DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 March 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should refrain from comparing the invention with the prior art and should abstain from referring to the purported merits. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitations "a first connecting structure" in line 2 and “a second connecting structure” in lines 2-3. Claim 18 recites the limitations "a first connecting structure" in line 2 and “a second connecting structure” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if these are the same first connecting structure and second connecting structure that were previously introduced in claims 11 and 17 respectively from which claims 12 and 18 depend. For purposes of examination, the first and second connecting structures introduced in claims 11 and 17 will be interpreted as the same first and second connecting structures present in claims 12 and 18.
Claims 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected based upon their dependence from claims 12 and 18 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boticki (U.S. Patent 8,333,410).
Regarding claim 1, Boticki discloses a manifold block (FIG. 1) comprising:
a manifold body 12/64/66 having a hollow space (seen in FIG. 2);
at least one hose barb 54/56/58 connected to the manifold body and communicating with the hollow space, the at least one hose barb configured to connect to a pipe (Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1); and
at least one connecting structure 68 connected to the manifold body and configured to rotatably connect to the manifold block to another manifold block (FIG. 1-4; Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1, Col. 7 ln 45-Col. 8 ln 67).
Regarding claim 2, Boticki discloses the at least one hose barb and the at least one connecting structure are respectively formed on surfaces of the manifold body facing different directions, and the at least one connecting structure is configurated to be rotatably connected to a corresponding connecting structure of the other manifold block (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 9, Boticki discloses a manifold (FIG. 1) comprising at least two manifold blocks 12/64/66, each of the at least two manifold blocks comprising:
a manifold body 12/64/66 having a hollow space (seen in FIG. 2);
at least one hose barb 54/56/58 connected to the manifold body and communicating with the hollow space, the at least one hose barb configured to connect to a pipe (Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1); and
at least one connecting structure 68 connected to the manifold body and configured to rotatably connect to the manifold block to another manifold block;
wherein the at least two manifold blocks are rotatably connected in sequence (FIG. 1), an orientation of any one of the at least one hose barb can be changed with a rotation angle between the at least two manifold blocks, and the hollow spaces of the at least two manifold blocks communicate with each other in sequence (FIG. 1-4; Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1, Col. 7 ln 45-Col. 8 ln 67).
Regarding claim 10, Boticki discloses the at least one hose barb and the at least one connecting structure are respectively formed on surfaces of the manifold body facing different directions, and the at least one connecting structure is configurated to be rotatably connected to a corresponding connecting structure of the other manifold block (FIG. 1, 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boticki in view of Ferrero (U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0111376).
Regarding claim 3, Boticki discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2.
Boticki further discloses any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (top of 64) or a second connecting structure (bottom of 12) matched with the first connecting structure, the at least one hose barb is formed on a first surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1), and the at least one connecting structure is formed on a second surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1).
Boticki is silent regarding when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove is on the second surface, the hollow space penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion connected to the second surface, and a locking portion which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space.
However, Ferrero teaches a manifold block wherein any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure 26 (FIG. 3A) or a second connecting structure 36 (FIG. 3B) matched with the first connecting structure, wherein
when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove (space between 36) is on the second surface, the hollow space (inside seen in FIG. 4) penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks 26 extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles 36 connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion (proximal end of 36) connected to the second surface, and a locking portion (distal end of 36) which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space (FIG. 1, 3A-3B; Paragraph 40-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by utilizing the means for connecting the manifold bodies, as taught by Ferrero, since it has been held that use of suitable equivalent structures involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
Boticki/Ferrero further teaches at least one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (Ferrero FIG. 1, 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 5, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
Boticki/Ferrero further teaches at least one of the at least one connecting structure is a second connecting structure (Ferrero FIG. 1, 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 6, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
Boticki further discloses the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising one first connecting structure and one second connecting structure, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 7, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
Boticki further discloses the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two first connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two first connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 8, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3.
Boticki further discloses the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two second connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two second connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 11, Boticki discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Boticki further discloses any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (top of 64) or a second connecting structure (bottom of 12) matched with the first connecting structure, the at least one hose barb is formed on a first surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1), and the at least one connecting structure is formed on a second surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1).
Boticki is silent regarding when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove is on the second surface, the hollow space penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion connected to the second surface, and a locking portion which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space.
However, Ferrero teaches a manifold block wherein any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure 26 (FIG. 3A) or a second connecting structure 36 (FIG. 3B) matched with the first connecting structure, wherein
when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove (space between 36) is on the second surface, the hollow space (inside seen in FIG. 4) penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks 26 extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles 36 connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion (proximal end of 36) connected to the second surface, and a locking portion (distal end of 36) which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space (FIG. 1, 3A-3B; Paragraph 40-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by utilizing the means for connecting the manifold bodies, as taught by Ferrero, since it has been held that use of suitable equivalent structures involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Boticki discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11.
Boticki/Ferrero further teaches at least one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (Ferrero 26); or at least one of the at least one connecting structure a second connecting structure (Ferrero 36); or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising one first connecting structure and one second connecting structure, the manifold body has two different second surfaces (Boticki FIG. 1), and the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body; or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two first connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two first connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces; or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two second connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two second connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body (Boticki FIG. 1, 2).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boticki in view of Ferrero in further view of Swann (U.S. Patent 5,562,277).
Regarding claim 13, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 12.
Boticki is silent regarding a positioning screw and a ball, wherein a plurality of second grooves is formed on the second surface provided with the first connecting structure, and a third groove is formed on the second surface provided with the second connecting structure; the positioning screw is threaded into the third groove, the ball is at an end of the positioning screw away from the third groove, a part of the ball is in the positioning screw, and another part of the ball is in the second groove; and when the at least two manifold blocks rotate relative to each other, the ball switches from one of the plurality of second grooves to another, so that the orientation of the at least one hose barb changes.
However, Swann teaches a positioning screw 134 and a ball 128, wherein a plurality of second grooves 17 is formed on the second surface provided with the first connecting structure 10, and a third groove 34 is formed on the second surface provided with the second connecting structure 30; the positioning screw is threaded into the third groove (via 132), the ball is at an end of the positioning screw away from the third groove, a part of the ball is in the positioning screw (FIG. 16), and another part of the ball is in the second groove (FIG. 15); and when the at least two manifold blocks rotate relative to each other, the ball switches from one of the plurality of second grooves to another, so that the orientation of the at least one hose barb changes (FIG. 15-16; Col. 9 ln 65-Col. 10 ln 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by adding a positioning screw and a ball set atop the positioning screw, the positioning screw being positioned on a groove of the second surface of the connecting structure, as taught by Swann, for the purpose of utilizing a known means by which to position the connecting structures in the desired orientation, while helping to maintaining said desired orientation.
Regarding claim 14, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13.
Boticki further discloses a sealing ring 88, wherein a fourth groove (accommodating 88) is formed on the second surface with the first connecting structure, and the sealing ring is clamped in the fourth groove to seal two adjacent manifold blocks of the at least two manifold blocks (FIG. 4, 7; Col. 8 ln 18-21).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boticki in view of Campbell (U.S. Patent 8,922,998).
Regarding claim 15, Boticki discloses a system comprising”
a water inlet (24);
a water outlet (though all connected sockets, see FIG. 1);
a plurality of pipes (connecting the inlet and the outlet to the upstream and downstream locations, Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1);
at least one manifold (FIG. 1), each of the at least one manifold configured to connect one pipe of the plurality of pipes to another pipe of the plurality of pipes, or connect one pipe of the plurality of pipes to the water inlet, or connect one pipe of the plurality of pipes to the water outlet, thereby forming a flow path between the water inlet chamber, the water outlet chamber and the plurality of pipes to dissipate heat (Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1);
wherein each of the at least one manifold comprises at least two manifold blocks 12/64/66, and each of the at least two manifold blocks comprises:
a manifold body 12-64-66 having a hollow space (seen in FIG. 2);
at least one hose barb 54/56/58 connected to the manifold body and communicating with the hollow space, the at least one hose barb configurated to connect to a pipe (Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1); and
at least one connecting structure 68 connected to the manifold body and configurated to rotatably connect to the manifold block to another manifold block;
wherein the at least two manifold blocks are rotatably connected in sequence (FIG. 1), an orientation of any one of the at least one hose barb can be changed with a rotation angle between the at least two manifold blocks, and the hollow spaces of the at least two manifold blocks communicate with each other in sequence (FIG. 1-4; Col. 6 ln 64-Col. 7 ln 1, Col. 7 ln 45-Col. 8 ln 67).
Boticki is silent regarding the system is a cooling system, comprising a water inlet chamber, a water outlet chamber, the at least one manifold configured for connecting a pipe to the water inlet chamber or the water outlet chamber.
However, Campbell teaches a cooling system (title) comprising;
a water inlet chamber (left 230 in FIG. 2);
a water outlet chamber (right 230 in FIG. 2);
a plurality of pipes 240/241;
at least one manifold 231, the at least one manifold configured for connecting at least one of the plurality of pipes to the water inlet chamber or the water outlet chamber (FIG. 2; Col. 5 ln 28-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by placing it in a cooling system with a water inlet and outlet chamber forming a flow path through the manifold, as taught by Campbell, for the purpose of operating the manifold in a manner by which it is intended.
Regarding claim 16, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 15.
Boticki further discloses the at least one hose barb and the at least one connecting structure are respectively formed on surfaces of the manifold body facing different directions, and the at least one connecting structure is configurated to be rotatably connected to a corresponding connecting structure of the other manifold block (FIG. 1, 2).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boticki in view of Campbell in further view of Ferrero.
Regarding claim 17, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 15.
Boticki further discloses any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (top of 64) or a second connecting structure (bottom of 12) matched with the first connecting structure, the at least one hose barb is formed on a first surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1), and the at least one connecting structure is formed on a second surface of the manifold body (FIG. 1).
Boticki is silent regarding when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove is on the second surface, the hollow space penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion connected to the second surface, and a locking portion which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space.
However, Ferrero teaches a manifold block wherein any one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure 26 (FIG. 3A) or a second connecting structure 36 (FIG. 3B) matched with the first connecting structure, wherein
when the at least one connecting structure is the first connecting structure, a first groove (space between 36) is on the second surface, the hollow space (inside seen in FIG. 4) penetrates through a bottom wall of the first groove, the first connecting structure comprises a plurality of spaced locking blocks 26 extending inward from a side wall of the first groove, and a spacing groove is formed between any two adjacent locking blocks of the plurality of locking blocks; and
when the at least one connecting structure is the second connecting structure, the hollow space penetrates through the second surface, the second connecting structure comprises a plurality of buckles 36 connected to the second surface, the plurality of buckles is spaced from each other and distributed around an opening of the hollow space, each of the plurality of buckles comprises a connecting portion (proximal end of 36) connected to the second surface, and a locking portion (distal end of 36) which is formed by bending and extending an end of the connecting portion away from the second surface to a direction away from the opening of the hollow space (FIG. 1, 3A-3B; Paragraph 40-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by utilizing the means for connecting the manifold bodies, as taught by Ferrero, since it has been held that use of suitable equivalent structures involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Boticki discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 17.
Boticki/Ferrero further teaches at least one of the at least one connecting structure is a first connecting structure (Ferrero 26); or at least one of the at least one connecting structure a second connecting structure (Ferrero 36); or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising one first connecting structure and one second connecting structure, the manifold body has two different second surfaces (Boticki FIG. 1), and the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body; or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two first connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two first connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body; or the at least one connecting structure comprises at least two connecting structures comprising two second connecting structures, the manifold body has two different second surfaces, and the two second connecting structures are formed on the two different second surfaces of the manifold body (Boticki FIG. 1, 2).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boticki in view of Campbell in further view of Ferrero, in even further view of Swann.
Regarding claim 19, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 18.
Boticki is silent regarding the manifold further comprises a positioning screw and a ball, a plurality of second grooves is formed on the second surface provided with the first connecting structure, and a third groove is formed on the second surface provided with the second connecting structure; the positioning screw is threaded into the third groove, the ball is at an end of the positioning screw away from the third groove, a part of the ball is in the positioning screw, and another part of the ball is in the second groove; and when the at least two manifold blocks rotate relative to each other, the ball switches from one of the plurality of second grooves to another, so that the orientation of the at least one hose barb changes.
However, Swann teaches the manifold further comprises a positioning screw 134 and a ball 128, a plurality of second grooves 17 is formed on the second surface provided with the first connecting structure 10, and a third groove 34 is formed on the second surface provided with the second connecting structure 30; the positioning screw is threaded into the third groove (via 132), the ball is at an end of the positioning screw away from the third groove, a part of the ball is in the positioning screw (FIG. 16), and another part of the ball is in the second groove (FIG. 15); and when the at least two manifold blocks rotate relative to each other, the ball switches from one of the plurality of second grooves to another, so that the orientation of the at least one hose barb changes (FIG. 15-16; Col. 9 ln 65-Col. 10 ln 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Boticki by adding a positioning screw and a ball set atop the positioning screw, the positioning screw being positioned on a groove of the second surface of the connecting structure, as taught by Swann, for the purpose of utilizing a known means by which to position the connecting structures in the desired orientation, while helping to maintaining said desired orientation.
Regarding claim 20, Boticki, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 19.
Boticki further discloses wherein the manifold further comprises a sealing ring 88, a fourth groove (accommodating 88) is formed on the second surface with the first connecting structure, and the sealing ring is clamped in the fourth groove to seal two adjacent manifold blocks of the at least two manifold blocks (FIG. 4, 7; Col. 8 ln 18-21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sasaki (U.S. Patent 10,627,034) discloses a manifold apparatus similar to the one described in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753