DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments in the response dated June 11, 2026. However, new rejections may have been made using the same prior art if still applicable to the newly presented amendments and/or arguments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,254 to AbdulBaki et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed towards a device for covering a surface.
AbdulBaki et al. disclose a device for covering a surface, the device comprising: a laminated assembly comprising a first adhesive layer, a substrate layer, a second adhesive layer, and a finish layer, wherein the first adhesive layer is disposed on a first side of the substrate layer for use in bonding the laminated assembly to an underlying surface, wherein the second adhesive layer is disposed on a second side of the substrate layer and between the substrate layer and the finish layer; and wherein a combination of the substrate layer and the finish layer of the laminated assembly is divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments; and a flexible carrier layer bonded to the finish layer by a third adhesive layer, wherein the flexible carrier layer and the third adhesive layer are configured to retain the discontinuous segments in a fixed spatial alignment, and wherein the third adhesive layer is configured to cleanly detach from the finish layer by manual peeling (Claim 1) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the substrate layer comprises at least one of a foam layer, a polymeric sheet layer, or a film layer (Claim 2). Regarding claim 3, the substrate layer is bonded to the finish layer by the second adhesive layer (Claim 3). For claim 4, the finish layer comprises at least one of a simulated wood surface, a simulated fabric surface, and a simulated tile surface (Claim 4). In claim 5, adjacent discrete segments are separated by a simulated flooring joint (Claim 5). With regard to claim 6, the discrete segments comprise six discrete segments, each of which is configured to simulate a wood plank (Claim 6). As in claim 7, the finish layer comprises a printed image (Claim 7). With respect to claim 8, the first adhesive layer comprises a dry adhesive (Claim 8). Regarding claim 9, a protective liner bonded to the first adhesive layer (Claim 9). For claim 10, the underlying surface comprises at least one of wood, concrete, vinyl, and carpet fiber (Claim 10). In claim 11, the flexible carrier layer has a plurality of apertures (Claim 11). With regard to claim 12, the laminated assembly has a width of approximately one meter (Claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez Santiago (WO 96/34164) in view of Barrett (USPN 4,406,099) and Calkins (USPGPub 2012/0183726 A1).
Martinez Santiago discloses a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract), the device (Figures) comprising: a laminated assembly (Figures) comprising a first adhesive layer (Figure 2, #5), a substrate layer (Figure 2, #3), a second adhesive layer (Figure 2, #4), and a finish layer (Figure 2, #2), wherein the first adhesive layer is disposed on a first side of the substrate layer for use in bonding the laminated assembly to an underlying surface (Abstract, Objection of the Invention), wherein the second adhesive layer is disposed on a second side of the substrate layer and between the substrate layer and the finish layer (Figure 2, #2 – 4); and wherein at least one or both of the substrate layer and the finish layer of the laminated assembly are divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments (Figure 3, Abstract) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the substrate layer comprises at least one of a foam layer, a polymeric sheet layer, or a film layer (Page 3, Description of Invention, lines 18 – 36, acrylic pad). Regarding claim 3, the substrate layer is bonded to the finish layer by the second adhesive layer (Figure 2, #2 and 4). For claim 4, the finish layer comprises at least one of a simulated wood surface (Abstract). In claim 5, adjacent discrete segments are separated by a simulated flooring joint. (Figures, 3 and 4, wherein the cuts simulate a joint.) With regard to claim 6, the discrete segments comprise six discrete segments, each of which is configured to simulate a wood plank (Abstract; Figure 3, #15). Regarding claim 9, a protective liner bonded to the first adhesive layer (Figure 2, #6). However, Martinez Santiago fail to disclose a combination of the substrate layer and the finish layer of the laminated assembly is divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments, a flexible carrier layer bonded to the finish layer by a third adhesive layer, wherein the flexible carrier layer and the third adhesive layer are configured to retain the discrete segments in a fixed spatial alignment, and wherein the third adhesive layer is configured to cleanly detach from the finish layer by manual peeling, and flexible carrier layer has a plurality of apertures.
Barrett teaches a device (Figures; Abstract) comprising: a substrate having a first side and a second side (Figures 1 and 2, #10), the substrate having a plurality of discrete segments (Figures 1 and 2, #12), and a carrier layer of flexible film bonded to the finish layer by an adhesive, wherein the second adhesive is configured to cleanly disbond from the finish layer by manual peeling, and wherein the second adhesive configured to retain the plurality of discrete segments in fixed spatial alignment (Figures 1 and 2, #14, 16, and 18; Column 4, lines 46 – 49’ Column 5, lines 42 – 57), the carrier layer has a plurality of apertures (Figure 1, #17; Figure 2, #19) for the purpose of a plurality of floor covering segments that may be laid on a subfloor while staying protected (Column 2, lines 7 – 13).
Calkins teaches a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract) comprising a combination of the substrate layer (Figure 2C, #15) and the finish layer (Figure 2C, #14) of the laminated assembly (Figure 2C, #15, 14, and 17) is divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments (Figure 2C, #19a and b; Paragraph 0049) for the purpose allowing the device to be formed into a size to cover a surface (Paragraph 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of segments held is spatial alignment while being divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments in Martinez Santiago in order to a have plurality of floor covering segments that may be laid on a subfloor while staying protected as taught by Barrett and to allow the device to be formed into a size to cover a surface as taught by Calkins.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez Santiago (WO 96/34164) in view of Barrett (USPN 4,406,099) and Calkins (USPGPub 2012/0183726 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moore (USPN 3,717,247).
Martinez Santiago, as modified with Barrett and Calkins, discloses the claimed device for covering a surface except for the underlying surface comprises at least one of wood, concrete, vinyl, and carpet fiber.
Moore teaches a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract), wherein the underlying surface comprises at least one of wood, vinyl, or concrete (Column 2, lines 2 – 27) for the purpose of quickly installing a flooring surface (Column 2, lines 40 – 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a subfloor in the modified Martinez Santiago in order to quickly install a flooring surface as taught by Moore.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez Santiago (WO 96/34164) in view of Barrett (USPN 4,406,099) and Calkins (USPGPub 2012/0183726 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stout (USPN 3,077,059).
Martinez Santiago, as modified with Barrett and Calkins, discloses the claimed device for covering a surface except for laminated assembly has a width of approximately one meter.
Stout teaches a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract), wherein the laminated assembly has a width of approximately one meter (Column 2, lines 56 – 57) for the purpose of giving the device the desired appearance (Column 2, lines 57 – 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a width of approximately one meter in the modified Martinez Santiago in order to give the device the desired appearance as taught by Stout.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez Santiago (WO 96/34164) in view of Barrett (USPN 4,406,099) and Calkins (USPGPub 2012/0183726 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (EP 0 569 921 A1).
Martinez Santiago, as modified with Barrett and Calkins, discloses the claimed device for covering a surface except for finish layer comprises a printed image, and the first adhesive layer comprises a dry adhesive.
Smith teaches a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract), wherein the finish layer comprises a printed image (Abstract), and the first adhesive layer comprises a dry adhesive (Page 4, lines 15 – 23, wherein the adhesive is activated with heat or water) for the purpose of having a device that may be adhered to most surfaces (Page 3, lines 13 – 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a dry adhesive in the modified Martinez Santiago in order adhered to the device to most surfaces as taught by Smith.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 6, 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “The primary reference (Martinez Santiago) fails to disclose or suggest all the elements recited in claim 1. Martinez Santiago discloses a laminated cover panel with finish layer segments attached to an underlying foam layer that is bendable to allow folding the assembly for shipping/storage. Martinez Santiago, however, fails to disclose or suggest any segmentation of the underlying foam layer. Accordingly, Martinez Santiago therefore fails to disclose or suggest "... wherein a combination of the substrate layer and the finish layer of the laminated assembly is divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments; ..." as recited in claim 1.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Martinez Santiago clearly discloses at least one or both of the substrate layer and the finish layer of the laminated assembly are divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments (Figure 3, Abstract), wherein the each segment between the folds is a discrete section of the device.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Barrett is directed to a unitized floor panel having unattached wooden tiles assembled in a generally abutting relation. (Barrett Abstract). Barrett is cited in the Office Action as teaching a carrier layer of flexible film bonded to a finish layer to retain discontinuous segments in fixed spatial alignment. (Office Action page 7). Barrett, however, fails to disclose or suggest a combination of a substrate layer and a finish layer of a laminated assembly that are divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discontinuous segments as recited in claim 1.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Barrett teaches a device (Figures; Abstract) comprising: a substrate having a first side and a second side (Figures 1 and 2, #10), the substrate having a plurality of discrete segments (Figures 1 and 2, #12), and a carrier layer of flexible film bonded to the finish layer by an adhesive, wherein the second adhesive is configured to cleanly disbond from the finish layer by manual peeling, and wherein the second adhesive configured to retain the plurality of discrete segments in fixed spatial alignment (Figures 1 and 2, #14, 16, and 18; Column 4, lines 46 – 49’ Column 5, lines 42 – 57).
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Calkins, however, fails to disclose or suggest a combination of a substrate layer and a finish layer of a laminated assembly that are divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments as recited in claim 1.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Calkins teaches a device for covering a surface (Figures; Abstract) comprising a combination of the substrate layer (Figure 2C, #15) and the finish layer (Figure 2C, #14) of the laminated assembly (Figure 2C, #15, 14, and 17) is divided into discrete segments separated by cut lines that extend between the discrete segments (Figure 2C, #19a and b; Paragraph 0049).
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 July 8, 2026