DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as -being unpatentable over LIU et al. (CN 218616342 U: hereinafter “LIU”) in view of CLAYWELL et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0332885 A1: hereinafter “CLAYWELL”).
Consider claims 1, 11:
LIU teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121, the battery thermal management system and vehicle), a method of controlling a temperature rise of a battery (Fig. 1 element 22, the power battery) for a vehicle which includes a motor (Fig. 1 element 25, power motor, switching device) configured to use power of the battery to rotates a drive axle, and a heat exchanger (Fig. 1 element 12, heat exchanger) (See LIU, e.g., “…a battery thermal management system and vehicle…a first circulation loop and a second circulation loop, the second circulation loop comprises: a power battery and the battery cooler connected through the pipeline sequentially the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop is circularly flowing between the power battery and the battery cooler, the cooling medium in the first circulation loop is suitable for taking away the heat of the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop in the battery cooler…the motor radiator, the motor radiator is suitable for reducing the temperature of the cooling liquid in the second circulating loop…uses the idle motor radiator matched with the battery cooler to radiate the battery when charging, further improves the cooling rate of the battery heat management system…” of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121), the method comprising: when a temperature of the battery is increased, determining, by a controller, a maximum power to be supplied to the motor (See LIU, e.g., “…when the atmospheric temperature is lower than the temperature of the cooling liquid, the battery heat management system can be switched to the first cooling mode, discharged from the power battery 22 of the high temperature of the cooling liquid through the motor radiator 23 for radiating, and then further radiating through the battery cooler 14, the temperature lower cooling liquid discharged from the battery cooler 14 enters the power battery 22 again, through the double cooling of the motor radiator 23 and the battery cooler 14, which effectively improves the cooling rate of the battery heat management system…”, therefore, battery is equipped to provide motor with maximum energy, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121).
LIU further teaches and controlling, by the controller, the heat exchanger to transfer heat from motor coolant to battery coolant (See LIU, e.g., “…a switching device (3), which is respectively connected with the power battery (22), the battery cooler (14) and the motor radiator (23); the battery thermal management system has a first cooling mode and a second cooling mode, the switching device (3) is adapted to switch the battery thermal management system between the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode; in the first cooling mode, the cooling liquid sequentially the second circulation loop (2) flows through the power battery (22), the motor radiator (23) and the battery cooler (14); in the second cooling mode, the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop (2) circularly flows between the power battery (22) and the battery cooler (14)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121). However, LIU does not explicitly teach a separator configured to separate the motor from the drive axle, supplying, by the controller, the maximum power to the motor while the motor is separated from the drive axle.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, CLAYWELL teaches a separator configured to separate the motor from the drive axle (See CLAYWELL, e.g., “…The vehicle system is also configured to transfer heat from the oil through a heat exchanger to battery coolant to warm a vehicle battery. Still further, the vehicle system is configured to disconnect the electric machine from the powertrain and spin-up the rotor to increase the temperature of the oil, such as during a cold start while the vehicle is parked, to warm the electric machine and warm the oil for any suitable use throughout the vehicle system…” of Abstract, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0047], and Fig. 1 elements 10-62), supplying, by the controller, the maximum power to the motor (See CLAYWELL, e.g., “…battery of the vehicle 12, such as a battery configured to power the electric machine 20…” of Abstract, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0047], and Figs. 1 elements 10-62) while the motor is separated from the drive axle (See CLAYWELL, e.g., “…The vehicle system is also configured to transfer heat from the oil through a heat exchanger to battery coolant to warm a vehicle battery. Still further, the vehicle system is configured to disconnect the electric machine from the powertrain and spin-up the rotor to increase the temperature of the oil, such as during a cold start while the vehicle is parked, to warm the electric machine and warm the oil for any suitable use throughout the vehicle system…” of Abstract, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0047], and Fig. 1 elements 10-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…a battery thermal management system and vehicle…a first circulation loop and a second circulation loop, the second circulation loop comprises: a power battery and the battery cooler connected through the pipeline sequentially the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop is circularly flowing between the power battery and the battery cooler, the cooling medium in the first circulation loop is suitable for taking away the heat of the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop in the battery cooler…the motor radiator, the motor radiator is suitable for reducing the temperature of the cooling liquid in the second circulating loop…uses the idle motor radiator matched with the battery cooler to radiate the battery when charging, further improves the cooling rate of the battery heat management system…” disclosed in LIU with “a separator configured to separate the motor from the drive axle, supplying, by the controller, the maximum power to the motor while the motor is separated from the drive axle.” taught in CLAYWELL with a reasonable expectation of success to improve safety and significantly increase the battery life.
Consider claims 4, 14:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, LIU teaches further comprising: measuring, by a temperature sensor, the temperature of the battery (See LIU, e.g., “…when the atmospheric temperature is lower than the temperature of the cooling liquid, the battery heat management system can be switched to the first cooling mode, discharged from the power battery 22 of the high temperature of the cooling liquid through the motor radiator 23 for radiating…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121); determining, by the controller, to increase the temperature of the battery when the temperature of the battery does not exceed a threshold temperature (See LIU, e.g., “…when the atmospheric temperature is lower than the temperature of the cooling liquid, the battery heat management system can be switched to the first cooling mode, discharged from the power battery 22 of the high temperature of the cooling liquid through the motor radiator 23 for radiating…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121); and terminating, by the controller, the temperature rise of the battery when the temperature of the battery reaches a target temperature (See LIU, e.g., “…a switching device (3), which is respectively connected with the power battery (22), the battery cooler (14) and the motor radiator (23); the battery thermal management system has a first cooling mode and a second cooling mode, the switching device (3) is adapted to switch the battery thermal management system between the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode; in the first cooling mode, the cooling liquid sequentially the second circulation loop (2) flows through the power battery (22), the motor radiator (23) and the battery cooler (14); in the second cooling mode, the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop (2) circularly flows between the power battery (22) and the battery cooler (14)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121).
Consider claim 5:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 4. In addition, LIU teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine to increase the temperature of the battery when the temperature of the battery does not exceed a threshold temperature (See LIU, e.g., “…a switching device (3), which is respectively connected with the power battery (22), the battery cooler (14) and the motor radiator (23); the battery thermal management system has a first cooling mode and a second cooling mode, the switching device (3) is adapted to switch the battery thermal management system between the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode; in the first cooling mode, the cooling liquid sequentially the second circulation loop (2) flows through the power battery (22), the motor radiator (23) and the battery cooler (14); in the second cooling mode, the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop (2) circularly flows between the power battery (22) and the battery cooler (14)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121).
Consider claim 6:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 5. In addition, LIU teaches wherein the controller is configured to terminate the temperature rise of the battery when the temperature of the battery reaches a target temperature (See LIU, e.g., “…the battery thermal management system has a first cooling mode and a second cooling mode, the switching device (3) is adapted to switch the battery thermal management system between the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode; in the first cooling mode, the cooling liquid sequentially the second circulation loop (2) flows through the power battery (22), the motor radiator (23) and the battery cooler (14); in the second cooling mode, the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop (2) circularly flows between the power battery (22) and the battery cooler (14)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121).
Consider claims 7, 15:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. CLAYWELL teaches wherein the supplying of the maximum power to the motor includes separating the motor from the drive axle in conjunction with a disconnector actuator system (DAS) (See CLAYWELL, e.g., “…The vehicle system is also configured to transfer heat from the oil through a heat exchanger to battery coolant to warm a vehicle battery. Still further, the vehicle system is configured to disconnect the electric machine from the powertrain and spin-up the rotor to increase the temperature of the oil, such as during a cold start while the vehicle is parked, to warm the electric machine and warm the oil for any suitable use throughout the vehicle system…” of Abstract, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0047], and Fig. 1 elements 10-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of LIU with CLAYWELL with a reasonable expectation of success to improve safety and significantly preserve the battery life.
Consider claims 8, 16:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, LIU teaches wherein the controlling of the heat exchanger to transfer the heat includes transferring the heat from the motor coolant whose temperature has risen to the battery coolant in conjunction with the heat exchanger (See LIU, e.g., “…the battery thermal management system has a first cooling mode and a second cooling mode, the switching device (3) is adapted to switch the battery thermal management system between the first cooling mode and the second cooling mode; in the first cooling mode, the cooling liquid sequentially the second circulation loop (2) flows through the power battery (22), the motor radiator (23) and the battery cooler (14); in the second cooling mode, the cooling liquid in the second circulation loop (2) circularly flows between the power battery (22) and the battery cooler (14)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0004]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0024]-¶ [0047], and Figs. 1-3 elements 1-121).
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, 12-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as -being unpatentable over LIU et al. (CN 218616342 U: hereinafter “LIU”) in view of CLAYWELL, and in further view of LEE (US Pub. No.: 2024/0383374 A1: hereinafter “LEE”).
Consider claims 2, 12:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. However, the combination of LIU, CLAYWELL does not explicitly teach further comprising: storing, by storage, a battery power map in which a discharge power and a charge power corresponding to a state of charge (SOC) and the temperature of the battery are recorded.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, LEE teaches further comprising: storing, by storage, a battery power map in which a discharge power and a charge power corresponding to a state of charge (SOC) and the temperature of the battery are recorded (See LEE, e.g., “…preventing output limit of a battery of a vehicle for improving output decrease due to output limit of the battery configured to supply power to a motor for driving the vehicle, includes monitoring a temperature and a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery configured to supply power to a motor configured for driving the vehicle while driving, determining a level of a possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery based on a level determination map configured based on the temperature and the SOC value of the battery, and selectively performing control for raising the temperature of the battery according to the determined level of the possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery…” of Abstract, ¶ [0012], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0033]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 1-5 elements 10-50, steps S100-S420).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination LIU, CLAYWELL with LEE with a reasonable expectation of success to improve range of vehicles and marketability.
Consider claims 3, 13:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL, and LEE teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 2, 12. However, the combination of LIU, CLAYWELL does not explicitly teach wherein the determining of the maximum power includes determining the maximum power to be supplied to the motor based on the battery power map.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, LEE teaches wherein the determining of the maximum power includes determining the maximum power to be supplied to the motor based on the battery power map (See LEE, e.g., “…preventing output limit of a battery of a vehicle for improving output decrease due to output limit of the battery configured to supply power to a motor for driving the vehicle, includes monitoring a temperature and a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery configured to supply power to a motor configured for driving the vehicle while driving, determining a level of a possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery based on a level determination map configured based on the temperature and the SOC value of the battery, and selectively performing control for raising the temperature of the battery according to the determined level of the possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery…” of Abstract, ¶ [0012], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0033]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 1-5 elements 10-50, steps S100-S420).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination LIU, CLAYWELL with LEE with a reasonable expectation of success to improve range of vehicles and marketability.
Consider claims 9, 17:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. However, the combination of LIU, CLAYWELL does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to determine a charging current and a discharging current of the battery based on a state of charge (SOC) of the battery, and cause heat generation due to an internal resistance of the battery by alternately repeating charging and discharging of the battery at a preset cycle.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, LEE teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine a charging current and a discharging current of the battery based on a state of charge (SOC) of the battery (See LEE, e.g., “…monitoring a temperature and a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery configured to supply power to a motor configured for driving the vehicle while driving, determining a level of a possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery based on a level determination map configured based on the temperature and the SOC value of the battery, and selectively performing control for raising the temperature of the battery according to the determined level of the possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery…” of Abstract, ¶ [0012], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0033]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 1-5 elements 10-50, steps S100-S420), and cause heat generation due to an internal resistance of the battery by alternately repeating charging and discharging of the battery at a preset cycle (See LEE, e.g., “…the level of the possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery is the normal level, the second controller 20 periodically monitors the temperature and SOC value of the battery…the second controller 20 turns on the charging warning light 42 for warning of a charging state of the battery (S190). The second controller 20 notifies the user that the battery needs to be charged before starting next driving by turning on the charging warning light 42 in the first operation mode and induces charging. Furthermore, by turning on the charging warning light 42, the second controller 20 may warn the user that the possibility of occurrence of the output limit of the battery may increase during next driving when the battery is not charged before starting next driving… of Abstract, ¶ [0012], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0033]-¶ [0056], ¶ [0074]-¶ [0088], and Figs. 1-5 elements 10-50, steps S100-S420).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination LIU, CLAYWELL with LEE with a reasonable expectation of success to improve range of vehicles and marketability.
Consider claim 10:
The combination of LIU, CLAYWELL, and LEE teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 9. However, the combination of LIU, CLAYWELL does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to terminate the heat generation in the internal resistance of the battery when the temperature of the battery reaches a target temperature.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, LEE teaches wherein the controller is configured to terminate the heat generation in the internal resistance of the battery when the temperature of the battery reaches a target temperature (See LEE, e.g., “…the second controller 20 terminates charging of the battery (S280). For example, the second controller 20 may cut off supply of charging power to the battery through the external charger by disconnecting electrical connection between the internal charger and the external charger…” of Abstract, ¶ [0012], ¶ [0018], ¶ [0033]-¶ [0056], ¶ [0074]-¶ [0088], and Figs. 1-5 elements 10-50, steps S100-S420).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination LIU, CLAYWELL with LEE with a reasonable expectation of success to improve range of vehicles and marketability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AKIYAMA (DE 112023004472 T5) teaches “A vehicle thermal management system (10) comprises a controller (90). The controller (90) is configured to switch an operating mode of the vehicle thermal management system (10) between a battery cooling mode, a battery warming mode, and an auxiliary heating mode. In the battery cooling mode, a coolant cooled by a second refrigerant at a second heat exchanger (82) absorbs heat from a battery (32), thereby cooling the battery (32). In the battery warming mode, the coolant, which has absorbed heat from the second refrigerant at the second heat exchanger (82), releases heat to the battery (32), thereby warming the battery (32). In the auxiliary heating mode, the second refrigerant releases heat to the coolant at the second heat exchanger (32), thereby heating the coolant. In addition, the heated coolant releases heat to a first refrigerant at the first heat exchanger (32), thereby heating the first refrigerant.”
ZHAO et al. (CN 119526968 A) teaches “The application relates to the field of automobile thermal management, and claims an electric automobile and thermal management system thereof. The cooling liquid subsystem of the system comprises a five-way valve, a six-way valve, a PTC heating component, a battery cooling component, a motor cooling component, a radiator, a heat exchanger, a water cooling condenser, a heating core, a one-way valve, a water pump, a six-way valve and a motor cooling component, a battery cooling component, a heat exchanger, a water cooling condenser, the five-way valve is connected with the PTC heating component, the motor cooling component, the heat exchanger, the radiator and the water pump to form multiple different loops of the cooling liquid sub-system by switching the positions of the five-way valve and the six-way valve. Through the connection relation of the five-way valve and the six-way valve and the combination of the position state switching of the five-way valve and the six-way valve, it can effectively realize the heat transmission for refrigeration or heat dissipation, and also can reduce the number of the valve body component, such as can reduce the use of the three-way valve with high cost, which is good for reducing the system cost.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667