DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2 – 20 have been examined. Claim 1 has been canceled by Applicant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (1) a second caster wheel assembly connected with the deck under the rearward portion, the second caster wheel assembly comprising a second caster wheel, a spring, and a wedge between the second caster wheel and the deck, (2) item (1) combined with wherein the first and second caster wheels have a common diameter, (3) wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are mounted such that a line passing through the first wheel and the second wheel is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the surfboard-shaped wheeled board and a third wheel mounted beneath the forward portion, the third wheel being a caster wheel, (4) wherein at least one of the first caster wheel and the second caster wheel is biased by a spring to provide self-centering, and (5) wherein the spring is a compression spring must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The following claim limitations are not shown in the figures or described in the specification:
a second caster wheel assembly connected with the deck under the rearward portion, the second caster wheel assembly comprising a second caster wheel, a spring, and a wedge between the second caster wheel and the deck;
wherein the first and second caster wheels have a common diameter;
wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are mounted such that a line passing through the first wheel and the second wheel is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the surfboard-shaped wheeled board and a third wheel mounted beneath the forward portion, the third wheel being a caster wheel;
wherein at least one of the first caster wheel and the second caster wheel is biased by a spring to provide self-centering;
wherein the spring is a compression spring.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6, 8 – 16, 18, and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (D705,372) in view of Hara (7,198,280). In regard to claims 2, 6, 11, 15, and 18, Harris discloses a surfboard-shaped wheeled board comprising a deck comprising a forward portion, a rearward portion, a middle portion between the forward portion and the rearward portion, a longitudinal length, and a lateral width measured at a midpoint of the longitudinal length (Fig. 1, unnumbered skateboard deck), wherein the forward portion comprises a triangular forward end that narrows to a pointed tip and wherein the rearward portion comprises a rearward end that is narrower than the lateral width (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 3, Harris discloses wherein the middle portion comprises left and right lateral sidewalls that bow outward relative to a longitudinal axis of the board (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 4, Harris discloses wherein the forward portion and the rearward portion are rigidly coupled (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 14, Harris discloses wherein the sidewall curves outward to an apex (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 20, Harris discloses wherein the deck further comprises a neck that is laterally narrower than the forward and rearward portions (Fig. 1).
Harris does not disclose the use of casters. In regard to claims 2, 6, 8, 11, and 15, Hara discloses a wheeled board comprising a first caster wheel assembly connected with the deck under a forward portion, the first caster wheel assembly comprising a first caster wheel (Fig. 1, item 5), a second caster wheel assembly connected with the deck under the rearward portion (Fig. 1, item 7), the second caster wheel assembly comprising a second caster wheel, a spring, and a wedge between the second caster wheel and the deck (Figs. 2 and 3, items 7, 81, and 37), wherein the first and second caster wheels are configured to swivel and rotate (Figs. 7A – 7C), and wherein the wheeled board is configured to maneuver in response to pressure from a user's feet (Figs. 7A – 7C).
In regard to claims 5, 9, and 16, Hara discloses wherein the first and second caster wheels have a common diameter (Fig. 2).
In regard to claims 6 and 13, Hara discloses wherein the first wheel and the second wheel are mounted such that a line passing through the first wheel and the second wheel is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the wheeled board (Fig. 7A).
In regard to claim 10, Hara discloses wherein the deck comprises molded plastic (column 4, lines 38 – 39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the casters of Hara, to the wheeled board of Harris, in order to improved turning radius and vehicle dynamics. This would increase user/rider safety and enjoyment.
Harris in view of Hara does not disclose the use of a compression spring. In regard to claim 12, Official Notice is taken that compression springs are old and well known in the art, and the use of a compression spring in a mechanical device where a spring is need is well within the level of knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 7, 17, and 19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (D705,372) in view of Hara (7,198,280) as applied to claims 2 – 6, 8 – 16, 18, and 20 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (2009/0200764). Harris in view of Hara does not disclose the use of a third caster. In regard to claim 7, Jang discloses a wheeled board comprising a third wheel mounted beneath the forward portion, the third wheel being a caster wheel (Fig. 1, item 310).
In regard to claim 17, Jang discloses wherein the deck further comprises a texturized upper surface (Fig. 2, item 106).
In regard to claim 19, Jang discloses wherein the rearward portion comprises an angled tail (Fig. 5a, rear portion of item 100b).
The addition of these features would result in a predictable variation that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, which has been held unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art. Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BAPI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Desberg (D770,585) discloses a skateboard;
Younger (5,221,111) discloses a skateboard accessory to assist in airborne maneuvers;
Hsu et al. (5,330,026) disclose a remote-controlled electric skateboard;
Finkle (5,893,425) discloses a remote control electric powered skateboard;
Chen et al. (8,414,000) disclose a one piece flexible skateboard;
Crigler et al. (2006/0049595) disclose an electric skateboard;
Su (2007/0272465) discloses a solar skateboard;
Conrad (2007/0273118) discloses an inline skateboard;
Hsu et al. (2013/0001910) disclose a swing skateboard.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613