DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0310858 A1) in view of Salemi et al. (US 2020/0401784 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an integrated security system (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0003, 0023]) comprising:
a distributed fiber optic sensing system (e.g. [0023-0025] & Fig. 1: 401); and
one or more security cameras (Paragraph 25, e.g. Fig. 1: video surveillance system thus with cameras);
wherein the integrated security system is configured to receive, integrate, and analyze data produced by the distributed fiber optic sensing system and the one or more security cameras (e.g. [0018, 0019, 0024, 0026]: DFOS receives and analyzes received data).
Huang fails to disclose the system comprising one or more aerial drones.
However, Salemi teaches it is known in the art to utilize aerial drones with distributed fiber sensing system to monitor and collect desirable data (e.g. [0020-0025]).
The advantage of adding a well-known data collecting means (e.g. drone) in a security system already comprises a combination of data collecting means (e.g. Fig. 1 of Huang) would be easily recognized by one skilled in the art, since it would provide a redundant data collecting means to improve accuracy and efficiency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the security system of Huang to include aerial drones as taught by Salemi, since adding aerial drones as data collecting means would improve data collecting accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the distributed fiber optic sensing system (DFOS) is a distributed acoustic sensing / distributed vibration sensing (DAS/DVS) system (e.g. [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Salemi teaches the one or more aerial drones provide real-time video feeds (e.g. [0020-0025]) for visual confirmation of incidents.
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the one or more security cameras provide real-time video feeds for visual confirmation of activities (e.g. Fig. 1: 101).
Regarding claim 5, Huang and Salemi in combination discloses provide machine learning and artificial intelligence techniques (e.g. [0024-0026]: machine learning) to the data received from the distributed fiber optic sensing system (e.g. Huang: Fig. 1 & [0024-0026]), the one or more aerial drones (e.g. Salemi: [0020-0025]), and the one or more security cameras (e.g. Huang: Fig. 1 & [0024-0026]).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0310858 A1) in view of Salemi et al. (US 2020/0401784 A1) as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Morzhakov (US 2020/0349347 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses machine learning configured to analyze collected data to identify events related to parking lot security, stadium intrusion and social sensing, etc (e.g. [0026-0027]).
Although it is known that machine learning extract relevant features from the received data, Huang fails to explicitly discloses the detail of the machine learning.
However, teaches machine learning extract relevant features from the received data including acoustic signatures (e.g. [0017]), visual cues (e.g. [0017]), and motion patterns (e.g. [0085, 0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teachings of Huang with teachings of Morzhakov to utilize machine learning to extract relevant features from received data so as to detect abnormal activities.
Regarding claim 7, Morzhakov teaches the system configured to classify the extracted relevant features (e.g. [0061-0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang and Morzhakov in combination discloses the system configured to detect potential security threats from the classified extracted relevant features.
Huang in [0026-0027] discloses DFOS system utilizing machine learning to analyze received data to detect security threats (e.g. parking lot security and stadium intrusion); and, Morzhakov teaches machine learning is capable of classifying received data to detect abnormal activities. Thus, by modifying invention of Huang with machine learning classification technique as taught by Morzhakov, the combination would be able to detect potential security threats.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the system configured to learn from historical data received from the distributed fiber optic sensing system, the one or more aerial drones, and the one or more security cameras (e.g. [0026-0027]: machine learning inherently discloses learning from historical data).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses the system configured to respond to detected potential security threats by initiating incident response procedures (e.g. [0026, 0030, 0038]: output notification to operators and/or attendees; provide urgent rescue; provide early warning and localization for fire prevention and/or detection/response including detecting gunshot and ultrasonic weapon).
Conclusion
/KAM WAN MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2688