Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024, 01/08/2025, 05/30/2025 and 06/25/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,315,312 (DE LUCA ET AL) in view of WO 2016-136369 (KASHIWAMURA).
Regarding claim 1: The ‘312 reference discloses a web for use in an embossing device where the web comprises a first substrate and a bonding element and the first substrate has weakened regions formed by cuts and the regions form the convex embossments. See Figure 3, 4 and 7 (embossing device) and col. 6, for flap cuts and cap cuts, and col. 7, line 61 for adhesive. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the cuts are non-symmetrical. However, the ‘369 reference shows that using non-symmetrical cuts in a paper to facilitate convex portions extending from the plane while remaining attached to the substrate is known. See Figures 12-13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such non-symmetrical cuts. Substituting one pattern of cuts for another would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2: The ‘312 reference disclose the web of two substrates having cuts therein. The substrates are bonded together and embossed. See Figures 3, 4 and 7.
Regarding claims 3-4: The ‘312 reference shows a variety of different paper may be used. See Examples.
Regarding claim 5-7: The ‘369 reference shows spiral cuts. See Figures 12 and 13. The ‘312 reference shows linear cuts. See Figures 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 8: The ‘312 reference discloses the product may be folded. See Examples.
Regarding claims 9-10: The ‘312 reference discloses a heat-activatable adhesive. See col. 7, line 61.
Regarding claims 11-12: The cuts/perforations prevent the sheets from tearing during embossing. See Figure 8 end product.
Regarding claim 13: The ‘312 reference discloses a system for making a web for a packaging material. The system uses an embossing device where a first substrate, a second substrate and a bonding element are embossed and adhered together. See Figure 7. The first and second substrates have weakened regions formed by cuts and the regions form the convex embossments. See Figure 3, 4 and col. 6, for flap cuts and cap cuts, and col. 7, line 61 for adhesive. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the cuts are non-symmetrical. However, the ‘369 reference shows that using non-symmetrical cuts in a paper to facilitate convex portions extending from the plane while remaining attached to the substrate is known. See Figures 12-13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such non-symmetrical cuts. Substituting one pattern of cuts for another would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 14-15: The weakened regions of the substrates are fit into each other during embossing. See Figure 7 and Figure 8 (untorn end product).
Regarding claim 16: The cuts are linear. See Figures 3 and 4 of ‘312.
Regarding claims 17-18: The ‘312 reference shows a variety of different paper may be used. See Examples.
Regarding claims 19-20: The ‘312 reference discloses a heat-activatable adhesive. See col. 7, line 61.
Regarding claim 21: The ‘312 reference discloses a linear embossing device. However, roll or drum embossing is well-known in the art. Substituting one known embossing method for another would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 22: See ‘312 Figure 7 and col. 7 lines 27-28 for adhesive application.
Regarding claims 23-25: The ‘369 reference shows spiral cuts. See Figures 12 and 13. The ‘312 reference shows linear cuts. See Figures 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 26: Both references disclose a packaging material.
Regarding claim 27: The ‘312 reference discloses a packaging material. The packaging is formed using an embossing device where a first substrate, a second substrate and a bonding element are embossed and adhered together. See Figure 7. The first and second substrates have weakened regions formed by cuts and the regions form the convex embossments. See Figure 3, 4 and col. 6, for flap cuts and cap cuts, and col. 7, line 61 for adhesive. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the cuts are non-symmetrical. However, the ‘369 reference shows that using non-symmetrical cuts in a paper to facilitate convex portions extending from the plane while remaining attached to the substrate is known. See Figures 12-13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such non-symmetrical cuts. Substituting one pattern of cuts for another would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 28-29: The ‘312 reference shows a variety of different paper may be used. See Examples.
Regarding claim 30: The ‘369 reference shows spiral cuts. See Figures 12 and 13.
Regarding claim 31: The ‘312 reference discloses the product may be folded. See Examples.
Regarding claims 32 and 33: The ‘312 reference discloses a method of making a packaging material. The packaging is formed using an embossing device where a first substrate, a second substrate and a bonding element are embossed and adhered together. See Figure 7. The first and second substrates have weakened regions formed by cuts and the regions form the convex embossments. See Figure 3, 4 and col. 6, for flap cuts and cap cuts, and col. 7, line 61 for adhesive. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose the cuts are non-symmetrical. However, the ‘369 reference shows that using non-symmetrical cuts in a paper to facilitate convex portions extending from the plane while remaining attached to the substrate is known. See Figures 12-13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such non-symmetrical cuts. Substituting one pattern of cuts for another would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785