DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garlock et al. in view of Thoma et al. (US 2014/0314346).
Regarding claims 1, 24 and 25, Garlock et al. discloses a packing ring 100 Fig. 1A for a fluid valve comprising: a top layer 102 and a bottom layer 104, both the top layer and the bottom layer comprising a flexible graphite and one or more mid-layers 106 comprising a membrane material or the flexible graphite material and the membrane material; wherein the one or more mid-layers are disposed between the top layer and the bottom layer; wherein respective one or more mid-layers are disposed parallel to an adjoining layer; wherein the one or more mid-layers, top layer, and bottom layer are bonded together forming a cylindrical shape; and wherein the cylindrical shape comprises an open center, wherein the open center extends through the formed cylindrical shape, and has an axis perpendicular to the one or more mid-layers, top layer, and bottom layer. However, Garlock et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the membrane material is at least one of indium, aluminum, bismuth, gold, platinum, silver, copper, polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polybenzimidazole (PBI),polyetherimide (PEI), Polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and a silicone. Thoma et al., a packing ring assembly 120 Fig. 3, discloses the use of a flexible graphite material and the membrane material for the packing ring, where the membrane material is polyetheretherketone (PEEK). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the packing ring material of Garlock et al. to include a material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) as taught by Thoma et al. in order to provide properties such as, elevated temperature resistance, chemical compatibility, low permeability, high ductility, low softening point or low melting point, and non-toxic. (Para. 0030 of Thoma et al.)
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses the respective one or more mid-layers 106 comprise alternating layers of the flexible graphite material and the membrane material.
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein the respective one or more mid-layers 106 comprises one layer of membrane material.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the respective mid-layers 106 comprises two layers of membrane material and one layer of flexible graphite material, wherein the flexible graphite material is oriented perpendicular to the axis of the cylindrical shape Fig. 1A.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein the one or more mid-layers 106 and/or the top layer 102 and/or the bottom layer 104 are comprised of a combination of the flexible graphite material and the membrane material that are fused together by a heat treatment (Col. 7, Ln. 26), wherein the flexible graphite material is oriented perpendicular to the axis or the cylindrical shape Fig. 1A.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the open center is fixed to operably dispose the respective layers in contact with a target valve stem in a valve body stuffing box, and form a clearance or interference fit between the valve stem and the stuffing box (Col. 6, Ln. 22-39).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses further comprising a first end ring 108 and a second end ring 110, the first end ring disposed on top of the top layer 02, and the second end ring disposed below the bottom layer 104.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses wherein the first end ring 108 and the second end ring 110 comprise a flexible graphite material knitted over with metal alloy wire jacketing (Col. 5, Ln. 29-43).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses wherein the first end ring 108 and second end ring 110 comprise die formed anti-galling material (Col. 11, Ln. 61-63).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses wherein the first end ring 108 and second end ring 110 are comprised of a die molded packing ring with formed metal foil cap anti-extrusion device (Col. 11, Ln. 64-66).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the combination discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the material selection of a non-flexible carbon for the first and second end rings. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses wherein the clearance of the fit between the bonded one or more mid-layers 106, top layer 102, and bottom layer 104 and the stuffing box is about 0.005 inches.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses wherein the graphite material comprises a corrosion-inhibited graphite material, and comprises a height/width of about 0.015 inches (Col.12, Ln. 6-8).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the dimensions of the membrane material. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses wherein the mid layers 106 comprise 3-40% membrane by weight.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses a sealing system Fig. 1A for a fluid valve comprising: a packing ring comprising one or more mid-layers 106, respective mid-layers comprising a flexible corrosion-inhibited graphite material and a membrane material (PEEK of Thoma et al.), a top layer 102 and a bottom layer 104, both the top layer and the bottom layer comprising the flexible graphite material, wherein the one or more mid-layers are disposed between the top layer and the bottom layer, and the mid-layers comprise alternating layers of the flexible graphite material and the membrane material, wherein respective layers are disposed parallel to an adjoining layer, wherein the packing ring is cylindrical in shape Fig. 1A with an open center, the open center extending through the one or more mid-layers, top layer, and bottom layer, and having an axis perpendicular to the one or more mid-layers, top layer, and bottom layer; and a valve stem, wherein the valve stem extends through the open center and the packing ring forms an interference fit between the valve stem and a stuffing box in which the valve stem is disposed (Col. 2, Ln. 10-26).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses wherein the valve stem is about 1 inch in diameter, and a fitment between the packing ring and the stuffing box is about 0.5% of the diameter of a stem interference to 1.5% of the diameter of a stem clearance, or is about 0.005 inches interference to about 0.015 inches clearance (Col. 12, Ln. 34-40).
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses wherein the packing ring 100 further comprises a first end ring 108 and a second end ring 110, the first end ring disposed on top of the packing ring and the second end ring disposed on bottom of the packing ring.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses wherein the first end ring 108 and the second end ring 110 comprise one of: a flexible graphite material knitted over with a metal alloy wire jacketing: a non-flexible carbon bushing; or a carbon fiber ring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20, 24 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675