DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the refractive index” in the last clause. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-14 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. of Tianjin Ofilm Opto Electronics Co., Ltd. (CN 211627919), translation provided herewith, hereinafter “Tianjin”, in view of Hsu et al. (US 2019/0271831), each of record in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Tianjin discloses an optical imaging system (Figs. 1-21) comprising:
a first lens (L1) having a negative refractive power (para. [0009]);
a second lens (L2) having refractive power;
a third lens (L3) having a refractive power;
a fourth lens (L4) having refractive power;
a fifth lens (L5) having refractive power;
a sixth lens (L6) having refractive power; and
a seventh lens (L7) having refractive power,
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side (Figs. 1-21),
wherein the third lens (L3) is comprised of glass (para. [0090]), and
wherein 0.2 < DTnF/DTnR < 0.6, where DTnF is a sum of DTn values of the first lens and the second lens, in which ΣDTni (i=1, 2), DTnR is a sum of DTn values of the third to seventh lenses, in which ΣDTni (i=3, 4, . . . , 7), and DTni is a rate (dni/dT) of change of the refractive index according to a temperature of the i-th lens (paras. [0136-0142, 0250, 0253]).
Tianjin fails to explicitly disclose the third lens having a positive refractive power.
However, Hsu discloses an optical imaging system (Figs. 1-17) comprising a third lens (130) having a positive refractive power (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the third lens having a positive refractive power, as in Hsu, into the optical imaging system of Tianjin for balancing the refractive power on the object side (Hsu, para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Tianjin discloses wherein |Pnu|[10−6 °C−1 mm−1] ≤ 30, where Pnu is ΣPnui in which i=1, 2, . . . , 7, Pnui is 1/(vti∙fi), vti is [DTni/(ni−1) − CTEi] −1, fi is an effective focal length of an i-th lens, ni is a refractive index of the i-th lens, and CTEi is a thermal expansion coefficient of the i-th lens (paras. [0105, 0136-0142, 0163, 0170, 0250, 0253]; Tables).
Regarding claim 3, Tianjin discloses wherein |Pnu3/Pnu| < 0.2 (paras. [0105, 0136-0142, 0163, 0170, 0250, 0253]; Tables).
Regarding claim 4, Tianjin discloses wherein 0.4 ≤ f/f3, where f is an effective focal length of the optical imaging system, and f3 is an effective focal length of the third lens (paras. [0105, 0136-0142, 0163, 0170, 0250, 0253]; Tables).
Regarding claim 5, Tianjin discloses wherein the first lens (L1) is comprised of glass (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Tianjin discloses wherein the second lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, the sixth lens, and the seventh lens are comprised of plastic (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 7, Tianjin discloses wherein −2.0 < Σ1/(DTni∙fi)[104 °C mm−1] < 20.0, where fi is an effective focal length of an i-th lens (i=1, 2, . . . , 7) (paras. [0105, 0136-0142, 0163, 0170, 0250, 0253]; Tables).
Regarding claim 8, Tianjin discloses wherein −620 < DTnT[10−6 °C−1] < −450, where DTnT is a sum of DTn values of the first to seventh lenses, in which ΣDTni (i=1, 2, . . . , 7) (paras. [0099, 0105, 0250]; Tables).
Regarding claim 9, Tianjin discloses wherein −220 < DTnF[10−6 °C−1] < −100 (paras. [0099, 0105, 0250]; Tables).
Regarding claim 10, Tianjin discloses wherein −400 < DTnR[10−6 °C−1] < −300 (paras. [0099, 0105, 0250]; Tables).
Regarding claim 11, Tianjin discloses wherein the fourth lens (L4) has a positive refractive power, and the sixth lens (L6) has a positive refractive power (paras. [0178, 0198]).
Tianjin fails to explicitly disclose the fifth lens has a negative refractive power.
However, Hsu discloses wherein the fifth lens (150) has a negative refractive power (para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the fifth lens has a negative refractive power, as in Hsu, into the optical imaging system of Tianjin for correcting chromatic aberration (Hsu, para. [0038])
Regarding claim 12, Tianjin discloses an aperture stop (STO) disposed between the second lens (L2) and the third lens (L3) (Fig. 1).
Tianjin does not necessarily disclose wherein a lens closest to the aperture stop is the third lens.
However, Hsu discloses wherein a lens closest to the aperture stop (100) is the third lens (130) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein a lens closest to the aperture stop is the third lens, as in Hsu, into the optical imaging system of Tianjin for enlarging the field of view (Hsu, para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Tianjin discloses wherein the first lens (L1) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figs. 13, 17).
Regarding claim 14, Tianjin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
However, Hsu discloses wherein the third lens (130) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Fig. 1; para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, as in Hsu, into the optical imaging system of Tianjin for moderating the incident light of a large angle of view (Hsu, para. [0037]).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871