DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 11/1/2024. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application KR10-2023-0150221 filed on 11/2/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0208490, hereinafter Kim) in view of Zhu et al. (US 2026/0213823, hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) reporting, wherein the configuration information includes one or more sub-configurations and a sub-configuration includes a port subset indicator [Kim Figure 36 discloses a method for transmitting and receiving CSI where UE may receive a configuration from network. The configuration may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc.; similar to a sub-configuration) (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). Kim discloses that a plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592); indicating a port subset];
Identifying one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for the sub-configuration based on a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting and the port subset indicator [Kim Figures 27-30 disclose examples of CSI and resource set groups. The configuration received by the UE may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc. (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). A plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592)];
Obtaining CSI based on the one or more CSI-RS ports; and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI reporting including the CSI [The UE may receive an indication on CSI reporting (Kim Figure 36, S3603, paragraphs 0867, 0868). The UE may perform CSI measurement based on information configured from the network and the RS (Kim Figure 36, S3604, paragraph 0869); and report CSI accordingly (Kim Figure 36, S3605, paragraphs 0888-0889)].
Kim does not expressly disclose the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in the plurality of CSI-RS ports for the channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhu discloses that a terminal receives a CSI report configuration from a network device (Zhu paragraph 0092). The report configuration may include a list of sub-configurations which correspond to antenna port subset indication information (Zhu paragraph 0102). Each sub-configuration may be configured with a port subset by a bitmap parameter. The bitmap includes a bit sequence corresponding to antenna ports configured for CSI-RS resources in a resource set used for channel measurement and associated with the CSI report configuration. A bit of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information indicates that for this sub-configuration, the corresponding antenna port belongs to an antenna port subset associated with this sub-configuration. That is, antenna ports in the antenna port subset are activated/indicated/triggered antenna ports in antenna ports configured in the CSI-RS resource configuration for channel measurement associated with the report configuration (Zhu paragraph 0104). Zhu further discloses that in some cases, indices of antenna ports may be in an increasing order of a port index, from antenna ports corresponding to bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information associated with the sub-configuration (see Zhu paragraphs 0154-0155 and claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhu to have the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in the plurality of CSI-RS ports for the channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1. The suggestion/motivation would have been to achieve network energy saving and allow for efficient utilization of physical resources, thereby enhancing the overall efficiency of network transmissions (Zhu paragraphs 0033 and 0071).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 1. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein, in case that a non precoding matrix indicator (PMI) port indication is configured for the sub-configuration, the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports based on the non PMI port indication, and wherein the non PMI port indication indicates at least one CSI-RS port for each rank among the one or more CSI-RS ports [Zhu discloses that the terminal may determine CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication configured by the network. CSI-RS port indices are denoted and when rank = v, v antenna ports are selected for transmission. For each CSI-RS resource used for channel measurement, non-PMIPortlndication may indicate v antenna ports in the P antenna ports to which v antenna ports in each rank v refer (see Zhu paragraphs 0084-0086. Also see Zhu paragraph 0136)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 1. Kim and Zhu further disclose
wherein the CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on the one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim discloses that for a CSI-RS port and a precoder, an order for CQI computation may be defined based on an order of a CSI set (Kim paragraph 0418). Zhu discloses that the terminal equipment may determine a CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication information (nonPMI-Portindication) configured by the network device or a default antenna port order, and then calculate the RI and CQI (Zhu paragraphs 0084 and 0085)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 1. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the port subset indicator includes a number of bits set to a value of 1 and the number of bits set to the value of 1 is one of 1, 2, 4, or 8 [Zhu discloses that the indication may comprise a port index sequence where the v antenna port indices of a rank v, and R may belong to a set of 1, 2, 4, 8; which may be the number of bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information corresponding to the sub-configuration (Zhu paragraphs 0155 and 0156)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 1. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein a report quantity of the CSI reporting is CSI-RS indicator (CRI)-rank indicator (RI)-CQI [Kim discloses that When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as ‘cri-RI-CQI’, W(i) is a precoding matrix corresponding to a procedure described in clause 5.2.1.4.2 of TS38.214 (Kim paragraphs 0414). Zhu discloses that the terminal receives the CSI report configuration configured by the network device, wherein when the CSI report quantity reportQauntity is configured as "cri-RI-CQI", it indicates that the UE reports the CRI and the RI and CQI corresponding to the CRI, and does not include an PMI (Zhu paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) reporting, wherein the configuration information includes one or more sub-configurations and a sub-configuration includes a port subset indicator [Kim Figure 36 discloses a method for transmitting and receiving CSI where UE may receive a configuration from network. The configuration may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc.; similar to a sub-configuration) (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). Kim discloses that a plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592); indicating a port subset]; and
Receiving, from the terminal, the CSI reporting including CSI; wherein the CSI is based on one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim Figures 27-30 disclose examples of CSI and resource set groups. The configuration received by the UE may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc. (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). A plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592). The UE may receive an indication on CSI reporting (Kim Figure 36, S3603, paragraphs 0867, 0868). The UE may perform CSI measurement based on information configured from the network and the RS (Kim Figure 36, S3604, paragraph 0869); and report CSI accordingly (Kim Figure 36, S3605, paragraphs 0888-0889)].
Kim does not expressly disclose the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhu discloses that a terminal receives a CSI report configuration from a network device (Zhu paragraph 0092). The report configuration may include a list of sub-configurations which correspond to antenna port subset indication information (Zhu paragraph 0102). Each sub-configuration may be configured with a port subset by a bitmap parameter. The bitmap includes a bit sequence corresponding to antenna ports configured for CSI-RS resources in a resource set used for channel measurement and associated with the CSI report configuration. A bit of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information indicates that for this sub-configuration, the corresponding antenna port belongs to an antenna port subset associated with this sub-configuration. That is, antenna ports in the antenna port subset are activated/indicated/triggered antenna ports in antenna ports configured in the CSI-RS resource configuration for channel measurement associated with the report configuration (Zhu paragraph 0104). Zhu further discloses that in some cases, indices of antenna ports may be in an increasing order of a port index, from antenna ports corresponding to bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information associated with the sub-configuration (see Zhu paragraphs 0154-0155 and claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhu to have the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1. The suggestion/motivation would have been to achieve network energy saving and allow for efficient utilization of physical resources, thereby enhancing the overall efficiency of network transmissions (Zhu paragraphs 0033 and 0071).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 6. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein, in case that a non precoding matrix indicator (PMI) port indication is configured for the sub-configuration, the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports based on the non PMI port indication, and wherein the non PMI port indication indicates at least one CSI-RS port for each rank among the one or more CSI-RS ports [Zhu discloses that the terminal may determine CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication configured by the network. CSI-RS port indices are denoted and when rank = v, v antenna ports are selected for transmission. For each CSI-RS resource used for channel measurement, non-PMIPortlndication may indicate v antenna ports in the P antenna ports to which v antenna ports in each rank v refer (see Zhu paragraphs 0084-0086. Also see Zhu paragraph 0136)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 6. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on the one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim discloses that for a CSI-RS port and a precoder, an order for CQI computation may be defined based on an order of a CSI set (Kim paragraph 0418). Zhu discloses that the terminal equipment may determine a CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication information (nonPMI-Portindication) configured by the network device or a default antenna port order, and then calculate the RI and CQI (Zhu paragraphs 0084 and 0085)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 6. Kim and Zhu further disclose
wherein the port subset indicator includes a number of bits set to a value of 1 and the number of bits set to the value of 1 is one of 1, 2, 4, or 8 [Zhu discloses that the indication may comprise a port index sequence where the v antenna port indices of a rank v, and R may belong to a set of 1, 2, 4, 8; which may be the number of bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information corresponding to the sub-configuration (Zhu paragraphs 0155 and 0156)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Zhu disclose the method of claim 6. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein a report quantity of the CSI reporting is CSI-RS indicator (CRI)-rank indicator (RI)-CQI [Kim discloses that When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as ‘cri-RI-CQI’, W(i) is a precoding matrix corresponding to a procedure described in clause 5.2.1.4.2 of TS38.214 (Kim paragraphs 0414). Zhu discloses that the terminal receives the CSI report configuration configured by the network device, wherein when the CSI report quantity reportQauntity is configured as "cri-RI-CQI", it indicates that the UE reports the CRI and the RI and CQI corresponding to the CRI, and does not include an PMI (Zhu paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a terminal in a communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller operably coupled to the transceiver, the controller configured to [Kim Figures 1 and 16 disclose a wireless system comprising gNBs and UE. Kim Figure 39 discloses a first wireless device 100 and a second wireless device 200, each comprising one or more processors, memories, transceivers, antennas, etc. (Kim Figure 39, paragraphs 0949-0955)]:
Receive, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) reporting, wherein the configuration information includes one or more sub-configurations and a sub-configuration includes a port subset indicator [Kim Figure 36 discloses a method for transmitting and receiving CSI where UE may receive a configuration from network. The configuration may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc.; similar to a sub-configuration) (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). Kim discloses that a plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592); indicating a port subset],
Identify one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for the sub-configuration based on a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting and the port subset indicator [Kim Figures 27-30 disclose examples of CSI and resource set groups. The configuration received by the UE may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc. (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). A plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592)],
Obtain CSI based on the one or more CSI-RS ports, and transmit, to the base station, the CSI reporting including the CSI [The UE may receive an indication on CSI reporting (Kim Figure 36, S3603, paragraphs 0867, 0868). The UE may perform CSI measurement based on information configured from the network and the RS (Kim Figure 36, S3604, paragraph 0869); and report CSI accordingly (Kim Figure 36, S3605, paragraphs 0888-0889)].
Kim does not expressly disclose the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in the plurality of CSI-RS ports for the channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhu discloses that a terminal receives a CSI report configuration from a network device (Zhu paragraph 0092). The report configuration may include a list of sub-configurations which correspond to antenna port subset indication information (Zhu paragraph 0102). Each sub-configuration may be configured with a port subset by a bitmap parameter. The bitmap includes a bit sequence corresponding to antenna ports configured for CSI-RS resources in a resource set used for channel measurement and associated with the CSI report configuration. A bit of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information indicates that for this sub-configuration, the corresponding antenna port belongs to an antenna port subset associated with this sub-configuration. That is, antenna ports in the antenna port subset are activated/indicated/triggered antenna ports in antenna ports configured in the CSI-RS resource configuration for channel measurement associated with the report configuration (Zhu paragraph 0104). Zhu further discloses that in some cases, indices of antenna ports may be in an increasing order of a port index, from antenna ports corresponding to bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information associated with the sub-configuration (see Zhu paragraphs 0154-0155 and claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhu to have the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in the plurality of CSI-RS ports for the channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1. The suggestion/motivation would have been to achieve network energy saving and allow for efficient utilization of physical resources, thereby enhancing the overall efficiency of network transmissions (Zhu paragraphs 0033 and 0071).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Zhu disclose the terminal of claim 11. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein in case that a non precoding matrix indicator (PMI) port indication is configured for the sub-configuration, the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports based on the non PMI port indication, and wherein the non PMI port indication indicates at least one CSI-RS port for each rank among the one or more CSI-RS ports [Zhu discloses that the terminal may determine CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication configured by the network. CSI-RS port indices are denoted and when rank = v, v antenna ports are selected for transmission. For each CSI-RS resource used for channel measurement, non-PMIPortlndication may indicate v antenna ports in the P antenna ports to which v antenna ports in each rank v refer (see Zhu paragraphs 0084-0086. Also see Zhu paragraph 0136)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Zhu disclose the terminal of claim 11. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on the one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim discloses that for a CSI-RS port and a precoder, an order for CQI computation may be defined based on an order of a CSI set (Kim paragraph 0418). Zhu discloses that the terminal equipment may determine a CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication information (nonPMI-Portindication) configured by the network device or a default antenna port order, and then calculate the RI and CQI (Zhu paragraphs 0084 and 0085)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Zhu disclose the terminal of claim 11. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the port subset indicator includes a number of bits set to a value of 1 and the number of bits set to the value of 1 is one of 1, 2, 4, or 8 [Zhu discloses that the indication may comprise a port index sequence where the v antenna port indices of a rank v, and R may belong to a set of 1, 2, 4, 8; which may be the number of bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information corresponding to the sub-configuration (Zhu paragraphs 0155 and 0156)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Zhu disclose the terminal of claim 11. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein a report quantity of the CSI reporting is CSI-RS indicator (CRI)-rank indicator (RI)-CQI [Kim discloses that When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as ‘cri-RI-CQI’, W(i) is a precoding matrix corresponding to a procedure described in clause 5.2.1.4.2 of TS38.214 (Kim paragraphs 0414). Zhu discloses that the terminal receives the CSI report configuration configured by the network device, wherein when the CSI report quantity reportQauntity is configured as "cri-RI-CQI", it indicates that the UE reports the CRI and the RI and CQI corresponding to the CRI, and does not include an PMI (Zhu paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a base station in a communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller operably coupled to the transceiver, the controller configured to [Kim Figures 1 and 16 disclose a wireless system comprising gNBs and UE. Kim Figure 39 discloses a first wireless device 100 and a second wireless device 200, each comprising one or more processors, memories, transceivers, antennas, etc. (Kim Figure 39, paragraphs 0949-0955)]:
Transmit, to a terminal, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) reporting, wherein the configuration information includes one or more sub-configurations and a sub-configuration includes a port subset indicator [Kim Figure 36 discloses a method for transmitting and receiving CSI where UE may receive a configuration from network. The configuration may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc.; similar to a sub-configuration) (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). Kim discloses that a plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592); indicating a port subset], and
Receive, from the terminal, the CSI reporting including CSI, wherein the CSI is based on one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim Figures 27-30 disclose examples of CSI and resource set groups. The configuration received by the UE may include CSI related information (e.g. CSI reporting setting, CSI-RS resource setting, etc. (Kim Figure 36, paragraphs 0852, 0857, 0858). A plurality of resource sets may be configured based on the configuration information. The configuration may include information on CSI which should be reported by UE (Kim paragraphs 0862 and 0876). CSI resource may correspond to a number of CSI-RS ports (Kim paragraph 0592). The UE may receive an indication on CSI reporting (Kim Figure 36, S3603, paragraphs 0867, 0868). The UE may perform CSI measurement based on information configured from the network and the RS (Kim Figure 36, S3604, paragraph 0869); and report CSI accordingly (Kim Figure 36, S3605, paragraphs 0888-0889)].
Kim does not expressly disclose the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhu discloses that a terminal receives a CSI report configuration from a network device (Zhu paragraph 0092). The report configuration may include a list of sub-configurations which correspond to antenna port subset indication information (Zhu paragraph 0102). Each sub-configuration may be configured with a port subset by a bitmap parameter. The bitmap includes a bit sequence corresponding to antenna ports configured for CSI-RS resources in a resource set used for channel measurement and associated with the CSI report configuration. A bit of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information indicates that for this sub-configuration, the corresponding antenna port belongs to an antenna port subset associated with this sub-configuration. That is, antenna ports in the antenna port subset are activated/indicated/triggered antenna ports in antenna ports configured in the CSI-RS resource configuration for channel measurement associated with the report configuration (Zhu paragraph 0104). Zhu further discloses that in some cases, indices of antenna ports may be in an increasing order of a port index, from antenna ports corresponding to bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information associated with the sub-configuration (see Zhu paragraphs 0154-0155 and claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhu to have the features of wherein the port subset indicator includes a plurality of bits each of which is associated with a CSI-RS port in a plurality of CSI-RS ports for a channel measurement associated with the CSI reporting, wherein indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports are indicated by one or more bits of a value of 1 of the port subset indicator, and wherein the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports in an increasing order of positions of the one or more bits set to a value of 1. The suggestion/motivation would have been to achieve network energy saving and allow for efficient utilization of physical resources, thereby enhancing the overall efficiency of network transmissions (Zhu paragraphs 0033 and 0071).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Zhu disclose the base station of claim 16. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein, in case that a non precoding matrix indicator (PMI) port indication is configured for the sub-configuration, the indices of the one or more CSI-RS ports correspond to one or more antenna ports based on the non PMI port indication, and wherein the non PMI port indication indicates at least one CSI-RS port for each rank among the one or more CSI-RS ports [Zhu discloses that the terminal may determine CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication configured by the network. CSI-RS port indices are denoted and when rank = v, v antenna ports are selected for transmission. For each CSI-RS resource used for channel measurement, non-PMIPortlndication may indicate v antenna ports in the P antenna ports to which v antenna ports in each rank v refer (see Zhu paragraphs 0084-0086. Also see Zhu paragraph 0136)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Zhu disclose the base station of claim 16. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on the one or more CSI-RS ports [Kim discloses that for a CSI-RS port and a precoder, an order for CQI computation may be defined based on an order of a CSI set (Kim paragraph 0418). Zhu discloses that the terminal equipment may determine a CSI-RS port corresponding to channel measurement of the RI according to the non-PMI antenna port indication information (nonPMI-Portindication) configured by the network device or a default antenna port order, and then calculate the RI and CQI (Zhu paragraphs 0084 and 0085)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Zhu disclose the base station of claim 16. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein the port subset indicator includes a number of bits set to a value of 1 and the number of bits set to the value of 1 is one of 1, 2, 4, or 8 [Zhu discloses that the indication may comprise a port index sequence where the v antenna port indices of a rank v, and R may belong to a set of 1, 2, 4, 8; which may be the number of bits with a value of 1 in the antenna port subset indication information corresponding to the sub-configuration (Zhu paragraphs 0155 and 0156)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Zhu disclose the base station of claim 16. Kim and Zhu further disclose wherein a report quantity of the CSI reporting is CSI-RS indicator (CRI)-rank indicator (RI)-CQI [Kim discloses that When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as ‘cri-RI-CQI’, W(i) is a precoding matrix corresponding to a procedure described in clause 5.2.1.4.2 of TS38.214 (Kim paragraphs 0414). Zhu discloses that the terminal receives the CSI report configuration configured by the network device, wherein when the CSI report quantity reportQauntity is configured as "cri-RI-CQI", it indicates that the UE reports the CRI and the RI and CQI corresponding to the CRI, and does not include an PMI (Zhu paragraph 0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414