DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/26/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang et al. (CN 102945873; see English machine translation) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 2018/0076759).
Regarding claim 1, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (woven material 3; [0041]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 2), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (see Figure 1), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (it is disclosed above the woven material 3 can be non-conductive material, so it would isolate the interconnection wire from the adhesive film layer; see Figure 2),
wherein:
two isolation layers are provided and arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2), respectively;
a border element with an annular shape is arranged between the two isolation layers (portion of woven material 3 that immediately surrounds the wire 2 at the ends; see Figure 2), two side edges of the border element being sealingly connected to the two isolation layers respectively to form a barrier cavity (hollow rectangle of the woven material; [0048] and [0049]); and
two first holes adapted to the interconnection wire are formed at two ends of the border element in an extending direction of the interconnection wire, the interconnection wire penetrating the barrier cavity via the two first holes (see Figures 1 and 2),
wherein a dimension of the barrier cavity in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the interconnection wire is greater than an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Ouyang does not expressly disclose the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels, and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.
Yoshida discloses a foldable solar panel (10; see Figure 2) comprising an interconnect wire (12) connecting two adjacent panels ([0038]; see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the interconnect wire is sandwiched between two isolation layers (14a and 14b), the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels (see Figure 6A), and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see Figure 6A), respectively. Yoshida further discloses the linking portion cover (14) is to protect and cover the linking portion wiring (12) from external impact, scratching, moisture, and the like ([0047]), where the linking portion wiring (12) does not have to be joined to the linking portion cover (14) formed in a bag-like shape ([0049]).
As Ouyang is not limited to any specific examples of the coverage of the isolation layer and as the isolation layer being in multiple configurations including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Yoshida above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable configuration for the isolation layer, including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in the device of Ouyang. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and said modification would ensure the entire interconnection wire is protected by the isolation layer on all sides from impact, scratching, and moisture, as stated by Yoshida above.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and configured to move relative to the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or an axial direction in the bent region (it is disclosed the wire 2 is arranged in the hollow rectangle of the woven material 3, such that it can move around relative to the two adhesive film layers; [0048] and [0049]; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of each of the two first holes is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (woven material 3; [0041]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 2), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (see Figure 1), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (it is disclosed above the woven material 3 can be non-conductive material, so it would isolate the interconnection wire from the adhesive film layer; see Figure 2),
the isolation layer has a sleeve-like structure (see Figure 2, where the isolation layer forms a hollowed out rectangular area); and
the interconnection wire passes through a central through hole of the isolation layer (the hole that is vertical and wider than the diameter of the interconnection wire; see Figure 2),
wherein an inner diameter of the central through hole is greater than an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Ouyang does not expressly disclose the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels, and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.
Yoshida discloses a foldable solar panel (10; see Figure 2) comprising an interconnect wire (12) connecting two adjacent panels ([0038]; see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the interconnect wire is sandwiched between two isolation layers (14a and 14b), the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels (see Figure 6A), and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see Figure 6A), respectively. Yoshida further discloses the linking portion cover (14) is to protect and cover the linking portion wiring (12) from external impact, scratching, moisture, and the like ([0047]), where the linking portion wiring (12) does not have to be joined to the linking portion cover (14) formed in a bag-like shape ([0049]).
As Ouyang is not limited to any specific examples of the coverage of the isolation layer and as the isolation layer being in multiple configurations including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Yoshida above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable configuration for the isolation layer, including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in the device of Ouyang. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and said modification would ensure the entire interconnection wire is protected by the isolation layer on all sides from impact, scratching, and moisture, as stated by Yoshida above.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two blockers are disposed at two ends of the isolation layer in an extending direction of the interconnection wire (ends of the woven material 3 where it is pinched), respectively, the two blockers being configured to block two ends of the central through hole (as set forth above), respectively; and
each of the two blockers has a second hole (the hole that has the same diameter as the interconnection wire) in communication with the central through hole (see Figure 2), the second hole being adapted to the interconnection wire, and the interconnection wire passing through the two second holes (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of the second hole is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is integrally formed with the two blockers (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is made of an insulating material (as set forth above, the isolation layer can be insulating).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire has a flat structure ([0040]); and
a width direction of the interconnection wire is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the foldable solar panel (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two thin film layers (back panel material 7 and front panel material 6), wherein:
the two thin film layers are arranged at two sides of the two adhesive film layers away from the power generation layer (see Figure 4), respectively; and
the two thin film layers are adhered to the power generation layer via the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 4), respectively.
Regarding claim 16, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers cover the entire surface of the power generation layer (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the at least two sub-power generation panel comprises at least one battery cell (see annotated Figure 1 above, where each sub-power generation panel comprises two battery cells 1), a support frame (movable support; [0054]), and packaging layers (adhesive film 5 and front 6 and back panels 7), the packaging layers being arranged at a front side and a back side of the at least one battery cell (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the at least one battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells connected in series and parallel through a connecting wire ([0035]; see wiring 2 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is a braided copper wire ([0010]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the two adhesive film layers is selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin elastomer (POE) adhesive film, an ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) adhesive film, and a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) adhesive film ([0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yoshida does not teach it would have been obvious to have selected any suitable configuration for the isolation layer, including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in the device of Ouyang because Yoshida discloses in Figure 6A that a linking portion cover 14 covers at least one of a front surface and a rear surface of the linking portion 12, the length of the linking portion cover 14 is greater than a distance between the two adjacent photoelectric conversion modules 11, and two ends of the linking portion cover 14 overlap with the two adjacent photoelectric conversion modules 11 and that Yoshida’s linking portion cover 14 functions as an external restriction reducing and environmental protection member for the linking portion 12, rather than serving as an internal barrier to block the adhesive film from contacting the interconnection wire.
However, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."). See MPEP 2144 IV.
Applicant further argues Ouyang does not disclose a dimension of the barrier cavity in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the interconnection wire is greater than an outer diameter of the interconnection wire because the dimension of the braided layer 3 in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the wire 2 is substantially equal. However, it is unclear how the two dimensions can be substantially equal if wire 2 of Ouyang is disclosed to be moving freely about the cavity, as set forth above in claim 2 and shown in Figures 1 and 3.
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722