DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 11/01/24. The request for foreign priority to a corresponding KR application filed 06/27/24 has been received and is proper. Claims 1-20 are currently pending yet all are rejected as detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Mitchell
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitchell et a. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0023825). Mitchell is directed to a vehicle brake system using electric parking brake in failed boost conditions. See Title.
Claim 1: Mitchell discloses a0 brake system for a vehicle, the brake system [Fig. 1] comprising: first brake devices (106A, 106B) respectively provided in two vehicle wheels of a vehicle and configured to perform a braking operation by transmitted liquid pressure; second brake devices (106C/206A, 106D/206B) respectively provided in the other two vehicle wheels of the vehicle and configured to perform a braking operation by an embedded first electromechanical actuator (208, 210); a reservoir (108) configured to store a pressing medium; a master cylinder (112) comprising a master chamber (142, 140), and a master piston (116, 118) provided in the master chamber and provided to be displaceable by a brake pedal (120); a hydraulic actuator (152) configured to generate the liquid pressure by an electrical signal outputted in response to a displacement amount of the brake pedal; a hydraulic circuit (104) configured to control the liquid pressure to be transmitted to the first brake device; and an electronic control unit (218, 212) configured to control the first electromechanical actuator, the hydraulic actuator, and the hydraulic circuit so that the first brake device and the second brake device generate braking forces in response to the displacement amount of the brake pedal. See Fig. 1.
Claim 2: Mitchell discloses a pedal simulator (130) configured to provide a reaction force in response to a pedal effort of the brake pedal. See Fig. 1.
Claim 3: Mitchell discloses that the master cylinder further comprises an elastic member provided in the master chamber and configured to provide a reaction force to the master piston in response to a pedal effort of the brake pedal. See Fig. 1 (springs in 112).
Claim 4: Mitchell discloses that any one of the first brake device and the second brake device is provided in each of two front wheels of the vehicle, and the other of the first brake device and the second brake device is provided in each of two rear wheels of the vehicle. See para. 0038.
Claim 5: Mitchell discloses that the first brake device performs the braking operation by any one of the transmitted liquid pressure and an embedded second electromechanical actuator. See Fig. 1 (other of 208, 210). Note: “first brake device” here includes 106A-106D).
Claim 6: Mitchell discloses that the first brake device performs the braking operation simultaneously by the transmitted liquid pressure and the embedded second electromechanical actuator. See para. 0083.
Claim 7: Mitchell discloses a plurality of valves (154-186) disposed in a flow path that connects the hydraulic actuator and the first brake device, and wherein the electronic control unit controls the plurality of valves to generate the braking force by transmitting the pressing medium, which is discharged from the hydraulic actuator, to the first brake device on the basis of the displacement amount of the brake pedal. See Fig. 1.
Claim 8: Mitchell discloses a back-up flow path (136, 138) connected to supply the pressing medium, which is discharged from the master cylinder, to the first brake device; and a cut valve (154, 156) provided in the back-up flow path. See Fig. 1.
Claim 9: Mitchell discloses a pedal simulator (130) configured to provide a reaction force in response to a pedal effort of the brake pedal; and a simulator valve (126) provided in a branch flow path configured to connect the pedal simulator and the master cylinder, wherein the electronic control unit switches the simulator valve to an open state when a driver applies the pedal effort to the brake pedal. See para. 0041; Fig. 1.
Claim 14: see claim 1 above. Mitchell further discloses a first electronic control unit (212) configured to control the hydraulic actuator and the hydraulic circuit so that the first brake device generates a braking force in response to the displacement amount of the brake pedal; and a second electronic control unit (218) configured to control the electromechanical actuator so that the second brake device generates a braking force in response to the displacement amount of the brake pedal.
Claim 15: Mitchell discloses a brake system [Fig. 1] for a vehicle, the brake system comprising: a hydraulic actuator (152) hydraulically connected to a first brake device (106A) provided in a first wheel related to a first axle of a vehicle; a first motor (196) configured to operate the hydraulic actuator; a power transmission mechanism (206A) mechanically connected to a second brake device (106C) provided in a second wheel related to a second axle different from the first axle [see also para. 0038]; a second motor (208) configured to operate the power transmission mechanism; a first control unit (212) configured to control the first motor to supply liquid pressure to the first brake device or recover the liquid pressure on the basis that an output signal of a pedal displacement sensor (144) of the vehicle is received; and a second control unit (218) configured to control the second motor to operate or release the second brake device in response to a control signal on the basis of the output signal of the pedal displacement sensor of the vehicle, wherein the first control unit is connected directly to the pedal displacement sensor [see para. 0057], and wherein the second control unit is not connected directly to the pedal displacement sensor [see para. 0083-86]. See Fig. 1.
Claim 16: Mitchell discloses that the second control unit receives the control signal from the first control unit. See Figs. 1, 7.
Claim 17: Mitchell discloses that the second control unit receives the control signal from a third control unit (204) provided in the vehicle. See para 0097 (failure condition).
Claim 18: Mitchell discloses that the first brake device is operated or released by the liquid pressure supplied or recovered by the hydraulic actuator. See Fig. 1.
Claim 19: Mitchell discloses another power transmission mechanism (206B) mechanically connected to the first brake device; a third motor (210) configured to operate another power transmission mechanism; and a third control unit configured to control the third motor to operate or release the first brake device in response to a control signal on the basis of the output signal of the pedal displacement sensor of the vehicle, wherein the third control unit is not connected directly to the pedal displacement sensor. See Fig. 1; para. 0038.
Claim 20: Mitchell discloses that the first brake device is operated or released by the liquid pressure supplied or recovered by the hydraulic actuator, and the first brake device is operated or released by another power transmission mechanism (206B). See Fig. 1; para. 0038.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Mitchell in view of Jeong
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell in view of Jeong (KR 20190037806). Jeong is directed to an electric brake system. See Title.
Claim 10: Mitchell is relied upon as in claim 8 above. Mitchell further discloses that the master cylinder further comprises an elastic member [see Fig. 1 (springs in 112)] provided in the master chamber and configured to provide a reaction force to the master piston in response to a pedal effort of the brake pedal, and wherein the electronic control unit switches the simulator valve (126) to an open state when a driver applies the pedal effort to the brake pedal. See Fig. 1. Jeong discloses all the limitations of this claim except for the simulation flow path being “configured to connect the back-up flow path and the reservoir.” Jeong discloses a brake system with a master cylinder (20), reservoir (30), back-up flow path (251), simulator valve (54) in a simulation flow path (50-55), wherein the simulation flow path is configured to connect the back-up flow path and the reservoir. See Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide this feature because it ensures direct access from the fluid pressure storage medium to the pedal simulator, which will provide a better driver pedal “feel” during braking.
Claim 11: Jeong discloses that the electronic control unit switches the simulator valve to a closed state while an inspection mode is performed in which the simulator valve is inspected for a leak. See Figs. 1 (using inspection valve 60), 14. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a closed simulator valve to ensure proper isolation of the reservoir during inspection.
Claim 12: Jeong discloses a reservoir flow path (above 20) configured to allow the reservoir (30) and the master cylinder (20) to communicate with each other; a reservoir check valve (adjacent 60) provided in the reservoir flow path; a bypass flow path (at 60) configured to connect front and rear sides of the reservoir check valve; and an inspection valve (60) provided in the bypass flow path. See Fig. 1. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a reservoir check valve to ensure proper isolation of the reservoir during operation/inspection.
Claim 13: Jeong discloses that the electronic control unit switches the inspection valve to a closed state while an inspection mode is performed in which the inspection valve is inspected for a leak. See Figs. 1, 14. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a reservoir check valve to ensure proper isolation of the reservoir during inspection.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 October 8, 2026