Information Disclosure Statement
In accordance with dicta from Molins PLC v. Textron, Inc., 48 F.3d 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1995), stating that forcing the Examiner to find "a needle in a haystack" is "probative of bad faith." The submitted Information Disclosure Statements lacked concise explanation of the relevance of any of the listed references by citing any pages, columns, lines, or paragraph numbers where relevant passages or relevant figures appear. According to MPEP Section 2004 “Aids to Compliance With Duty of Disclosure [R-08.2012]”, “It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to Applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance." Additionally, per MPEP Section 609.04(a)(lll): “applicants are encouraged to provide a concise explanation of why the English-language information is being submitted and how it is understood to be relevant. Concise explanations (especially those which point out the relevant pages and lines) are helpful to the Office, particularly where documents are lengthy and complex and applicant is aware of a section that is highly relevant to patentability or where a large number of documents are submitted and applicant is aware that one or more are highly relevant to patentability." See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert, denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v.Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). If additional IDS need to be submitted, the examiner is requesting that the applicant submit a reasonable number of references along with the concise explanation of the relevance of any of the listed references by citing any pages, columns, lines, or paragraph numbers where relevant passages or relevant figures appear, as per 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3) and 37 CFR § 1.105.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,259,724 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 1 and 9 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 1 and 7 of Simon et al.
Claims 2 and 10 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 1 and 7 of Simon et al.
Claims 3 and 11 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 1 and 7 of Simon et al.
Claims 4 and 12 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 1 and 7 of Simon et al.
Claims 5 and 13 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 2 and 8 of Simon et al.
Claims 6 and 14 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 3 and 9 of Simon et al.
Claims 7 and 15 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 4 and 10 of Simon et al.
Claims 8 and 16 of the instant application are anticipated by Claims 6 and 11 of Simon et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRIAN (EP 2 886 507 A1) in view of Buss (US-20180113465-A1) and CHOI (US-20180157036-A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Brian discloses: a method for operating a materials handling vehicle comprising monitoring and storing first data regarding a vehicle drive parameter, by a controller, a vehicle drive parameter during a previous manual operation of the vehicle by the operator ([0060]: “the vehicle controller 12 can store data regarding the operation of the material handling vehicle. That data can include number of hours in operation, battery state of charge (BSOC), and fault codes encountered, for example”; [0061]);
second data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter monitored and stored during a most recent manual operation of the vehicle ([0060]: “In addition, operation of the lift can be monitored using the time that the lift motor 51 is active. Various speed parameters such as speed and acceleration of the vehicle and of the mast 33 can also be monitored”, the time that the lift motor 51 is active is broadly interpreted to be equivalent to the most recent manual operation (i.e. current operation); [0061]; [0068]);
receiving, by the controller, a request to implement a semi-automated driving operation of the vehicle; and based on the second data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter corresponding to the most recent manual operation, controlling by the controller, implementation of the semi- automated driving operation of the vehicle ([0069]-[0072]).
However, Brian does not explicitly state replacing, by the controller, the stored first data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter associated with the previous manual operation of the vehicle by the operator with second data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter during the most recent manual operation of the vehicle, operating the vehicle in a semi-automated driving operation after the previous manual operation and before the most recent manual operation of the vehicle.
On the other hand, Buss teaches replacing, by the controller, any stored first data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter associated with a previous manual operation of the vehicle by the operator with second data regarding the monitored vehicle drive parameter during the most recent manual operation of the vehicle (Claim 8: “a value of the control parameter from a previous time interval is stored if the vehicle speed is below a predefined threshold vehicle speed, and wherein a value of the control parameter from the previous time interval is replaced with a value of the current control parameter if the vehicle speed is above the predefined threshold vehicle speed).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application, to modify the teachings of the BRIAN reference and include steps from the Buss reference with a reasonable expectation of success and replace the stored first data with second data regarding the monitored drive parameter. Doing so provides an up-to-date storage of data stored regarding the drive parameter.
Furthermore, CHOI teaches the vehicle is operated in another semi-automated driving operation after the previous manual operation and before the most recent manual operation of the vehicle ([0096]-[0101]: alternating from one driving mode to the other based on the driving conditions).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the BRIAN reference and include features from the CHOI reference with a reasonable expectation of success, to alternate between driving modes depending on the driving conditions. Doing so provides an efficient transitioning between driving modes, that considers driving conditions for switching between manual and autonomous driving modes.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, BRIAN discloses the second data comprises sequential individual values associated with the vehicle drive parameter ([0060]; [0061]; [0068]: Serial numbers, ID’s, numbers, times, and values are all considered sequential individual numbers; Fig. 18).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, BRIAN discloses the second data is not calculated using or based on the first data ([0042]: “new such current-trip data sets are read from the vehicle in question at consecutive observation time points separated by at the most a predetermined observation time period”, the most recent data is read from the vehicle, which means they are not based on the stored data (i.e. first data); [0070];[0071]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, BRIAN discloses the semi-automated driving operation comprises a remote control operation ([0047]: “remotely controlled (AGV) material handling vehicles”).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRIAN, Buss, and CHOI in further view of DU (CN 107063239 A; examiner relied on English translation attached with this OA).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, BRIAN discloses grouping the sequential individual values into a plurality of subsets of values ([0060]: “Various speed parameters such as speed and acceleration of the vehicle and of the mast 33 can also be monitored.”; [0061]: “The vehicle operational data can also include an operator identifier, such as a name or employee number, which can be entered through the integrated display 55 connected to the vehicle controller 12. Additionally, operator daily checklists can be presented to the operator on the integrated display 55. Data acquired from these checklists can be associated with the operator along with data related to that person's driving performance. For example, average vehicle acceleration rate and speed may be monitored, as well as collision data, number of pallets moved, or other data useful in monitoring operator performance, productivity, and efficiency”) and for each of the plurality of subsets, a respective arithmetic or weighted average associated with that subset based at least in part on the individual values in that subset ([0061]: “For example, average vehicle acceleration rate and speed may be monitored”, the averages recited in this paragraph are referring to the arithmetic average).
However, BRIAN does not explicitly state each subset comprising a same predetermined number of adjacent individual values; and for each of the plurality of subsets, calculating a respective arithmetic or weighted average associated with that subset based at least in part on the individual values in that subset.
On the other hand DU teaches each subset comprising a same predetermined number of adjacent individual values; and for each of the plurality of subsets, calculating a respective arithmetic or weighted average associated with that subset based at least in part on the individual values in that subset (Page 2, Lines 81-82: (2c); Claim 1: “orderly reading elements in the acceleration matrix according to the row, (2b) calculating each array element number of packets read acceleration matrix, (2c) reading the elements in each group of packet data. calculating the average value of each group of grouped data element and the average value calculated by the stored acceleration average value matrix according to the row, (3)”).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application, to modify the teachings of the BRIAN reference and include steps from the DU reference, wherein the plurality of subsets are grouped and the averages are calculated for each subset. Calculating and relying on averages would provide a safer autonomous control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peterson (US-20200319643-A1) teaches an automation arbitration controller system is provided. The automation arbitration controller is configured to arbitrate a multiple of automation requests on a material handling vehicle, which includes a material handling vehicle controller. The automation arbitration controller can be connected to at least one automation controller via an automation communication bus. The automation controller can be configured to send one or more automation requests. The automation arbitration controller can also be connected to a material handling vehicle controller via a vehicle communication bus. The material handling vehicle controller can be configured to send one or more automation requests.
Natroshvili (US-20190102911-A1) teaches an extrinsic camera calibration system (ECCS) comprising a surround view system (SVS) interface connecting the ECCS to the SVS. The SVS comprises four cameras mounted to front, back, left, and right sides of a vehicle respectively that are front, back, left, and right cameras, as well as an imaging interface at which images from the four cameras are output. A calibration pattern that comprises a set of features is used by an extrinsic calibration processor. A network interface is connected to the four cameras via the imaging interface. The processor receives, from each camera, an image comprising captured features from the calibration pattern. It determines and stores extrinsic calibration parameters (ECPs) for each camera that map coordinates of the features to camera coordinates and that are usable for subsequent normal operation of the cameras, the ECPs being determined from the image features.
/SHAHIRA BAAJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3666