DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US Publication 2023/0028676; IDS dated 03/28/2025 US Publication Cite No. 1; hereinafter Huang).
With regards to claim 1, Huang discloses a method for remotely monitoring an optical fiber cable route, the method comprising:
performing, by a field technician, a field survey including the introduction of mechanical disturbances at one or more locations along the optical fiber cable route ([0043]);
sending, by a mobile device co-located with the field technician, current global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the mobile device and noise recordings of the mechanical disturbances to a pairing system located in a central office ([0041]);
correlating, by the pairing system, acoustic signals in the noise recordings and vibration signals collected by a distributed fiber optic sensing system (DFOS) ([0042, 0044]);
determining, a precise location of the optical fiber cable affected by the mechanical disturbances ([0044]).
With regards to claim 2, Huang discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: pairing fiber distance data from a DFOS waterfall analysis with the GPS coordinates ([0044]).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwano et al. (US Publication 2025/0003791; hereinafter Iwano).
With regards to claim 1, Iwano discloses a method for remotely monitoring an optical fiber cable route, the method comprising:
performing, by a field technician, a field survey including the introduction of mechanical disturbances at one or more locations along the optical fiber cable route (10; S21-S22; [0078]);
sending, by a mobile device co-located with the field technician, current global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the mobile device and noise recordings of the mechanical disturbances to a pairing system located in a central office (including 26; [0085]);
correlating, by the pairing system, acoustic signals in the noise recordings and vibration signals collected by a distributed fiber optic sensing system (DFOS) ([0043]);
determining, a precise location of the optical fiber cable affected by the mechanical disturbances ([0073]).
With regards to claim 2, Iwano discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: pairing fiber distance data from a DFOS waterfall analysis with the GPS coordinates ([0073, 0078-0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US Publication 2023/0028676; IDS dated 03/28/2025 US Publication Cite No. 1; hereinafter Huang) in view of Perron (US Publication 2025/0076152).
With regards to claim 3, Huang teaches the system of claim 2. However, Huang is silent regarding wherein the mobile device is configured to provide step-by-step instructions to the field technician for a testing procedure to be followed.
Perron teaches a system and method for testing connectivity of a fiber optic cable (abstract). Perron further teaches wherein the mobile device is configured to provide step-by-step instructions to the field technician for a testing procedure to be followed ([0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system and method of providing instructions to the field technician as taught by Perron to the system and method and taught by Huang with reasonable expectation of providing instructions and/or testing procedures to the technician for testing purposes ([0035]; Perron).
With regards to claim 4, Huang, as combined with Perron, teaches the system of claim 3 wherein the mobile device communicates with the DFOS system using 4G/5G signals ([0044]; Huang).
With regards to claim 5, Huang, as combined with Perron, teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the mobile device is configured to provide a plurality of survey modes including pole mode, hand hole mode, and ground mode, each mode indicative of a location to which the mechanical disturbance is applied ([0065]; Huang).
Conclusion
/QXN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853