DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because Fig. 2 has written portions that are illegible. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: [0025], air gap 22. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0025] has air gap 22 which is not shown in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roziere (US 2014/0360854) in view of Serban et al. (US 2008/0202251, hereinafter “Serban”). Regarding claim 1, Roziere discloses a touch-sensitive screen arrangement, comprising (Fig. 1, [0001, 0003], touch-sensitive screens that detect a user touch from finger 1): a substrate configured to be touched by and elastically deformed or deflected by a finger of a human user (Fig. 1, [0058], substrate 2 deformed by pressure from finger 1); a first capacitive sensor positioned relative to the substrate such that the first capacitive sensor can detect the substrate being touched by the finger, the first capacitive sensor being configured to be elastically deformed by the finger of the human user touching the substrate (Fig. 1, [0052, 0058], first capacitive sensor is first electrodes 5 on face of substrate 2 to detect finger touch or contact with the substrate, the first capacitive sensor 5 being elastically deformed by the finger 1 of the human user touching the substrate 2); and a second capacitive sensor positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor (Fig. 1, [0055], second electrodes 6 as a second capacitive sensor). Roziere does not explicitly disclose the second capacitive sensor positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger. Serban teaches a capacitive pressure sensor that has the second capacitive sensor positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger (Fig. 4, the second capacitive sensor 22 positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor 20 such that the second capacitive sensor 22 can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor 20 and the second capacitive sensor 22 due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor 20 that results from the substrate 12 being touched by the finger 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch-sensitive screen of Roziere to have the second capacitive sensor positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger, such as taught by Serban, because such a modification is a simple substitution of one type of pressure detection for another producing a predictable result of detecting touch pressure on an upper surface of the touch sensitive screen.
Regarding claim 4, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the arrangement of claim 1 wherein the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor results in the first capacitive sensor being moved closer to the second capacitive sensor (Serban, Fig. 4, [0029], elastic deformation of first capacitive sensor 20 results in the first capacitive sensor 20 being moved closer to the second capacitive sensor 22). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the arrangement of claim 1 further comprising: a fixed support panel supporting the second capacitive sensor (Roziere, Fig. 1, [0050], display screen or command interface 3 as a fixed support panel); and one or more springs interconnecting the substrate and the fixed support panel (Roziere, [0049], springs 4 connect the substrate 2 and fixed support panel 3).
Regarding claim 6, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the arrangement of claim 5 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to an elastic deformation of at least one of the springs. However, Serban teaches detecting capacitance changes between electrodes 6 and fixed support plate 3 using springs (Serban, [0055, 0059, 0064], capacitance data between electrode 6 and command interface 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch-sensitive screen of Roziere as modified by Serban to provide springs in place of spacers 16 of Serban and have wherein the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to an elastic deformation of at least one of the springs, such as further taught by Serban, for the purpose of providing a touch-sensitive screen that can be reformed as a planar surface more quickly based on the return spring action when pressure is released by the finger.
Regarding claim 7, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the arrangement of claim 1 wherein the first capacitive sensor includes a plurality of electrically conductive pads (Roziere, Fig. 1, [0052, 0057], first electrodes 5 as a plurality of conductive pads formed of ITO).
Regarding claim 8, Roziere discloses a method of detecting a user touching a touch-sensitive screen, the method comprising (Fig. 1, [0001, 0003], touch-sensitive screens that detect a user touch from finger 1): providing a substrate that is elastically deformed or deflected when touched by a finger of a human user (Fig. 1, [0058], substrate 2 deformed by pressure from finger 1); positioning a first capacitive sensor relative to the substrate such that the first capacitive sensor detects the substrate being touched by the finger, the first capacitive sensor being elastically deformed by the finger of the human user touching the substrate (Fig. 1, [0052, 0058], first capacitive sensor is first electrodes 5 on face of substrate 2 to detect finger touch or contact with the substrate, the first capacitive sensor 5 being elastically deformed by the finger 1 of the human user touching the substrate 2); and positioning a second capacitive sensor relative to the first capacitive sensor (Fig. 1, [0055], second electrodes 6 as a second capacitive sensor). Roziere does not explicitly disclose positioning a second capacitive sensor relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor detects a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger. Serban teaches a capacitive pressure sensor that has the second capacitive sensor positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger (Fig. 4, the second capacitive sensor 22 positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor 20 such that the second capacitive sensor 22 can detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor 20 and the second capacitive sensor 22 due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor 20 that results from the substrate 12 being touched by the finger 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roziere to have positioning a second capacitive sensor relative to the first capacitive sensor such that the second capacitive sensor detects a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to the elastic deformation of the first capacitive sensor that results from the substrate being touched by the finger, such as taught by Serban, because such a modification is a simple substitution of one type of pressure detection for another producing a predictable result of detecting touch pressure on an upper surface of the touch sensitive screen.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roziere in view of Shih et al. (US 2015/0062079, hereinafter “Shih”). Regarding claim 15, Roziere discloses a method of detecting a user touching a touch-sensitive screen, the method comprising (Fig. 1, [0001, 0003], touch-sensitive screens that detect a user touch from finger 1): providing a user-facing substrate on the touch-sensitive screen (Fig. 1, [0050, 0058], substrate 2 deformed by pressure from finger 1 is a user-facing substrate on touch-sensitive screen having display 3); detecting the substrate being touched by a finger of the user, the detecting being performed by use of the first capacitive sensor (Fig. 1, [0050, 0058], substrate 2 deformed by pressure from finger 1 by first electrodes 5 as a first capacitive sensor). Roziere does not explicitly disclose applying a first voltage to a first capacitive sensor; detecting the substrate being touched by a finger of the user, the detecting being performed by use of the first capacitive sensor while the first voltage is being applied to the first capacitive sensor; in response to the detecting step, electrically grounding the first capacitive sensor and applying a second voltage to a second capacitive sensor; and detecting the substrate being touched by the finger, the detecting being performed by use of the second capacitive sensor while the first capacitive sensor is electrically grounded and while the second voltage is being applied to the second capacitive sensor. Shih discloses detecting pressure and capacitance values between first capacitive electrodes changing distance with second capacitive electrodes by driving each of the driving and sensing electrodes individually while other driving and sensing electrodes are grounded (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], fourth decision box). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch-sensitive screen of Roziere to have detecting pressure and capacitance values between first capacitive electrodes changing distance with second capacitive electrodes by driving each of the driving and sensing electrodes individually while other driving and sensing electrodes are grounded, such as taught by Shih, for the purpose of detecting specific individual capacitances at each of the pads while shielding from noise by grounding other conductive elements. The modified method would include: applying a first voltage to a first capacitive sensor (driving voltage applied to each first electrode 5 of Roziere); detecting the substrate being touched by a finger of the user, the detecting being performed by use of the first capacitive sensor while the first voltage is being applied to the first capacitive sensor (driving voltage applied to each first electrode 5 of Roziere including where finger 1 touches results in detection of finger while first voltage is applied); in response to the detecting step, electrically grounding the first capacitive sensor and applying a second voltage to a second capacitive sensor (driving voltage applied to each second electrode 6 of Roziere while first electrodes 5 are grounded when finger is detected by first electrode 5); and detecting the substrate being touched by the finger, the detecting being performed by use of the second capacitive sensor while the first capacitive sensor is electrically grounded and while the second voltage is being applied to the second capacitive sensor (driving voltage applied to second electrode 6 of Roziere where the finger 1 touches is detected by second electrode 6 while first electrodes 5 are grounded when finger is detected by second electrode 6). Regarding claim 16, Roziere as modified by Shih discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the second capacitive sensor detects the substrate being touched by the finger due to the finger pushing the first capacitive sensor closer to the second capacitive sensor (driving voltage applied to second electrode 6 of Roziere where the finger 1 touches is detected by second electrode 6 while first electrodes 5 are grounded and deformed (Roziere, [0058]) when finger is detected by second electrode 6). Regarding claim 17, Roziere as modified by Shih discloses the method of claim 16 wherein the first capacitive sensor is moved closer to the second capacitive sensor due to the substrate and first capacitive sensor being elastically deformed when the substrate is touched by the finger of the human user (driving voltage applied to second electrode 6 of Roziere where the finger 1 touches is detected by second electrode 6 while first electrodes 5 are grounded and deformed (Roziere, [0058]) when finger is detected by second electrode 6).
Regarding claim 18, Roziere as modified by Shih discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
providing a fixed support panel supporting the second capacitive sensor (Roziere, Fig. 1, [0050], display screen or command interface 3 as a fixed support panel); and providing one or more springs interconnecting the substrate and the fixed support panel (Roziere, [0049], springs 4 connect the substrate 2 and fixed support panel 3). Regarding claim 19, Roziere as modified by Shih discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising using the second capacitive sensor to detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to an elastic deformation (Roziere, Fig. 1, [0058], first capacitive sensor 5 moves toward second capacitive sensor 6 due to elastic deformation; Shih, driving voltage applied to second electrode 6 of Roziere where the finger 1 touches is detected by second electrode 6 while first electrodes 5 are grounded and deformed when finger is detected by second electrode 6). Roziere as modified by Shih does not explicitly disclose using the second capacitive sensor to detect a change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor due to an elastic deformation of at least one of the springs. However, Roziere further teaches to measure capacitance differences between different electrode layers using springs (Fig. 1, [0049, 0053, and 0055], springs 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roziere as modified by Shih to have springs between first capacitive electrodes and the second capacitive electrodes, as further taught by Roziere, for the purpose of providing a touch-sensitive screen that can be reformed as a planar surface more quickly based on the return spring action when pressure is released by the finger. Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roziere in view of Serban as applied to claims 1, 4-8, and 11-14, and further in view of Shih. Regarding claim 2, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the arrangement of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor to detect the change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor while at least a portion of the first capacitive sensor is grounded. Shih discloses detecting pressure and capacitance values between first capacitive electrodes changing distance with second capacitive electrodes by driving each of the driving and sensing electrodes individually while other driving and sensing electrodes are grounded (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], fourth decision box). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch-sensitive screen of Roziere as modified by Serban to have wherein the second capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor to detect the change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor while at least a portion of the first capacitive sensor is grounded, for the purpose of detecting specific individual capacitances at each of the pads while shielding from noise by grounding other conductive elements.
Regarding claim 3, Roziere as modified by Serban and Shih discloses the arrangement of claim 2 wherein the first capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the substrate to detect the change in capacitance associated with the first capacitive sensor while the first capacitive sensor has a voltage applied thereto (Shih, Fig. 4, [0040-0041], fourth decision box, first capacitive sensor is driven resulting in a voltage being applied to the first capacitive sensor to detect changes in capacitances associated with the first capacitive sensor). The motivation is the same as in claim 2. Regarding claim 9, Roziere as modified by Serban discloses the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor to detect the change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor while the first capacitive sensor is grounded and the second capacitive sensor has a voltage applied thereto.
Shih discloses detecting pressure and capacitance values between first capacitive electrodes changing distance with second capacitive electrodes by driving each of the driving and sensing electrodes individually while other driving and sensing electrodes are grounded (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], fourth decision box). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roziere as modified by Serban to have wherein the second capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the first capacitive sensor to detect the change in capacitance between the first capacitive sensor and the second capacitive sensor while the first capacitive sensor is grounded and the second capacitive sensor has a voltage applied thereto, such as taught by Shih, for the purpose of detecting specific individual capacitances at each of the pads while shielding from noise by grounding other conductive elements. Regarding claim 10, Roziere as modified by Serban and Shih discloses the method of claim 9 wherein the first capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the substrate to detect the change in capacitance associated with the first capacitive sensor while the second capacitive sensor has a voltage applied thereto (Shih, Fig. 4, [0040-0041], fourth decision box, second capacitive sensor is driven with a voltage while first capacitive sensor is grounded such that the first capacitive sensor is positioned relative to the substrate to detect the change in capacitance associated with the first capacitive sensor).
Conclusion
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622 /PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622