DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. US 12284377 B2 in view of He et al. (US 20150103886 A1) and Paluri et al. (US 20220217404 A1).
Instant claims 1, 7, and 12, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant claims 1, 7, and 12 and conflicting patent claims 1, 7, and 12 is the addition of limitations in the instant claims. See the table below.
He teaches wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream ([0057] and [0133] A video coding device may derive the output sub-bitstream as follows. When one or more of the following conditions may be true, a video coding device may remove SEI NAL units that may have nuh_layer_id equal to 0 and that may include a non-nested buffering period SEI message, a non-nested picture timing SEI message, or a non-nested decoding unit information SEI message. The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when the layerIdListTarget may not include the values of nuh_layer_id in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition). The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when a tIdTarget may be less than the greatest TemporalId in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition)); and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product for use by a video coding device, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device (e.g. fig. 9B, [0109], [0138], and [0154]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sub-bitsteam extraction by removing the SEI NAL units of He into the bitstream of Patent to reduce computational complexity and/or memory consumption at the decoder.
It is noted that He and the Patent are silent about teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters.
Paluri teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters ([0287] the image information may include header information. The header information may be header information related to a picture or a slice including the current block, and may include, for example, a picture header or a slice header. The header information may include APS ID information related to scaling list data referenced by a slice or a picture related to the header information. The APS ID information related to the scaling list data included in the header information may indicate ID information of the APS including the scaling list data; [0288] the header information may include APS ID information related to the scaling list data corresponding to the number of APS IDs derived based on the information on the number of APS IDs. The header information would obviously be treated as the picture header).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specified an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS and ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of the Patent in view of He to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Instant claims 2-6 are covered by patent claims 2-6.
Instant claims 8-11 are covered by patent claims 8-11.
Instant claims 13-16 are covered by patent claims 13-16.
Instant claim 17, the patent, He, and Paluri teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of Patent in view of He to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Instant claim 18, the patent, He, and Paluri teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID (phlmcs_apsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID (phlmcs_apsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of the Patent in view of He to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Instant claim 19, the patent and Paluri teach the encoder of claim 7, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set IDspecifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of the Patent in view of He to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Application 18/935,006
Patent US 12284377 B2
1. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product for use by a video coding device, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device to:
receive a bitstream comprising a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS network abstraction layer (NAL) unit and a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) NAL units,
wherein a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh layerid) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuhlayer id of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and
wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture, and wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters; and
decode the coded picture from the set of VCL NAL units based on the PPS in the PPS NAL unit to produce a decoded picture,
wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream.
2. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the bitstream further comprises the APS in an APS NAL unit, and wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuhlayerid of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuh layer id of the particular VCL NAL unit.
3. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process that removes NAL units from the bitstream based on nuhlayerid value.
4. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuhlayerid.
5. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 4, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuhlayerid.
6. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the computer program product further cause the video coding device to:
receive a second bitstream comprising a second PPS in a second PPS NAL unit and a second coded picture comprising a second set of VCL NAL units, wherein a second VCL NAL unit refers to the second PPS NAL unit with a value of a nuh layer_id of the second PPS NAL unit is not less than or equal to a value of a nuhlayerid of the second VCL NAL unit; andin response to the receiving, take some other corrective measures to ensure that a conforming bitstream corresponding to the second bitstream is received prior to decoding the coded picture from the second set of VCL NAL units.
7. (Currently Amended) An encoder comprising: one or more processors comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by the one or more processors cause the encoder to:
encode a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) network abstraction layer (NAL) units in a bitstream; and
encode into the bitstream a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS NAL unit based on a constraint that a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh layerid) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters; and
wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture,
wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream.
8. (New) The encoder of claim 7, further comprising encoding into the bitstream the APS in an APS NAL unit based on a constraint that a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuhlayerid of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a uhlayerid of the particular VCL NAL unit.
9. (New) The encoder of claim 7, further comprising performing a sub-bitstream extraction process to remove NAL units from the bitstream based on nuh layer_id value.
10. (New) The encoder of claim 7, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuh layer_id.
11. (New) The encoder of claim 10, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuh layerid.
12. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream comprising compressed video data, non-video data, and a plurality of flags providing coding instructions to be executed by a decoding device comprising a processor such that when the decoding device executes the instructions the decoding device is configured to perform a method,wherein the bitstream comprises:
a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS network abstraction layer (NAL) unit and a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) NAL units,
wherein a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh layerid) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh layerid of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture,
wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture, and wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters; and
wherein the bitstream is configured to cause the coding device to decode the coded picture from the set of VCL NAL units based on the PPS in the PPS NAL unit to produce a decoded picture,
wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream.
13. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein thebitstream further comprises the APS in an APS NAL unit, and wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuhlayerid of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuh layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit.
14. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process that removes NAL units from the bitstream based on nuhlayerid value.
15. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuhlayerid.
16. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuhlayerid.
17. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters.
18. (New) The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID (phlmcs_apsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters.
19. (New) The encoder of claim 7, wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters.
1. A method implemented by a decoder, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream comprising a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS network abstraction layer (NAL) unit and a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) NAL units,
wherein a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and
wherein the picture header specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture; and
decoding the coded picture from the set of VCL NAL units based on the PPS in the PPS NAL unit to produce a decoded picture.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the bitstream further comprises the APS in an APS NAL unit, and wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuh_layer_id of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process that removes NAL units from the bitstream based on nuh_layer_id value.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a second bitstream comprising a second PPS in a second PPS NAL unit and a second coded picture comprising a second set of VCL NAL units, wherein a second VCL NAL unit refers to the second PPS NAL unit with a value of a nuh_layer_id of the second PPS NAL unit is not less than or equal to a value of a nuh_layer_id of the second VCL NAL unit; and in response to the receiving, taking some other corrective measures to ensure that a conforming bitstream corresponding to the second bitstream is received prior to decoding the coded picture from the second set of VCL NAL units.
7. A method implemented by an encoder, the method comprising:
encoding a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) network abstraction layer (NAL) units in a bitstream;
encoding into the bitstream a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS NAL unit based on a constraint that a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and
wherein the picture header specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture.
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising encoding into the bitstream the APS in an APS NAL unit based on a constraint that a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuh_layer_id of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit.
9. The method of claim 7, further comprising performing a sub-bitstream extraction process to remove NAL units from the bitstream based on nuh_layer_id value.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
12. A video coding device comprising: a receiver configured to receive a bitstream comprising
a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS network abstraction layer (NAL) unit and a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) NAL units,
wherein a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit,
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice,
wherein the slice header specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS,
wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and
wherein the picture header specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture; and
a processor coupled to the receiver and configured to decode the coded picture from the set of VCL NAL units based on the PPS in the PPS NAL unit to produce a decoded picture.
13. The video coding device of claim 12, wherein the bitstream further comprises the APS in an APS NAL unit, and wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuh_layer_id of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuh_layer_id of the particular VCL NAL unit.
14. The video coding device of claim 12, wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process that removes NAL units from the bitstream based on nuh_layer_id value.
15. The video coding device of claim 12, wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
16. The video coding device of claim 15, wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuh_layer_id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20150103886 A1) in view of Wahadaniah et al. (US 20130070841 A1) and Paluri et al. (US 20220217404 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, He teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product for use by a video coding device, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device ([0008], [0009], [0037], [0138], and [0181] the processes of video coding may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor; wherein a video coding device comprising an encoder of figure 3 and a decoder of figure 4) to:
receive a bitstream (402 of fig. 4) comprising a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS network abstraction layer (NAL) unit ([0003], [0047]-[0056] SPS and PPS NAL units, fig. 5) and a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) NAL units (fig. 5, [0058 and 0099] VCL NAL units),
wherein a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit (PPS referring to SPS, 504 and 510 of fig. 5) unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuhlayerid) (510, id = 2, of fig. 5) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuhlayerid of the particular VCL NAL unit ([0050] with the pps_pic_parameter_set_id equal to 2 may refer to a SPS NAL unit with its syntax element pps_seq_parameter_set_id. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the active PPS NAL unit's pps_seq_parameter_set_id is equal to 2. The video coding device may be configured to activate the SPS NAL unit 504 with sps_seq_parameter_set_id equal to 2; [0051] A video coding device may activate an SPS and/or a PPS when the SPS and/or PPS unit is referred to by another NAL unit; [0052] The video coding device may activate an SPS or a PPS, for example, if the nuh_layer_id value of the activating SPS or PPS is less than or equal to the layer it activates. The value of the activating SPS or PPS nuh_layer_id may be unequal to the nuh_layer_id of the activated layer. The value of the activating SPS or PPS nuh_layer_id may be unequal to the value of the nuh_layer_id of one of the dependent layers of the activated layer, 504 and 510 of fig. 5, nuh_layer_id, id = 2),
wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice ([0051] a PPS may be activated by an NAL unit comprising a coded slice. The slice header of the coded slice may include a syntax element of slice_pic_parameter_set_id), and
decode the coded picture from the set of VCL NAL units based on the PPS in the PPS NAL unit to produce a decoded picture (a processor, 406 and 420 of fig. 4, coupled to the receiver and configured to decode the coded picture, [0050, 0053, 0056] decoding the coded picture), and
wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream ([0057] and [0133] A video coding device may derive the output sub-bitstream as follows. When one or more of the following conditions may be true, a video coding device may remove SEI NAL units that may have nuh_layer_id equal to 0 and that may include a non-nested buffering period SEI message, a non-nested picture timing SEI message, or a non-nested decoding unit information SEI message. The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when the layerIdListTarget may not include the values of nuh_layer_id in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition). The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when a tIdTarget may be less than the greatest TemporalId in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition)).
It is noted that He does not teach wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture and wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture.
Wahadaniah teaches wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture and wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture (302, 322, 331, 332, 333, and 335 of fig. 8A, [0148-0157] a syntax diagram comprising a picture header 331, slice 335, PPS ID 333, the coded picture 132 and 303).
Taking the teachings of He and Wahadaniah together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syntax diagram in figure 8A of Wahadaniah into the coded bitstream of He to improve the coding efficiency of the parameters describing reference list construction.
It is noted that He and Wahadaniah do not teach wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS; wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters.
Paluri discloses wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS [0011] According to an embodiment of this document, scaling list data may be signaled through an adaptation parameter set (APS), and APS identification information (APS ID) indicating the ID of the APS referenced for the scaling list data may be signaled through header information (picture header/slice header/tile group header, etc.); [0013] According to an embodiment of this document, APS ID number information indicating the number of IDs of APS related to the scaling list data may be signaled through header information, and identification information syntax elements of APS related to the scaling list data as many as the number of APS IDs may be signaled); wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters ([0287] the image information may include header information. The header information may be header information related to a picture or a slice including the current block, and may include, for example, a picture header or a slice header. The header information may include APS ID information related to scaling list data referenced by a slice or a picture related to the header information. The APS ID information related to the scaling list data included in the header information may indicate ID information of the APS including the scaling list data; [0288] the header information may include APS ID information related to the scaling list data corresponding to the number of APS IDs derived based on the information on the number of APS IDs. The header information would obviously be treated as the picture header. It is noted that the picture header is taught by Wahadaniah, fig. 8A, [0148-0157] a syntax diagram comprising a picture header 331, slice 335, PPS ID 333, the coded picture 132 and 303).
Taking the teachings of He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specified an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS and the specified ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of He in view of Wahadaniah to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, He further teaches an encoder (fig. 3) comprising: one or more processors comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by the one or more processors cause the encoder ([0008], [0009], [0037], [0138], and [0181], wherein a video coding device comprising an encoder of figure 3 and a decoder of figure 4) to:
encode (a processor [0149-0150], the encoder of fig. 3) a coded picture comprising a set of video coding layer (VCL) network abstraction layer (NAL) units in a bitstream (312 of fig. 1, fig. 5, [0050-0053, and 0058]);
encode into the bitstream a picture parameter set (PPS) in a PPS NAL unit based on a constraint (PPS in 508, 510, and 512 of fig. 5, [0050-0052]) that a particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the PPS NAL unit (PPS referring to SPS, 504 and 510 of fig. 5) unless a value of a NAL unit header layer identifier (nuhlayerid) (510, id = 2, of fig. 5) of the PPS NAL unit is less than or equal to a value of a nuhlayerid of the particular VCL NAL unit ([0050] with the pps_pic_parameter_set_id equal to 2 may refer to a SPS NAL unit with its syntax element pps_seq_parameter_set_id. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the active PPS NAL unit's pps_seq_parameter_set_id is equal to 2. The video coding device may be configured to activate the SPS NAL unit 504 with sps_seq_parameter_set_id equal to 2; [0051] A video coding device may activate an SPS and/or a PPS when the SPS and/or PPS unit is referred to by another NAL unit; [0052] The video coding device may activate an SPS or a PPS, for example, if the nuh_layer_id value of the activating SPS or PPS is less than or equal to the layer it activates. The value of the activating SPS or PPS nuh_layer_id may be unequal to the nuh_layer_id of the activated layer. The value of the activating SPS or PPS nuh_layer_id may be unequal to the value of the nuh_layer_id of one of the dependent layers of the activated layer, 504 and 510 of fig. 5, nuh_layer_id, id = 2), wherein the particular VCL NAL unit comprises a slice of the coded picture and a slice header containing data elements pertaining to the slice ([0051] a PPS may be activated by an NAL unit comprising a coded slice. The slice header of the coded slice may include a syntax element of slice_pic_parameter_set_id; wherein storing the bitstream for communication toward a decoder, a memory [0149-0150], 312 of fig. 3 and 402 of fig. 4),
wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream ([0057] and [0133] A video coding device may derive the output sub-bitstream as follows. When one or more of the following conditions may be true, a video coding device may remove SEI NAL units that may have nuh_layer_id equal to 0 and that may include a non-nested buffering period SEI message, a non-nested picture timing SEI message, or a non-nested decoding unit information SEI message. The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when the layerIdListTarget may not include the values of nuh_layer_id in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition). The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when a tIdTarget may be less than the greatest TemporalId in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition)).
It is noted that He does not teach wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture.
Wahadaniah teaches wherein the slice is associated with a picture header that contains syntax elements that apply to the slice of the coded picture, and wherein the picture header comprises a syntax element that specifies a PPS ID of the PPS in use for the coded picture (302, 322, 331, 332, 333, and 335 of fig. 8A, [0148-0157] a syntax diagram comprising a picture header 331, slice 335, PPS ID 333, the coded picture 132 and 303).
Taking the teachings of He and Wahadaniah together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syntax diagram in figure 8A of Wahadaniah into the coded bitstream of He to improve the coding efficiency of the parameters describing reference list construction.
It is noted that He and Wahadaniah do not teach wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS; wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters.
Paluri discloses wherein the slice header comprises a syntax element that specifies an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS [0011] According to an embodiment of this document, scaling list data may be signaled through an adaptation parameter set (APS), and APS identification information (APS ID) indicating the ID of the APS referenced for the scaling list data may be signaled through header information (picture header/slice header/tile group header, etc.); [0013] According to an embodiment of this document, APS ID number information indicating the number of IDs of APS related to the scaling list data may be signaled through header information, and identification information syntax elements of APS related to the scaling list data as many as the number of APS IDs may be signaled); wherein the picture header further comprises a picture header scaling list APS ID (phscalinglistapsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters ([0287] the image information may include header information. The header information may be header information related to a picture or a slice including the current block, and may include, for example, a picture header or a slice header. The header information may include APS ID information related to scaling list data referenced by a slice or a picture related to the header information. The APS ID information related to the scaling list data included in the header information may indicate ID information of the APS including the scaling list data; [0288] the header information may include APS ID information related to the scaling list data corresponding to the number of APS IDs derived based on the information on the number of APS IDs. The header information would obviously be treated as the picture header. It is noted that the picture header is taught by Wahadaniah, fig. 8, [0148-0157] a syntax diagram comprising a picture header 331, slice 335, PPS ID 333, the coded picture 132 and 303).
Taking the teachings of He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specified an adaptation parameter set (APS) identifier (ID) of an APS and the specified ID of an APS containing scaling list parameters of Paluri into the bitstream of He in view of Wahadaniah to reduce amount time during decoding process to improve encoding efficiency.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 14, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the video coding device of claims 1, 9, and 16. He further teaches wherein the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process that removes NAL units from the bitstream based on nuhlayerid value ([0052] the PPS or SPS NAL unit may be removed).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 15, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the method of claims 1 and 9. He further teaches wherein the set of VCL NAL units are part of a layer when the set of VCL NAL units all have a particular value of nuh layer id (fig. 5, [0058]).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 16, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the method of claims 6 and 14, He further teaches wherein the layer includes non-VCL NAL units that are associated with the set of VCL NAL units that all have a particular value of nuh layer id ([0058] A video coding device, such as a decoder, may retain non-VCL NAL units even though the nuh_layer_id of non_VLC NAL units may be excluded from layerIdListTarget).
Regarding claim 6, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the method of claim 1, He further teaches the computer program product further cause the video coding device to
receive (the decoder 406 of fig. 4, Decoder Layer 2 of fig. 1) a second bitstream comprising a second PPS in a second PPS NAL unit and a second coded picture comprising a second set of VCL NAL units, wherein a second VCL NAL unit refers to the second PPS NAL unit with a value of a nuhlayerid of the second PPS NAL unit is not less than or equal to a value of a nuhlayerid of the second VCL NAL unit (512, id = 3, of fig. 5, [0050 and 0052]); and
in response to the receiving, taking some other corrective measures to ensure that a conforming bitstream corresponding to the second bitstream is received prior to decoding the coded picture from the second set of VCL NAL units ([0052] If a mistake in bitstream extraction occurs, and a video coding device removes an SPS or PPS (e.g., an essential SPS or PPS) in bitstream extraction, then at least one of the layers in the resulting bitstream may not be decoded correctly due to a missing SPS and/or PPS. In the bitstream extraction process, a video coding device, such as a decoder, may parse each of the NAL units in the layers that the video coding device may want to preserve. The video coding device may ensure that SPS or PPS (e.g., necessary SPS or PPS) are not dropped, for example, by parsing each of the NAL units in the layers that the video coding device may want to preserve; [0110] To correctly decode the pictures of layer-63, a video coding device may have to correctly decode collocated pictures 708, 714, 716, 712 from layer-0 710 to layer 62 704).
Regarding claim 17, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
Regarding claim 18, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set ID (phlmcs_apsid) specifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
Regarding claim 19, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the encoder of claim 7, Paluri further teaches wherein the picture header further comprises a luma mapping with chroma scaling (LMCS) adaptation parameter set IDspecifying an ID of an APS containing LMCS parameters ([0071], [0087], [0216] and [0218], [0223] and [0224]).
Claims 2, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20150103886 A1) in view of Wahadaniah et al. (US 20130070841 A1) and Paluri et al. (US 20220217404 A1) as applied to claims 1, 7, and 12, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220210478 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 13, He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri teach the video coding device of claims 1, 7, and 12. Paluri further teaches wherein the bitstream further comprises the APS in an APS NAL unit ([0241] the TemporalId of the SCALING DATA APS NAL unit having adaptation_parameter_set_id equal to slice_scaling_list_aps_id shall be less than or equal to the TemporalId of the coded slice NAL unit).
It is noted that He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri do not teach wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuhlayerid of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuhlayerid of the particular VCL NAL unit.
Zhang teaches wherein the particular VCL NAL unit does not refer to the APS NAL unit unless a value of a nuhlayerid of the APS NAL unit is less than or equal to the value of the nuhlayerid of the particular VCL NAL unit ([0077] Let aspLayerId be the nuh_layer_id of an APS NAL unit. If the layer with nuh_layer_id equal to aspLayerId is an independent layer (i.e., vps_independent_layer_flag[GeneralLayerIdx[aspLayerId]] is equal to 1), the APS NAL unit containing the APS RBSP shall have nuh_layer_id equal to the nuh_layer_id of a coded slice NAL unit that refers it. Otherwise, the APS NAL unit containing the APS RBSP shall have nuh_layer_id either equal to the nuh_layer_id of a coded slice NAL unit that refers it, or equal to the nuh_layer_id of a direct dependent layer of the layer containing a coded slice NAL unit that refers it).
Taking the teachings of He, Wahadaniah, Paluri, and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the APS NAL unit of Zhang into the bitstream of He in view of Paluri and Wahadaniah to improve compression performance. Doing so would allow the coding apparatus may reduce the average bitrate of video from the input to the output of the coding apparatus to produce a coded representation of the video.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that the independent claims have been amended to include an additional limitation. The Applicant believes this amendment renders the nonstatutory double patenting rejection moot and requests that all such rejections be withdrawn.
The amended limitations of independent claims are rejected by He in combination with the patent and Pluri as stated above. Therefore, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
The applicant argues that the United States Supreme Court in Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City noted that an obviousness determination begins with a finding that "the prior art as a whole in one form or another contains all" of the elements of the claimed invention. See Graham v. John Deere Co. of Kansas City, 383 U.S. 1, 22 (U.S. 1966). The Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited prior art fails to disclose all of the limitations set forth in claims 1, 7, and 12, and consequently does not render obvious claims 1-19. The combination of He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri fails to render obvious claims 1-16 because the combination of He, Wahadaniah, and Paluri fails to disclose a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (TemporalId), are removed from the bitstream.
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted that He teaches the bitstream is a result of a sub-bitstream extraction process by which NAL units that are not included in a target set, determined by a target output layer set (OLS) index and a target highest temporal identifier (Temporalld), are removed from the bitstream ([0057] and [0133] A video coding device may derive the output sub-bitstream as follows. When one or more of the following conditions may be true, a video coding device may remove SEI NAL units that may have nuh_layer_id equal to 0 and that may include a non-nested buffering period SEI message, a non-nested picture timing SEI message, or a non-nested decoding unit information SEI message. The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when the layerIdListTarget may not include the values of nuh_layer_id in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition). The video coding device may remove SEI NAL units when a tIdTarget may be less than the greatest TemporalId in the NAL units in the bitstream (e.g., in a condition)).
The applicant further argues that He’s sub-bitstream extraction does not use a target OLS index in paragraph [0052]).
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted He teaches sub-bitstream extractions in variants, in particularly, paragraphs [0058] and [0133], that use a target layer identifier list layerIdListTarget as a target output layer set (OLS) index (Note: paragraph [00140] of the specification discloses “An OLS includes a specified set of layers, where one or more layers in the set of layers are specified to be output layers”).
The applicant further argues that He’s sub-bitstream extraction does not use a target OLS index to create a target set for removal from the bitstream.
The examiner strongly disagrees with the applicant. It is submitted that He teaches sub-bitstream extraction uses a target OLS index to create a target set for removal from the bitstream ([0057] and [0133]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TSUKUBA et al. (US 20170006300 A1) discloses bit stream extraction process: a bit stream extraction process is a process that removes (discards) NAL units that are not contained in a set (called a target set TargetSet) defined by the target highest temporal identifier (highestTid) and a layer ID list LayerIdList[ ] indicating layers contained in the target layer set, from a certain bit stream (hierarchically coded data, coded data), and extracts a bit stream including NAL units contained in the target set TargetSet. The bit stream extraction is also called sub-bit-stream extraction.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425