DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 13 and 14 are independent. Claims 2-5, 7-12, and 15-20 are dependent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple et al (US 20140086177) hereinafter Adjakple in view of JUNG et al. (US 20240073732) hereinafter JUNG.
Regarding claim 1, Adjakple teaches a method comprising: receiving a message from an application requesting a service via a communication network (i.e. the Cross Service Provider APIs may include a service or resource offering bid request. The service or resource offering bid request may be a message that is sent to a service network provider that requested help for a service or resource, [0185]); and assisting in managing one or more charging policies for the service when performed by first user equipment and second user equipment (i.e. policy manager function may determine discovery information. For example, the discovery information may be policies used to assist the WTRU in efficient discovery of operators around the validity area. The discovery rules/policy may be used to assist the WTRU for the efficient discovery of services, service providers, and/or any other stakeholder, [0209] and the policy manager function may implement charging policies (e.g., cross stakeholder charging rules), [0209]); wherein the steps are performed by at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (i.e. the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor. Examples of computer-readable media include electronic signals (transmitted over wired or wireless connections) and computer-readable storage media. Examples of computer-readable storage media include, but are not limited to, a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a register, cache memory, semiconductor memory devices, [0455]).
However, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose wherein the first user equipment and the second user equipment are in a data exchange relationship with respect to the service.
However, JUNG teaches wherein the first user equipment and the second user equipment are in a data exchange relationship with respect to the service (i.e. a first wireless device 200a and a second wireless device 200b may transmit and receive radio signals through various radio access technologies, [0084] and a first device in a wireless communication system, requesting a second device for channel quality information and receiving, from the second device, information related to the channel quality information, claim 1).
Based on Adjakple in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of JUNG to the system of Adjakple in order to improve a service experience of a user equipment.
Regarding claim 2, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose the data exchange relationship comprises a work task offloading relationship and the service comprises a split artificial intelligence-machine learning model processing service.
However, JUNG teaches the data exchange relationship comprises a work task offloading relationship (i.e. offloading data generated or collected in each device, [0132]) and the service comprises a split artificial intelligence-machine learning model processing service (i.e. a split artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model, [0013]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 3, Adjakple teaches the one or more charging policies are settable by a network operator (i.e. The policy and rules managers in the WTRU may coordinate the policies and rules across the stakeholders and may arbitrate between the various stakeholders in case of conflicts based on user policy preferences, [0141]) and comprise a policy to give an entity associated with the second user equipment charging credit for computational effort expended by the second user equipment in performing a quantifiable part of the service (i.e. operator-specific access may be associated with the delivery of one or more services where network access is fixed to a specific network operator through one or more of a subscription-based scheme (e.g., user holds a subscription to an Internet Service Provider (ISP), a user may hold a subscription to a Mobile Network Operator (MNO)) and/or through a pre-paid-based scheme (e.g., user buys credit that can be used a posteriori to access services provided by a service provider such as a MNO or/and ISP), [0092]).
Regarding claim 4, Adjakple teaches the one or more charging policies are settable by the network operator in conjunction with the entity associated with the second user equipment (i.e. The policy and rules managers in the WTRU may coordinate the policies and rules across the stakeholders and may arbitrate between the various stakeholders in case of conflicts based on user policy preferences, [0141]).
Regarding claim 5, Adjakple teaches assisting in managing the one or more charging policies further comprises: sending the message requesting the service to the first user equipment (i.e. an operator/service provider may be utilized to Cross Service Provide API to send a service or resource request, [0181]); receiving a message from the second user equipment indicating completion of the service (i.e. an operator/service provider may be utilized to Cross Service Provide API to send a service or resource request response. For example, the response may be a grant, where the responding service provider grants resource, for example based on the terms included in the request, [0182]); sending the message indicating completion of the service to the application (i.e. the response may be a grant, where the responding service provider grants resource, for example based on the terms included in the request, [0182]); receiving a message from the application indicating that service-based criteria have been met (i.e. when the P-CSCF 2204 may receive the message. The ICM 2206 may contact the application cloud control node (ACCN) 2208 to negotiate for the requested services, e.g., based on the service(s) that have been requested. The negotiation may be based on the user request and/or predefined criteria. For example, the negation may take into account parameters such as one or more of the amount the service charges, QoS, the load of the service provider, [0256]); sending the message indicating that the service-based criteria have been met to the first user equipment and the second user equipment (i.e. ] A WTRU may obtain an available list of VN services and applications based on one or more of the following criteria. For example, a list of each of the available services/applications, a list of available services/applications that may fit to run on a particular WTRU based on the WTRU equipment (e.g., hardware and/or software) capabilities, (the WTRU may inform the VN about its capability), a list of available services/application of a particular service category (e.g., a category or a service topic such as travel related, health related, and the like), or a list of available services/applications that may be suitable to run from the WTRU's current network connection/location, [0407]); receiving respective messages from the first user equipment and the second user equipment comprising respective computation usage data for providing the service (i.e. The UE identity/WTRU identity may include the various WTRU addressing identities, WTRU authentication and security credentials, WTRU service and resource usage profile, [0122] and The negotiation may consider one or more of the price of using the network, the usage of the network, the region the WTRU wants to access to the requested services, the service the WTRU has requested, the QoS, the network load, [0253]); computing a computation credit score for the second user equipment (i.e. the WTRU implementation of the services (e.g., business logic) provided to the users or other business support services (e.g., tracking of real time charging and remaining credit, etc.) may be virtualized into the cloud, [0195] and The VNMF may query the identity provider or the financial institution or the service broker who may implement part (or whole) of the CAF and VSAPCF and the VSS function, e.g., to validate the identity standing and/or the credit standing of the user, [0434]); and sending the computed computation credit score for the second user equipment to a charging system to enable a charging result based on the one or more charging policies (i.e. the S-CSCF for authentication. At 2140, the MNO (e.g., the selected MNO) may submit the charge request to the right institute (e.g., bank, PayPal, etc.) using the determined charging information, [0255].
However, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose wherein the respective messages further indicate a role in the data exchange relationship that the first user equipment and the second user equipment performed.
However, JUNG teaches wherein the respective messages further indicate a role in the data exchange relationship that the first user equipment and the second user equipment performed (i.e. A transmitter is a fixed and/or mobile node that provides a data service or a voice service and a receiver is a fixed and/or mobile node that receives a data service or a voice service, [0068]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 6, Adjakple teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (i.e. the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, [0062]): receiving a message from an application requesting a service via a network entity of a communication network (i.e. the Cross Service Provider APIs may include a service or resource offering bid request. The service or resource offering bid request may be a message that is sent to a service network provider that requested help for a service or resource, [0185]);; and sending a message to the network entity comprising computation usage data for providing the service (i.e. the UE identity/WTRU identity may include the various WTRU addressing identities, WTRU authentication and security credentials, WTRU service and resource usage profile, [0122] and The negotiation may consider one or more of the price of using the network, the usage of the network, the region the WTRU wants to access to the requested services, the service the WTRU has requested, the QoS, the network load, [0253]); enable the communication network to implement one or more charging policies for the service with respect to the proximate user equipment (i.e. policy manager function may determine discovery information. For example, the discovery information may be policies used to assist the WTRU in efficient discovery of operators around the validity area. The discovery rules/policy may be used to assist the WTRU for the efficient discovery of services, service providers, and/or any other stakeholder, [0209] and the policy manager function may implement charging policies (e.g., cross stakeholder charging rules), [0209]).
However, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose establishing a data exchange relationship with user equipment proximate to the apparatus to share performance of the service; further indicating a role in the data exchange relationship that the apparatus performed.
However, JUNG teaches establishing a data exchange relationship with user equipment proximate to the apparatus to share performance of the service (i.e. the base station 2220 may be connected to a plurality of devices 2210 N, [0229] and a first device in a wireless communication system, requesting a second device for channel quality information and receiving, from the second device, information related to the channel quality information, claim 1); further indicating a role in the data exchange relationship that the apparatus performed, (i.e. A transmitter is a fixed and/or mobile node that provides a data service or a voice service and a receiver is a fixed and/or mobile node that receives a data service or a voice service, [0068]).
Based on Adjakple in view of JUNG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of JUNG to the system of Adjakple in order to improve a service experience of a user equipment.
Regarding claim 7, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose wherein the message indicates that the apparatus performed a service consumer role and the proximate user equipment performed a service provider role
However, JUNG teaches wherein the message indicates that the apparatus performed a service consumer role and the proximate user equipment performed a service provider role (i.e. A transmitter is a fixed and/or mobile node that provides a data service or a voice service and a receiver is a fixed and/or mobile node that receives a data service or a voice service, [0068]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 11, Adjakple teaches the network entity comprises a direct discovery name management function (i.e. The WTRU NAS or a WTRU VN protocol layer may have a primitive to carry the VN-REGISTER over directly to the VN network management function node (e.g., VNMF). In the message, the VN-ID or the Cloud-ID, the VNMF or the Cloud entity ID/address/routing information may be provided, [0341]).
Regarding claim 12, Adjakple teaches the apparatus comprises user equipment (i.e. the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include user equipment (UE), [0051]).
Regarding claims 8-10 and 13-20, the limitations of claims 8-10 and 13-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-4 and 6-7. Adjakple further teaches receiving a message from user equipment proximate to the apparatus requesting a connection (i.e. the WTRU may include in its RRC Connection Request (or the RRC Connection Setup Complete or an equivalent) message one or more of the VN Extension WTRU Indicator, [0364]). Therefore, the limitations of claims 8-10 and 13-20 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al (US 20160142218), UE 302 may transmit/receive sponsored service-related data to/from the UE 302. In operation, the core network 306 may apply respective charging policies to the sponsored service and the non-sponsored service in such a manner as to distinguish the sponsored service from the non-sponsored service.
Youtz et al (US 20180159824), PCRF 260 may implement policy charging and rule functions, such as establishing QoS requirements, bandwidth, and/or charges for a particular service for a UE device 110.
ZHANG et al. (US 20190124563), communication between the second network device and first user equipment, and communication between second user equipment and a first network device, and transmit and receive information or an instruction.
SUN (US 20230247418), the first MEC network element may split a computing task into a plurality of computing subtasks by splitting an artificial intelligence/machine learning (Split AI/ML) model, for example, federated learning model.
/A W/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
3/4/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447