DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the reference patent..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 14 recites the limitation "the request." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rebaja et al. (US Patent No. 11,281,492), hereinafter referred to as REBEJA.
Consider Claim 1,
REBEJA teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a processing device, a first block storage volume of one or more block storage volumes to be reassigned to a second compute node in a cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Fig 1, shows migration of storage volume from node 112A to 112M; Fig 2(206-214);Col 11:3-36, describes reassigning a storage volume to a second node; Col 14:10-17, node provides compute services (i.e., a compute node).); and
deploying the cluster with the first block storage volume mounted on the second compute node in the cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Col 12:51-61, cause container to start executing on the node. In other words, the cluster is now deployed with the volume mounted on the target node.).
Consider Claim 8,
REBEJA teaches a system comprising:
a memory (REBEJA, e.g., Fig 4(486); Col 15:17-40, memory.); and
a processing device operatively coupled to the memory (REBEJA, e.g., Fig 4(476), processor.), the processing device to:
determine a first block storage volume of one or more block storage volumes to be reassigned to a second compute node in a cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Fig 1, shows migration of storage volume from node 112A to 112M; Fig 2(206-214);Col 11:3-36, describes reassigning a storage volume to a second node; Col 14:10-17, node provides compute services (i.e., a compute node).); and
deploy the cluster with the first block storage volume mounted on the second compute node in the cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Col 12:51-61, cause container to start executing on the node. In other words, the cluster is now deployed with the volume mounted on the target node.).
Consider Claim 15,
REBEJA teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having instructions stored thereon which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to:
determine, by the processing device, a first block storage volume of one or more block storage volumes to be reassigned to a second compute node in a cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Fig 1, shows migration of storage volume from node 112A to 112M; Fig 2(206-214);Col 11:3-36, describes reassigning a storage volume to a second node; Col 14:10-17, node provides compute services (i.e., a compute node).); and
deploy the cluster with the first block storage volume mounted on the second compute node in the cluster (REBEJA, e.g., Col 12:51-61, cause container to start executing on the node. In other words, the cluster is now deployed with the volume mounted on the target node.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REBAJA in view of Chen et al. (US PGPub No. 2024/0111414), hereinafter referred to as CHEN, and further in view of Ferris et al. (US Patent No. 8,924,539), hereinafter referred to as FERRIS.
Consider Claim 2,
REBEJA teaches the method of claim 1, above, but fails to additionally teach determining, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a storage subscription plan before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster. CHEN is directed to systems and methods for managing storage and compute nodes and is considered analogous prior art. CHEN does describe determining, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a target (CHEN, e.g., ¶0054, determine if available capacity to service compute node based on utilization data; ¶0038, utilization data includes bandwidth utilization.) before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster (CHEN, e.g., ¶0055, determine if there is enough capacity; ¶0056, initiate a migration after the determination.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of CHEN because it prevents the unnecessary movement of data when resources are adequate. The combined system of REBEJA and CHEN fail to describe wherein the target is based on a storage subscription plan. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach assigning and reassigning resources based on a storage subscription plan (see, e.g., Col 8:36-45, resource targets include memory and storage amounts/types.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and CHEN, as combined, with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows a user to reserve system resources for specific uses and time periods (FERRIS, e.g., Col 1:28-36).
Consider Claim 7,
The method of REBEJA, CHEN, and FERRIS, as combined teaches the method of claim 2, above and further teaches directing the request to the second compute node based on a mapping of each of the one or more block storage volumes to a compute node of the cluster (CHEN, e.g., Fig 1(116A); ¶0035, describes mapping data for accessing a volume.). However, there is no explicit disclosure regarding wherein the first compute node includes a driver to redirect a request to a second compute node. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that forwarding requests is notoriously well-known in the storage arts and a common human experience when something is delivered to the incorrect location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA, CHEN, and FERRIS, to forward requests from the first compute node to the second compute node because forwarding is notoriously well-known and reduces latency by eliminating the need to reissue a request to the correct location.
Consider Claim 9,
REBEJA teaches the system of claim 8, above, but fails to additionally teach wherein the processing device is further to: determine, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a storage subscription plan before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster. CHEN is directed to systems and methods for managing storage and compute nodes and is considered analogous prior art. CHEN does describe determining, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a target (CHEN, e.g., ¶0054, determine if available capacity to service compute node based on utilization data; ¶0038, utilization data includes bandwidth utilization.) before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster (CHEN, e.g., ¶0055, determine if there is enough capacity; ¶0056, initiate a migration after the determination.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of CHEN because it prevents the unnecessary movement of data when resources are adequate. The combined system of REBEJA and CHEN fail to describe wherein the target is based on a storage subscription plan. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach assigning and reassigning resources based on a storage subscription plan (see, e.g., Col 8:36-45, resource targets include memory and storage amounts/types.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and CHEN, as combined, with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows a user to reserve system resources for specific uses and time periods (FERRIS, e.g., Col 1:28-36).
Consider Claim 14,
The system of REBEJA, CHEN, and FERRIS, as combined teaches the system of claim 9, above and further teaches directing the request to the second compute node based on a mapping of each of the one or more block storage volumes to a compute node of the cluster (CHEN, e.g., Fig 1(116A); ¶0035, describes mapping data for accessing a volume.). However, there is no explicit disclosure regarding wherein the first compute node includes a driver to redirect a request to a second compute node. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that forwarding requests is notoriously well-known in the storage arts and a common human experience when something is delivered to the incorrect location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA, CHEN, and FERRIS, to forward requests from the first compute node to the second compute node because forwarding is notoriously well-known and reduces latency by eliminating the need to reissue a request to the correct location.
Consider Claim 16,
REBEJA teaches the media of claim 15, above, but fails to additionally teach wherein the processing device is further to: determine, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a storage subscription plan before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster. CHEN is directed to systems and methods for managing storage and compute nodes and is considered analogous prior art. CHEN does describe determining, based on configuration information, that a first compute node cannot utilize a full amount of storage volume bandwidth provided by the one or more block storage volumes assigned to it based on a target (CHEN, e.g., ¶0054, determine if available capacity to service compute node based on utilization data; ¶0038, utilization data includes bandwidth utilization.) before determining the first block storage volume to be reassigned to the second compute node in the cluster (CHEN, e.g., ¶0055, determine if there is enough capacity; ¶0056, initiate a migration after the determination.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of CHEN because it prevents the unnecessary movement of data when resources are adequate. The combined system of REBEJA and CHEN fail to describe wherein the target is based on a storage subscription plan. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach assigning and reassigning resources based on a storage subscription plan (see, e.g., Col 8:36-45, resource targets include memory and storage amounts/types.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and CHEN, as combined, with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows a user to reserve system resources for specific uses and time periods (FERRIS, e.g., Col 1:28-36).
Claims 3-6, 10-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REBEJA in view of FERRIS.
Consider Claim 3,
REBEJA teaches the method of claim 1, above, but fails to additionally describe receiving information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster; and receiving user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach receiving information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 5:19-23, receive available bandwidth.); and receiving user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:46-65, user supplies config parameters; Col 9:12-17, user can supply different criteria for different resources.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows the user to tailor their instantiation request based on their needs and available resources.
Consider Claim 4,
The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches wherein the first block storage volume is determined based on the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 6:59-7:9, user can change requirements and system will adapt allocated resources based on user input.).
Consider Claim 5,
The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches determining the second compute node based on the available bandwidth of each of the set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:18-41, identify individual resources that correspond to selection criteria.).
Consider Claim 6,
The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, describes the method of Claim 3, above, and further teaches wherein the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes comprises: a turn-around time of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:12-17, different resources have different criteria; Col 8:36-45, performance related criteria affect the turn-around time of requests.). The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, additionally describes tracking patterns, attributes, and characteristics of a user’s resource consumption (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:16-20), but fails to expressly describe that the user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that identifying the priority of a request is notoriously well-known and common in the storage arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, such that user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes because it allows the user to tailor the assignment of different priorities of requests to different targets based on their performance characteristics.
Consider Claim 10,
REBEJA teaches the system of claim 8, above, but fails to additionally describe wherein the processing device is further to: receive information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster; and receive user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach receiving information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 5:19-23, receive available bandwidth.); and receiving user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:46-65, user supplies config parameters; Col 9:12-17, user can supply different criteria for different resources.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows the user to tailor their instantiation request based on their needs and available resources.
Consider Claim 11,
The system of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches wherein the processing device determines the first block storage volume based on the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 6:59-7:9, user can change requirements and system will adapt allocated resources based on user input.).
Consider Claim 12,
The system of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches wherein the processing device is further to: determine the second compute node based on the available bandwidth of each of the set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:18-41, identify individual resources that correspond to selection criteria.).
Consider Claim 13,
The system of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, describes the system of Claim 10, above, and further teaches wherein the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes comprises: a turn-around time of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:12-17, different resources have different criteria; Col 8:36-45, performance related criteria affect the turn-around time of requests.). The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, additionally describes tracking patterns, attributes, and characteristics of a user’s resource consumption (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:16-20), but fails to expressly describe that the user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that identifying the priority of a request is notoriously well-known and common in the storage arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, such that user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes because it allows the user to tailor the assignment of different priorities of requests to different targets based on their performance characteristics.
Consider Claim 17,
REBEJA teaches the media of claim 15, above, but fails to additionally describe wherein the processing device is further to: receive information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster; and receive user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. FERRIS describes systems and methods for managing a set of compute and storage nodes and is considered analogous prior art. FERRIS does teach receiving information indicating an available bandwidth of each of a set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 5:19-23, receive available bandwidth.); and receiving user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:46-65, user supplies config parameters; Col 9:12-17, user can supply different criteria for different resources.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA with at least the cited teachings of FERRIS because it allows the user to tailor their instantiation request based on their needs and available resources.
Consider Claim 18,
The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches wherein the processing device determines the first block storage volume based on the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 6:59-7:9, user can change requirements and system will adapt allocated resources based on user input.).
Consider Claim 19,
The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, further teaches wherein the processing device is further to: determine the second compute node based on the available bandwidth of each of the set of compute nodes in the cluster (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:18-41, identify individual resources that correspond to selection criteria.).
Consider Claim 20,
The media of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, describes the media of Claim 15, above, and further teaches wherein the user input regarding requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes comprises: a turn-around time of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes (FERRIS, e.g., Col 9:12-17, different resources have different criteria; Col 8:36-45, performance related criteria affect the turn-around time of requests.). The method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, additionally describes tracking patterns, attributes, and characteristics of a user’s resource consumption (FERRIS, e.g., Col 8:16-20), but fails to expressly describe that the user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that identifying the priority of a request is notoriously well-known and common in the storage arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of REBEJA and FERRIS, as combined, such that user input includes a priority of requests serviced by each of the one or more block storage volumes because it allows the user to tailor the assignment of different priorities of requests to different targets based on their performance characteristics.
Conclusion
/Gary W. Cygiel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137