DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/21/2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
It is noted that newly added Figure 6 appears to depict busbars or a frame on the outer edges of the power generation regions, such that this feature was not shown in the originally filed figures on 11/04/2024 nor described in the specification. Additionally, originally filed figures on 11/04/2024 do not depict two columns of sub-power generation panels 110 for each power generation region 1000, where the interconnection wire 120 extends across the two columns as shown in newly added Figure 6. It is noted in originally filed Figure 3, interconnection wire 120 does not even extend across the entirety of two adjacent sub-power generation panels 110.
Therefore, the newly added Figure 6 is unacceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the isolation layer has a layered structure; two isolation layers are provided and arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire, respectively.” It is noted that the same is recited in paragraph [0042] and stated to be shown in Figures 3 and 4. Given the information provided, it appears the isolation layer itself does not have a layered structure when the isolation layer is represented by reference number 300. Paragraph [0042] even states “the isolation layer 300 has a layered structure, and two isolation layers 300 are provided. The two isolation layers 300 are arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire 120, respectively.” This means that there are two isolation layers and does not equate to mean the isolation layer itself has a multilayered structure as recited. Nowhere further defines the isolation layer as a multilayer element. Clarification is requested.
Claim 6 recites “the two isolation layers are integrally formed with the border element.” It is unclear how the two isolation layers are integrally formed with the border element when the border element is disclosed to be a completely separate element arranged between the two isolation layers with side edges that are sealingly connected to the two isolation layers, as recited in claim 1. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang et al. (CN 102945873; see English machine translation) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 2018/0076759).
Regarding claim 1, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (woven material 3; [0041]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 2), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (see Figure 1), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (it is disclosed above the woven material 3 can be non-conductive material, so it would isolate the interconnection wire from the adhesive film layer; see Figure 2),
wherein:
the isolation layer has a layered structure (see Figure 2);
two isolation layers are provided and arranged at two opposite sides of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2), respectively;
a border element with an annular shape is arranged between the two isolation layers (portion of woven material 3 that immediately surrounds the wire 2 at the ends; see Figure 2), two side edges of the border element being sealingly connected to the two isolation layers respectively to form a barrier cavity (hollow rectangle of the woven material; [0048] and [0049]); and
two first holes adapted to the interconnection wire are formed at two ends of the border element in an extending direction of the interconnection wire, the interconnection wire penetrating the barrier cavity via the two first holes (see Figures 1 and 2).
Ouyang does not expressly disclose the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels, and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.
Yoshida discloses a foldable solar panel (10; see Figure 2) comprising an interconnect wire (12) connecting two adjacent panels ([0038]; see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the interconnect wire is sandwiched between two isolation layers (14a and 14b), the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels (see Figure 6A), and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see Figure 6A), respectively. Yoshida further discloses the linking portion cover (14) is to protect and cover the linking portion wiring (12) from external impact, scratching, moisture, and the like ([0047]), where the linking portion wiring (12) does not have to be joined to the linking portion cover (14) formed in a bag-like shape ([0049]).
As Ouyang is not limited to any specific examples of the coverage of the isolation layer and as the isolation layer being in multiple configurations including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Yoshida above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable configuration for the isolation layer, including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in the device of Ouyang. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and said modification would ensure the entire interconnection wire is protected by the isolation layer on all sides from impact, scratching, and moisture, as stated by Yoshida above.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is movably arranged relative to the two adhesive film layers in the bent region and configured to move relative to the two adhesive film layers in a radial and/or an axial direction in the bent region (it is disclosed the wire 2 is arranged in the hollow rectangle of the woven material 3, such that it can move around relative to the two adhesive film layers; [0048] and [0049]; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of each of the two first holes is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the two isolation layers are integrally formed with the border element (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ouyang discloses a foldable solar panel (see Figure 1), comprising:
a power generation layer (flexible solar cell chip 1), wherein the power generation layer comprises at least two sub-power generation panels (as shown in Figure 1, there are three sub-power generation panels arranged from left to right) and an interconnection wire (wires 2) (see Figure 1), the at least two sub-power generation panels being arranged at intervals (see Figure 1), a bent region (where the bend in wire 2 is located) being formed in a gap between two adjacent sub-power generation panels of the at least two sub-power generation panels (see Figure 1), and the two adjacent sub-power generation panels being electrically connected by the interconnect wire passing through the bent region ([0048]); and
two adhesive film layers stacked on two opposite sides of the power generation layer (adhesive film 5; see Figure 4), respectively,
wherein an isolation layer (woven material 3; [0041]) is arranged between the interconnect wire and a corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 2), the isolation layer at least covering a part of the interconnect wire located in the bent region (see Figure 1), to isolate the part of the interconnection wire located in the bent region from the corresponding one of the two adhesive film layers at two sides of the interconnection wire (it is disclosed above the woven material 3 can be non-conductive material, so it would isolate the interconnection wire from the adhesive film layer; see Figure 2),
the isolation layer has a sleeve-like structure (see Figure 2, where the isolation layer forms a hollowed out rectangular area); and
the interconnection wire passes through a central through hole of the isolation layer (the hole that is vertical and wider than the diameter of the interconnection wire; see Figure 2).
Ouyang does not expressly disclose the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels, and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer, respectively.
Yoshida discloses a foldable solar panel (10; see Figure 2) comprising an interconnect wire (12) connecting two adjacent panels ([0038]; see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the interconnect wire is sandwiched between two isolation layers (14a and 14b), the isolation layer has a length in an extending direction of the interconnection wire greater than a distance between the two adjacent sub-power generation panels (see Figure 6A), and
two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer (see Figure 6A), respectively. Yoshida further discloses the linking portion cover (14) is to protect and cover the linking portion wiring (12) from external impact, scratching, moisture, and the like ([0047]), where the linking portion wiring (12) does not have to be joined to the linking portion cover (14) formed in a bag-like shape ([0049]).
As Ouyang is not limited to any specific examples of the coverage of the isolation layer and as the isolation layer being in multiple configurations including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Yoshida above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any suitable configuration for the isolation layer, including one in which two ends of the isolation layer in the extending direction of the interconnection wire overlap with the two adjacent sub-power generation panels at two sides of the isolation layer in the device of Ouyang. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and said modification would ensure the entire interconnection wire is protected by the isolation layer on all sides from impact, scratching, and moisture, as stated by Yoshida above.
Regarding claim 8, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of the central through hole is greater than an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two blockers are disposed at two ends of the isolation layer in an extending direction of the interconnection wire (ends of the woven material 3 where it is pinched), respectively, the two blockers being configured to block two ends of the central through hole (as set forth above), respectively; and
each of the two blockers has a second hole (the hole that has the same diameter as the interconnection wire) in communication with the central through hole (see Figure 2), the second hole being adapted to the interconnection wire, and the interconnection wire passing through the two second holes (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an inner diameter of the second hole is equal to an outer diameter of the interconnection wire (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is integrally formed with the two blockers (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the isolation layer is made of an insulating material (as set forth above, the isolation layer can be insulating).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire has a flat structure ([0040]); and
a width direction of the interconnection wire is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the foldable solar panel (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses two thin film layers (back panel material 7 and front panel material 6), wherein:
the two thin film layers are arranged at two sides of the two adhesive film layers away from the power generation layer (see Figure 4), respectively; and
the two thin film layers are adhered to the power generation layer via the two adhesive film layers (see Figure 4), respectively.
Regarding claim 16, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the two adhesive film layers and the two thin film layers cover the entire surface of the power generation layer (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the at least two sub-power generation panel comprises at least one battery cell (see annotated Figure 1 above, where each sub-power generation panel comprises two battery cells 1), a support frame (movable support; [0054]), and packaging layers (adhesive film 5 and front 6 and back panels 7), the packaging layers being arranged at a front side and a back side of the at least one battery cell (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the at least one battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells connected in series and parallel through a connecting wire ([0035]; see wiring 2 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the interconnection wire is a braided copper wire ([0010]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ouyang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the two adhesive film layers is selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin elastomer (POE) adhesive film, an ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) adhesive film, and a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) adhesive film ([0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states the drawing objections have been addressed with the replacement drawings. However, new issues were introduced, as set forth above.
Applicant argues that Ouyang fails to disclose a border element with an annular shape as well as its associated limitations because Ouyang discloses in paragraph [0036] that two rectangular braided layers are used to form a sandwich layer, through which the connecting wire passes, such that the braided material 3 is an integral sheet like or sandwich like structure and the so called “inner portion” is merely a part of the unitary sheet like braded material, not an independent structural member having a closed annular profile.
However, Figure 2 of Ouyang demonstrates the “annular shape” or profile perfectly, such that it is unclear why Applicant is pointing to paragraph [0036]. Additionally, paragraph [0036] of Ouyang is not directed to reference number 3.
Applicant also argues that Ouyang does not disclose the edges of the two braided layers 3 are “sealingly connected” to any structure. However, it is noted that the “border element” is the portion of braided material 3 that immediately surrounds the wiring 2 at the ends, such that they are “sealingly connected” to the two isolation layers that are recited. It is further noted that Applicant later claims in claim 6 that the isolation layers and the border element are integrated, such that Ouyang satisfies this requirement.
Applicant argues the braded sandwich layer of Ouyang defines an open space, not a closed “barrier cavity” and that during lamination, molten adhesive from the adhesive film layers would penetrate the pores of the braided material itself.
However, Ouyang specifically states that the adhesive film 5 is cut out where the wires 2 are laid and there is no adhesive film 5 in the folded area where there wires are laid ([0047]), such that the connecting wire 2 must not be fixed by the adhesive film 5 ([0048]) and that a braided material 3 is added to the hollowed out part and that all edges of the braided material 3 extend beyond the hollowed out rectangle area ([0049]). Further, if the adhesive film penetrates the braided material and touches the wires like Applicant asserts, it is unclear how the wires would be able to bend in the folded area as stated by Ouyang ([0035]).
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722