DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in claim 1 and the manner in which the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and the isolation layer is movably arranged relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Wands Analysis: [Note MPEP 2164.01(a)]
(A) Breadth of claims:
The claims are directed to a foldable solar panel comprising an isolation layer arranged between an interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire, and two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.
The claims further state the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and configured to move relative to the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or an axial direction in the bent region, and/or the isolation layer is movably arranged relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers and configured to move relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or axial direction.
Additionally, the claims further state a border element with an annular shape is arranged between the two isolation layers, two side edges of the border element being sealingly connected to the two isolation layers to form a barrier cavity, the interconnection wire penetrating the barrier cavity via two first holes.
(B) The nature of the invention:
The invention is a foldable solar panel comprising a bent region in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels, wherein the bent region comprises an isolation layer, an interconnection wire, and two adhesive film layers with a particular configuration.
(C) The state of the prior art:
Given the state of the prior art, the claimed foldable solar panel comprising the bent region and interconnection wire and isolation layer that are movably arranged relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers and movably arranged to one another requires a more detailed disclosure by the applicant in order to enable one skilled in the art to produce. Prior art Ouyang cited in the Office Action discloses an interconnection wire that is movably arranged relative to the adhesive film layers, but the isolation layer is not movably arranged to the adhesive film layers as it is embedded within, as shown in Figure 2, such that it is unclear how both the interconnection wire and the isolation layer can be movably arranged to one another and to the adhesive film layers as recited.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill:
One of ordinary skill in this art is considered to be an engineer or other highly educated and trained practitioner, skilled in the methods of photovoltaic design and processes, with knowledge of electrical interconnection configuration and design, and familiar with parameters that affect the formation and performance of such devices.
(E) The level of predictability in the art:
The level of predictability in the art is considered to be low, inasmuch as there are numerous variables known to affect the manufacturing and performance of such foldable solar panels having a bent region where the interconnection wire electrically connects two adjacent sub-power generation panels through the bent region.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The inventor does not provide adequate direction as to how to make the foldable solar panel which meets the claim limitations. The specification describes the claimed device with language that is essentially the same as that recited in the claims or entirely conventional in the art in paragraphs [0039] and [0040]. The specification further discloses in paragraph [0040] that the isolation layer 300 is movably arranged relative to the adhesive film layer 200. This arrangement can be realized by arranging a window structure at a position corresponding to the isolation layer 300 on the adhesive film layer 200. Further, in order to avoid exposure of the isolation layer 300, a shielding layer made of a material without adhesion such as nylon may be arranged on the window structure to cover the window structure. The specification also discloses in paragraph [0041] that the isolation layer 300 can lap-joint on the sub-power generation panel 110 at two ends when assembling the foldable solar panel, which facilitates the positioning and fixing of the isolation layer 300. However, nowhere does the instant specification disclose how exactly this lap-joint on the sub-power generation panel at two ends is supposed to be made and how the isolation layer is to be movably arranged relative to the adhesive film layer through a window structure without further guidance. The window structure on the adhesive film layer is not a term known in the art and no drawings were provided to show this window structure relative to the isolation layer or adhesive film layer. It is noted that the word “corresponding” typically means the window structure would be the same size and shape as the isolation layer, such that it is unclear how the isolation layer would be free to move in the “radial and/or axial direction” as claimed. It appears Applicant is stating a portion of the adhesive film layer is cut out to accommodate the isolation layer somehow, but no guidance was provided.
Additionally, it is noted in the specification, paragraphs [0048] and [0049] discloses an annular border element 400 arranged between the two isolation layers 300, where two side edges of the border element 400 are sealingly connected to the two isolation layers 300 to form a barrier cavity 410, where the arrangement of the border element 400 can reduce penetration of an adhesive of the adhesive film layer 200 into a space between the two isolation layers 300 from an end of the isolation layer 300, thereby preventing the penetrated adhesive from adhering to the interconnection wire 120. Nowhere does the instant specification disclose the material for the annular border element, such that it is unclear how the isolation layer can be movably arranged relative to the interconnection wire as stated in paragraph [0009] because one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate in order for the annular border element to prevent adhesive from the adhesive film layer from seeping into the space, it would need to be secured to the interconnection wire somewhat to provide a seal and barrier and therefore it is unclear how the isolation layer would then be free to move about “radially and axially” as stated when the specification discloses the annular border element to be “seailingly connected” to the isolation layers.
Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by stating two ends of the isolation layer are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, such that the term “lap-joint” is commonly used for woodworking, metalworking, and plastic manufacturing and requires an indentation for one and a complementary structure in the other, none of which is described or demonstrated in the instant specification.
(G) The existence of working examples:
The working examples in the instant specification are only mentioned in paragraphs [0029]-[0051]. However, nowhere does the instant specification provide details as to how the two ends of the insulating layer is to be in a lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer while the interconnection wire and the isolation layer are both movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers and are also movably arranged relative to one another.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
The applicant has not enabled one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to produce and use the invention. Therefore, an undue level of experimentation would be required for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to produce the specifics of the claimed isolation layer and bent region configuration as set forth in the claims.
In light of the above considerations, the applicant has not enabled one of ordinary skill in the art to make and/or use the claimed invention commensurate with the scope of the claims. Specifically, there is no guidance or teaching how to make the bent region configuration including the isolation layer, the interconnection wire, and the two adhesive film layers, as set forth above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers extend throughout the power generation layer". However, nowhere does the instant specification disclose the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers to “extend throughout” the power generation layer, such that the four film layers are within the power generation layer as recited.
Therefore, the claim fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.” It is unclear how the isolation layer are in “lap-joint” with two adjacent sub-power generation panels as recited. It is noted that “lap-joint” is commonly used for woodworking, metalworking or plastic fabrication, such that none of these apply to the context provided in claim 1. It is unclear if the two adjacent sub-power generation panels comprise an indentation of sorts where the isolation layer locks into, as no guidance was provided in the specification, Figures, or the claim, and the term is not known in the art of photovoltaic modules. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted to mean the two ends of the isolation layer and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels overlap, which is presented in original claim 12, which has been canceled. Clarification is requested.
Claim 2 recites “the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and configured to move relative to the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or an axial direction in the bent region; and/or the isolation layer is movably arranged relative to the corresponding one or the two adhesive film layer sand configured to move relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or axial direction”.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the two adhesive film layers are cured when making a solar panel, such that it is unclear how the interconnection wire or isolation layer would be movably arranged within the two adhesive film layers. Additionally, it is unclear why the interconnection wire would not be fixed in order to ensure electrical connection between the power generation panels, such that it would not be able to carry out the function of being an interconnection wire if the interconnection wire can be shifted. Clarification is requested.
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed on 12/17/25 that a window structure is provided at a position corresponding to the isolation layer on the adhesive film layer. However, nowhere does the claim require such a structure and it is also unclear how such a structure can provide the claimed feature without further guidance or graphical demonstration.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers extend throughout the power generation layer". However, it is unclear how the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers extend throughout the power generation layer when claim 15 from which claim 16 depends upon recites “the two thin film layers are arranged at two sides of the two adhesive film layers away from the power generation layer” and claim 1 recites “two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer”. Additionally, the specification does not provide any guidance as to how exactly these layers “extend throughout” the power generation layer as stated. It appears Applicant intends to recite the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers covers the entire surface of the power generation layer, where the current recitation means the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers extend throughout the actual power generation layer itself, which is not known nor disclosed in the specification. Clarification is requested.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the at least one battery cell”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because no at least one battery cell was previously recited in claim 18 or claim 1 from which it depends upon. It appears claim 17 recites “at least one battery cell”, such that it is suggested to amend claim 18 to depend from claim 17. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ouyang et al. (CN 102945873; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (woven material 3; [0041]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 2), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (see Figure 1), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (it is disclosed above the woven material 3 can be non-conductive material, so it would isolate the interconnection wire from the adhesive film layer; see Figure 2),
the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a width of the bent region in the extending direction of the interconnection wire (see Figure 1); and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see annotated Figure 1 below, where each sub-power generation panel is outlined with a dotted box), respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and configured to move relative to the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or an axial direction in the bent region (it is disclosed the wire 2 is arranged in the hollow rectangle of the woven material 3, such that it can move around relative to the two adhesive film layers; [0048] and [0049]; see Figure 2);
and/or the isolation layer is movably arranged relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers and configured to move relative to the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or axial direction.
Regarding claim 3, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer has a layered structure (two layers; see Figure 2); and
two isolation layers are provided and arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2), respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a border element (inner portion of the braded material 3 excluding the outer thin layers) with an annular shape is arranged between the two isolation layers (see Figure 2), two side edges of the border element being sealingly connected to the two isolation layers (where it is pinched) respectively to form a barrier cavity (the hollowed rectangular area); and
two first holes adapted to the interconnection wire are formed at two ends of the border element in an extending direction of the interconnection wire (opening of the woven material 3 in which the wiring 2 goes through), the interconnection wire penetrating the barrier cavity via the two first holes (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 5, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of each of the two first holes is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the two isolation layers are integrally formed with the border element (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer has a sleeve-like structure (see Figure 2, where the isolation layer forms a hollowed out rectangular area); and
the interconnection wire passes through a central through hole of the isolation layer (the hole that is vertical and wider than the diameter of the interconnection wire; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of the central through hole is greater than an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two blockers are disposed at two ends of the isolation layer in an extending direction of the interconnection wire (ends of the woven material 3 where it is pinched), respectively, the two blockers being configured to block two ends of the central through hole (as set forth above), respectively; and
each of the two blockers has a second hole (the hole that has the same diameter as the interconnection wire) in communication with the central through hole (see Figure 2), the second hole being adapted to the interconnection wire, and the interconnection wire passing through the two second holes (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of the second hole is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is integrally formed with the two blockers (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is made of an insulating material (as set forth above, the isolation layer can be insulating).
Regarding claim 14, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire has a flat structure ([0040]); and
a width direction of the interconnection wire is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the foldable solar panel (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two thin film layers (back panel material 7 and front panel material 6), wherein:
the two thin film layers are arranged at two sides of the two adhesive film layers away from the power generation layer (see Figure 4), respectively; and
the two thin film layers are adhered to the power generation layer via the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 4), respectively.
Regarding claim 16, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers extend throughout the power generation layer (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the at least two sub-power generation panel comprises at least one battery cell (see annotated Figure 1 above, where each sub-power generation panel comprises two battery cells 1), a support frame (movable support; [0054]), and packaging layers (adhesive film 5 and front 6 and back panels 7), the packaging layers being arranged at a front side and a back side of the at least one battery cell (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the at least one battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells connected in series and parallel through a connecting wire ([0035]; see wiring 2 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is a braided copper wire ([0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the two adhesive film layers is selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin elastomer (POE) adhesive film, an ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) adhesive film, and a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) adhesive film ([0038]).
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (hollowed out area of the adhesive film 5 where the wires are laid in the folded area; [0035]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (as set forth above), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (as set forth above, and paragraph [0035] also states a braided material 3 is placed above and below the hollowed out adhesive film, such that Figure 1 shows the “isolation layer” to be in the bent region corresponding to braided material 3), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (the interconnection wire would be isolated from the adhesive film if the adhesive film is removed and hollowed out as described),
the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a width of the bent region in the extending direction of the interconnection wire (see corresponding braded material 3 in Figure 1); and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see annotated Figure 1 above, where each sub-power generation panel is outlined with a dotted box), respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer has a layered structure (two layers where the gap is shown in Figure 2); and
two isolation layers are provided and arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2), respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a border element (braded material 3) with an annular shape is arranged between the two isolation layers (see Figure 2), two side edges of the border element being sealingly connected to the two isolation layers respectively to form a barrier cavity (the hollowed rectangular area); and
two first holes adapted to the interconnection wire are formed at two ends of the border element in an extending direction of the interconnection wire (opening of the fabric 3 in which the wiring 2 goes through), the interconnection wire penetrating the barrier cavity via the two first holes (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 5, Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of each of the two first holes is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that a new English machine translation of Ouyang has been provided for better understanding of the art.
Applicant argues that regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection related to claim 2, the claim has been amended to recite the interconnection wire is movably arranged in the bent region.
Applicant further recites paragraphs from the instant specification stating such feature. However, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection did not state there is no support for the claimed feature, but that it is unclear how the claimed feature is achieved without further guidance from the instant specification. As seen by prior art Ouyang, only the interconnection wire is disclosed to be movably arranged in the bent region and not the insulating layer is movably arranged with respect to the adhesive layer, which is recited in claim 2 and in the instant specification.
Additionally, while Ouyang provides diagrams and description as to how this is achieved, nowhere does the instant specification provide any guidance as to how exactly the claimed feature is achieved, where both the interconnection wire and the insulating layer are movably arranged with respect to the adhesive layer and each other without stating the relative dimensions of each and the “window structure” provided in the adhesive layer.
Additionally, numerous indefiniteness issues remain, such that the issues have been explained in further detail above.
Applicant argues that Ouyang does not disclose the two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire are in lap-joint with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels. However, it is unclear what exactly is encompassed by the claimed feature as it was previously recited to overlap, such that the limitation is indefinite, as set forth above.
Therefore, Ouyang still discloses the two ends of the isolation layer overlaps with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels, as previously presented in claim 12.
Additionally, Applicant argues that the braided layer 3 has a length in the extending direction clearly less than the width of the bending region as indicated by the green frame. It is noted that color markings do not transfer to filings as they are in black and white, but nonetheless, the bending region of Ouyang is interpreted to be the location of where the bend in wire 2 occurs, and braided layer 3 clearly extends wider than the width of the bending region as shown in Figure 1. It is noted that Applicant has not provided any particular definition for the “bending region”, such that the location of where the bend in wire 2 occurs satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation.
Applicant further argues that two ends of the braided layer 3 in the extending direction of the wire 2 cannot be in lap-joint with the adjacent sub-power generation panels. However, Applicant did not provide any definition for the borders of the recited sub-power generation panels, such that Ouyang discloses the feature, as set forth above. Additionally, no explanation nor drawings were provided by Applicant in the application to demonstrate this claimed feature in accordance with the rest of the required claimed features in claim 1.
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722