DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the word “tray” has been mistyped as “try”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informality: “the primary cooling return line fluidly coupled to the layer supply cooling line” is not consistent with ¶[000115] of the specifications. The examiner has understood the excerpt as “the primary cooling return line fluidly coupled to the layer return cooling line”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borghi et al. (US 20220169125 A1), hereinafter "Borghi".
Regarding claim 1, Borghi discloses a vehicle (electric vehicle 100, fig. 1, ¶[0046]) having a layered battery pack module (battery pack assembly 200, figs. 5A and 5C, ¶[0050]), the vehicle comprising:
a first wheel (wheel 110, fig. 1, ¶[0048]) coupled to a first side of a chassis at a first forward position;
a second wheel (any one of the wheels concentric to first rear axle 120B and on the same side of the vehicle as wheel 110) coupled to the first side of the chassis at a first rearward position;
a support structure (battery frame assembly 106, figs. 1-2, ¶[0048]) of a battery pack module coupled to the first side of the chassis (“chassis 104 supports and is coupled to a battery frame assembly 106”, ¶[0048]) at a position between the first wheel and the second wheel, the battery pack module including a plurality of battery pack layers in a vertical arrangement (“battery pack assembly 200 comprises eight battery modules 300-1 through 300-8”, ¶[0076], layers of battery modules 300-1 through 300-8 shown in figs. 5A and 5C), each battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers including at least one battery pack (each of battery modules 300-1 through 300-8), wherein each battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers includes a tray operating line (any one of intermediate lines 410A and bridge bus bars 504-514, figs. 6A and 7C), each tray operating line coupled to each battery pack of the at least one battery pack of the corresponding battery pack layer (connection of intermediate lines and bridge bus bars to each battery module 300 described in ¶[0093] and ¶[0114] respectively), and each tray operating line extending to a first end of the battery pack module (intermediate lines 410A and bridge bus bars 504-514 extend to end of battery pack with manifold body outlet 420A, as shown in fig. 6A, and laminated bus bar assembly 502, as shown in fig. 5D, respectively); and
a vertical operating cable (any one of manifold body outlet 420A and laminated bus bar assembly 502; note: “electrical contact assembly 500 is not limited in this regard and may comprise wires and/or cables in place of or in addition to bus bars”, ¶[0107]) extending vertically along at least a portion of the first end of the battery pack module to a first access point (junction box 600, figs. 5B and 7B; “laminated bus bar assembly 502 may be configured to permit current flow in either direction between battery modules 300 and junction box 600”, ¶[0108]);
wherein the first access point is positioned within an access zone (the zone proximate to junction box panel 218 with a perimeter defined by flanges 230 and 232, fig. 4B, ¶[0063]) defined behind the first wheel.
Regarding claim 2, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein each battery pack layer includes a plurality of battery packs, and each tray operating line couples each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs of the corresponding battery pack layer in series (“battery cells, battery modules, and battery packs may be electrically coupled to each other in series and/or parallel to increase voltage and/or current depending on electric vehicle 100 operation requirements”, ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein each battery pack layer includes a plurality of battery packs, and each tray operating line couples each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs of the corresponding battery pack layer in parallel (“battery cells, battery modules, and battery packs may be electrically coupled to each other in series and/or parallel to increase voltage and/or current depending on electric vehicle 100 operation requirements”, ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein each tray operating line (bridge bus bars 504-514, figs. 7A-C) and the vertical operating cable (laminated bus bar assembly 502, figs. 7A-C) are electronic cabling lines (“electrical contact assembly 500 is not limited in this regard and may comprise wires and/or cables in place of or in addition to bus bars”, ¶[0107]).
Regarding claim 6 Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first access point (junction box 600) is a high voltage electrical box (“current may travel … out of junction box 600 to power high voltage systems”, ¶[0126]; high voltage connectors of junction box 600 further described in ¶[0127]).
Regarding claim 8, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein each tray operating line (intermediate lines 410A, fig. 6A) and the vertical operating cable (manifold body outlet 420A, fig. 6A) are cooling lines (“manifold body outlets 420A are configured to direct coolant through each intermediate line 410A”, ¶[101]).
Regarding claim 9, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the access point (junction box 600, fig. 5B) is accessible from the access zone (the zone proximate to junction box panel 218 with a perimeter defined by flanges 230 and 232, fig. 4B) via a removable service panel (junction box panel 218 removable via fasteners as described in ¶[0067], fig. 5B) of the battery pack module.
Regarding claim 10, Borghi discloses a battery pack module (battery pack assembly 200, figs. 5A and 5C, ¶[0050]) for a vehicle (electric vehicle 100, fig. 1, ¶[0046]), the battery pack module comprising:
a front panel (first side panel 204, fig. 4B);
a back panel positioned opposite of the front panel (“second side panel 206 opposite first side panel 204”, ¶[0058], fig. 4C);
a first side panel (third side panel 208, fig. 4A) extending between the front panel and the back panel, the first side panel having a first service access (removal of panel 208 via fasteners attached to panels 214, 204, 206, and 216 as described in ¶[0067]; per Applicant’s disclosure “the entirety of a corresponding panel may service as a service access”, ¶[000117]); and
a plurality of battery pack layers in a vertical arrangement (“battery pack assembly 200 comprises eight battery modules 300-1 through 300-8”, ¶[0076], layers of battery modules 300-1 through 300-8 shown in figs. 5A and 5C) within the front panel, the back panel, and the first side panel, each battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers including a battery pack (each of battery modules 300-1 through 300-8), wherein each battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers includes a tray operating line (any one of lines 410, 412 and bridge bus bars 504-514, figs. 6A and 7C), the tray operating line removably coupled to the battery pack (connection of intermediate lines and bridge bus bars to each battery module 300 described in ¶[0093] and ¶[0114] respectively) and being accessible via the first service access for disconnecting the tray operating line from the battery pack (removal of panel 208 provides access for disconnecting intermediate lines and bridge bus bars, figs. 4A and 5E).
Regarding claim 11, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein the service access is one of a door, a portal (removal of panel 208 provides a portal for service; in light of specifications ¶[000118], service access may be defined within or by removal of the entirety of a sidewall panel), or a flap.
Regarding claim 12, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, further comprising: a second side panel (fourth side panel 210, fig. 4D) extending between the front panel and the back panel opposite the first side panel (“fourth side panel 210 opposite third side panel 208”, ¶[0058]); a top panel (top panel 214, fig. 4F) extending between the front panel, the back panel, the first side panel, and the second side panel; and a second access (removal of panel 210 via fasteners attached to panels 214, 204, 206, and 216 as described in ¶[0067]; per Applicant’s disclosure “the entirety of a corresponding panel may service as a service access”, ¶[000117]) corresponding with one of the front panel, the back panel, the second side panel, and the top panel.
Regarding claim 13, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein the tray operating line extends to a first end of the battery pack module (intermediate lines 410A and bridge bus bars 504-514 extend to end of battery pack with manifold body outlet 420A, as shown in fig. 6A, and laminated bus bar assembly 502, as shown in fig. 5D, respectively).
Regarding claim 14, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 13, further comprising a vertical operating cable (any one of manifold body outlet 420A and laminated bus bar assembly 502; note: “electrical contact assembly 500 is not limited in this regard and may comprise wires and/or cables in place of or in addition to bus bars”, ¶[0107]) extending vertically along at least a portion of the first end of the battery pack module to a third access (junction box panel 218 removable via fasteners as described in ¶[0067], fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 15, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein each battery pack layer includes a plurality of battery packs, and the tray operating line couples each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs of the corresponding battery pack layer in series (“battery cells, battery modules, and battery packs may be electrically coupled to each other in series and/or parallel to increase voltage and/or current depending on electric vehicle 100 operation requirements”, ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein each battery pack layer includes a plurality of battery packs, and the tray operating line couples each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs of the corresponding battery pack layer in parallel (“battery cells, battery modules, and battery packs may be electrically coupled to each other in series and/or parallel to increase voltage and/or current depending on electric vehicle 100 operation requirements”, ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein the tray operating line (bridge bus bars 504-514, figs. 7A-C) is an electronic cabling line (“electrical contact assembly 500 is not limited in this regard and may comprise wires and/or cables in place of or in addition to bus bars”, ¶[0107]).
Regarding claim 18, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 10, wherein the tray operating line (lines 410 and 412) includes:
a layer supply branch cooling line (distribution lines 412A) fluidly coupled to a layer supply cooling line (intermediate lines 410A), the layer supply cooling line corresponding with a battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers (intermediate lines 410A-1 through 410A-7 corresponding with battery modules 300-1 through 300-7, figs. 5A and 6A); and
a layer return branch cooling line (distribution lines 412B) fluidly coupled to a layer return cooling line (intermediate lines 410B), the layer return cooling line corresponding with the battery pack layer of the plurality of battery pack layers (intermediate lines 410B-1 through 410B-7 corresponding with battery modules 300-1 through 300-7, figs. 5A and 6A).
Regarding claim 19, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 18, wherein the battery pack layer (each of battery modules 300, figs. 5A and 5C) includes a plurality of battery packs (“battery modules 300 contain one or more secondary battery cells”, ¶[0075]), a plurality of layer supply branch cooling lines (distribution lines 412A), and a plurality of layer return branch cooling lines (distribution lines 412B) so that:
each layer supply branch cooling line of the plurality of layer supply branch cooling lines corresponds with one battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (each of distribution lines 412A-1 through 412A-14 correspond with battery cells of battery modules 300, ¶[0095], figs. 5A and 6A);
each layer return branch cooling line of the plurality of layer return branch cooling lines corresponds with one battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (each of distribution lines 412B-1 through 412B-14 correspond with battery cells of battery modules 300, ¶[0096], figs. 5A and 6A);
the layer supply cooling line is fluidly coupled to each layer supply branch cooling line of the plurality of layer supply branch cooling lines (coupling of each intermediate line 410A to a pair of distribution lines 412A as shown in fig. 6A); and
the layer return cooling line is fluidly coupled to each layer return branch cooling line of the plurality of layer return branch cooling lines (coupling of each intermediate line 410B to a pair of distribution lines 412B as shown in figs. 6A and 6C).
Regarding claim 20, Borghi discloses the battery pack module of claim 18, further comprising:
a primary cooling supply line (manifold body 408A, fig. 6B), the primary cooling supply line fluidly coupled to a coolant fluid source (manifold body 408A “configured to receive coolant from vehicle thermal system” by way of pack inlet 404A and first main line 406A, ¶[0091], fig. 6B) and the layer supply cooling line (manifold body 408A shown coupled to each intermediate line 410A in fig. 6A); and
a primary cooling return line (manifold body 408B, fig. 6B), the primary cooling return line fluidly coupled to the layer return cooling line (manifold body 408B shown coupled to each intermediate line 410B in figs. 6A and 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borghi as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Adachi et al. (US 2014/0011058 A1), hereinafter "Adachi".
Regarding claim 5, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 4, wherein each tray operating line (bridge bus bars 504-514, figs. 7A-C) is coupled to the vertical operating cable (laminated bus bar assembly 502, figs. 7A-C), but Borghi does not recite the coupling established via a high voltage electrical interface box. Adachi teaches a battery pack module for vehicles including a plurality of battery pack layers in a vertical arrangement (¶[0011], figs. 11-15) wherein each battery cell (single cells 41) is coupled to bus bars (bus bars 61 to 66) via a high voltage electrical interface box (interface box formed by insulation cover 43 and exhaust duct 44 surrounding openings 67 for connection of terminals 51 and 52 to bus bars 61 to 66, figs. 11-12, ¶[0133]). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the interface box from Adachi with the battery pack assembly disclosed by Borghi. The motivation would have been to ensure “the gas inside a battery is discharged outside the battery when the internal pressure of the single cell becomes abnormal” (Adachi, ¶[0114]). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borghi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Middleton et al. (US 2022/0077441 A1), hereinafter “Middleton”.
Regarding claim 7, Borghi discloses the vehicle of claim 1, comprising a first access point (junction box 600, figs. 5B and 7B), but Borghi does not recite the first access point positioned on an upper mounting surface of the battery pack module. Middleton teaches a battery housing assembly (battery box 214, ¶[0022], figs. 3-9) for an industrial vehicle, including a plurality of battery pack layers in a vertical arrangement (rows 431 and 432 containing battery modules 441 and 442, fig. 4, ¶[0025]) wherein the assembly comprises a first access point (top portion 601 containing contactors 446-7 and 750-7, figs. 6-7, ¶[0030]) positioned on an upper mounting surface (“contactors 446, 447 and other high-voltage components may be positioned at a top portion of battery box 214”, ¶[0028], fig. 9). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to substitute, with a reasonable expectation of success, the first access point location from Middleton for the first access point location disclosed by Borghi. Middleton recites the motivation as establishing an arrangement where “the lower portion of battery box 214 may be accessed to conduct maintenance and repair on battery box 214 without a technician having to be close to the dangerous high voltage components”. The substitution would predictably achieve the desired result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to battery packs having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613