DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on (11/1/24) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy (US PG PUB NO 2010/0065355).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Reddy discloses a mining truck comprising: a chassis (Reddy, FIGS1A-1B) extending along a longitudinal length of the mining truck (Reddy, FIGS1A-1B), the chassis having a front and a rear end portion (Reddy, FIGS1A-1B); a deck supported by the front end portion of the chassis (Reddy, FIGS1A-1B illustrate exemplary deck surfaces at a top of the vehicle); a resistor grid (Grids 214 and 218).
-However, it fails to disclose the grid supported by the deck
-Nevertheless, Reddy illustrates an exemplary pair of resistor grids that can be positioned as desired based on each vehicle application and mounting on or above the deck is a matter of rearrangement of parts, see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Reddy to mount the resistor grids on the or above the deck with a reasonable expectation of success in order to create ambient air cooling and provide service access and inspection.
-Regarding the limitations: an electronics unit (Electronics 204-212) supported by the deck and spaced apart from the resistor grid (As explained above, arrangement of the electric components is vehicle application specific and can utilize deck mounting if desired without altering the electric functionality); and an air transfer zone arranged between the resistor grid and the electronics unit (Paragraph [0035] describes convection cooling using air as a fluid medium via blower which creates heat transfer, based on position of the grids and cooling, zones are created), the air transfer zone configured to receive exhaust air from the resistor grid (Paragraph [0035] discloses heat dissipation via air as a fluid which moves the air and can be considered “exhaust” at its furthest distance from the blower system).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 1, wherein the electronics unit includes a battery (Paragraph [0030] discloses a battery).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 1, wherein the resistor grid (214 and 218) is configured to move the exhaust air in a first direction (Exhaust conventionally moves in a general direction), and wherein the air transfer zone forms a flow path in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (The exhaust can be selectively bifurcated using cooling duct assembly 408 to reduce back pressure).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 4, wherein the air transfer zone is configured to vent the exhaust air in the second direction (The exhaust can be selectively bifurcated using cooling duct assembly 408 to reduce back pressure).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 1, wherein the electronics unit comprises one or more DC/DC converters (Reddy, paragraph [0020] discloses A/C and D/C conversion via inverter circuit 208).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 1, wherein the resistor grid comprises a top-side access panel (A resistor grid enclosure inherently requires access such as a door or panel for inspection, testing and replacement).
2. Claims 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuittinen et al. (US PG PUB 2013/0214928).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Kuittinen discloses a mining truck comprising: a chassis (Kuittinen, FIG 1) extending along a longitudinal length of the mining truck; a deck (Kuittinen, FIG 1) supported by the chassis; a resistor grid (Kuittinen, FIG 1 resistor 20. Paragraph [0026] discloses “one or more brake resistors 20” and can be readily positioned in a grid for service access) supported by the deck (Kuittinen, FIG 1 shows the exemplary braking resistor in the body portion of the vehicle but can be positioned on the deck if desired to reduce the distance to the cooling module 21, regarding position see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Kuittinen to have deck mounted resistors with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase accessibility for service and inspection without altering the resistor function); and one or more heat exchangers (Kuittinen, Paragraph [0016] discloses liquid cooling system which requires at least one heat exchanger to house cooling fluid and additional heat exchangers can be incorporated for additional components such as an ICE or AC) positioned above the resistor grid (As modified, the resistors being deck mounted can be done so at a height below the cooling module) the one or more heat exchangers configured to receive a cooling fluid for cooling one or more electronic components of the mining truck ((Kuittinen, Paragraph [0016]).
[CLAIM 14] Regarding claim 1, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 13, further comprising an electronics unit (S and B include drive equipment and a battery) spaced apart from the resistor grid (As modified, Kuittinen can have the resistors on the deck above the electric drive equipment (S and B)) and an air transfer zone arranged between the resistor grid and the electronics unit (Air moves through the vehicle when moving and the air would flow between the resistors and electric drive components enabling heat transfer).
[CLAIM 15] Regarding claim 15, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 14, wherein the one or more heat exchangers (21) is positioned above the air transfer zone, such that the air transfer zone is enclosed by the resistor grid, the electronics unit, the deck, and a base support member of the one or more heat exchangers (Kuittinen, annotated FIG 1, as modified with the resistors on or above the deck surface, air flows during vehicle movement in a similar manner and below the liquid cooling module 21).
[CLAIM 17] Regarding claim 17, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 14, wherein the one or more heat exchangers is positioned above the electronics unit (Kuittinen, FIG 1 liquid cooling module 21 in a side view is above (electric drive components S and B)).
[CLAIM 18] Regarding claim 18, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 13, wherein the one or more electronic components of the mining truck includes a battery (Kuittinen, battery B).
-However, Kuittinen fails to disclose the mining truck and an electronics unit positioned on the deck.
-Nevertheless, similar to the rejection in claim 13, the electric components can be arranged as desired on or above the deck. Regarding position of parts see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
-Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Kuittinen to have deck mounted drive electric components with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase accessibility for service and inspection without altering the electric drive component function);
[CLAIM 19] Regarding claim 19, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 18, wherein the one or more heat exchangers includes a first heat exchanger configured to cool the battery of the mining truck and a second heat exchanger configured to cool the electronics unit Kuittinen, Paragraph [0016] discloses liquid cooling system which requires at least one heat exchanger to house cooling fluid and additional heat exchangers can be incorporated for additional components such as an ICE or air condition .Additional heat exchangers are a duplication of parts, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Kuittinen to have plural heat exchangers with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide separate cooling loops for different components/systems that generate heat).
[CLAIM 20] Regarding claim 20, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 18, further comprising a radiator configured to cool the electronics unit, wherein the one or more heat exchangers is configured to cool the battery of the mining truck (Vehicles conventionally include radiators to provide cooling to mechanical systems and the cab heating e.g. heater core with fluid for selective cab warming).
3. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuittinen et al. (US PG PUB 2013/0214928) in view of Tokiwa et al. (US PG PUB NO 2014/0339001).
[CLAIM 16] Regarding claim 16, Kuittinen discloses the mining truck of claim 14.
-However, it fails to disclose an insulation layer disposed between the air transfer zone and the one or more heat exchangers.
-Nevertheless, Tokiwa discloses work vehicle insulation 73b for separating heated and cooled air (Tokiwa, FIG 6).
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Kuittinen to have insulated portions as taught by Tokiwa with a reasonable expectation of success in order to locally control thermal characteristics.
4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy (US PG PUB NO 2010/0065355) in view of Tokiwa et al. (US PG PUB NO 2014/0339001).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Reddy discloses the mining truck of claim 1.
-However, it fails to disclose an insulation layer disposed between the air transfer zone and the electronics unit.
-Nevertheless, Tokiwa discloses work vehicle insulation 73b for separating warm and cool air (Tokiwa, FIG 6).
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Reddy to have insulated portions as taught by Tokiwa with a reasonable expectation of success in order to locally control thermal characteristics to prevent overheating of the electronics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8, 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reddy (US PG PUB NO 2010/0065355) and Kuittinen et al. (US PG PUB 2013/0214928) represent the most similar prior art as claimed by Applicants but fails to teach the additional limitation in dependent claims 5, 7-8, 11-12.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner AU 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615