cart allowing the autonomous grain cart to self-propel.)
obtaining a job-related speed control factor corresponding to the transfer operation; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof.”)
automatically generating a target speed signal based on the physical cart factor and the job-related speed control factor; ([Par. 0037], “The controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine a route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on a current location of the loading grain cart 72, current locations of the other grain carts, a total number of grain carts, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;” [Par. 0040], “In some embodiments, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated or modified based on the aforementioned factors. For example, the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76, or a combination thereof.”
This is interpreted as the target speed of the grain cart can be generated and modified based on physical and job-related factors as mentioned in par. [0034], [0037])
controlling a speed of the propulsion vehicle along the route based on the target speed signal. ([Par. 0031], “The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57configured to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50.”)
detecting a feedback speed control factor associated with the agricultural grain cart during operation of the agricultural grain cart; ([Par. 0040], “the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart76, or a combination thereof. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so.” Wherein the determination of other factors (such as delay or engine failure of other carts) that occur on the traveling route of the grain carts corresponds to the “feedback speed control factor”)
generating a modified target speed signal based on the feedback speed control factor; ([Par. 0040], “. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously.”) and
controlling the speed of the propulsion vehicle based on the modified target speed signal. ([Par. 0040], “. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously.”)
Desai teaches to determine the feedback speed control factor as described above, but does not explicitly disclose detecting a feedback speed control factor representing one or more detected operational characteristics of the agricultural grain cart as the agricultural grain cart travels along the route during the transfer operation;
However, Ray teaches detecting a feedback speed control factor representing one or more detected operational characteristics of the agricultural grain cart as the agricultural grain cart travels along the route during the transfer operation; ([Par. 0032], “the haul vehicle control system 43 includes an orientation sensor 49 configured to determine a pitch angle, a yaw angle, and/or a roll angle of the haul vehicle 30. For example, the orientation senor 49 may include a gyroscope, an accelerometer, or other sensor configured to monitor the orientation of the haul vehicle 30. In certain embodiments, the orientation sensor 49 is also configured to determine a pitch rate, a yaw rate, and/or a roll rate. Furthermore, in certain embodiments, the haul vehicle control system 43 is configured to compare the orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the haul vehicle 30 to a measured orientation (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, and/or roll angle) of the harvester 10 to establish a relative orientation that may be utilized to enhance the accuracy of the speed determination process.”
This implies that the haul vehicle continuously receives updated operational characteristics, including its pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll rate, from its onboard sensors during operation. The detected operational characteristics are then used by the controller to modify the speed of the haul vehicle during operation, thereby providing feedback for updating the target speed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Desai to incorporate the teaching of Ray. The modification would have been obvious because, by monitoring the pitch rate, yaw rate, and/or roll rate of the haul vehicle, the system can more accurately determine and update the target speed for the haul vehicle moving to the target location.
Regarding to claim 20, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the system of claim 19.
Desai further teaches wherein the computer executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method, comprising:
detecting a feedback speed control factor corresponding to the grain cart during the transfer operation; ([Par. 0040], “the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart76, or a combination thereof. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so.” Wherein the determination of other factors (such as delay or engine failure of other carts) that occur on the traveling route of the grain carts corresponds to the “feedback speed control factor”)
detecting a predictive speed control factor; ([Par. 0038], “The terrain along the route may be determined by the terrain sensor of the loading grain cart 72 and/or the previous loading grain cart. The rate of unloading of the combine 10 may be determined by the controller of the combine 10 and communicated by the combine 10 to each grain cart.” Wherein the “terrain information” along the route corresponds to the “predictive speed control factor”) and
wherein automatically generating the target speed signal comprises automatically generating the target speed signal based on the feedback speed control factor and the predictive speed control factor. ([Par. 0038], “The current locations of the other grain carts may be determined by the location devices of the other grain carts, respectively, and communicated by other grain carts to, for example, determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78. The location of the agricultural product storage tank 78 may be stored in the memory of the loading grain cart 72. The terrain along the route may be determined by the terrain sensor of the loading grain cart 72 and/or the previous loading grain cart… The speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded) may be determined by the controller of each grain cart, and sent and received by each grain cart to, for example, determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78.”; [Par. 0040], “the controller of a loaded grain cart 76 may determine that one of the other grain carts has stopped moving (e.g., due to engine failure) based on communication with the stopped grain cart, a signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart76, or a combination thereof. The control system of the loaded grain cart 76 may update or modify the route 80 and/or speed to avoid the stopped grain cart and/or to compensate for the loss of the stopped grain cart. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated asynchronously and/or synchronously. For example, the route 80 and/or the speed to travel may be updated a synchronously based on the signal from the proximity sensor of the loaded grain cart 76. The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so.”)
Regarding to claim 21, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches wherein the job-related speed control factor comprises at least one of:
a haulage vehicle status indicator indicative of whether the haulage vehicle is in position and available to receive the harvested material from the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a harvester status indicator indicative of whether the harvester is ready to begin transfer of the harvested material to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, or
a load data collection status indicator indicative of occurrence of a load data collection operation along the route of the agricultural material transfer vehicle to the haulage vehicle, wherein the load data collection operation collects load data associated with the agricultural material transfer vehicle;
([Par. 0034], “When the control system of the loading grain cart 72 determines that a threshold weight and/or fill depth of the loading grain cart 72 is met or exceeded, the control system may send a signal (e.g., via the communication device) indicating that the threshold weight and/or fill depth has been met or exceeded, and/or that the loading grain cart 72 is ready to move to the agricultural product storage tank 74 (or any suitable delivery site). The signal may be received by the communication devices of the combine 10 and/or the other grain carts”;
wherein the “weight threshold” or the “fill level” of the grain cart corresponds to the “load data collection status indicator”.)
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Desai and Ray in view Sofiman et al. (Publication No. US 20210293573 A1; hereinafter Sofiman).
Regarding to claim 3, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai further teaches detecting a predictive speed control factor corresponding to the agricultural material transfer vehicle, ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.” Wherein the characteristic of the routes corresponds to the “predictive speed control factor”) and
wherein automatically generating the target speed signal comprises automatically generating the target speed signal based on the predictive speed control factor. ([Par. 0039], “the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the terrain of the route 80 because traveling on rough or bumpy terrain may be slower and/or use more fuel, and the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may establish a faster and/or more fuel efficient route by avoiding the rough or bumpy terrain, even though the route may be longer.”
Desai teaches to determine predictive speed control factor based on characteristic of the routes as described above, but does not explicitly disclose the predictive speed control factor representing a future target speed for the vehicle;
However, Sofiman teaches the predictive speed control factor representing a future target speed for the vehicle; ([Par. 0137], “The computing system 112 can adjust the speed profile with the selected target speeds and control the vehicle 100 to operate in accordance with the selected target speeds such that the speed of the vehicle is increased at one or more points along the route, the speed is decreased at one or more points along the route, and/or the vehicle 100 is brought to a complete stop for a particular amount of time at one or more points along the route. The speed adjustment selected can depend on the type and location of predicted weather data. For example, the speed of the vehicle 100 can be reduced in order to avoid a weather prediction in a future segment, or might only be reduced enough to provide safe driving conditions through less serious weather.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Desai and Ray to incorporate the teaching of Sofiman. The modification would have been obvious because controlling the speed of the vehicle based on an estimated target speed for the vehicle along the route enhances vehicle speed control by enabling the vehicle to maintain an optimal speed while traveling on the route.
Claim(s) 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Desai and Ray in view of Akella, Abishek Krishna (Publication No. US 20200406894 A1; hereinafter Akella).
Regarding to claim 10, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai teaches to use the indication of the physical speed control factor and the indication of the job-related speed control factor to generate target speed signal for the agricultural material transfer vehicle as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose to use a machine learning model to generate the target speed signal.
However, Akella teaches to use a machine learning model to generate the target speed signal. ([Par. 0113], “receiving, from a sensor on an autonomous vehicle, sensor data relating to a driving environment of the autonomous vehicle; determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, driving-environment characteristics of the driving environment; inputting the driving-environment characteristics into a machine-learned model trained to determine a speed using training data collected from vehicles driven by human drivers; receiving, from the machine-learned model, a target speed for the autonomous vehicle; determining based at least in part on the sensor data and the target speed, a trajectory for the autonomous vehicle; and controlling the autonomous vehicle in accordance with the trajectory.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Desai and Ray to incorporate the teaching of Akella. The modification would have been obvious because employing a machine-learning model to generate a target vehicle speed based on characteristic information enables more accurate and adaptive speed determination under varying operating conditions. Such an approach improves the effectiveness of speed control, thereby allowing the vehicle to travel along the route in a manner consistent with the intended operation of the system.
Regarding to claim 11, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai teaches to use the indication of the physical speed control factor and the indication of the job-related speed control factor to generate target speed signal for the agricultural material transfer vehicle as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose to use speed control algorithm to generate the target speed signal.
However, Akella teaches to use speed control algorithm to generate the target speed signal. ([Par. 0113], “receiving, from a sensor on an autonomous vehicle, sensor data relating to a driving environment of the autonomous vehicle; determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, driving-environment characteristics of the driving environment; inputting the driving-environment characteristics into a machine-learned model trained to determine a speed using training data collected from vehicles driven by human drivers; receiving, from the machine-learned model, a target speed for the autonomous vehicle; determining based at least in part on the sensor data and the target speed, a trajectory for the autonomous vehicle; and controlling the autonomous vehicle in accordance with the trajectory.”; [Par. 0072], “many types of machine learning may be used consistent with this disclosure. For example, machine learning algorithms may include but are not limited to regression algorithms (e.g., ordinary least squares regression (OLSR), linear regression, logistic regression, stepwise regression, multivariate adaptive regression splines (MARS), locally estimated scatterplot smoothing (LOESS)), instance-based algorithms (e.g., ridge regression, least absolute shrinkage and selection operator (LASSO), elastic net, least-angle regression (LARS)),decisions tree algorithms (e.g., classification and regression tree (CART), iterative dichotomiser 3(ID3), Chi-squared automatic interaction detection (CHAID), decision stump, conditional decision trees), Bayesian algorithms (e.g., naïve Bayes, Gaussian naïve Bayes, multinomial naïve Bayes, average one-dependence estimators (AODE), Bayesian belief network (BNN), Bayesian networks),clustering algorithms (e.g., k-means, k-medians, expectation maximization (EM), hierarchi calclustering), association rule learning algorithms (e.g., perceptron, back-propagation, Hopfield network, Radial Basis Function Network (RBFN)), deep learning algorithms (e.g., Deep Boltzmann Machine(DBM), Deep Belief Networks (DBN), Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), Stacked Auto-Encoders),dimensionality reduction algorithms (e.g., Principal Component Analysis (PCA), Principal Component Regression (PCR), Partial Least Squares Regression (PLSR), Sammon Mapping, MultidimensionalScaling (MDS), Projection Pursuit, Linear Discriminant Analysis (LDA), Mixture Discriminant Analysis(MDA), Quadratic Discriminant Analysis (QDA), Flexible Discriminant Analysis (FDA)), ensemble algorithms (e.g., Boosting, Bootstrapped Aggregation (Bagging), AdaBoost, Stacked Generalization(blending), Gradient Boosting Machines (GBM), Gradient Boosted Regression Trees (GBRT), Random Forest), SVM (support vector machine), supervised learning, unsupervised learning, semi-supervised learning, etc.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Desai and Ray to incorporate the teaching of Akella. The modification would have been obvious because employing a machine-learning model or speed control algorithm to generate a target vehicle speed based on characteristic information enables more accurate and adaptive speed determination under varying operating conditions. Such an approach improves the effectiveness of speed control, thereby allowing the vehicle to travel along the route in a manner consistent with the intended operation of the system.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Desai and Ray in view of Adam et al. (Publication No. US 20200108818 A1; hereinafter Adam).
Regarding to claim 12, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
Desai teaches to generate the target speed signal based on the physical speed control factor and the job-related speed control factor as described in claim 1 above. Desai further teaches that the controller of the grain cart includes a memory storing look up tables and configuration data as disclosed in par. [0027], but does not explicitly disclose searching a speed control look-up table to identify a representation of the target speed signal.
However, Adam teaches searching a speed control look-up table to identify a representation of the target speed signal. ([Par. 0020], “The planner (i.e., the planning controller 28) determines the target speed profile TSP over the event horizon as a function of the trip plan, the set speed, the geography of the planned trip (including the upcoming terrain data), and the optimal acceleration range OAR. It is contemplated that the target speed profile TSP may be determined solely based on the trip plan, the upcoming terrain data, and the optimal acceleration range OAR. The planning controller 28 may employ a look-up table (which is generated by testing the vehicle 10) to determine the target speed profile TSP.”)
It would have been obvious to implement the combination of Desai and Ray’s multi-factor speed determination using Adam’s look-up-table-based target speed profile generation because both are directed to automatically controlling vehicle speed based on route/terrain and operational constraints. A look-up table provides a predictable, computationally efficient way to translate combinations of terrain/mission inputs into a target speed command/profile, improving responsiveness and consistency of autonomous speed control.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Desai and Ray in view of Van Mill et al. (Publication No. US 20230315105 A1; hereinafter Van Mill).
Regarding to claim 22, the combination of Desai and Ray teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Desai and Ray teaches to control the speed of the agricultural material transfer vehicle based on the physical speed control factor as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the physical speed control factor comprises at least one of:
a weight of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a center of gravity of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, or
drawbar load or acceleration.
However, Van Mill teaches wherein the physical speed control factor comprises at least one of:
a weight of the agricultural material transfer vehicle,
a center of gravity of the agricultural material transfer vehicle, or
drawbar load or acceleration.
([Par. 0046], “ the one or more performance parameters may additionally or alternatively include vehicle and/or cart travel speed limits, which may be based on the weight of material (e.g., grain) in the hopper 118, load positioning, and/or hitch weight. For example, in some embodiments, the vehicle and/or cart travel speed limits may specify a maximum speed limit for each of one or more material and/or hitch weight ranges.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Desai and Ray to incorporate the teaching of Van Mill. The modification would have been obvious because controlling the speed of the grain cart based on the weight of the material would enable more accurate control of the grain cart during travel, thereby facilitating safe transportation of the material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Corban et al. (Publication No. US 20230276735 A1) discloses systems and methods for monitoring a weight of agricultural material, such as grain, unloaded from a first vehicle, such as a harvester (e.g., a combine harvester), to a second vehicle, such as a grain cart, and stopping transfer of the agricultural material when a sensed weight of the unloaded agricultural material contained in the second vehicle meets or exceeds a selected amount are disclosed. Example systems and methods may also include monitoring a fill level of agricultural material unloaded into the second vehicle simultaneously with monitoring the weight of unloaded agricultural material.
Rngwald et al. (Publication No. US 20100274452 A1) discloses a grain transfer control system, and method of use thereof, for automatedly controlling the transfer of grain from a mobile transferor-type vehicle, such as a combine harvester, to a mobile transferee-type vehicle, such as a crop transport, by varying the position and speed of the transferor-type and transferee-type vehicles relative to one another during the transfer operation, especially by varying the position and rate of walk of the discharge spout along at least a portion of the length of a grain holding receptacle of the transferee-type vehicle, to effect a generally even fill of the grain holding receptacle of the transferee-type vehicle along the length of the grain holding receptacle.
/STEVEN VU NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3668