DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on November 1, 2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on November 1, 2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Chinese Publication No. CN110490124A; machine translation obtained from Espacenet, hereinafter as “Wu”) in view of Mayer et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0181081; hereinafter as “Mayer”).
As per claim 1, Wu discloses a communication network for use in a refueling system (see e.g., Fig. 1; para. [0012] & [0035]: An intelligent gas station on-site service and risk management in the refueling area includes a networked system (front-end cameras, IP transmission modules, station-level servers, central server cluster)), comprising: one or more graphic processing units (“GPUs”) (see e.g., para. [0015] & [0039]: “Each gas station field service and risk management unit deploys a GPU server station as a basic intelligent server. Each basic intelligent server communicates with the central intelligent server Z of the cluster. The central intelligent server Z is also a GPU server station. Each GPU server station contains multiple intelligent analysis nodes. Each node is an independent computing and processing unit that runs the corresponding gas station field service and risk management services.”) for use by human operators to facilitate refueling operations incident to use of the refueling system (see e.g., para. [0043]-[0045] & [0055]-[0056]: “By integrating target detection, human behavior detection, and facial recognition detection results, the system can automatically identify and track key service events and safety production events at gas stations, as well as determine violations, and output event log information or violation alarm information.”; GPUs facilitate refueling operations indirectly by supporting monitoring, safety, and site service functions used by human staff),
Wu does not explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more GPUs internally utilize optical signals based on multiple light wavelengths and/or multiple light frequencies, or quantum-based signals, to communicate between a computer board and memory, and that the one or more GPUs communicate via radio, light, fiber optic, quantum or optical wireless communication.
However, in the same field of GPU internal communication, Mayer teaches: wherein the one or more GPUs internally utilize optical signals based on multiple light wavelengths and/or multiple light frequencies, or quantum-based signals, to communicate between a computer board and memory (see e.g., para. [0016]-[0021]: “the electrical signals provided by the control circuitry 150 of the GPU 102 may be converted to optical signals by a wavelength division multiplexer (WLDM) 106. The wavelength division multiplexer 106 may convert the GPU's internal electrical signals received via the internal bus 104 into different optical modes to be transmitted via the optical multi-mode bus 108. In one embodiment, each of the different modes may be different wavelengths of light (e.g., λ1, λ2 . . . λN). For example, each mode may be provided as a different color, such as red, green, blue, or purple. Embodiments of the invention may be utilized with any wavelength division multiplexer 106, and the wavelength division multiplexer 106 may also provide de-multiplexing capabilities. Furthermore, embodiments of the invention may be utilized with any type of wavelength division multiplexing, including coarse wavelength division multiplexing and dense wavelength division multiplexing.”), and that the one or more GPUs communicate using any combination of wired or wireless communication, including radio, light, fiber optic, quantum or optical wireless communication (see e.g., para. [0021]: the GPU 102 and each of the memory devices 118 . . . 124 configured to perform full-duplex optical communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the GPUs of Wu using the optical GPU—memory communication architecture of Mayer to improve GPU performance and data throughput. Wu already relies on GPU server stations to perform real-time data and risk analysis in a refueling environment. Mayer teaches a known and predictable improvement to GPU internal communication that directly benefits such high-performance GPU server systems. Applying the optical GPU architecture of Mayer to the GPU servers of Wu would therefore have been predictable, yielding the expected performance improvements.
As per claim 2, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Mayer further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes one or more optical switches, which may include bi-directional optical switches (see e.g., para. [0019]: discloses beam splitters/filters and WDM multiplexing/demultiplexing, which perform optical switching and routing; and para. [0021]: bi-directional full-duplex optical communication).
As per claim 3, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where the combination further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes fiber optical fabric (Mayer (e.g., para. [0016] & [0019]) discloses optical buses and WDM optical interconnects; Wu (e.g., para. [0039]) discloses server clusters and networked GPU infrastructure; Combining WDM optical buses across clustered GPU servers reasonably suggests a fiber-optic fabric).
As per claim 4, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Mayer further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes one or more of the following: optical routers; optical modulators; and optical amplifiers (see e.g., para. [0016]-[0019]: WDM requires optical modulation of signals; beam splitter/filters function as optical routing elements; optical amplification is a well-known component in WDM optical systems for signal quality).
As per claim 5, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Mayer further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes multiple light wavelengths and/or multiple light frequencies (see e.g., para. [0015] & [0039]).
As per claim 6, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Mayer further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes one or more of the following: avalanche photo detectors; photodiodes; and beam splitters (see e.g., para. [0017]: beam splitters/filters).
As per claim 7, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes one or more of the following: bridging networks; parallel networks; redundant comparison networks; and computer clusters (see para. [0015] & [0035]: discloses e.g., intelligent server cluster Q, station-level and central servers, parallel GPU analysis nodes).
As per claim 8, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes fencing or isolation modules or nodes, capable of securely processing without external processors (see para. [0035]: discloses station-level GPU servers performing local processing; reduced reliance on central/cloud processing; This reasonably suggests isolated/fenced nodes for security and safety in refueling environments).
As per claim 9, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the one or more GPUs transmit data using TCP/IP or cellular or Wi-Fi data processing systems (see e.g., para. [0035] & [0038]: IP transmission module; networked server communication).
As per claim 11, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where the combination further teaches: wherein the communication network comprises one or more modules using optical cross connects via switching optical fabrics, and providing high network bandwidth data rates to communicate with the one or more GPUs (Mayer (e.g., para. [0016] & [0019]) discloses WDM, beam splitter/filters, optical multi-mode buses; Wu (e.g., para. [0039]) GPU server clusters requiring high bandwidth; Combining yields optical switching fabrics/cross connects supplying high-bandwidth data to GPUs).
As per claim 12, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where the combination further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes light wave packets for transferring data using fiber optic or open space optical wireless communication (see Wu, e.g., para. [0015] & [0039]: networked communications; Mayer, e.g., para. [0016]-[0021]: optical signaling over optical buses (light-based/fiber optic data transfer); open space optical communication is a known alternative).
As per claim 15, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the refueling system comprises compressed or liquefied gas (see e.g., para. [0004]-[0005]).
As per claim 16, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes one or more of the following: Artificial Intelligence; machine learning; deep learning; flow charting; data mining; and data recall (see para. [0023], [0040] & [0050]: e.g., artificial intelligence; data mining; deep learning; big data analytics services).
As per claim 17, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the communication network utilizes or communicates with one or more of the following systems: vehicle emissions data systems; vehicle global positioning systems; safety systems; gas detection or monitoring systems; fire detection, monitoring or suppression systems; camera data records; optical recognition systems; tire pressure systems; vehicle braking systems; vehicle motion systems; automatic or semi-automatic fueling or transfer systems; compressed or liquefied gas connection systems or sensors (see para. [0013], [0023] & [0044]: e.g., image acquisition cameras; vehicle behavior tracking; fire safety monitoring).
As per claim 18, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Wu further teaches: wherein the communication network comprises or communicates with one or more of the following: cellular networks; data centers; satellites; and vehicle sensor data collection systems (see e.g., para. [0039], [0047] & [0052]: central/cloud data centers).
Claims 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Mayer, and further in view of Tran et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0358185; hereinafter as “Tran”).
As per claim 10, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach: wherein the communication network comprises one or more of the following: 2G; 3G; 4G; 5G; 6G; and CMDA.
However, in the same field of cellular systems, Tran teaches: wherein the communication network comprises one or more of the following: 2G; 3G; 4G; 5G; 6G; and CMDA (see e.g., Figs. 1A-1D & 2F; para. [0025], [0075], [0170] & [0301]: “The network might also include telecommunications networks like a public-switched telephone network (PSTN), 2G/3G/4G/5G or 6G, Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), Wi-Fi, Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX), or the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the communication network of Wu in view of Mayer using 2G-6G or CDMA network architecture of Tran. Doing so allows to implement well-known and routinely supported networking environment for faster data transmission, very low latency, and enhanced reliability.
As per claim 13, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach: wherein the one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, and wherein the one or more sectorized antennas are automatically adjustable using wireless communication via radio or light.
However, Tran teaches: wherein the one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, and wherein the one or more sectorized antennas are automatically adjustable using wireless communication via radio or light (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0039], [0056], [0219]: airborne frames, aerial platforms, sectorized/steerable antennas, multiple CPU/GPU on the antenna for the low latency; para. [0241]: “a hybrid lighter than air/heavier than aircraft or air vehicle can be used as a Geostationary balloon satellites (GBS) are atmosphere analogues to satellites at a fixed point over the Earth's surface and the GBS can carry 5G or 6G active antennas to allow the BS to communicate with the UEs…Antennas would be auto-steered to aim directly at UEs they communicate with.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the communication network of Wu in view of Mayer using the teachings of Tran to provide one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, and wherein the one or more sectorized antennas are automatically adjustable using wireless communication via radio or light. Doing so enables the fast-moving platforms or satellites to stay connected to the ground by automatically aiming their antennas for the best possible signal, saving power and improving reliability.
As per claim 14, Wu and Mayer teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach: wherein the one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, communicating with ground-based cellular data systems, including but not limited to: cellular phones; computers; VoIP-based system; 2G-based systems; 3G-based systems; 4G-based systems; 5G-based systems; 6G-based; CMDA; and vehicles.
However, Tran teaches: wherein the one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, communicating with ground-based cellular data systems, including but not limited to: cellular phones; computers; VoIP-based system; 2G-based systems; 3G-based systems; 4G-based systems; 5G-based systems; 6G-based; CMDA; and vehicles (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0039], [0056], [0219]: airborne frames, aerial platforms, sectorized/steerable antennas, multiple CPU/GPU on the antenna for the low latency; para. [0240]-[0241]: “a hybrid lighter than air/heavier than aircraft or air vehicle can be used as a Geostationary balloon satellites (GBS) are atmosphere analogues to satellites at a fixed point over the Earth's surface and the GBS can carry 5G or 6G active antennas to allow the BS to communicate with the UEs…Antennas would be auto-steered to aim directly at UEs they communicate with.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the communication network of Wu in view of Mayer using the teachings of Tran to provide one or more GPUs reside on satellites communicating with ground-based systems, using one or more sectorized antennas, communicating with ground-based cellular data systems, including but not limited to: cellular phones; computers; VoIP-based system; 2G-based systems; 3G-based systems; 4G-based systems; 5G-based systems; 6G-based; CMDA; and vehicles. Doing so enables the fast-moving platforms or satellites to stay connected to the ground by automatically aiming their antennas for the best possible signal, saving power and improving reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Davis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,128,551) discloses improved methods and devices for the control, management and accounting of fuel delivery to motor vehicles.
Ionov et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,103,280) discloses satellite communications systems employing multiple RF ground links.
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 adnan.aziz@uspto.gov