DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are canceled.
Claims 16-35 are new.
Claims 16-35 are pending and have been examined.
This action is in reply to the papers filed on 11/04/2024 (effective filing date 01/28/2019).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted: 11/04/2024, 08/29/2025, 08/29/2025, has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 11/04/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 08/29/2025.
Reasons For Allowance
Prior-Art Rejection withdrawn
Claims xxx are allowed. The closest prior art (See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited) does not teach the claimed:
The closest prior-art (xxx) teach the features as disclosed in Non-final Rejection (xxxx), however, these cited references do not teach and the prior-art does not teach at least the following combination of features and/or elements:
determining, at a second time after associating the information corresponding to the first loyalty card with the logged location, that a second user computing device is located within a specified distance of the logged location using a second positioning system of the second user computing device; in response to determining that the second user computing device is located within the specified distance of the logged location of the first user computing device at the first time of detecting: retrieving information corresponding to a second loyalty card, the second loyalty card being associated with the merchant and the second user computing device; and displaying, by the second user computing device, data describing the second loyalty card.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 - Withdrawn
Per Applicant’s amendments and arguments and considering new guidance in the MPEP, the rejections are withdrawn. Specifically, in Applicant’s Remarks (dated 03/14/2017, pgs. 8-11), Applicant traverses the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing that the amended claims recite new limitations that are not abstract, amount to significantly more, are directed to a practical application, etc… For example, Applicant argues….
In support of their arguments, Applicant cites to the following recent Fed. Cir. court cases (i.e., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, Berkheimer, Core Wireless, McRO, Enfish, Bascom, DDR, etc…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims recite a system for managing curbside use by vehicles.
Claim 1 recites [a] curbside management system, comprising: one or more vehicles; a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles; and one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system, wherein the processor comprises at least a curbside management component, configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the vehicle associated with one or more customers, and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle, wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space, and wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space.
The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category?
Yes. Claims 16-35 recite a system/apparatus and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of machine.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The following tables identify the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. The column that identifies the additional elements will be relevant to the analysis in step 2A, prong two, and step 2B.
Claim 16: Identification of Abstract Idea and Additional Elements, using Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
Claim Limitation
Abstract Idea
Additional Element
16. A curbside management system, comprising: one or more vehicles; a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles; and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: A curbside management system, comprising: one or more vehicles; a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles.
But for the vehicles(s) and wireless communication system, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate a system for managing curbside use by vehicles which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations)
and/or
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk).
one or more vehicles; a wireless communication system configured to communicate with…
one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system,
This limitation includes the step(s) of: one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system.
But for computing devices, memory, and processors, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate a system for managing curbside use by vehicles which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations)
and/or
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk).
one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system
wherein the processor comprises at least a curbside management component, configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the vehicle associated with one or more customers, and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle,
This limitation includes the step(s) of: wherein the processor comprises at least a curbside management component, configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the vehicle associated with one or more customers, and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle.
But for processors andvehciles, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate a system for managing curbside use by vehicles which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations)
and/or
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk).
wherein the processor comprises at least a curbside management component…
wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space, and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space.
But for curbside space, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate a system for managing curbside use by vehicles which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations)
and/or
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk).
optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space
wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space.
This limitation includes the step(s) of: wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space.
But for curbside space and vehciles, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate a system for managing curbside use by vehicles which may be categorized as any of the following:
mathematical concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations)
and/or
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk).
displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space
As shown above, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea). The claims are directed to the abstract idea of managing curbside use by vehicles, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a mathematical concept, mental process and/or a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the aforementioned claims recite additional functional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: memory and computing device for communicating information. Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extrasolution activity. (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle in to a patentable process.”).
The aforementioned claims also recite additional technical elements including: a processor and computing devices for executing and implementing the system. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements listed above that relate to computing components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions such as communicating, receiving, processing, analyzing, and outputting/displaying data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. There is no technological problem that the claimed invention solves. Rather, the computer system is invoked merely as a tool. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, these claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the elements individually and in combination, under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field, apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease, apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s), and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept?
Next, under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Simply put, as noted above, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer (or any other technology), and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements relating to computing components amount to no more than applying the exception using a generic computing components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed computer components (i.e., additional elements) includes any generic computing components that are capable of being programmed to communicate, receive, send, process, analyze, output, or display data.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer, the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified as extra-solution activity, amount to activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Capturing an image (code) with an RFID reader. Ritter, US Patent No. 7734507 (Col. 3, Lines 56-67); “RFID: Riding on the Chip” by Pat Russo. Frozen Food Age. New York: Dec. 2003, vol. 52, Issue 5; page S22.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Storing and retrieving information in memory. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Outputting/Presenting data to a user. Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015); MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Using a machine learning model to determine user segment characteristics for an ad campaign. https://whites.agency/blog/how-to-use-machine-learning-for-customer-segmentation/.
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea), and are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Independent system claim 24 and 29 also contains the identified abstract ideas, with the additional elements of a processor and storage medium, which are a generic computer components, and thus not significantly more for the same reasons and rationale above.
Dependent claims 17-23, 25-28, and 30-35 further describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of the dependent claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Invention Could be Performed Manually
It is conceivable that the invention could be performed manually without the aid of machine and/or computer. For example, Applicant claims identifying available curbside space, prioritize allocation of available curbside space, and re-routing vehicles. Each of these features could be performed manually and/or with the aid of a simple generic computer to facilitate the transmission of data.
See also Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., and In re Venner, which stand for the concept that automating manual activity and/or applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices to accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Here, applicant is merely claiming computers to facilitate and/or automate functions which used to be commonly performed by a human.
Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007) "[a]pplying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years…"). The combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is commonly available and understood in the art.
In In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04, III Automating a Manual Activity.
MPEP 2144.04 III - Automating a Manual Activity and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) further stand for and provide motivation for using technology, hardware, computer, or server to automate a manual activity.
Therefore, the Office finds no improvements to another technology or field, no improvements to the function of the computer itself, and no meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no limitations in any of the claims that transform the exception (i.e., the abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Claim Rejections - Not an Ordered Combination
None of the limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - Preemption
Allowing the claims, as presently claimed, would preempt others from managing curbside use by vehicles. Furthermore, the claim language only recites the abstract idea of performing this method, there are no concrete steps articulating a particular way in which this idea is being implemented or describing how it is being performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 29. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 teaches A curbside management system for dynamically managing curbside docking by vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0181 - dynamically reserve parking] The parking services 12 can facilitate a more flexible way to arrange parking for scheduled deliveries. FIG. 19 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a scheduled deliveries service 250 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. The scheduled deliveries service enables merchants and delivery organizations to dynamically reserve parking for deliveries ahead of time. This approach allows the number of loading zones to flexibly grow and shrink according to need, thereby enabling smoother deliveries and providing more parking spaces 24 when deliveries are not scheduled.), comprising: one or more vehicles associated with one or more customers (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0215 - owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car] Vehicle-Centric Identification. When a valet parks a customer's vehicle in a pre-reserved valet parking space, the parking services 12 uses an identifier that is uniquely associated with each vehicle, such as an RFID tag, parking placard, or the vehicle license plate or vehicle identification number (VIN), to record the location of the vehicle. Later the valet uses the owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car.); a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0056] The parking devices 21, whether standalone or configured through a kiosk 19, interface motorists and other users with the parking services server 11. Each parking device 21 and kiosk 19 includes a user interface (not shown) for identifying which parking space 24 is being reserved and determining the user's identification. When booking a reservation, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 undertakes an abbreviated “Hold this Space” service transaction, described infra, with the user. The particular parking space 24 can be indicated, for example, by displaying the location of the space on a map. The user's identification is indicated using an account number, credit or debit card number, or other unique identifier that can be provided to the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 through a magnetic strip or bar code reader for scanning credit cards, driver's licenses, parking identification cards, or other forms of identification. Alternatively, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 can accept wireless transmissions, for instance, using Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or Wi-Max protocols, or wired transmissions of the user's identification from a mobile device 15, 16, 17, such as a smart mobile telephone, notebook or tablet computer, or similar personal electronic device. In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked. [0064] Users interface with the parking services 12 either directly by using a parking device 11 or parking services kiosk 19. Users can also interface with the parking services 12 remotely over a network using a user device through a wired or wireless connection. User devices include mobile devices 15, 16, 17, such as smart mobile telephones, notebook or tablet computers, or similar personal electronic devices. The parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 also have user interfaces that interact with the parking services 12. Yet another set of the services can download either parameters or application programs to the parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 to drive interactions with users.); and one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013-0014; 0043; 0056; 0059; 0060; 0064]), wherein the processor integrates at least the following, a navigation component configured to generate a route to a final curbside destination from a current location of the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.), an asset verification component configured to collect real-time docking activity of the curbside space and quantify any customer demands on the docking use of the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004; 0013; 0062 - services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services] [0062] At any given time, several coordinated processes execute across the servers. Depending upon the scale of the system, several computers may need to work together to carry out each of the services. One set of the services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services. City officials or parking authorities that establish new parking policies present a special case of the services. For example, they may need to initiate a new parking regulation, which applies over certain hours on certain days. The rules and parameters for the service could be expressed through a description language for permits, regulations, and the like, with parameters in the language corresponding to policy considerations, what rights are enabled, and cross references to other regulations and permits. The parking officials specify the parameters governing what regulations apply in what geographic parts or blocks of the city. Thus, the parking officials would be able to state that a parking regulation for a loading zone has an exception when a parking account includes a “loading zone permit,” but would be enforced differently when a parking account has only a “visitor permit” and so forth. [0068 - parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time] Users with parking accounts 37a-c can make parking reservations. The parking services 12 maintain a set of reservations 38a-d respectively requested on the basis of driver, recurring, guest, and special use needs. Other types of parking reservations are possible. During parking operations, the parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time. Other types of parking events are possible. [0069 - parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users] During operation, parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users, who are primarily motorists and the overall status 48 of parking availability is continually revised through the parking accounts 37a-c, sensor data 40, and parking device data 41. In addition, depending upon the type of parking sought, users may also physically submit parking permits or coupons 45, such as issued by a resident host or merchant, or electronically submit parking codes 46, which are processed and validated by the parking services server 11.), and a curbside management component configured to analyze the information archived by the asset verification component to optimize the docking of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [Abstract][0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0016 - FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street … parking] FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street valet parking in accordance with one embodiment.), wherein the system is configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the one or more vehicles associated with the one or more customers (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008 – available parking spaces; 0009 - destination location is obtained and a parking facility proximate the destination location is identified. Historic parking availability information for the parking facility is provided based on past parking availability patterns; 0012; 0051; 0065]), and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0012 – analyze data to select optimal parking space; 0097 - making a parking reservation or check-in, the driver selects the terms of the parking agreement; 0207 - spaces reserved by motorists through an on-line street reservation system]), wherein the available curbside access destinations are based on at least an estimated time of arrival of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space, an estimated time of docking of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space, and the type of vehicle of the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013; 0014; 0051; 0055; 0075; 0111; 0124; 0129 - an estimated time of arrival]), wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0032 - FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service for use in the parking services of FIG. 1. [0137 - parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue] Multiple-Allocation Auction. An allocation process can be used, where residents specify several parking preferences and bids. The parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue. [0164 - customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period] Merchants may want to provide priority parking for their customers on the day of a sale or at other times. For example, they may want to encourage customers by providing priority parking for them in front of their store. The customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period. FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service 230 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. Parking is allocated to the merchant by the parking services 12 during the specified parking period (step 231). The parking indicators 23 proximate to the allotted parking spaces 24 are set to indicate the priority status of the parking spaces 24 (step 232). For example, the parking spaces 24 could flash green-and-blue indicators, accompanied by a short message displayed on the parking device 21.), wherein the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0092; 0132]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space” features, however, Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 teaches (Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 [0123 - evacuation strategy may comprise a route for the vehicle 35 away from the current parking location] At blocks 73, 75 and 76 an evacuation strategy is determined. The evacuation strategy may comprise moving the vehicle 35 away from the detected emergency. The evacuation strategy may comprise a safe parking location for the vehicle 35. The evacuation strategy may comprise a route for the vehicle 35 away from the current parking location. [0164 - evacuation strategy may be specific to the particular parking space of the vehicle] In some examples the apparatus 1 may comprise a map application which may provide a user interface. The user interface may enable a user to select an evacuation strategy from the maps application to be used if an emergency is detected in a particular location. In some examples the city or area in which the vehicle 35 is located may have a centralised collection of evacuation strategies. In such examples the map application may be configured to access the most appropriate evacuation strategy for the current location of the vehicle 35. The evacuation strategy may be specific to the particular parking space of the vehicle 35. In other examples the evacuation strategies may be embedded in the map application and/or route planner used by the vehicle. In some examples the evacuation strategy may be accessible whenever the vehicle 35 is in a location or is stopped in a location which has an associated evacuation strategy.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 16, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 29, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 29.
Claims 16 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 29. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 teaches A curbside management system for dynamically managing curbside docking by vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0181 - dynamically reserve parking] The parking services 12 can facilitate a more flexible way to arrange parking for scheduled deliveries. FIG. 19 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a scheduled deliveries service 250 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. The scheduled deliveries service enables merchants and delivery organizations to dynamically reserve parking for deliveries ahead of time. This approach allows the number of loading zones to flexibly grow and shrink according to need, thereby enabling smoother deliveries and providing more parking spaces 24 when deliveries are not scheduled.), comprising: one or more vehicles associated with one or more customers (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0215 - owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car] Vehicle-Centric Identification. When a valet parks a customer's vehicle in a pre-reserved valet parking space, the parking services 12 uses an identifier that is uniquely associated with each vehicle, such as an RFID tag, parking placard, or the vehicle license plate or vehicle identification number (VIN), to record the location of the vehicle. Later the valet uses the owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car.); a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0056] The parking devices 21, whether standalone or configured through a kiosk 19, interface motorists and other users with the parking services server 11. Each parking device 21 and kiosk 19 includes a user interface (not shown) for identifying which parking space 24 is being reserved and determining the user's identification. When booking a reservation, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 undertakes an abbreviated “Hold this Space” service transaction, described infra, with the user. The particular parking space 24 can be indicated, for example, by displaying the location of the space on a map. The user's identification is indicated using an account number, credit or debit card number, or other unique identifier that can be provided to the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 through a magnetic strip or bar code reader for scanning credit cards, driver's licenses, parking identification cards, or other forms of identification. Alternatively, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 can accept wireless transmissions, for instance, using Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or Wi-Max protocols, or wired transmissions of the user's identification from a mobile device 15, 16, 17, such as a smart mobile telephone, notebook or tablet computer, or similar personal electronic device. In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked. [0064] Users interface with the parking services 12 either directly by using a parking device 11 or parking services kiosk 19. Users can also interface with the parking services 12 remotely over a network using a user device through a wired or wireless connection. User devices include mobile devices 15, 16, 17, such as smart mobile telephones, notebook or tablet computers, or similar personal electronic devices. The parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 also have user interfaces that interact with the parking services 12. Yet another set of the services can download either parameters or application programs to the parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 to drive interactions with users.); and one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013-0014; 0043; 0056; 0059; 0060; 0064]), wherein the processor integrates at least the following, a navigation component configured to generate a route to a final curbside destination from a current location of the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.), an asset verification component configured to collect real-time docking activity of the curbside space and quantify any customer demands on the docking use of the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004; 0013; 0062 - services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services] [0062] At any given time, several coordinated processes execute across the servers. Depending upon the scale of the system, several computers may need to work together to carry out each of the services. One set of the services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services. City officials or parking authorities that establish new parking policies present a special case of the services. For example, they may need to initiate a new parking regulation, which applies over certain hours on certain days. The rules and parameters for the service could be expressed through a description language for permits, regulations, and the like, with parameters in the language corresponding to policy considerations, what rights are enabled, and cross references to other regulations and permits. The parking officials specify the parameters governing what regulations apply in what geographic parts or blocks of the city. Thus, the parking officials would be able to state that a parking regulation for a loading zone has an exception when a parking account includes a “loading zone permit,” but would be enforced differently when a parking account has only a “visitor permit” and so forth. [0068 - parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time] Users with parking accounts 37a-c can make parking reservations. The parking services 12 maintain a set of reservations 38a-d respectively requested on the basis of driver, recurring, guest, and special use needs. Other types of parking reservations are possible. During parking operations, the parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time. Other types of parking events are possible. [0069 - parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users] During operation, parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users, who are primarily motorists and the overall status 48 of parking availability is continually revised through the parking accounts 37a-c, sensor data 40, and parking device data 41. In addition, depending upon the type of parking sought, users may also physically submit parking permits or coupons 45, such as issued by a resident host or merchant, or electronically submit parking codes 46, which are processed and validated by the parking services server 11.), and a curbside management component configured to analyze the information archived by the asset verification component to optimize the docking of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [Abstract][0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0016 - FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street … parking] FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street valet parking in accordance with one embodiment.), wherein the system is configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the one or more vehicles associated with the one or more customers (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008 – available parking spaces; 0009 - destination location is obtained and a parking facility proximate the destination location is identified. Historic parking availability information for the parking facility is provided based on past parking availability patterns; 0012; 0051; 0065]), and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0012 – analyze data to select optimal parking space; 0097 - making a parking reservation or check-in, the driver selects the terms of the parking agreement; 0207 - spaces reserved by motorists through an on-line street reservation system]), wherein the available curbside access destinations are based on at least an estimated time of arrival of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space, an estimated time of docking of the one or more vehicles at the curbside space, and the type of vehicle of the one or more vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013; 0014; 0051; 0055; 0075; 0111; 0124; 0129 - an estimated time of arrival]), wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0032 - FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service for use in the parking services of FIG. 1. [0137 - parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue] Multiple-Allocation Auction. An allocation process can be used, where residents specify several parking preferences and bids. The parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue. [0164 - customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period] Merchants may want to provide priority parking for their customers on the day of a sale or at other times. For example, they may want to encourage customers by providing priority parking for them in front of their store. The customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period. FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service 230 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. Parking is allocated to the merchant by the parking services 12 during the specified parking period (step 231). The parking indicators 23 proximate to the allotted parking spaces 24 are set to indicate the priority status of the parking spaces 24 (step 232). For example, the parking spaces 24 could flash green-and-blue indicators, accompanied by a short message displayed on the parking device 21.), wherein the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0092; 0132]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space” features, however, Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 teaches (Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 [0058 - If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area] Manager system 110 can predict delays in arrivals and can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust parking spaces previously determined and can output a communication to indicator system 150 where appropriate for providing viewable indications of a parking space change. If snow is in the forecast as determined from data from weather service system 172 for example manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to enlarge reserved parking spaces to provide additional space for parking. If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to examine user profile information stored in area 1212 of data repository 112 and for example can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space to users who have participated in a customer incentive program such as involving completion of a customer satisfaction survey. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to look up information of a vehicle of vehicle system 120A being driven by a vehicle driver user and for purposes of promotion of an environmental conservation program can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space for a vehicle determined to satisfy an environmental conservation requirement (e.g. has a threshold passing energy efficiency or emissions rating). During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can also be receiving data from one or more other vehicle system e.g. vehicle system 120Z and performing processing of such data. Manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust a dimension and/or location of parking spaces previously determined for one or more user and can make adjustments to generated indicators indicated by indicator system 150 based on the data from the one or more other vehicle system 120Z. For example, manager system 110 can examine location data e.g. GPS data of vehicle system 120Z of a vehicle and can determine e.g. that the vehicle of vehicle system 120Z will not arrive in time to park at a reserved parking space at a reserved time. Manager system 110 can responsively to such determining in one embodiment cancel the reservation and change the status of the parking space to not reserved and open and can output a communication, as shown e.g. at block 1110, to change an indicator provided by indicator system 150 to indicate the not reserved status of the parking space.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Bruce et al. 2018/0268617. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
18/935,827 – Claim 16. (New) A curbside management system, comprising: one or more vehicles; a wireless communication system configured to communicate with one or more customers associated with the one or more vehicles; and one or more owner computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the one or more owner computing devices including at least one memory having executable instructions and at least one processor programmed to execute the instructions, the processor being in communication with the one or more customers via the wireless communication system, wherein the processor comprises at least a curbside management component, configured to generate available curbside access destinations of the curbside space for docking the vehicle associated with one or more customers, and which are communicated to the one or more customers via the wireless communication system for selection of one of the available curbside access destinations for docking the vehicle, wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more customers based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the vehicles at the curbside space, and wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time and communicates to the one or more customers allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations to displace the one or more vehicles with an emergency service vehicle or to re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space.
Claim 16, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 29, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 29.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 30. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 29, wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time to displace or re-route the one or more vehicles allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations with an emergency service vehicle (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0092; 0132]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “re-route the one or more vehicles …” features, however, Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 teaches (Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 [0058 - If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area] Manager system 110 can predict delays in arrivals and can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust parking spaces previously determined and can output a communication to indicator system 150 where appropriate for providing viewable indications of a parking space change. If snow is in the forecast as determined from data from weather service system 172 for example manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to enlarge reserved parking spaces to provide additional space for parking. If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to examine user profile information stored in area 1212 of data repository 112 and for example can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space to users who have participated in a customer incentive program such as involving completion of a customer satisfaction survey. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to look up information of a vehicle of vehicle system 120A being driven by a vehicle driver user and for purposes of promotion of an environmental conservation program can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space for a vehicle determined to satisfy an environmental conservation requirement (e.g. has a threshold passing energy efficiency or emissions rating). During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can also be receiving data from one or more other vehicle system e.g. vehicle system 120Z and performing processing of such data. Manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust a dimension and/or location of parking spaces previously determined for one or more user and can make adjustments to generated indicators indicated by indicator system 150 based on the data from the one or more other vehicle system 120Z. For example, manager system 110 can examine location data e.g. GPS data of vehicle system 120Z of a vehicle and can determine e.g. that the vehicle of vehicle system 120Z will not arrive in time to park at a reserved parking space at a reserved time. Manager system 110 can responsively to such determining in one embodiment cancel the reservation and change the status of the parking space to not reserved and open and can output a communication, as shown e.g. at block 1110, to change an indicator provided by indicator system 150 to indicate the not reserved status of the parking space.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Bruce et al. 2018/0268617. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 31. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 29, wherein the one or more vehicles is one or more autonomous vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [Abstract]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “autonomous vehicles” features, however, Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 teaches (Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 [0003 - vehicles have autonomous capability] Where vehicles have autonomous capability it may be useful to use this to avoid certain situations for the vehicles and people around the vehicle). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193; in view of Minster et al. 2017/0267233.
18/935,827 – Claim 32. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 31, wherein the curbside management component prioritizes allocation of the available access destinations to prohibit the one or more autonomous vehicles from docking in the curbside space or travel lanes adjacent the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0032 – customer priority parking; 0071 – priority parking; 0163-0164 – priority parking]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “prohibit vehicles from docking …” features, however, Minster et al. 2017/0267233 teaches (Minster et al. 2017/0267233 [Claim 13 - indicating by the virtual parking agent or the parking management system that the available parking space is unavailable or is reserved thereby preventing any other vehicle from parking in the available parking space, or if the request to reserve the available parking space is satisfied by another autonomous vehicle, temporarily obstructing or parking at the available space…] 13. The method of claim 9, wherein the parking request comprises a request to reserve an available parking space for the autonomous vehicle, wherein: if request to reserve the available parking space is satisfied by a virtual parking agent or parking management system, indicating by the virtual parking agent or the parking management system that the available parking space is unavailable or is reserved thereby preventing any other vehicle from parking in the available parking space, or if the request to reserve the available parking space is satisfied by another autonomous vehicle, temporarily obstructing or parking at the available space until the autonomous vehicle arrives to park at the available parking space.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Minster et al. 2017/0267233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634.
18/935,827 – Claim 33. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 29, wherein the curbside management component prioritizes allocation of the available access destinations based on safety of pedestrians at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0003 – promotes public safety]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “prioritizes allocation of the available access destinations based on safety of pedestrians” features, however, Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 teaches (Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 (Prov. Appl. No. 62/775,352, filed on Dec. 4, 2018) [0032 - prioritize pedestrian safety…] As a further example, in some embodiments, API 102 can be used to receive data mobility sensors that are associated with adaptive traffic signals. For example, the mobility sensors can include any suitable sensors, such as lidar and/or radar, which can be non-personal or de-identified at the sensor source. Such data from the mobility sensors integrated or otherwise associated with adaptive traffic signals can be used to create safer streets that prioritize pedestrian safety and can assess time to cross the street while eliminating unnecessary waits. In a more particular example, such data can be received by API 102, where mobility management system 104 can determine the total number of pedestrians waiting to cross an intersection, a schedule of the vehicles approaching the intersection, and/or the volume of ride-hail services routed in the direction of the intersection. In another more particular example, data from in-pavement sensors can be received by API 102 such that mobility management system 104 can determine the volume, the type of transit, and/or the schedule of streetcars, ride-hailing services, and other vehicles along a street having the in-pavement sensors. Based on one or more of these pieces of determined information, mobility management system 104 can transmit a priority instruction to the adaptive traffic signal—e.g., where the pedestrian crossing is prioritized and provided with a greater amount of signal time than others (e.g., streetcars and then vehicles).). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 34. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 29, wherein the processor incorporates a payment component for calculating fees associated with one or more of the available curbside access destinations and the final curbside destination, wherein the payment component incorporates dynamic docking fees that are based on incentives and disincentive policies set by owner in the system (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0125 - Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early] Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early. For example, a driver considering convenience and peace of mind may choose an option to stay for up to three hours, even if he expects to be finished in two hours. Reserving a parking space 24 for only two hours would cost less, but the driver risks the need to hurry back if delayed. In one embodiment, the parking services 12 can warn a driver via a mobile device 15, 16, 17 that the two-hour limit is approaching. If the space is still available beyond the two-hour limit, the driver could be offered the option to extend the parking reservation.), and the payment component is configured to control the available curbside access destinations by dynamic pricing that increases fees during high demand (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0112 - driver could be asked to pay an extra charge to continue to hold the parking space if parking is in high demand or for other reasons warranting an up charge to the parking][0165 - customers and could have increased fees charged for using those parking spaces]) and discounts fees for transit or ride sharing vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0175 - discounts]).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634.
18/935,827 – Claim 35. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 29, wherein the curbside space includes sidewalk area or one or more travel lanes adjacent to the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0003 – promotes public safety]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “sidewalk” features, however, Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 teaches (Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 (Prov. Appl. No. 62/775,352, filed on Dec. 4, 2018) [0032; 0049] [0032] As a further example, in some embodiments, API 102 can be used to receive data mobility sensors that are associated with adaptive traffic signals. For example, the mobility sensors can include any suitable sensors, such as lidar and/or radar, which can be non-personal or de-identified at the sensor source. Such data from the mobility sensors integrated or otherwise associated with adaptive traffic signals can be used to create safer streets that prioritize pedestrian safety and can assess time to cross the street while eliminating unnecessary waits. In a more particular example, such data can be received by API 102, where mobility management system 104 can determine the total number of pedestrians waiting to cross an intersection, a schedule of the vehicles approaching the intersection, and/or the volume of ride-hail services routed in the direction of the intersection. In another more particular example, data from in-pavement sensors can be received by API 102 such that mobility management system 104 can determine the volume, the type of transit, and/or the schedule of streetcars, ride-hailing services, and other vehicles along a street having the in-pavement sensors. Based on one or more of these pieces of determined information, mobility management system 104 can transmit a priority instruction to the adaptive traffic signal—e.g., where the pedestrian crossing is prioritized and provided with a greater amount of signal time than others (e.g., streetcars and then vehicles).). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 17. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the processor integrates a navigation component and the navigation component is configured to generate a route to one of the available curbside access destinations from a current location of the vehicle (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 18. Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches (New) The system of claim 17, wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle and the processor is in communication with a controller of the autonomous vehicle to direct the autonomous vehicle to the one of the available curbside access destinations via the route generated by the navigation component (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “autonomous vehicles” features, however, Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 teaches (Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 [0003 - vehicles have autonomous capability] Where vehicles have autonomous capability it may be useful to use this to avoid certain situations for the vehicles and people around the vehicle). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 19. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the vehicle is a non-autonomous vehicle and the customer communicates with the processor via a smart phone or computer (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013-0014; 0042; 0049; 0056]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 20. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the processor integrates an asset verification component and the asset verification component is configured to collect and communicate to the curbside management component real-time docking activity of the curbside space, quantify any customer demands on the docking use of the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004; 0013; 0062 - services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services] [0062] At any given time, several coordinated processes execute across the servers. Depending upon the scale of the system, several computers may need to work together to carry out each of the services. One set of the services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services. City officials or parking authorities that establish new parking policies present a special case of the services. For example, they may need to initiate a new parking regulation, which applies over certain hours on certain days. The rules and parameters for the service could be expressed through a description language for permits, regulations, and the like, with parameters in the language corresponding to policy considerations, what rights are enabled, and cross references to other regulations and permits. The parking officials specify the parameters governing what regulations apply in what geographic parts or blocks of the city. Thus, the parking officials would be able to state that a parking regulation for a loading zone has an exception when a parking account includes a “loading zone permit,” but would be enforced differently when a parking account has only a “visitor permit” and so forth. [0068 - parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time] Users with parking accounts 37a-c can make parking reservations. The parking services 12 maintain a set of reservations 38a-d respectively requested on the basis of driver, recurring, guest, and special use needs. Other types of parking reservations are possible. During parking operations, the parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time. Other types of parking events are possible. [0069 - parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users] During operation, parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users, who are primarily motorists and the overall status 48 of parking availability is continually revised through the parking accounts 37a-c, sensor data 40, and parking device data 41. In addition, depending upon the type of parking sought, users may also physically submit parking permits or coupons 45, such as issued by a resident host or merchant, or electronically submit parking codes 46, which are processed and validated by the parking services server 11.), and archive the information for analysis and optimization by the curbside management component (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [Abstract][0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0016 - FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street … parking] FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street valet parking in accordance with one embodiment.).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 21. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the processor incorporates a payment component for calculating fees associated with one or more of the available curbside access destinations (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0112 - driver could be asked to pay an extra charge to continue to hold the parking space if parking is in high demand or for other reasons warranting an up charge to the parking] [0125 - Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early] Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early. For example, a driver considering convenience and peace of mind may choose an option to stay for up to three hours, even if he expects to be finished in two hours. Reserving a parking space 24 for only two hours would cost less, but the driver risks the need to hurry back if delayed. In one embodiment, the parking services 12 can warn a driver via a mobile device 15, 16, 17 that the two-hour limit is approaching. If the space is still available beyond the two-hour limit, the driver could be offered the option to extend the parking reservation. [0165 - customers and could have increased fees charged for using those parking spaces] [0175 - discounts]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617.
18/935,827 – Claim 22. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 21, wherein the payment component incorporates dynamic docking fees based on incentives and disincentive policies set by owner in the system including a peak period surcharge and a disabled discount (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0112 - driver could be asked to pay an extra charge to continue to hold the parking space if parking is in high demand or for other reasons warranting an up charge to the parking] [0125 - Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early] Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early. For example, a driver considering convenience and peace of mind may choose an option to stay for up to three hours, even if he expects to be finished in two hours. Reserving a parking space 24 for only two hours would cost less, but the driver risks the need to hurry back if delayed. In one embodiment, the parking services 12 can warn a driver via a mobile device 15, 16, 17 that the two-hour limit is approaching. If the space is still available beyond the two-hour limit, the driver could be offered the option to extend the parking reservation. [0165 - customers and could have increased fees charged for using those parking spaces] [0175 - discounts]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634.
18/935,827 – Claim 23. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the curbside space includes one or more travel lanes adjacent the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0003 – promotes public safety]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “sidewalk” features, however, Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 teaches (Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 (Prov. Appl. No. 62/775,352, filed on Dec. 4, 2018) [0032; 0049] [0032] As a further example, in some embodiments, API 102 can be used to receive data mobility sensors that are associated with adaptive traffic signals. For example, the mobility sensors can include any suitable sensors, such as lidar and/or radar, which can be non-personal or de-identified at the sensor source. Such data from the mobility sensors integrated or otherwise associated with adaptive traffic signals can be used to create safer streets that prioritize pedestrian safety and can assess time to cross the street while eliminating unnecessary waits. In a more particular example, such data can be received by API 102, where mobility management system 104 can determine the total number of pedestrians waiting to cross an intersection, a schedule of the vehicles approaching the intersection, and/or the volume of ride-hail services routed in the direction of the intersection. In another more particular example, data from in-pavement sensors can be received by API 102 such that mobility management system 104 can determine the volume, the type of transit, and/or the schedule of streetcars, ride-hailing services, and other vehicles along a street having the in-pavement sensors. Based on one or more of these pieces of determined information, mobility management system 104 can transmit a priority instruction to the adaptive traffic signal—e.g., where the pedestrian crossing is prioritized and provided with a greater amount of signal time than others (e.g., streetcars and then vehicles).). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 24. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches A curbside management system for dynamically managing curbside docking by autonomous vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0181 - dynamically reserve parking] The parking services 12 can facilitate a more flexible way to arrange parking for scheduled deliveries. FIG. 19 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a scheduled deliveries service 250 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. The scheduled deliveries service enables merchants and delivery organizations to dynamically reserve parking for deliveries ahead of time. This approach allows the number of loading zones to flexibly grow and shrink according to need, thereby enabling smoother deliveries and providing more parking spaces 24 when deliveries are not scheduled.), comprising: one or more autonomous vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0215 - owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car] Vehicle-Centric Identification. When a valet parks a customer's vehicle in a pre-reserved valet parking space, the parking services 12 uses an identifier that is uniquely associated with each vehicle, such as an RFID tag, parking placard, or the vehicle license plate or vehicle identification number (VIN), to record the location of the vehicle. Later the valet uses the owner's identity or the vehicle's identifier to locate the parking location of the car.); and a wireless communication system configured to communicate with the one or more autonomous vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0056] The parking devices 21, whether standalone or configured through a kiosk 19, interface motorists and other users with the parking services server 11. Each parking device 21 and kiosk 19 includes a user interface (not shown) for identifying which parking space 24 is being reserved and determining the user's identification. When booking a reservation, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 undertakes an abbreviated “Hold this Space” service transaction, described infra, with the user. The particular parking space 24 can be indicated, for example, by displaying the location of the space on a map. The user's identification is indicated using an account number, credit or debit card number, or other unique identifier that can be provided to the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 through a magnetic strip or bar code reader for scanning credit cards, driver's licenses, parking identification cards, or other forms of identification. Alternatively, the parking device 21 or kiosk 19 can accept wireless transmissions, for instance, using Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or Wi-Max protocols, or wired transmissions of the user's identification from a mobile device 15, 16, 17, such as a smart mobile telephone, notebook or tablet computer, or similar personal electronic device. In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked. [0064] Users interface with the parking services 12 either directly by using a parking device 11 or parking services kiosk 19. Users can also interface with the parking services 12 remotely over a network using a user device through a wired or wireless connection. User devices include mobile devices 15, 16, 17, such as smart mobile telephones, notebook or tablet computers, or similar personal electronic devices. The parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 also have user interfaces that interact with the parking services 12. Yet another set of the services can download either parameters or application programs to the parking devices 21 and parking services kiosks 19 to drive interactions with users.); one or more computing devices of an owner of curbside space, each of the computing devices including a memory having executable instructions and one or more processors for executing the instructions, the processor being in communication with a controller of the one or more of the autonomous vehicles via the wireless communication system (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0013-0014; 0043; 0056; 0059; 0060; 0064]), and wherein the processor comprises a curbside management component configured to generate available curbside access destinations for docking the one or more autonomous vehicles (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.), wherein the curbside management component is configured to prioritize allocation of the available curbside access destinations of the curbside space to the one or more autonomous vehicles based upon a set of priorities predetermined by the owner of the curbside space, thereby optimizing the docking of the autonomous vehicles at the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0032 - FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service for use in the parking services of FIG. 1. [0137 - parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue] Multiple-Allocation Auction. An allocation process can be used, where residents specify several parking preferences and bids. The parking services 12 allocate parking spaces 24 to balance the residents' needs and revenue. [0164 - customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period] Merchants may want to provide priority parking for their customers on the day of a sale or at other times. For example, they may want to encourage customers by providing priority parking for them in front of their store. The customer priority parking service enables merchants to allocate these parking spaces for their customers during a specific period. FIG. 17 is a flow diagram showing a routine for a customer priority parking service 230 for use in the parking services 12 of FIG. 1. Parking is allocated to the merchant by the parking services 12 during the specified parking period (step 231). The parking indicators 23 proximate to the allotted parking spaces 24 are set to indicate the priority status of the parking spaces 24 (step 232). For example, the parking spaces 24 could flash green-and-blue indicators, accompanied by a short message displayed on the parking device 21.), wherein the set of priorities includes emergency services and the curbside management component adjusts the available access destinations in real-time to displace the one or more autonomous vehicles allocated to the one or more available access destinations with an emergency vehicle or re-route the one or more autonomous vehicles allocated to one or more of the available curbside access destinations away from the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0092; 0132]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “re-route the one or more vehicles away from the curbside space” features, however, Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 teaches (Bruce et al. 2018/0268617 [0058 - If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area] Manager system 110 can predict delays in arrivals and can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust parking spaces previously determined and can output a communication to indicator system 150 where appropriate for providing viewable indications of a parking space change. If snow is in the forecast as determined from data from weather service system 172 for example manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to enlarge reserved parking spaces to provide additional space for parking. If criminal activity is ongoing about the location the parking area as determined from data from municipality information system 173 for example manager system 110 can e.g. initiate a parking space adjustment process to restrict the allocation of new parking spaces, auto-reserve parking spaces for police cars, and/or direct users to park at an alternate parking area away from the location of the current parking area. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to examine user profile information stored in area 1212 of data repository 112 and for example can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space to users who have participated in a customer incentive program such as involving completion of a customer satisfaction survey. During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can perform processing to look up information of a vehicle of vehicle system 120A being driven by a vehicle driver user and for purposes of promotion of an environmental conservation program can initiate a parking space adjustment process to allocate an enlarged parking space for a vehicle determined to satisfy an environmental conservation requirement (e.g. has a threshold passing energy efficiency or emissions rating). During performance of block 1106 manager system 110 can also be receiving data from one or more other vehicle system e.g. vehicle system 120Z and performing processing of such data. Manager system 110 can initiate a parking space adjustment process to dynamically adjust a dimension and/or location of parking spaces previously determined for one or more user and can make adjustments to generated indicators indicated by indicator system 150 based on the data from the one or more other vehicle system 120Z. For example, manager system 110 can examine location data e.g. GPS data of vehicle system 120Z of a vehicle and can determine e.g. that the vehicle of vehicle system 120Z will not arrive in time to park at a reserved parking space at a reserved time. Manager system 110 can responsively to such determining in one embodiment cancel the reservation and change the status of the parking space to not reserved and open and can output a communication, as shown e.g. at block 1110, to change an indicator provided by indicator system 150 to indicate the not reserved status of the parking space.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Bruce et al. 2018/0268617. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “autonomous vehicles” features, however, Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 teaches (Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193 [0003 - vehicles have autonomous capability] Where vehicles have autonomous capability it may be useful to use this to avoid certain situations for the vehicles and people around the vehicle). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 25. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 24, wherein the processor incorporates a payment component for calculating fees associated with one or more of the available curbside access destinations (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0125 - Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early] Pricing policies as implemented through the parking services 12 can take advantage of the dynamics of drivers arriving early, staying later, or leaving early. For example, a driver considering convenience and peace of mind may choose an option to stay for up to three hours, even if he expects to be finished in two hours. Reserving a parking space 24 for only two hours would cost less, but the driver risks the need to hurry back if delayed. In one embodiment, the parking services 12 can warn a driver via a mobile device 15, 16, 17 that the two-hour limit is approaching. If the space is still available beyond the two-hour limit, the driver could be offered the option to extend the parking reservation.) and the final curbside destination, wherein the payment component incorporates dynamic docking fees based on incentives and disincentive policies set by owner in the system (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0112 - driver could be asked to pay an extra charge to continue to hold the parking space if parking is in high demand or for other reasons warranting an up charge to the parking][0165 - customers and could have increased fees charged for using those parking spaces]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 26. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 teaches The system of claim 24, wherein the processor integrates a navigation component that directs the autonomous vehicle via the controller thereof to one of the available curbside access destinations by a route generated by the navigation component (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0008; 0009; 0049; 0150] [0150] If the parking reservation was communicated electronically, such as by email or text message, a map could be included by the parking services 12, as well as GPS coordinates for the parking space 24, which could both be transmitted into a GPS application in the guest's mobile device 15, 16, 17 to guide the guest to the parking space 24. The mobile device 15, 16, 17 may itself be able to alert the guest that they are near their guest parking space 24, or could send a signal to the parking services 12, parking device 21, or parking services kiosk 19 to ask that a parking indicator 23 or other indication be enabled to guide the driver in. As well, the guest could be given a telephone number to call shortly before reaching the area to request that the indicators begin flashing. The GPS coordinates of the parking space 24 could also be provided to applications executing on on-board navigational or informational devices 17 in the guest's vehicle or on a mobile device 15, 16, 17 to provide maps, audio, or visual signals as to the guest as they near the parking space 24.).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193.
18/935,827 – Claim 27. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 24, wherein the processor integrates an asset verification component that is configured to collect and communicate to the curbside management component real-time docking activity of the curbside space, quantify any customer demands on the docking use of the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0004; 0013; 0062 - services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services] [0062] At any given time, several coordinated processes execute across the servers. Depending upon the scale of the system, several computers may need to work together to carry out each of the services. One set of the services is engaged with the collection and verification of requests for new services and changes to existing services. City officials or parking authorities that establish new parking policies present a special case of the services. For example, they may need to initiate a new parking regulation, which applies over certain hours on certain days. The rules and parameters for the service could be expressed through a description language for permits, regulations, and the like, with parameters in the language corresponding to policy considerations, what rights are enabled, and cross references to other regulations and permits. The parking officials specify the parameters governing what regulations apply in what geographic parts or blocks of the city. Thus, the parking officials would be able to state that a parking regulation for a loading zone has an exception when a parking account includes a “loading zone permit,” but would be enforced differently when a parking account has only a “visitor permit” and so forth. [0068 - parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time] Users with parking accounts 37a-c can make parking reservations. The parking services 12 maintain a set of reservations 38a-d respectively requested on the basis of driver, recurring, guest, and special use needs. Other types of parking reservations are possible. During parking operations, the parking services 12 also track a set of parking events 39a-c respectively for occupancy, check-in, and holding a parking space 24 in real time. Other types of parking events are possible. [0069 - parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users] During operation, parking is consumed by real time requests 44 for parking from users, who are primarily motorists and the overall status 48 of parking availability is continually revised through the parking accounts 37a-c, sensor data 40, and parking device data 41. In addition, depending upon the type of parking sought, users may also physically submit parking permits or coupons 45, such as issued by a resident host or merchant, or electronically submit parking codes 46, which are processed and validated by the parking services server 11.), and archive the information for analysis and optimization by the curbside management component (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [Abstract][0004 - efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking] Meeting the parking needs of motorists requires more than simply finding a balance between supply and demand, yet the capability to efficiently allocate and manage on-street parking remains elusive, even when parking needs are significant, recurring, and known ahead of time. For instance, urban parking spaces characteristically undergo periods of widely skewed demand and utilization, with low demand and light use in some periods, often during the night, and heavy demand and use at other times. As well, merely finding available parking is only the start, as subsequent occupancy of a parking space must also be permissible under applicable rules. Parking regulations, though, are often complex and confusing, with time limits on parking in residential and business zones, parking enforcement undertaken during working hours in neighborhood zones, parking enforcement of loading zone rules and rules governing parking near fire hydrants occurring at all hours, and exceptions to parking regulations made to accommodate select holidays, depending upon the municipality. [0012 - dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices] U.S. patent Application Publication No. 2005/0280555, published Sep. 22, 2005, to Warner, V I, discloses dynamically managing parking, which includes the use of an intelligent software engine that interfaces with a wireless mesh network of multi-channel communication devices. A parking transceiver mesh network node located proximate to one or more parking spaces provides accurate and current data to a database of available parking spaces. Parking availability algorithms are used to analyze this data to select optimal parking spaces for drivers and predict future availability. The databases may include all subscriber information for parking services, including valet services. Conventional parking solutions typically focus on either determining availability of parking spaces for valet parking use, or identifying where valet parking services are provided. Therefore, there is a need for equipping valet parking services with a comprehensive set of services that allow more flexible types of valet parking, instead of simply a convenient alternative to self-parking. [0016 - FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street … parking] FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a computer-implemented system for managing on-street valet parking in accordance with one embodiment.).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Stefik et al. 2016/0063863; in view of Bruce et al. 2018/0268617; in further view of Tuukkanen et al. 2016/0320193; in further view of Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634.
18/935,827 – Claim 28. (New) Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 further teaches The system of claim 24, wherein the curbside space includes one or more travel lanes or sidewalk area adjacent the curbside space (Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 [0003 – promotes public safety]).
Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 may not expressly disclose the “sidewalk” features, however, Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 teaches (Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634 (Prov. Appl. No. 62/775,352, filed on Dec. 4, 2018) [0032; 0049] [0032] As a further example, in some embodiments, API 102 can be used to receive data mobility sensors that are associated with adaptive traffic signals. For example, the mobility sensors can include any suitable sensors, such as lidar and/or radar, which can be non-personal or de-identified at the sensor source. Such data from the mobility sensors integrated or otherwise associated with adaptive traffic signals can be used to create safer streets that prioritize pedestrian safety and can assess time to cross the street while eliminating unnecessary waits. In a more particular example, such data can be received by API 102, where mobility management system 104 can determine the total number of pedestrians waiting to cross an intersection, a schedule of the vehicles approaching the intersection, and/or the volume of ride-hail services routed in the direction of the intersection. In another more particular example, data from in-pavement sensors can be received by API 102 such that mobility management system 104 can determine the volume, the type of transit, and/or the schedule of streetcars, ride-hailing services, and other vehicles along a street having the in-pavement sensors. Based on one or more of these pieces of determined information, mobility management system 104 can transmit a priority instruction to the adaptive traffic signal—e.g., where the pedestrian crossing is prioritized and provided with a greater amount of signal time than others (e.g., streetcars and then vehicles).). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stefik et al. 2016/0063863 to include the features as taught by Aggarwala et al. 2020/0175634. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize tools and features well known for implementing systems for managing curbside use by vehicles which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping 35 USC 101 rejection including Applicant’s amendments, arguments, lack of abstract idea, and practical integration.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claims 1-15, on page(s) 6-12 of Applicant’s Remarks (dated 12/27/2016), Applicants traverse the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing the following:
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping prior-art rejection including Applicant’s amendments and arguments and unique combination of features and elements not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claim X, on page(s) 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks / After Final Amendments (dated 07/15/2011), Applicant(s) argues that the cited reference(s) (Ellis and Vandermolen) fails to teach, describe, or suggest the amended features. Specifically, Applicant(s) argues that cited reference(s) do not teach, describe, or suggest the following: . With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
Conclusion
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Patent Literature
The prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Warner, IV PGPub. 2005/0280555 [0002 - present invention relates generally to parking management, and more specifically, to systems and methods for aiding drivers to find parking]
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Non-Patent Literature (NPL)
The NPL prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Q. Bai, Z. Qu, X. Song and S. Xiong, "A Simulation-Based Approach to Determine the Location of Dedicated Transit Lane," in IEEE Access, vol. 7, pp. 50962-50970, 2019, doi: 10.1109/ACCESS.2019.2906216.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection and FINAL Rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MATTHEW T SITTNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629b