Priority
This application is a Continuation of application No. 15559227 filed 09/18/2017, 15559227 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2016/022840, International Filing Date: 03/17/2016, PCT/US2016/022840 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62137886, filed 03/25/2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 4/9/2025 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 form.
Claim Status
Claims 18-37 are currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18, 28, 33 requires a maleated oil derived from renewable feedstock resources in an ene reaction with an alpha, beta unsaturated carboxylic acid or anhydride. The scope of alpha, beta unsaturated carboxylic acids (genus) includes acids such as acrylic acid. It is unclear how a maleated oil can be formed when the carboxylic acid used is acrylic acid because reaction between an acrylic acid and the oil would result in an acrylated oil and not a maleated oil. Maleated oil can only form from maleic acid or an anhydride thereof and since alpha, beta unsaturated carboxylic acids (genus) also includes acids such as acrylic acid, the scope of the claim becomes unclear.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the pest”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Thus, it is unclear as to which component of claim 18 the recitation “the pest” is referring to.
Claim 33 recites the limitation “the pesticide or mixture of pesticides”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Thus, it is unclear as to which component of claim 33 the recitation “the pesticide or mixture of pesticides” is referring to.
Claim 36 recites wherein the method further comprises reacting the maleated oil with the compound. Firstly, claim 33 already requires a maleated compound is obtained from the reaction of maleated oil and a compound comprising at least one polyethermine. Thus, it is unclear as to how the method further comprises reacting the maleated oil with the compound. Further, it is unclear which compound is further reacted with the maleated oil. Is it the already maleated compound or is it the compound comprising at least one polyethermine (e.g. non-maleated compound)?
Claims 19-22, 24-27, 29-32, 34-35, 37 are included in the rejection as they depend on a rejected base claim and do not clarify the issues discussed above.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 36 recites wherein the method further comprises reacting the maleated oil with the compound. Independent claim 33 already requires a maleated compound is obtained from the reaction of maleated oil and a compound comprising at least one polyethermine. Therefore, claim 36 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US20100113275A1) in view of Lange et al. (US 2009/0209441 A1; Aug. 20, 2009) and Johnson et al. (WO 2009/006527 A1; Jan. 8, 2009). (All references cited in IDS filed on 4/9/2025).
Qin throughout the reference teaches controlling spray drift of pesticides with self-emulsifiable esters. Qin teaches a method to reduce spray drift during the application of a pesticide (which would necessarily come in contact with a pest) which comprises incorporating into the pesticidal spray from about 0.01 to about 5 percent vol/vol of a self-emulsifiable ester or mixture thereof. The pesticide includes herbicide, insecticide and fungicide. Qin teaches a premix formulation which comprises from about 1 to about 90 weight percent of a pesticide and from about 0.05 to about 30 weight percent of a self-emulsifiable ester. The premix formulation can be a solution or wettable powder (i.e. concentrate). Qin teaches the formulations also comprising water (i.e. auxiliary component). (see e.g. Title; Abstract; Claims; Summary of Invention; Examples; Entire Document).
Regarding the adjuvant composition recited in the instant claims, Qin teaches the self-emulsifiable esters used in the invention can include succinate triglyceride oil derived from maleating triglyceride oil from a plant or land animal (see, for example, WO 2005/071050 A1) commercially available as the trademark VEG-ESTER products of Lubrizol, Inc. (para 0008 of Qin). WO 2005/071050 A1 is a WIPO publication of Lange et al. (US 2009/0209441 A1).
Lange et al. teaches a succinated triglyceride oil derived from maleating triglyceride oil from a plant or land animal (abstract). As an emulsifier, this succinated triglyceride is optionally further reacted with polyamines to form a modified emulsifier (abstract and paragraph 10). Lange et al. specifically teaches reacting maleic anhydride with the triglyceride oil in a ratio where the maleic anhydride is added in excess of a 1:1 molar ratio as excess/unreacted maleic anhydride is removed after the triglyceride oil has been maleated (paragraph 17-24). Furthermore, Lange et al. specifically teaches adding up to 2.5 moles of anhydride to mole of triglyceride oil (paragraph 29). The combination of vegetable or animal triglycerides and a functionalized vegetable or land animal triglyceride oil offers low foaming tendencies, good lubricity, low toxicity (paragraph 9). The reference also teaches the triglyceride oils Includes triglycerides such as soybean oil ("SYBO") (paragraph 26). Further, Lange et al. teaches the reaction product of maleic anhydride and a triglyceride oil is made by the thermal condensation of maleic anhydride or other unsaturated carboxylic acid capable of undergoing either “Ene” or “Diels-Alder” adduction to the unsaturated sites in vegetable oils. Lange also teaches polyetheramines (polyamines) such as the commercial "Jeffamines" from Huntsman, or those from Tomah, can produce water-dispersible amidic acid and imide derivatives (paragraph 36 and claim 4).
With regards to instant claim 26, the instant specification in paragraph 0023 state examples of fatty acid esters include alkyl esters of vegetable oils such as methyl ester of soybean oil and as discussed supra, the reference teaches soybean oil. Lange et al. discloses water being added in the composition (Abstract; Claims), which also reads on the auxiliary component in the instant claims.
Lange et al. teaches the adjuvant composition as discussed above, but does not teach a specific embodiment in which the oil is soybean oil and wherein the molar ratio of the maleated oil to a compound comprising polyetheramine is greater than 1.1:1., as recited in the instant claims. The teachings of Johnson et al. help to cure this deficiency.
Johnson et al. teaches a process of forming emulsifiers that involves providing maleated fatty acids and reacting with polyamines, such as the polyetheramine "JEFFAMINE" from Huntsman to provide the emulsifier (see entire document, especially abstract, para [001 0], [0020]-[0021 ]). Johnson et al. specifically teach that the maleated fatty acids should be provided in a molar excess to the polyamine such as a ratio of 2:1, which falls within the range claimed (para [0089]-[0100]). The motivation for including a molar excess of maleated fatty acids is to ensure that cross-linking of the maleated fatty acids is accomplished to build up molecular weight without leading to an excessive viscosity increase (para [0098]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present invention was filed to combine the teachings of Qin, Lange and Johnson and include the succinate triglyceride oil derived from maleating triglyceride oil from a plant or land animal as taught by Lange into the formulation of Qin because Qin teaches the formulation comprises self-emulsifiable ester and Qin specifically teaches the self-emulsifiable esters used in the invention can include succinate triglyceride oil derived from maleating triglyceride oil from a plant or land animal (see, for example, WO 2005/071050 A1) commercially available as the trademark VEG-ESTER products of Lubrizol, Inc. (para 0008 of Qin). WO 2005/071050 A1 is a WIPO publication of Lange et al. (US 2009/0209441 A1). Qin teaches the self-emulsifiable ester of Lange as being suitable for use in the formulation of Qin and therefore, the use of the self-emulsifiable ester taught by Lange in the formulation of Qin would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present invention was filed to combine the teachings of Qin, Lange and Johnson as all the references are directed to use of emulsifiers/dispersants formed from maleated oils. It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the maleated oil of Lange et al. in combination with the polyetheramine, such as the Jeffamines, in molar excess, such as 2:1 based upon the teachings of Johnson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to cross-link the maleated oil without increasing viscosity to an undesirable level and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. It further would have been obvious to select soybean oil and thus produce the instantly claimed invention since soybean oil is one of the suitable vegetable or animal triglycerides taught by Lange et al. Selection of a suitable oil from those already taught in the prior art is prima facie obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding the claimed limitations wherein the adjuvant composition is configured to enhance the bioactivity of the pesticide to achieve at least 60% control of pest; wherein at least 80% control of the pest is achieved in no greater than 30 days after application of the agrochemical formulation; wherein the contacting is configured to at least one of kill, inhibit, and repel the pest; and wherein combining the pesticide with the adjuvant composition is configured to enhance the bioactivity of the pesticide to achieve at least 60% control of the pest; these limitations are intended uses of the formulation claimed and would necessarily occur as the combination of the cited prior art teaches the same formulation recited in the instant claims.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US20100113275A1) in view of Lange et al. (US 2009/0209441 A1; Aug. 20, 2009) and Johnson et al. (WO 2009/006527 A1; Jan. 8, 2009) as applied to claims 18-19, 21-37 above and further in view of Huntsmansss (The JEFFAMINE® Polyetheramines: 2007) (cited in IDS filed on 4/9/2025).
The teachings of the above references have been set forth above.
The above references do not specifically teach the polyetheramines are polyether monoamines. This deficiency is cured by Huntsman. The Huntsman product brochure for the Jeffamines Polyetheramines teaches polyether monoamines (bottom of first column and table on the third page). The wide range of molecular weight, amine functionality, repeating unit type, and distribution can provide flexibility in the design of new compounds or mixtures (first paragraph). Historically, the JEFFAMINE polyetheramine family consisted of monoamines, diamines, and triamines based on this core structure (first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present invention was filed to select one of the Jeffamine® polyetheramines available from Huntsman and thus produce the instantly claimed invention since Jeffamine polyetheramines are specifically taught by Lange et al. in paragraph 36. Selection of a suitable polyetheramine from commercially available polyetheramines is prima facie obvious and within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art particularly since Lange et al. and Johnson et al. already teach that the Jeffamine polyetheramines are suitable. Furthermore, the Huntsman product brochure teaches the wide range of molecular weight, amine functionality, repeating unit type, and distribution can provide flexibility in the design of new compounds or mixtures (first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize the selection of polyetheramine. One would optimize the selection of polyetheramine which reacts with the maleated oil to produce an effective emulsifier.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ALI S SAEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1616