DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/01/2025, in which claims 4-23 are pending and ready for examination.
Claims 1-3 have ben canceled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Astely et al. (hereinafter, “Astely”; CN104158637). (For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of CN104158637. The English translation and the original copy describe the same innovation. The publication date for CN104158637 is Nov/19/2014, therefore; it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1)).
In response to claim 1,
Astely teaches a method for a wireless transmitter to communicate with a wireless receiver, the method comprising: a) transmitting an initial message to the wireless receiver (page 7, paragraph 5 to page 8, paragraph 3, base station is equated to a transmitter, terminal is equated to a wireless receiver, transmitting data to terminals in “K’” individual subframes is interpreted as transmitting an initial message);
b) receiving, from the wireless receiver, a request message comprising a request for retransmission of a particular portion of the initial message (page 8, paragraphs 1-2, missing downlink assignment with DAI or a failed decoded transport block is equated to a particular portion of the initial message, providing a NACK message by the wireless terminal for the missing downlink assignment with DAI or the failed decoded transport block to the base station explicitly teaches this limitation); and
c) retransmitting the particular portion of the initial message to the wireless receiver, while avoiding retransmitting a remainder portion, wherein the remainder portion comprises the initial message exclusive of the particular portion (page 8, paragraph 3, retransmitting at least one of the “K’” subframes out of K subframe by the base station based on received NACK or ACK explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 18,
Astely teaches wherein the request message is multiplexed or concatenated with a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (page 8, paragraphs 2, modulating a NACK message is interpreted as the request message is multiplexed).
In response to claim 19,
Astely teaches wherein the request message comprises a bit-level code identifying or specifying the particular portion (page 7, last paragraph downlink mapping index (DAI) is interpreted as an index for representing a particular portion of a message, page 8, paragraphs 2-3, detecting a massage by the terminal using the DAI and sending a NACK message for a missing downlink assignment or a failed transport block explicitly teaches this limitation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-16 and 21-23 allowed.
Claims 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for independent claim 4, this claim is allowed, because this claim does not have any double patenting issue. In addition, there no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “a) receiving a first copy of the message, an error-detection code associated with the first copy, and a demodulation reference proximate to the first copy, wherein the first copy, the error-detection code, and the demodulation reference comprise resource elements of a resource grid, the resource grid comprising symbol-times in time and subcarriers in frequency, each resource element comprising a received signal modulated to encode message data; b) determining, according to the error-detection code, that the first copy is corrupted; c) for each received signal of the first copy of the message, determining a quality factor according to the received signal, and determining that the received signal is faulted when the quality factor of the received signal is below a predetermined threshold; and
d) determining a particular portion of the message containing all of the faulted received signals.”
The closet prior art in the record Astely et al. (CN104158637) teaches on pages 7-8, about sending data packet subframes by a base station to a terminal, receiving an ACK/NACK for either a portion or the entire packets, and retransmitting the corresponding missing packet based on the received ACK/NACK message. He fails to teach the above cited limitations.
Claims 5-16 depend on claim 4.
As for independent claim 21, this claim is allowed, because this claim does not have any double patenting issue. In addition, there no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “A wireless receiver comprising an Al (artificial intelligence) model, the method comprising: a) receiving a data message comprising a sequence of signals, each signal comprising a resource element of a resource grid comprising subcarriers in frequency and symbol- times in time, each signal further comprising an I branch and an orthogonal Q branch, the I and Q branches comprising orthogonal components of each signal; b) providing the sequence of I and Q branch amplitudes as input to the Al model; and c) determining, as output from the Al model, one or more resource elements that are likely corrupted.”
The closet prior art in the record Astely et al. (CN104158637) teaches on pages 7-8, about sending data packet subframes by a base station to a terminal, receiving an ACK/NACK for either a portion or the entire packets, and retransmitting the corresponding missing packet based on the received ACK/NACLK message. He fails to teach the above cited limitations.
Claims 22-23 depend on claim 21.
As for dependent claim 20, this claim is objected, because this claim does not have any double patenting issue. In addition, there no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “combining a particular error-detection code with the particular portion of the message, wherein the particular error-detection code is based on the particular portion and is not based on the remainder portion.”
The closet prior art in the record Astely et al. (CN104158637) teaches on pages 7-8, about sending data packet subframes by a base station to a terminal, receiving an ACK/NACK for either a portion or the entire packets, and retransmitting the corresponding missing packet based on the received ACK/NACLK message. He fails to teach the above cited limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20180196715…………….paragraph 213.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466