DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-44 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is unclear because it is drawn to a producr but contains a pharase that appears to be a method step. Step c recites, “harvested from a population of stem cells using a harvesting solution”. It is not clear if this is intended to be a required step or if it intended to be a product by process type clause where the process of harvesting structurally or functionally could alter the claims product. It is also not clear if the harvesting solution is part of the claimed product. Claims 22-44 are unclear given their dependency from claim 21.
Consequently, claim 30 is unclear because it limits the amount of harvesting solution in the product but the harvesting solution isn’t necessarily or clearly claimed to be present.
Claim 28 is unclear as it recites that the lipid “can be”, which does not render it clear if the lipid is limited to those recited in claim 28.
Claim 31 is unclear as it limits the tissue but there is not antecedent basis for “the tissue”.
Claim 37 is unclear as to whether “is mixed with” is a method step or is intended to read as “further comprising”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,207,718 B1 to Papadimitriou in view of US2012/0121693 A1 to Cotsarelis et al. (hereinafter 'Cotsarelis').
Papadimitriou teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a complex of lipid-modified hedgehog proteins (Sonic hedgehog, Example 3; claim 24) and a cyclodextrin (col 1, ln 7-18; .beta.-cyclodextrin, Col. 3; claim 22) as a pharmaceutical excipient for delivery. “Hedgehog (hh) proteins are understood as a family of secreted signal proteins which are responsible for the formation of numerous structures in embryogenesis ... In its natural form the N-terminal domain is modified with cholesterol or palmitoyl.” Cholesterol and palmitoyl are lipids and thus the Hh protein is lipid modified, as claimed. The Abstract states, “A composition of a hedgehog protein which includes as an additive cyclodextrin, a non-ionic detergent, an anionic saccharide and/or ionic salt ... is especially stable at room temperature.” "The compositions described herein are also particularly suitable for producing carrier matrices containing a pharmaceutically effective amount of hedgehog protein. The carrier matrices ... can be administered to a human patient to provide delayed release of pharmaceutically effective hedgehog protein in the human body' (col 2, ln 29-36). Papadimitriou also discusses that the Hh can be made more hydrophobic by palmitoylation (chemically modified and palmitate, claims 23 and 28, respectively). Papadimitriou discusses that as a pharmaceutical, the composition is preferable aqueous (claim 41) at a pH of 5-8 (claim 42) and can contain an antibiotic (claim 43) or trehalose (claim 44). See column 5.
Papadimitriou does not teach inclusion of a lipid-modified Wnt in the Shh-cyclodextrin composition.
However, Cotsarelis teaches a method of promoting tissue regeneration in a tissue in need thereof, comprising exposing a tissue to a composition comprising a hedgehog protein and/or a Wnt protein, wherein the composition is formulated as a cream or ointment (see para 60; claim 29)
“The present invention provides methods of treating baldness in a subject and generating new hair follicles, comprising epidermal disruption and administration of a compound that promotes a differentiation of an uncommitted epidermal cell into a hair follicle cell.' (Abstract). Cotsarelis claims “A method for generating a hair follicle in a scalp, eyebrow, or scarred region of a subject, the method comprising the steps of…. (b) contacting said scalp, eyebrow, or scarred region with a compound or factor that promotes a differentiation of an uncommitted epidermal cell into a hair follicle cell, thereby generating a hair follicle….” (claim 1). The compounds include Wnt and shh (Hh). Claim 11 of Cotsarelis limits the compound to Wnt7 (claim 25). Claim 17 limits the compound or factor to hedgehog. See also paragraphs 19,38 and 98. Paragraph 98 teaches the combination of Wnt and Hh. Claims 31 and 32 unclear in limiting “the tissue” because there is not tissue as part of the claimed composition. However, to the extent that Cotsarelis teaches applying the composition to a hair follicle, claims 31-32 are included in this rejection. The composition is topical (claim 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing combine 1) the composition of lipid-modified hedgehog protein and a cyclodextrin of Papadimitriou in the method of using 2) a combination of Hedgehog protein and a Wnt protein for hair growth of Cotsarelis that would result in the formation of a cyclodextrin molecule conjugated to lipid-modified hedgehog (Papadimitriou) and Wnt (Cotsarelis), as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Papadimitriou taught the cyclodextrin complexed, lipid-modified Shh protein is stable at room temperature and time-released. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because the requisite knowledge and skills for combining the compounds was well-known and routine.
With regard to claims 22, Papadimitriou teaches b-cyclodextrin at col. 3, lines 32-34. With regard to claim 24, Papadimitriou teaches sonic, desert and indian hedgehog. Cotsarelis teaches numerous Wnts including Wnt 3a (claim 25). With regard to claim 26-27 and 34-36, the wherein clause amounts to a product by process type of limitation where the method of obtaining the protein is given little patentable weight when it is not shown to substantively change the product. It is held that Hh proteins isolated from stem cells are not substantively different from Hh proteins isolated from non-stem cells. With regard to claim 30, not only is it not clear that the harvesting solution is part the claimed product of claim 21, the composition of the solution is entirely undefined. Thus, for compact prosecution, claim 21 is included to t he extent that any solution that the composition comprises can be considered “harvesting solution”. With regard to claim 37, Cotsarelis discusses pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, which are excipients at para 182. With regard to claim 38, there is no teaching that fails to meet the negative limitation “wherein the…protein are not treated with detergent or an organic solvent”. With regard to claim 39, the claims do not require the harvest solution be present in the composition but limit the concentration of the cyclodextrin in the solution used to harvest the composition. This appears to be a product by process limitation that does not necessarily affect the characteristics of the harvested product.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29,31-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,666,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are drawn to methods of making the currently claimed product, which renders the product obvious. Trehalose of instant claim 44 is recited in patent claim 4. The excipient of claim 37 is recited in patent claim 2. The antimicrobial of claim 43 is recited in patent claim 13. The hedgehog proteins of claim 24 are recited in patent claim 14. The wnts of claim 25 are recited in patent claim 15. The stem cells of claims 26,34-35 are recited in patent claim 16. The tissues of claim 31 are recited in patent claim 20. The genetically engineered limitation of claim 27 is recited in patent claim 18.
Claims 21-29,31-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12268770. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are drawn to methods of using the currently claimed product, which renders the product obvious. Trehalose of instant claim 44 is recited in patent claim 4. The cyclodextrins of claim 22 is recited in patent claim 2. The lipids of claim 28 are recited in patent claim 8. The antimicrobial of claim 43 is recited in patent claim 13. The hedgehog proteins of claim 24 are recited in patent claim 4. The wnts of claim 25 are recited in patent claim 5. The stem cells of claims 26,34-36 are recited in patent claim 6,14-16. The tissues of claim 31 are recited in patent claim 11. The genetically engineered limitation of claim 27 is recited in patent claim 7.
Conclusion
/VALARIE E BERTOGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632