Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/01/24, 01/08/25 and 07/10/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17, 27, 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 does not further limit claim 14. Claim 14 states “a bonding element configured to fix the second substrate layer to the first substrate layer”. This implies that the bonding element is between the two substrate layers.
Claims 16 and 17 do not further limit claim 15. Claim 15 is dependent upon claim 14 which states “feeding the first and second substrate layers to the die in an unindexed state in relation to each other, and to the die”.
Claim 27 does not further limit claim 14. Unindexed and free of indexed patterns are the same.
Claim 40 states “the embossments can be formed at any location along the length of the first substrate in the machine direction and at any location along the length of the second substrate in the machine direction”. This makes it sound as though the embossments can be formed in different locations along the length of the first and second substrates when the specification and drawings make it clear the embossments are formed in the same location in both substrates.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the base of the embossment" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The base of the embossment is defined in claim 1 but not in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-19, 26-28, 32, 34-35 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,129,972 (McNeil et al.).
Regarding claim 14-15: The reference discloses the method of embossing and adhering two substrates together. The two substrates are fed from rollers, adhesive is applied to one or both substrates, the substrates are joined with the adhesive between them and embossed. See col. 4, lines 5-47.
Regarding claims 16-17 and 27: The substrates are not indexed.
Regarding claim 18: The substrates are fed individually. See Figure 2.
Regarding claim 19: The adhesive is applied to one or both substrates. See col. 4, line 36-37.
Regarding claim 26: The substrates are free of cuts. See Figures.
Regarding claim 32 and 34: The reference discloses a first and second substrate having an adhesive layer between where the substrates are free of indexed patterns and are cut free. See Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 28 and 35: The plies are paper. See col. 3, line 25.
Regarding claims 38-40: The reference discloses an embossing device and system for forming a web with an embossing device as shown in col. 4 and Figures 1-2. The embossments are configured in the machine and cross direction in any orientation and pattern as chosen by the user. See col. 5, lines 1-21. The embossments do not tear the web.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0061535.
The reference discloses a paper laminate comprising two paper substrates having an adhesive therebetween. The layers are embossed. See [0045]. It is recognized that the dimensions of the embossments are specified to have a certain height/diameter relationship. However, the reference does disclose height and diameter measurements which meet the claimed relationships. See Table in Figure 20B. The layers are free of cuts. See Figures. The adhesive may be any adhesive material including resins, hot glue, etc. See [0052].
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0061535 in view of US 2013/0171422.
The ‘535 reference discloses the embossed paper laminate as described in the above 103 rejection. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose cuts in the paper substrates to alleviate tearing during embossing. However, the ‘422 reference discloses including cuts in paper substrates for embossing. The cuts are provided to allow the embossed shapes. See Figures 3 and 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide cuts in the ‘535 laminate. One would expect the ability to form the larger embossments.
Claims 25 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,129,972 in view of US 2013/0171422.
The ‘972 reference discloses the embossed paper laminate as described in the above 102 rejection. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose cuts in the paper substrates to alleviate tearing during embossing. However, the ‘422 reference discloses including cuts in paper substrates for embossing. The cuts are provided to allow the embossed shapes. See Figures 3 and 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide cuts in the ‘972 laminate. One would expect the ability to form the larger embossments.
16. Claims 20-24 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,129,972 in view of US 2021/0061535.
The ‘972 reference discloses the embossed paper as described in the above 102 rejection. It is recognized that the reference discloses paper but not Kraft or extensible paper as the substrate. However, the ‘535 reference shows that using Kraft or extensible paper as a substrate for embossing is known. See [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an extensible paper in the ‘972 laminate. One would expect the improved embossing.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785