DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application 18/935,106 filed on 6/13/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
The examined notes the IDS filed on 1/22/2025 has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,164,604. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,164,604:
Regarding claim 1, The examiner notes that claim 10 of U.S. patent No. 12,164,604 anticipates, more specifically: A method, comprising: sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API), a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising an identifier specifying selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes; receiving, based on the identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme in the first DRM request, and via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the first DRM request; sending, via the scheme-agnostic API, a second DRM request comprising an identifier of a second DRM scheme and different from the first DRM scheme; and receiving, via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the second DRM request.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1 of the Instant Application.
Regarding claim 6, the examiner notes that claim 1 of U.S. patent No. 12,164,604 anticipates, more specifically: A method comprising: receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API), a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising an identifier specifying selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes; sending, based on the identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme, via a first scheme-specific API corresponding to the first DRM scheme, a first scheme-specific request; receiving, via the first scheme-specific API, a response to the first scheme-specific request; and sending, based on the response to the first scheme-specific request, via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the first DRM request.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 6 of the Instant Application.
Regarding claim 16; The examiner notes that claim 17 of U.S. patent No. 12,164,604 anticipates, more specifically: A method comprising: sending, via a first scheme-specific application program interface (API) corresponding to a first digital rights management (DRM) scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes, based on a first DRM request received via a scheme-agnostic API, a first scheme-specific request, wherein the first DRM request comprises a first DRM identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme of the plurality of DRM schemes; sending, via the scheme-agnostic API, based on a response to the first scheme-specific request, a response to the first DRM request; sending, via a second scheme-specific API corresponding to a second DRM scheme different from the first DRM scheme, based on a second DRM request received via the scheme-agnostic API, a second scheme-specific request; and sending, via the scheme-agnostic API, based on a response to the second scheme-specific request, a response to the second DRM request.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 16 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain et al. (US 2018/0309762 A1) in view of Lockhart et al. (US 6,944,776 B1) and Morlang (US 2003/0182576 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Hussain discloses a method comprising:
sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program [...], a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising [a] selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes ([0025] - In an aspect, a method might comprise receiving, with an entitlement gateway, with an entitlement gateway, a query from a client device for a user to access media content that is protected by digital rights management (“DRM”) technology... The method might also comprise, based on a determination that the user is authorized to access the requested DRM-protected media content, identifying, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM types, a DRM type that is used to protect the requested DRM-protected media content, the entitlement gateway being agnostic to DRM types, based on the identified DRM type, determining, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM servers each associated with a particular DRM type and [0075]); and
receiving, based on a response to a first scheme-specific request sent via a first scheme- specific [application program] based on [a] selection of the first DRM scheme, via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the first DRM request ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content and [0075]).
Hussain fails to explicitly disclose
sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API), a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising an identifier specifying selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes; and
receiving, based on a response to a first scheme-specific request sent via a first scheme- specific API based on the identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme, via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the first DRM request. (emphasis added).
However, in an analogous art, Lockhart teaches sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API) (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging), ... and receiving, ...via a first scheme-specific API..., ....via the scheme-agnostic API (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 27-35 - various... application programming interfaces and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lockhart to the sending/receiving of Hussain to include the steps of sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API); ... and receiving, ...via a first scheme-specific API..., ....via the scheme-agnostic API.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lockhart to Hussain to do so as it provides / allows users with a means for providing a data rights management for controlling access to data on the internet (Lockhart, col. 1, lines 15-19).
However, in an analogous art, Morlang teaches
an identifier specifying selection of a first [encryption] scheme of a plurality of [encryption] schemes ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node); and...based on the identifier specifying selection of the first [encryption] scheme ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node... the encrypted session is established, using the encryption algorithm);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morlang to the DRM scheme of Hussain and Lockhart to include the steps of an identifier specifying selection of a first ... scheme of a plurality of ... schemes; and ...based on the identifier specifying selection of the first ... scheme
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Morlang to Hussain and Lockhart to do so as it provides / allows agree on an encryption algorithm to be used via a connection even if a communication protocol used on that connection does not support that encryption algorithm (Morlang, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 2;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 1.
Hussain further discloses comprising: sending, via the scheme-agnostic [application program], a second DRM request comprising [a] selection of a second DRM scheme of the plurality of DRM schemes ([0025] - In an aspect, a method might comprise receiving, with an entitlement gateway, with an entitlement gateway, a query from a client device for a user to access media content that is protected by digital rights management (“DRM”) technology... The method might also comprise, based on a determination that the user is authorized to access the requested DRM-protected media content, identifying, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM types, a DRM type that is used to protect the requested DRM-protected media content, the entitlement gateway being agnostic to DRM types, based on the identified DRM type, determining, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM servers each associated with a particular DRM type and [0075]);; and receiving, based on a response to a second scheme-specific request sent via a second scheme-specific [application program] based on the ... selection of the second DRM scheme, via the scheme-agnostic [application program], a response to the second DRM request ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content and [0075]).
Lockhart further teaches sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API) (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging), ... and receiving, ...via a first scheme-specific API..., ....via the scheme-agnostic API (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 27-35 - various... application programming interfaces and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging)
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 1, above.
Morlang further teaches an identifier specifying selection of a second [encryption] scheme of a plurality of [encryption] schemes ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node); and ...based on the identifier specifying selection of the second [encryption] scheme ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node... the encrypted session is established, using the encryption algorithm);
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Morlang to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 3;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 1.
Hussain further discloses wherein receiving, via the scheme-agnostic [application program], the response to the first DRM request is based on a response to a request sent via the first scheme-specific [application program] associated with the first DRM scheme ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content).
Lockhart further teaches receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API) ....the via the first scheme-specific application program interface (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging), ... and receiving, ...via a first scheme-specific API..., ....via the scheme-agnostic API (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 27-35 - various... application programming interfaces and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 4;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 1.
Hussain further discloses wherein the response to the first DRM request comprises one or more of a license decision or a key (FIG. 3C – License).
Regarding Claim 5;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 1.
Hussain further wherein the first DRM request comprises a network address of a vendor of the first DRM scheme ([0025] - ...with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type... and [0084] - Merely by way of example, the network(s) 610 (similar to network(s) 145 and 245 of FIGS. 1 and 2, or the like) can each include a local area network (“LAN”), including, without limitation, a fiber network, an Ethernet network, a Token-Ring™ network and/or the like; a wide-area network (“WAN”); a wireless wide area network (“WWAN”); a virtual network, such as a virtual private network (“VPN”); the Internet; an intranet; an extranet... In a particular embodiment, the network might include an access network of the service provider (e.g., an Internet service provider (“ISP”)). In another embodiment, the network might include a core network of the service provider, and/or the Internet). As noted use of an ISP/Internet requires the use of a network address re: request/response.
Regarding Claim 6;
Hussain discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program ... a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising [a] selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes ([0025] - In an aspect, a method might comprise receiving, with an entitlement gateway, with an entitlement gateway, a query from a client device for a user to access media content that is protected by digital rights management (“DRM”) technology... The method might also comprise, based on a determination that the user is authorized to access the requested DRM-protected media content, identifying, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM types, a DRM type that is used to protect the requested DRM-protected media content, the entitlement gateway being agnostic to DRM types, based on the identified DRM type, determining, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM servers each associated with a particular DRM type and [0075]);
sending, based on a first response to a first scheme-specific request sent based on the ... selection of the first DRM scheme in the first DRM request, via the scheme-agnostic [application program], a first response to the first DRM request ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content and [0075]).
receiving, via the scheme-agnostic [application program], a second DRM request comprising ... a second DRM scheme and different from the first DRM scheme ([0025] - In an aspect, a method might comprise receiving, with an entitlement gateway, with an entitlement gateway, a query from a client device for a user to access media content that is protected by digital rights management (“DRM”) technology... The method might also comprise, based on a determination that the user is authorized to access the requested DRM-protected media content, identifying, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM types, a DRM type that is used to protect the requested DRM-protected media content, the entitlement gateway being agnostic to DRM types, based on the identified DRM type, determining, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM servers each associated with a particular DRM type and [0075]); and
sending, based on a second response to a second scheme-specific request sent based on the ... selection of the second DRM scheme in the second DRM request, via the scheme-agnostic [application], a second response to the second DRM request ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content and [0075]).
Hussain fails to explicitly disclose
sending, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API), a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising an identifier specifying selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes; and
receiving, based on a response to a first scheme-specific request sent via a first scheme- specific API based on the identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme, via the scheme-agnostic API, a response to the first DRM request. (emphasis added).
Hussain fails to explicitly disclose receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API), a first digital rights management (DRM) request comprising an identifier specifying selection of a first DRM scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes;
sending, based on a first response to a first scheme-specific request sent based on the identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme in the first DRM request, via the scheme-agnostic API, a first response to the first DRM request;
receiving, via the scheme-agnostic API, a second DRM request comprising an identifier of a second DRM scheme and different from the first DRM scheme; and
sending, based on a second response to a second scheme-specific request sent based on the identifier specifying selection of the second DRM scheme in the second DRM request, via the scheme-agnostic API, a second response to the second DRM request. (emphasis added).
However, in an analogous art, Lockhart teaches receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API) and sending via the scheme agnostic interface (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lockhart to both the receiving/sending re: the first/second DRM request steps of Hussain to include the steps of receiving, via a scheme-agnostic application program interface (API)... and sending via the scheme agnostic interface
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lockhart to Hussain o do so as it provides / allows users with a means for providing a data rights management for controlling access to data on the internet (Lockhart, col. 1, lines 15-19).
However, in an analogous art, Morlang teaches
an identifier specifying selection of a first [encryption] scheme of a plurality of [encryption] schemes/based on the identifier specifying selection of the first [encryption] scheme ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node); and an identifier of a second [encryption] scheme and different from the first [encryption] scheme / based on the identifier specifying selection of the second [encryption] scheme ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node... the encrypted session is established, using the encryption algorithm);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morlang to the first and second DRM schemes of Hussain and Lockhart to include an identifier specifying selection of a first ... scheme of a plurality of ... schemes/based on the identifier specifying selection of the first ... scheme; and an identifier of a second ... scheme and different from the first ...scheme/based on the identifier specifying selection of the second ... scheme
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Morlang to Hussain and Lockhart to do so as it provides / allows agree on an encryption algorithm to be used via a connection even if a communication protocol used on that connection does not support that encryption algorithm (Morlang, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 7;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 6.
Hussain further discloses comprising determining, based on the first DRM request, the first DRM scheme ([0025]).
Regarding Claim 8;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 6.
Hussain further discloses comprising determining, based on the second DRM request, the second DRM scheme ([0025]).
Regarding Claim 9;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 7.
Hussain further discloses wherein determining the first DRM scheme comprises determining, based on the ... in the first DRM request, the first DRM scheme ([0025]).
Morlang further teaches determining... based on the identifier in the first [encryption] request, the first [encryption] scheme.
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Morlang to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 10;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 6.
Hussain further discloses wherein the first response to the first scheme-specific request comprises one or more of a license decision or a key (FIG. 3C – License).
Regarding Claim 11;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to claim 6.
Lockhart further teaches wherein the first DRM request is associated with a first protocol corresponding to the scheme-agnostic API (col. 16, lines 45-50 – driven from an HTML and col. 17, lines 33-45), and the method further comprises generating the first scheme-specific request according to a second protocol corresponding to the first DRM scheme (col. 27, lines 18-30 – XML).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 6, above.
Regarding Claim 12;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 11.
Lockhart further teaches further comprising generating the second scheme-specific request according to a third protocol corresponding to the second DRM scheme (col. 16, lines 45-50 – driven from an HTML and col. 17, lines 33-45 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – XML).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 6, above.
Regarding Claim 13;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 11.
Lockhart further teaches wherein the response to the first-scheme specific request is associated with the second protocol (col. 27, lines 18-30 – XML), the method further comprises generating the response to the first DRM request according to the first protocol (col. 16, lines 45-50 – driven from an HTML and col. 17, lines 33-45 – install permit URL).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 6, above.
Regarding Claim 14
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 6.
Hussain further discloses wherein the first DRM request comprises one or more business attributes ([0057] – client identifying information).
Regarding Claim 15;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 6.
Hussain further discloses wherein the one or more business attributes are excluded from the first-scheme specific request ([0058] – request for license).
Regarding Claim 16;
Hussain discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a first computing device, via a first scheme-specific application program ... corresponding to a first digital rights management (DRM) scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes, based on a first DRM request received via a scheme-agnostic [application] from a second computing device, a first scheme-specific request, wherein the first DRM request comprises a first DRM ... selection of the first DRM scheme of the plurality of DRM schemes ([0025] - In an aspect, a method might comprise receiving, with an entitlement gateway, with an entitlement gateway, a query from a client device for a user to access media content that is protected by digital rights management (“DRM”) technology... The method might also comprise, based on a determination that the user is authorized to access the requested DRM-protected media content, identifying, with the entitlement gateway and from among a plurality of DRM types, a DRM type that is used to protect the requested DRM-protected media content, the entitlement gateway being agnostic to DRM types, based on the identified DRM type, determining, with the entitlement gateway and from among); and sending, via the first scheme-specific [application program], a response to the first scheme-specific request sending, wherein, based on the response to the first scheme-specific request, a response to the first DRM request is sent to a second computing device ([0025] - sending, with the entitlement gateway, a request for a license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server. The method might further comprise, in response to receiving the license for accessing the requested DRM-protected media content from the identified DRM server associated with the identified DRM type, sending, with the entitlement gateway, the license to the client device, the license enabling the user to access the requested DRM-protected media content and [0075]).
Hussain fails to explicitly disclose
receiving, at a first computing device, via a first scheme-specific application program interface (API) corresponding to a first digital rights management (DRM) scheme of a plurality of DRM schemes, based on a first DRM request received via a scheme-agnostic API from a second computing device, a first scheme-specific request, wherein the first DRM request comprises a first DRM identifier specifying selection of the first DRM scheme of the plurality of DRM schemes; and sending, via the first scheme-specific API, a response to the first scheme-specific request sending, wherein, based on the response to the first scheme-specific request, a response to the first DRM request is sent to a second computing device (emphasis added).
However, in an analogous art, Lockhart teaches receiving, ... via a first scheme-specific application program interface (API)... received via a scheme-agnostic API (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging) and sending, via the first scheme-specific API (Lockhart, FIG. 4 and col. 16, lines 4-26 - Consumer 100 interacts with the clearing house to satisfy the permit acquisition terms, thereby requesting a permit. DRM server 412 generates permit 410 in response to a request for a permit from clearing house 120. DRM server 412 is specific to a DRM architecture and col. 25, lines 27-35 various... application programming interfaces and col. 16, lines 45-50 and col. 25, lines 48-67 and col. 27, lines 18-30 – DRM Agnostic Packaging),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lockhart to receiving/sending steps of Hussain to include the steps of receiving, ... via a first scheme-specific application program interface (API)... received via a scheme-agnostic API and sending, via the first scheme-specific API.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lockhart to Hussain o do so as it provides / allows users with a means for providing a data rights management for controlling access to data on the internet (Lockhart, col. 1, lines 15-19).
However, in an analogous art, Morlang teaches
a first [encryption] identifier specifying selection of the first [encryption] scheme of the plurality of [encryption] schemes ([0003] - A number of encryption algorithms exist for securely protecting such communication and [0007 - An identifier is sent from a first node to a second node via a first connection. Either an encryption algorithm or an identifier of the encryption algorithm is also sent to the second node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morlang to the schemes of Hussain and Lockhart to include an a first ... identifier specifying selection of the first ... scheme of the plurality of ... schemes
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Morlang to Hussain and Lockhart to do so as it provides / allows agree on an encryption algorithm to be used via a connection even if a communication protocol used on that connection does not support that encryption algorithm (Morlang, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 17;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 16.
Morlang further teaches further comprising encrypting data associated with the first scheme-specific request ([0007] - ...the encrypted session is established...).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Morlang to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 16, above.
Regarding Claim 18;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 16.
Lockhart further teaches further comprising applying metadata to data associated with the first scheme-specific request (col. 26, lines 62-col. 27, lines 13 - The operation of DRM agnostic packaging process 2300 is now described. In a step 2302, content packager 140 receives permit class and content meta data to generate a request for a permit class to package content).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Lockhart to Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang, as per claim 16, above.
Regarding Claim 19;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 16.
Hussain further discloses wherein the response to the first DRM request comprises one or more of a license decision or a key (FIG. 3C – License).
Regarding Claim 20;
Hussain in view of Lockhart and Morlang disclose the method to Claim 17.
Hussain further discloses wherein the first DRM request or the second DRM request comprises business attributes comprising one or more of: account information, a content identifier, a device identifier, or a session identifier ([0057] – client identifying information).
Conclusion
/KARI L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439