DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Tire Management System and Method
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “diagnostic indicator is mounted on an exterior of the trailer” as set forth in claims 3 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality: The phrase “a diagnostic indicator configured coupled to the electronic control unit” should be replaced with a phrase, such as -- a diagnostic indicator configured to be coupled to the electronic control unit -- for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “a channel of a manifold” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a channel” and “a manifold” refer to “a channel” and “a manifold” previously recited in independent claim 10 or if they are distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schultz et al. (EP 0164917 A2; hereinafter “Schultz”).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz discloses a method for managing pressure in one or more tires 12 installed on a vehicle (lines 1-9 of page 1), comprising: determining, by an electronic control unit (“controller” per at least line 10 of page 22 and line 1 of page 23; denoted by reference character 370 in Fig. 13A), a pressure parameter value (i.e., the difference between the measured pressures of the individual tires and the selected or desired pressure for the tire per lines 20-24 of page 21, lines 1-8 of page 23, and lines 11-29 of page 39 OR both the difference between the measured pressures of the individual tires and the selected or desired pressure for the tire per lines 20-24 of page 21, lines 1-8 of page 23, and lines 11-29 of page 39 and a pressure change over a predetermined period of time per lines 1-32 of page 40) based on one or more measured pressures (i.e., pressure measurements by pressure transducer 186); and commanding, by the electronic control unit and based on the pressure parameter value, at least one control valve 154 to an open position to conduct fluid from an air source 142 and to inflate the one or more tires (Figs. 8 and 18; line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25).
Regarding claim 2, Schultz further discloses including commanding, by the electronic control unit, for a diagnostic indicator to illuminate (“blinking of the off button” per lines 25-26 of page 21) to indicate a status of a system (“insufficient air supply and/or other malfunctions per lines 25-26 of page 21) for managing the pressure in the one or more tires.
Regarding claim 5, Schultz further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position and to inflate the one or more tires is performed while the vehicle is in motion (lines 9-13 of page 8).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position further includes commanding, by the electronic control unit, each of: an intake valve 154 to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the air source and a channel 170 of a manifold (implicit from lines 14-15 of page 16), and an output control valve 58 to an open position (lines 10-14 of page 24), thereby providing fluid communication between the channel of the manifold and the one or more tires (lines 10-14 of page 24).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz further discloses the pressure parameter value includes a pressure change over a predetermined period of time (lines 1-32 of page 40).
Regarding claim 9, Schultz further discloses: monitoring a pressure rate of change when the at least one control valve is in the open position (lines 1-32 of page 40); and modifying, by the electronic control unit and based on the pressure rate of change an open duration of the at least one control valve (lines 1-32 of page 40; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 10, Schultz discloses a system for managing pressure in one or more tires 12 installed on a vehicle (lines 1-9 of page 1), comprising: a manifold (implicit from lines 14-15 of page 16) defining a channel 170 and configured to distribute compressed air from an air source 142 (Figs. 8 and 18; line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25); a pressure sensor 186 configured to determine a measured pressure (lines 22-31 of page 22); at least one control valve 154 configured to selectively control air flow from the air source to the one or more tires (line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25); and an electronic control unit (“controller” per at least line 10 of page 22 and line 1 of page 23; denoted by reference character 370 in Fig. 13A) in functional communication with the control valve and the pressure sensor (evident from line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25), the electronic control unit configured to: determine a pressure parameter value (i.e., the difference between the measured pressures of the individual tires and the selected or desired pressure for the tire per lines 20-24 of page 21, lines 1-8 of page 23, and lines 11-29 of page 39 OR both the difference between the measured pressures of the individual tires and the selected or desired pressure for the tire per lines 20-24 of page 21, lines 1-8 of page 23, and lines 11-29 of page 39 and a pressure change over a predetermined period of time per lines 1-32 of page 40) based on the measured pressure, and command, based on the pressure parameter value, the at least one control valve to an open position to conduct fluid from the air source and to inflate the one or more tires (Figs. 8 and 18; line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25).
Regarding claim 11, Schultz further discloses a diagnostic indicator (“off button” per lines 25-26 of page 21) configured to be coupled to the electronic control unit, and wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to cause the diagnostic indicator to illuminate to indicate a status of the system (“blinking of the off button” per lines 25-26 of page 21).
Regarding claim 14, Schultz further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position and to inflate the one or more tires is performed while the vehicle is in motion (lines 9-13 of page 8).
Regarding claim 15, Schultz further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position further includes commanding, by the electronic control unit, each of: an intake valve 154 to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the air source and a channel 170 of a manifold (implicit from lines 14-15 of page 16), and an output control valve 58 to an open position (lines 10-14 of page 24), thereby providing fluid communication between the channel of the manifold and the one or more tires (lines 10-14 of page 24).
Regarding claim 16, Schultz further discloses the pressure parameter value includes a pressure change over a predetermined period of time (lines 1-32 of page 40).
Regarding claim 17, Schultz further discloses the electronic control unit is further configured to: monitor a pressure rate of change when the at least one control valve is in the open position (lines 1-32 of page 40); and modify, based on the pressure rate of change, an open duration of the at least one control valve (lines 1-32 of page 40; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 18, Schultz discloses a method for managing pressure in one or more tires 12 installed on a vehicle (lines 1-9 of page 1), comprising: measuring, by a pressure sensor 186, a pressure in the one or more tires (lines 22-31 of page 22); determining, by an electronic control unit (“controller” per at least line 10 of page 22 and line 1 of page 23; denoted by reference character 370 in Fig. 13A), the pressure in the one or more tires being below a low-operating value (line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25); and commanding, by the electronic control unit and in response to determining the pressure in the one or more tires being below the low-operating value, at least one control valve 154 to an open position to conduct fluid from an air source 142 into a common header at 170 and to inflate the one or more tires (line 1 of page 23 through line 6 of page 25).
Regarding claim 19, Schultz further discloses the common header is in fluid communication with each of the one or more tires via a wheel-end check valve 58 configured to allow fluid flow from the common header to a corresponding one of the one or more tires while blocking fluid flow in an opposite direction (i.e., during the “tire inflation mode of operation” shown in Fig. 8 fluid flow in an opposite direction is blocked).
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Trostle et al. (US 2016/0318354 A1; hereinafter “Trostle”).
Regarding claim 1, Trostle discloses a method for managing pressure in one or more tires 22 installed on a vehicle (Fig. 1), comprising: determining, by an electronic control unit 36, a pressure parameter value (i.e., a pressure differential between a pressure of the air source 32 and a pressure of the one or more tires per paragraph [0039]) based on one or more measured pressures (i.e., measured pressures of air source and tires via first and second pressure sensors 56, 58, respectively as described in paragraphs [0020-0021]); and commanding, by the electronic control unit and based on the pressure parameter value, at least one control valve 52 to an open position to conduct fluid from an air source 32 and to inflate the one or more tires (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Trostle further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position and to inflate the one or more tires is performed while the vehicle is in motion (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Trostle further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position further includes commanding, by the electronic control unit, each of: an intake valve (either inlet valve 52 or outlet valve 54) to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the air source and a channel 50 of a manifold 60, and an output control valve (either outlet valve 54 or tire valve 26) to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the channel of the manifold and the one or more tires (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0019] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Trostle further discloses the pressure parameter value includes a pressure differential between a pressure of the air source and a pressure of the one or more tires (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Trostle discloses a system for managing pressure in one or more tires 22 installed on a vehicle (Fig. 1), comprising: a manifold 60 defining a channel 50 and configured to distribute compressed air from an air source 32 (paragraphs [0018], [0019] and [0042]); a pressure sensor 56, 58 configured to determine a measured pressure (paragraphs [0020-0021]); at least one control valve 52 configured to selectively control air flow from the air source to the one or more tires (paragraph [0042]); and an electronic control unit 36 in functional communication with the control valve and the pressure sensor (Fig. 1; paragraph [0017]), the electronic control unit configured to: determine a pressure parameter value (i.e., a pressure differential between a pressure of the air source 32 and a pressure of the one or more tires per paragraph [0039]) based on the measured pressure, and command, based on the pressure parameter value, the at least one control valve to an open position to conduct fluid from the air source and to inflate the one or more tires (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Trostle further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position and to inflate the one or more tires is performed while the vehicle is in motion (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Trostle further discloses commanding the at least one control valve to the open position further includes commanding, by the electronic control unit, each of: an intake valve (either inlet valve 52 or outlet valve 54) to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the air source and a channel 50 of a manifold 60, and an output control valve (either outlet valve 54 or tire valve 26) to an open position, thereby providing fluid communication between the channel of the manifold and the one or more tires (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0019] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Trostle discloses a method for managing pressure in one or more tires 22 installed on a vehicle (Fig. 1), comprising: measuring, by a pressure sensor 58, a pressure in the one or more tires (paragraph [0021]); determining, by an electronic control unit 36, the pressure in the one or more tires being below a low-operating value (i.e., a value that is not sufficiently close to the available supply pressure); and commanding, by the electronic control unit and in response to determining the pressure in the one or more tires being below the low-operating value, at least one control valve to an open position to conduct fluid from an air source 32 into a common header at 60 and to inflate the one or more tires (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Trostle further discloses the common header is in fluid communication with each of the one or more tires via a wheel-end check valve 26 configured to allow fluid flow from the common header to a corresponding one of the one or more tires while blocking fluid flow in an opposite direction (Fig. 1; paragraph [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of White et al. (US 2004/0173296 A1; hereinafter “White”).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 12 and 13, although Schultz, as noted above, discloses a diagnostic indicator where “Insufficient air supply and/or other malfunctions may be indicative by blinking of the off button” (lines 25-26 of page 21) such that the blinking indicates a particular error condition, Schultz fails to expressly disclose the vehicle being a trailer with the diagnostic indicator being mounted on an exterior of the trailer with the blinking being with a pattern.
White, however, teaches a method for managing pressure in one or more tires installed on a vehicle, where the vehicle is a trailer (paragraph [0055]) with a diagnostic indicator 44 that can be mounted on an exterior of the trailer (paragraph [0055]) and a diagnostic indicator 46 that utilizes blinking patterns to indicate a particular error condition (i.e., “blink out error codes” per paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method or system for managing pressure of Schultz by utilizing such a system on a trailer and mounting the diagnostic indicator on an exterior of the trailer with the indicator blinking with a pattern to indicate a particular error condition, such as taught by White, with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring the tires of a trailer are properly inflated for an intended use thereof while also better ensuring the user of the trailer is better alerted to particular error conditions associated with the tire inflation system when they arise.
Regarding claim 20, Schultz fails to expressly disclose detecting a leak in at least one tire of the one or more tires, and in response to detecting the leak in the at least one tire, causing a diagnostic lamp to be illuminated or communicating a message to a remote receiver indicating the detection of the leak.
White, however, teaches a method for managing pressure in one or more tires installed on a vehicle, where the system, including the tires thereof, is checked for leaks (paragraph [0049], [0058] and [0060]), and in response to detecting the leak in the at least one tire, causing a diagnostic lamp to be illuminated (“trailer indicator lamp is illuminated” per paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for managing pressure of Schultz by detecting a leak in at least one tire and in response to detecting the leak, cause a diagnostic lamp to be illuminated, such as taught by White, with a reasonable expectation of success in better ensuring the tire inflation system is operating properly while better alerting the user of leaks when they arise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows other examples of tire inflation systems that read upon at least the independent claims.
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615