DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claim filed 03 November 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 15, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 refers to “the communication connection”. However, there is not antecedent basis for this term. For prior art purposes, Examiner interprets the foregoing to mean any communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelata (US 2019/0324826 A1) hereinafter known as Abuelata.
Regarding independent claim 1, Abuelata teaches:
determining, by an electronic device in response to receiving a first user operation, first selected data by using a first source application, wherein the first user operation is copying, cutting, or dragging, and the first selected data comprises at least one of a picture, a text paragraph, or a file; (Abuelata: ¶[0046]; Abuelata teaches a clipboard item container interface. Fig. 4 and ¶[0066] teach a copy process of text.)
sending, by the electronic device, the first selected data to a first process; (Abuelata: ¶[0069]; Abuelata teaches recognizing the nature of the data. Fig. 11 and ¶[0082] teach determining item size and type.)
converting, by the electronic device, the first selected data into a first extended data object by using the first process, wherein the first extended data object comprises the first selected data and a first status parameter, and the first status parameter is used to describe at least a format of data in the first selected data; and (Abuelata: ¶[0069]; Abuelata teaches recognizing the nature of the data (text, image, etc...) and communicating these findings to the server as metadata and raw data. ¶[0046] further teaches storing the raw data and metadata in database 140.)
...
An embodiment of Abuelata does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
displaying, by the electronic device, a first window in response to receiving a second user operation, wherein the first window is used to display data comprising the first selected data, and data in different formats is displayed in different manners. (Abuelata: Fig. 3 and ¶[0060]-¶[0061]; Abuelata teaches the user invoking window and then displaying a window which includes the items in a bucket. The icons may change depending upon the nature of the copied content.)
Abuelata is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to copying and pasting data from clipboards. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a system for copying data and saving additional metadata with further displaying the data in the clipboard based on the different formats described in the metadata. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow changing the presentation of the data based on it’s type, as suggested by Abuelata: ¶[0061].
Regarding claim 2, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
the method further comprising: determining, by the electronic device by using the first process and based on the status parameter, manners of displaying the data in different formats in the first window. (Abuelata: ¶[0061] and ¶[0069]; Abuelata teaches metadata indicating what kind of data an item contains and the icons may change depending upon the nature of the copied content.)
Regarding claim 3, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 2.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the determining, by the electronic device by using the first process and based on the status parameter, the manners of displaying the data in different formats in the first window comprises: when the first selected data comprises a plurality of pieces of data, and a plurality of controls corresponding to the plurality of pieces of data exist in the first window, determining, by the first process, an internal arrangement order of the plurality of controls based on the status parameter. (Abuelata: ¶[0123]; Abuelata teaches different arrangements in the bucket.)
Regarding claim 5, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the status parameter comprises a format parameter, and the format parameter is used to identify the format of the data; and the status parameter further comprises at least one of a size parameter or a copy parameter, the size parameter is used to identify a size of the data, and the copy parameter is used to identify whether the data is copied to memory space of the first process. (Abuelata: ¶[0046] and ¶[0082]; Abuelata teaches storing size of the data.)
Regarding claim 6, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the first window in response to receiving the second user operation, the method further comprises: when content displayed in the first window comprises a first control, the first control corresponds to first data, and the first data belongs to the first selected data, in response to receiving a third user operation on the first control, skipping displaying, by the electronic device, the first control in the first window, and deleting, by the electronic device, the first data by using the first process. (Abuelata: ¶[0063] and ¶[0110]; Abuelata teaches a removal icon to remove the item from the bucket.)
Regarding claim 7, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the first window in response to receiving the second user operation, the method further comprises: when content displayed in the first window comprises a first control and a second control, data corresponding to the first control belongs to the first selected data, and the first control is displayed at a first location of the first window, displaying, by the electronic device, the second control at a second location of the first window in response to receiving a fourth user operation on the first control, wherein the first location is different from the second location. (Abuelata: ¶[0060]; Abuelata teaches reordering within the clipboard item container.)
Regarding claim 8, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the first window in response to receiving the second user operation, the method further comprises: when content displayed in the first window comprises a plurality of controls, each of the plurality of controls corresponds to one piece of data in the first selected data, and the controls corresponds to different data, in response to receiving a fifth user operation on the plurality of controls, sending, by the electronic device by using the first process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to a target application, wherein the fifth user operation is a drag operation; or in response to receiving a sixth user operation on the plurality of controls and a seventh user operation on an interface of a target application, sending, by the electronic device by using the first process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to the target application, wherein the sixth user operation is an operation used to select the plurality of controls, and the seventh user operation is a paste operation. (Abuelata: ¶[0060]; Abuelata teaches reordering within the clipboard item container.)
Regarding claim 9, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 8.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the sending, by the electronic device by using the first process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to the target application comprises: determining, by the electronic device by using the first process and based on the plurality of controls, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls; generating, by the electronic device by using the first process, a first copied data ClipData object based on the first extended data object and the data corresponding to the plurality of controls; and sending, by the electronic device, the first copied data ClipData object to the target application by using the first process. (Abuelata: ¶[0060]-¶[0061], ¶[0096], ¶[0097]-¶[0099], ¶[0102]-¶[0104]; Abuelata teaches each icon being associated with a corresponding portion of data. The user performs the selection and the software locates that data locally or at the server. It then generated a copied data object based on the stored items and their type metadata, iterating over all the items selected by the user. It then sends the object to the target application using the native operating system’s clipboard fields.)
Regarding claim 10, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
the method further comprising: storing, by the electronic device, the first extended data object into a non-volatile storage medium by using the first process. (Abuelata: ¶[0074]-¶[0075]; Abuelata teaches allocating disk memory for the bucket program to store data objects.)
Regarding claim 12, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein after the converting, by the electronic device, the first selected data into the first extended data object by using the first process, the method further comprises: determining, by the electronic device in response to receiving an eighth user operation, second selected data by using a second source application, wherein the eighth user operation is copying, cutting, or dragging, and the second selected data comprises at least one of a picture, a text paragraph, or a file; sending, by the electronic device, the second selected data to the first process; and converting, by the electronic device, the second selected data and the first extended object into a third extended data object by using the first process; or converting, by the electronic device, the second selected data into a second extended data object by using the first process. (Abuelata: ¶[0098], ¶[0105], and ¶[0148]; Abuelata teaches merging items of the same type into a single, larger item to be places on the native clipboard field.)
Regarding claim 13, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 12.
Abuelata further teaches:
the method further comprising: when the first window comprises a plurality of controls, and data corresponding to the plurality of controls belongs to the first selected data and the second selected data, in response to receiving a ninth user operation on the plurality of controls, sending, by the electronic device by using the first process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to a target application, wherein the fifth user operation is a drag operation; or in response to receiving a tenth user operation on the plurality of controls and an eleventh user operation on an interface of a target application, sending, by the electronic device by using the first process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to the target application, wherein the tenth user operation is an operation used to select the plurality of controls, and the eleventh user operation is a paste operation. (Abuelata: ¶[0098], ¶[0105], and ¶[0148]; Abuelata teaches merging items of the same type into a single, larger item to be places on the native clipboard field.)
Regarding claim 14, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein before the determining, by the electronic device in response to receiving the first user operation, the first selected data by using the first source application, the method further comprises: determining, by the electronic device in response to receiving a twelfth user operation, third selected data by using a third source application, and sending, by the electronic device, the third selected data to the first process, wherein the twelfth user operation is copying, cutting, or dragging; and wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the first window, the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a third control in the first window in response to receiving a thirteenth user operation in the first window, wherein data corresponding to the third control belongs to the third selected data. (Abuelata: Fig. 9 and ¶[0061]-¶[0063]; Abuelata teaches adding items to the stack and displaying them sequentially – allowing the user to scroll through the sequentially added data.)
Regarding independent claim 15, Abuelata teaches:
A system, comprising an electronic device and a second electronic device, (Abuelata: ¶[0119]-¶[0121]; Abuelata teaches a user running client instances on different devices and that buckets and data on instance 2010a may also be represented in instance 2010b and vice versa. The data for each instance may be synchronized and consolidated at the server system.)
wherein the first electronic is configured to: determine, in response to receiving a first user operation, first selected data by using a first source application, and (Abuelata: ¶[0046]; Abuelata teaches a clipboard item container interface. Fig. 4 and ¶[0066] teach a copy process of text.)
send the first selected data to a first process, wherein the first user operation is copying, cutting, or dragging, the first selected data comprises at least one of a picture, a text paragraph, or a file, and the first source application and the first process are on the first electronic device; and (Abuelata: ¶[0069]; Abuelata teaches recognizing the nature of the data. Fig. 11 and ¶[0082] teach determining item size and type.)
...
...
An embodiment of Abuelata does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
send the first selected data to a second electronic device by using the first process; and (Abuelata: ¶[0069]; Abuelata teaches communicating to the server. A remote client may then recreate the data of the local environment based upon the item’s raw data and metadata received from the server. ¶[0119]-¶[0121] further teaches bucket synchronization. ¶[0124]-¶[0127] further teaches sending to another device.)
the second electronic device is configured to: display a second window in response to receiving a second user operation, wherein the second window comprises a plurality of controls, the plurality of controls correspond to a plurality of pieces of data in the first selected data, and the plurality of controls correspond to different data. (Abuelata: Fig. 3 and ¶[0060]-¶[0061] and ¶[0127]; Abuelata teaches the user invoking window and then displaying a window which includes the items in a bucket. The icons may change depending upon the nature of the copied content.)
Abuelata is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to copying and pasting data from clipboards. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a system for copying data and saving additional metadata with further displaying the data on a different device in the clipboard based on the different formats described in the metadata. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow changing the presentation of the data based on it’s type, as suggested by Abuelata: ¶[0061].
Regarding claim 16, Abuelata further teaches the system according to claim 15.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the send the first selected data to the first process comprises: send, to the first process, a first copied data ClipData object corresponding to the first selected data. (Abuelata: ¶[0050] and ¶[0082]; Abuelata teaches locating the clipboard data for the operating system and the client software system acquiring the native operating system data.)
Regarding claim 17, Abuelata further teaches the system according to claim 16.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: convert the first copied data ClipData object into a first extended data object by using the first process, wherein the first extended data object comprises the first selected data and a first status parameter, and the first status parameter is used to describe at least a format of data in the first selected data. (Abuelata: ¶[0046], ¶[0069], and ¶[0082]; Abuelata teaches determining the data size and type of the data and the metadata indicating what kind of data an item contains.)
Regarding claim 18, Abuelata further teaches the system according to claim 17.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the send the first selected data to the second electronic device comprises: send the first extended data object to a second process by using the first process and based on the communication connection, wherein the second process is a process on the second electronic device; or send the first copied data ClipData object to a target application by using the first process and based on the communication connection, wherein the target application is an application on the second electronic device. (Abuelata: ¶[0069], and ¶[0119]-¶[0121]; Abuelata teaches the item’s raw data and metadata are received from the server by the remote client which recreates the data of the local environment.)
Regarding claim 19, Abuelata further teaches the system according to claim 17.
Abuelata further teaches:
wherein the second electronic device is further configured to: in response to receiving a third user operation on the plurality of controls, send, by using a second process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to a target application, wherein the third user operation is a drag operation; or in response to a fourth user operation on the plurality of controls and a fifth user operation on an interface of a target application, send, by using a second process, the data corresponding to the plurality of controls to the target application, wherein the fourth user operation is an operation used to select the plurality of controls, and the fifth operation is a paste operation. (Abuelata: ¶[0060], and ¶[0071], ¶[0098], ¶[0119]-¶[0121], and ¶[0148]; Abuelata teaches the user may drag a single item or multiple items from the clipboard container to another application. The target application may receive the items and handle them directly.)
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites an electronic device that performs the method of claim 1; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelata in view of Auger (US 2014/0280132 A1) hereinafter known as Auger.
Regarding claim 4, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 3.
Abuelata does not explicitly teach but Auger teaches:
wherein the arrangement order is a text, a picture, and a file. (Auger: Fig. 2 and ¶[0040] and ¶[0052]; Auger teaches arranging the clipboard data by type, chosen by the user.)
Auger is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to copying and pasting data from clipboards. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a system for copying data and saving additional metadata with further displaying the data in the clipboard based on the different formats described in the metadata as taught in Abuelata and specifying the order by type which includes a test, a picture, and a file as taught by Auger. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow the user to specify the order of the arrangement, as suggested by Auger: ¶[0052].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelata in view of Sergio (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/134492/how-to-serialize-an-object-into-a-string, attached as pdf) hereinafter known as Sergio.
Regarding claim 11, Abuelata further teaches the method according to claim 10.
Abuelata does not explicitly teach but Sergio teaches:
wherein the storing, by the first process, the first extended data object into the non-volatile storage medium comprises: serializing, by the electronic device, the first extended data object by using the first process, to obtain a first serialized object; converting, by the electronic device, the first serialized object into a first byte array by using the first process; converting, by the electronic device, the first byte array into a first character string by using the first process; and writing, by the electronic device, the first character string into the non-volatile storage medium by using the first process. (Sergio: pg.1; Sergio teaches serializing an object into a string by using the writeObject serialization call; converting the serialized object into a byte array (baos.toByteArray); and converting the byte array into a string (base64.getEncoder ().encodeToStrong(baos.toByteArray())).
Serio is analogous to the present invention, since it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, i.e. serializing an object into a string. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine a system for copying data and saving additional metadata in a database as taught in Abuelata with further serializing the object into a string as taught in Sergio. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow preserving the data in different formats.
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118