DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “generally rectangular” and “approximately circular” in claim 6 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “generally” and “approximately” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification merely states, in paragraph [0042] of the application as published “upper plate 61 is designed in a mostly rectangular shape with one of its ends in an approximately circular shape to fit the shape of the pyranometers 1 and provide better support”. This is insufficient to define terms “generally” and “approximately”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apogee Instruments Solar Mounting Bracket AL-130, Rev: 21-Apr-2022, [retrieved on July 20, 2026], retrieved from the internet: <URL: https://www.apogeeinstruments.com/content/AL-130-spec-sheet.pdf>, hereinafter “Apogee”, and further in view of Barney et al. (US 9766427 A1), hereinafter “Barney”, and Malek, Esmaiel. "Comparison between the Laser Beam Ceilometer and an Algorithm for Continuous Evaluation of Cloud Base Height and Temperature, and Cloud Coverage at Local Scale." GSTF Journal on Aviation Technology (JAT) 2.1 (2015): 1, hereinafter “Malek”.
Regarding claim 3, Apogee teaches a leveling tray (6) configured to be used with a mobile albedo measurement device (10) (page 1, overview and photograph), the leveling tray (6) comprising:
a lower plate (62) configured to be coupled to an arm (3) of an albedo measurement device (10) (shown in photograph and diagrams);
an upper plate (61) configured to have a plurality of pyranometers attached thereto (Overview, shown in photograph; in addition, this limitation is non-limiting functional as the device of Apogee could perform the function with side-by side pyranometers, similar to the disclosure of Malek, but on the same side of a single plate); and
at least three independently adjustable fastening assemblies (65) connecting the upper plate (61) to the lower plate (62) (as shown in lower diagrams),
wherein each fastening assembly (65) comprises a threaded fastener configured to bias the upper plate (61) relative to the lower plate (62) during adjustment (as shown in lower diagrams),
wherein the at least three independently adjustable fastening assemblies are configured to permit independent adjustment of the upper plate (61) relative to the lower plate (62) in three dimensions to level the upper plate and maintain the pyranometers parallel to a measurement surface, compensating for deflection of the arm or irregularities of the supporting surface (overview and shown in lower diagrams).
Apogee is silent regarding the upper plate (61) configured to have a plurality of pyranometers (1), and wherein each fastening assembly (65) comprises a threaded fastener, a nut, and a spring.
However, Barney teaches an optical leveling device (abstract) including wherein each fastening assembly comprises a threaded fastener, a nut, and a spring (Fig. 3, refs 12, 14, 18; col. 4, lines 12-25).
Furthermore, Malek teaches a pyranometer device (abstract) including an upper plate configured to have a plurality of pyranometers (Fig. 2 shows multiple pyranometers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of Barney and Malek by including the upper plate (61) configured to have a plurality of pyranometers (1), and wherein each fastening assembly (65) comprises a threaded fastener, a nut, and a spring in order to improve the leveling capabilities of the Apogee device, while taking a plurality of simultaneous measurements.
Regarding claim 4, Apogee teaches wherein the at least three independently adjustable fastening assemblies (65) consist of three fastening assemblies (as shown in diagrams).
Regarding claim 5, Apogee teaches wherein the at least three independently adjustable fastening assemblies (65) are arranged in a non-collinear pattern (as shown in diagrams).
Regarding claim 6, Apogee teaches wherein the upper plate (61) has a generally rectangular body with one end shaped approximately circular to conform to the plurality of pyranometers and minimize shadow projection on the measurement surface (as shown in diagrams).
Regarding claim 7, Apogee teaches wherein the lower plate (62) comprises a clip (66) configured to slidably engage and secure the leveling tray to the arm (3) (as shown in photo and diagrams).
Regarding claim 8, Apogee, Barney, and Malek teach a mobile albedo measurement device (10) comprising the leveling tray of claim 3 (supra), Apogee is silent regarding a tripod (2), an arm (3) supported on the tripod (2), and a plurality of pyranometers (1) attached to the upper plate (61) of the leveling tray.
However, Malek teaches a tripod (2), an arm (3) supported on the tripod (2), and a plurality of pyranometers (1) attached to the upper plate (61) of the leveling tray (as shown in Fig. 1, page 2, cols. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of Malek by including a tripod (2), an arm (3) supported on the tripod (2), and a plurality of pyranometers (1) attached to the upper plate (61) of the leveling tray in order to properly align the sensors
Regarding claim 13, Apogee teaches wherein the lower plate (62) comprises a clip (66) configured to slidably engage and secure the leveling tray to the arm (3) (as shown in photo and diagrams).
Regarding claim 14, Apogee is silent regarding wherein said plurality of pyranometers (1) comprises a first pyranometer pointed upwards to receive incident solar irradiation and a second pyranometer pointed downwards to receive solar radiation reflected by the measurement surface.
However, Malek teaches wherein said plurality of pyranometers (1) comprises a first pyranometer pointed upwards to receive incident solar irradiation and a second pyranometer pointed downwards to receive solar radiation reflected by the measurement surface (As shown in Figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of Malek by including wherein said plurality of pyranometers (1) comprises a first pyranometer pointed upwards to receive incident solar irradiation and a second pyranometer pointed downwards to receive solar radiation reflected by the measurement surface in order to preform simultaneous measurements.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apogee, Barney, and Malek as applied to claims 3 and 8 above, and further in view of Dong et al. (KR20210051626), references to English machine translation, hereinafter “Dong”.
Regarding claim 9, Apogee is silent regarding a counterweight (4) attached to the arm (3).
However, Dong teaches an optical measurement device (abstract) including a counterweight (4) attached to the arm (3) (Fig 1, ref E, paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of Dong by including a counterweight (4) attached to the arm (3) in order to have better balance and leveling.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apogee, Barney, and Malek as applied to claims 3 and 8 above, and further in view of NRG Instructions, Solar | Pile Mounted Albedometer | Kit #18868, [retrieved on July 20, 2026], retrieved from the internet: <URL:https://www.nrgsystems.com/assets/resources/Solar_AlbedometerPileMount18868_Instructions.pdf >, hereinafter “NRG”.
Regarding claim 10, Apogee is silent regarding wherein the arm (3) comprises an aluminum profile.
However, NRG teaches an albedo measuring device (Introduction) including wherein the arm (3) comprises an aluminum profile (page 2, “ Albedometer Leveling Boom aluminum pipe”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of NRG by including wherein the arm (3) comprises an aluminum profile in order to have a lightweight, and inexpensive yet, durable device.
Regarding claim 11, Apogee is silent regarding wherein the arm (3) is sectioned into multiple rods connected by joints.
However, NRG teaches an albedo measuring device (Introduction) including wherein the arm (3) is sectioned into multiple rods connected by joints (as shown on pages 6 and 9”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of NRG by including wherein the arm (3) is sectioned into multiple rods connected by joints in order to have a lightweight, and inexpensive yet, durable device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apogee, Barney, and Malek as applied to claims 3 and 8 above, and further in view of Gostein et al. (US 2024/0402005), hereinafter “Gostein”.
Regarding claim 12, Apogee teaches the arm (3) (supra) but is silent regarding painted black to minimize light reflection.
However, Gostein teaches a pyranometer (paragraph [0019]) including wherein the device is painted black to minimize light reflection (paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Apogee with the teaching of Gostein by including wherein the device is painted black to minimize light reflection in order to avoid reflections, as taught by Gostein, paragraph [0017].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Apogee AL-120 and AL-100 teach leveling plates similar to the claimed device and could be combined with prior art of record to render the claims obvious.
Nichols (US 2025/0085159) teaches a pyranometer leveling device and could be combined with prior art of record to render the claims obvious.
Apogee AL-140 teaches the claimed fastening assemblies in a leveling tray, but the examiner could not find the publication date of the reference.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877