DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " fan speed control " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because a fan has not been previously claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dugas et al. (US 2019/0037770 A1), hereinafter Dugas.
Regarding claim 1, Dugas discloses a sugarcane harvester (10, fig. 1, [0029]), comprising:
a cutter assembly (base cutter, [0029]) for cutting stalks of the sugarcane as the harvester moves through a field (fig. 1, [0029]);
a chopper assembly (28, fig. 2, [0030]) for chopping the cut sugarcane stalks into billets ("B", fig. 2, [0031]) and crop residue (extraneous plant matter, [0031]);
a primary extractor (55, fig. 2, [0030]) for cleaning the billets and extracting the crop residue (fig. 2, [0030]);
a loading elevator (56, fig. 1, [0035]) for transporting the cleaned billets to a discharge location (58, fig. 1, [0035]);
at least one moisture sensor (80, fig. 3, [0041 and 0047]) configured to sense a moisture content of the billets as the billets move through the sugarcane harvester ([0047]), the at least one moisture sensor being configured to generate a moisture content signal representative of the moisture content ([0047]); and
a controller (68, fig. 3, [0041]) functionally linked with the sensor for receiving the moisture content signal ([0040-0041, and 0047]), the controller being configured to generate an output signal based at least in part on the moisture content signal ([0040-0041, 0047, and 0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Dugas discloses wherein: the at least one moisture sensor includes a moisture sensor located below the primary extractor (80 in fig. 3, compared to 55 in fig. 2, [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Dugas discloses wherein: the at least one moisture sensor (80, [0047]) includes a moisture sensor located along the loading elevator (80 can be placed on 56, [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Dugas discloses wherein: the controller is configured to estimate the at least one moisture condition based on modelled correlations between the at least one moisture condition and inputs including the sensed parameters and the moisture content signal ([0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Dugas discloses wherein: the output signal is configured to actuate at least one actuator to adjust at least one operating parameter of the sugarcane harvester based at least in part on the moisture content signal ([0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Dugas discloses wherein: the at least one actuator includes a fan speed control of the primary extractor ([0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Dugas discloses wherein: the output signal includes a calibration factor (86, [055-0056]) representative of a change in moisture content relative to a base calibration value ([0051-0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Dugas discloses a method of operating a sugarcane harvester (10, fig. 1, [0029]), comprising:
cutting stalks of the sugarcane as the harvester moves through a field (fig. 1, [0029]);
chopping the cut sugarcane stalks into billets ("B", fig. 2, [0031]) and crop residue (extraneous plant matter, [0031]) with a chopper assembly of the sugarcane harvester (28, fig. 2, [0030-0031]);
cleaning the billets and extracting the crop residue with a primary extractor of the sugarcane harvester (55, fig. 2, [0030]), the primary extractor including a fan (40, fig. 2, [0030]);
transporting the cleaned billets to a discharge location (58, fig. 1, [0035]) with a loading elevator of the sugarcane harvester (56, fig. 1, [0035]);
sensing a moisture content of the billets ([0047]) with at least one moisture sensor (80, fig. 3, [0041 and 0047]) as the billets move through the sugarcane harvester ([0047]), the at least one moisture sensor generating a moisture content signal representative of the moisture content ([0047]); and
receiving the moisture content signal with a controller (68, fig. 3, [0040-0041, and 0047]) and generating an output signal with the controller based at least in part on the moisture content signal ([0040-0041, 0047, and 0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Dugas discloses performing a base calibration to determine a base calibration value of the moisture content signal corresponding to a base condition ([0051-0054]); and
wherein the output signal includes a calibration factor representative of a change in moisture content relative to the base calibration value ([0055-0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Dugas discloses further comprising: discharging the cleaned billets to a transport container ([0035]); and estimating a weight of a load of sugarcane billet ([0042 and 0046]) in the container based ([0035]) at least in part on the calibration factor ([0046 and 0055, 0061]).
Regarding claim 17, Dugas discloses further comprising: actuating at least one actuator and thereby adjusting at least one operating parameter of the sugarcane harvester based at least in part on the moisture content signal ([0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Dugas discloses wherein: the at least one actuator includes a fan speed control of the primary extractor and the fan speed of the primary extractor is adjusted based at least in part on the moisture content signal ([0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dugas et al. (US 2019/0037770 A1), hereinafter Dugas.
Regarding claim 13, Dugas discloses the at least one moisture sensor (80, fig. 3, [0041 and 0047]) and positioned on the chopper assembly (28, fig. 2 and 3, [0047]), but fails to explicitly disclose the moisture sensor located upstream of the chopper assembly. Dugas however does teach that the moisture sensor can be located on any component of the harvester ([0047]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the moisture sensor of Dugas to specifically be placed upstream of the chopper assembly in order to detect the moisture of the crop at that position ([0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Dugas discloses further comprising: a secondary extractor (60, fig. 1, [0035-0037]) for further cleaning the billets before the billets are discharged from the loading elevator ([0035]); and wherein the at least one moisture sensor (80, fig. 3, [0041 and 0047]) and positioned on the primary extractor (55, [0047]), but fails to explicitly disclose the moisture sensor located below the secondary extractor. Dugas however does teach that the moisture sensor can be located on any component of the harvester ([0047]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the moisture sensor of Dugas to specifically be located below the secondary extractor in order to detect the moisture of the crop at that position ([0047]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dugas et al. (US 2019/0037770 A1), hereinafter Dugas in view of Blank et al. (US 2014/0277960 A1), hereinafter Blank.
Regarding claim 8, Dugas discloses one or more parameter sensors configured to generate parameter output signals representing parameters ([0040 and 0056]) including one or more movement characteristics of the billets ([0043]), and a distance between the at least one moisture sensor and the billets ([0043] and [0047], wherein the location of monitoring and of the moisture sensor 0047 is known, therefore the distance between is known); and
wherein the controller is functionally linked to the one or more parameter sensors ([0040]) and is configured to estimate at least one moisture condition for the billets based at least in part on the parameter output signals ([0051-0056]) and the moisture content signal ([0047]).
However, Dugas fails to explicitly disclose the one or more parameter sensors configured to generate parameter output signals representing parameters including a temperature.
Blank teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the one or more parameter sensors configured to generate parameter output signals representing parameters including a temperature (temperature sensor 178f, [0024-0025]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the generic sensors of Dugas with temperature sensor of Blank to yield the predictable result of outputting the temperature signal parameter in order to know the condition of the crop ([0024]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dugas et al. (US 2019/0037770 A1), hereinafter Dugas in view of Anderson (US 20230107444 A1), hereinafter Anderson.
Regarding claim 19 as best understood, Dugas discloses an output signal from the controller ([0040-0041, 0047, and 0056]) from the sensors related to the properties of the sugarcane in the field ([0041]).
However, Dugas fails to explicitly disclose the controller output including a crop health indicator corresponding to one or more crop health parameters indicative of the health the sugarcane.
Blank teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the sensors sense a crop health indicator corresponding to one or more crop health parameters indicative of the health ([0190], crop properties such as grain quality or crop moisture) of the sugarcane ([0105], wherein the invention can be used for sugarcane).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the capture of crop health parameters by sensors in order to better control the harvesting ([0190] of Anderson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Dugas is considered the closest prior art, but fails to disclose “wherein: the at least one moisture sensor includes at least one radio antenna unit configured to receive reflected energy from the billets as the billets move through the sugarcane harvester.” No prior art was found of a moisture sensor that includes “at least one radio antenna unit” given the other limitations of the claims. Claims 6 and 7 are objected as being dependent on an allowable claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hunt (US 2024/0114832 A1) – a harvester that uses sensors to monitor the crop throughout the harvester and then take an action to reduce crop loss / improve efficiency
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676